This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

164 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 17 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

25% success

Wild dog

65% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

88% success

Eland

69% success

Striped Hyena

40% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 164
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C.
Warwickshire

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2022
"All aspects of Beho Beho were fantastic." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Sussex

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2022
"The bandas are exceptional in their design, layout and attention to detail.

The service by all the staff was excellent and friendly.

The four guides were very friendly and knowledgable but as we were the only guests during our stay we did find the hosting a little heavy at times with limited time to spend relaxing in the lounge areas by ourselves. A real bonus is having the airstrip so close.

We liked finding out about the history that the area played in the First World War. Good fun having our meals in different secret places every evening and the food was always excellent. The whole experience was very tailored to our needs. We liked the waterhole by the lounge which meant the animals came to us every day.

Harry the barman was very attentive and the full-size snooker table provided fun each evening!

Surprise lakeside breakfast was a trip highlight. A remote full-English and a loo with a view in the middle of no where!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

ludovicus
Canada

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2022
"Incredible and magnificent camp.

Again way above our expectation for everything.

Bravo" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

6 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Return to Beho Beho"

7 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"Our 4th visit to Beho Beho and taking our two daughters for their first time. After waiting 3 long years for this holiday we worried that it would not reach expectations. However Beho Beho delivers in spades every time. The beautiful lodge fashioned with local materials is high on a ridge overlooking the valley and plains below. The individual bandas are light and airy with antique furnishings, huge comfortable beds and chairs with the addition of a private plunge pool...new since our last visit.

We were greeted with great enthusiasm by all the staff that remembered us and treated like royalty for our whole stay. Mr Charlie Bailey, the owner dropped in for a couple of days. It was good to see him again and listen to his stories!!

Beho Beho runs like a family house party and our daughters soon realised it's magic and why we love being there so much. Heribert, Godlisten, Idrissa and new boy Justin were our hosts and guides for the week and what fun we had with all of them.

We were privileged to follow the Beho Beho pride of lions going about their daily lives chasing giraffe, sleeping, eating wildebeeste and buffalo, more sleeping !! On our last morning the dominant female brought out her three new cubs who she had given birth to in secret a couple of weeks ago. She introduced them to the entire pride on a buffalo kill. Wow !!

We saw lots of wildlife, had bush breakfasts, sundowners, boat trips on Lake Tagala and a visit to the hot springs. The girls did two bush walks which they thoroughly enjoyed however my husband and I are not able to do that anymore so enjoyed a lie in and being spoilt in camp. I must say the kindness and patience of the staff with us oldies was exceptional.

Food, as usual was restaurant standard taken in many different areas of the lodge including a new open air boma. Anyone for a lobster braai by the pool !!

Our daughters have now got the bug and are planning return visits. We hope we to return again one day. We congratulate Heribert, now the manager and head guide on leading such a wonderful team of staff seen and unseen.

Thank you all." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J&B
Wirral

"Wonderful Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2019
"Everything about our stay at Beho Beho was absolutely first class. Beho Beho is a short (40 min) flight from Dar but it feels like a world away. The camp is a 5 minute jeep drive from the Beho Beho International airstrip – with its cute “terminal”.

We stayed for 4 nights in early November – a very good time to visit. The camp was very quiet with only 2 other guests during our stay. Selous was green and beautiful as the short rains had arrived in October. This made for some interesting jeep rides – they really are phenomenal pieces of kit and coped very well – and although water was plentiful for the animals, we were fortunate to see lots of animals and birds. We did have some rain but this tended to be at lunch time or overnight. The Beho Beho policy of rotating the guides works very well, as does the communal dining with guides and guests at different locations throughout the property.

Many thanks to our expert guides Saningo, Mike, Godie and Idrissa – we learnt so much from you. The walking safari and boat safaris are highly recommended. Rooms are fantastic and we had “visits” from Elephant, Hippo and Water Buck. The shower was great and the WIFI worked well. The communal area is very comfortable and we liked the lack of WIFI here, as it meant that everyone spent more time in conversation or enjoying the views. Very few mosquitoes and Tsetse flies. Anyone planning a trip to Selous could not do better that Beho Beho.

It was sad to leave – but nice that Elephant and Wild dogs came to the runway to see us off!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"A return to a favorite camp"

5 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"In five safaris, Beho Beho is the first camp that we have visited more than once. We loved it when we were here 5 years ago, and we were delighted to find that they have maintained the same standard. They even improved it with the addition of private plunge pools at each banda.

While Beho Beho is in a remote setting in the Selous, we enjoy having an airstrip only a 5-minute drive away from camp. One rarely sees cars from other camps, so the game viewing is essentially private. The camp is luxurious but very comfortable. They serve delicious lunches and dinners in a variety of settings and the tables are always beautifully set. The bandas are so spacious that they have a variety of places for lounging, and the addition of a walled patio with chaises and plunge pools makes it a place that's hard to leave.

While we saw fewer lions on this trip than we had in the past, we were delighted to watch them up close one morning as the 11-member Beho Beho pride greeted us from the camp's watering hole. Giraffes, elephants, and hyenas were found frequently, as were a host of crocodiles and hippos at Lake Tagalala and Lake Manze. We did one walking trek which found us dodging elephants to try to get to the riverbank for our sundowners.

This is a stunning camp with equally stunning food and service. We'd love to go back again for visit #3!" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

T & S
North Carolina

"Beho Beho - Selous Game Reserve - Perfection"

4 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Beho Beho – Selous Game Reserve

Absolutely one of the best camps, a must stop with a staff that takes care of everything that you can’t think of. Holly is the perfect hostess with a fascinating background and sharing meals with the guides, Indrissa and Godlisten, gives you more opportunity to learn about them, their country and the wildlife. You are made to feel like family. In fact, because we were the only ones there for three days, we were treated like royal family! And “No! It was never boring or too quiet.” It was a privilege.

The rustic bandas are very large with huge beds warmed by hot water bottles and hippo serenades at night, sofas and chairs, a day bed and a plunge pool all look out over a cleared area and the trees near the river. Tea and coffee and biscuits arrive at dawn. We watched a bull elephant, a lion mother with cubs and impala without leaving bed! At the waterhole you can observe huge hippo, a pride of lions, water buffalo, baboons all come to drink while you eat dinner.

The food is beyond superb! Who expects lobster thermador in the middle of the Selous? The Masai dinner served in a special location was delightful as were the guides’ recounts of their time in boarding school. Meeting the chef and his staff so we could thank them topped it off.

Finding wildlife in the Selous requires an educated guide because of the immense area of the private reserve and Beho Beho’s are the best. The fact that the reserve is private means you rarely see another vehicle and the guides don't call to each other unless a sighting is particularly rare or unusual. Wild dog, albino lion cub, elephant teaching their babies to find water under the dry sand river beds, giraffe, water buffalo, hyena, leopards, and the trip to Lake Tagalala is an experience you must have. Huge crocodile every ten feet, fleets of hippo watching you go by twenty feet away, including an albino hippo, and birds from heaven." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Striped Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr MG
SE London

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"This was our first safari experience and it far exceeded our expectations. We stayed at Beho Beho upon recommendation from a friend who had stayed over 6 years ago and rated it their best trip ever, they were not wrong.
On many of our drives we didn't see another jeep which show's the remoteness of the camp, all our guides were amazing, we have to give a special shout out to Idrissa and his amazing skills spotting the wild dogs – this truly was the standout moment for us on the trip.
On every game drive we saw a variety of animals from lions, elephants, giraffes and we were exceptionally lucky to see the wild dogs and a leopard. One of the best experiences was the walking safari that allows you to get a completely different view point of the animals and the area, whilst slightly nail biting it’s a must do experience if you stay here.
The banda has a private plunge pool and all the facilities in the room were pure luxury, the bed is super comfortable, the turn down service and wake up calls with fresh cookies and tea are the extra touches which makes this place so special. On our first morning we were woken up by an elephant walking past our room, the experiences you get at Beho Beho are unbelievable. The main area and pool are stunning and relaxing and you never feel that your space isn’t your own, the guides and staff are always around if you want company. Eating at the camp, was a true fine dining experience every night was something new and exciting. By the end of your stay will feel like you can’t eat another thing.
You are spoilt at Beho Beho and nothing is too much to ask, the staff are friendly, polite and fun. We don’t have enough words to explain how truly grateful we are to have had this experience with Beho Beho. Our memories will last a life time and this was the best honeymoon we could have asked for." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr M
Islington

"Beho Beho - July 2019"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"One of our favourite camps in Africa.

The lodge itself is stunning - every detail has been beautifully designed and maintained (and the bandas now have their own plunge pools!). The dining arrangements are carefully planned out so that you rarely eat in the same spot twice. Dinner in front of the watering hole is particularly special - it's not everywhere that you can see lion, buffalo, elephant and civets right in front of you during dinner!

The wildlife is not as densely concentrated here as it is in the Serengeti or Ruaha, but there is a real sense of wilderness - we only saw two other vehicles during our whole stay. Beho Beho has an excellent reputation for walking safari and we always fit one in when we visit - their guides are fantastic and the varied terrain near the lodge is so fun to explore on foot. The vehicle safaris (including boat safari) are always great and you have a better chance of seeing wild dogs in Beho than in most other places in Africa.

We would strongly recommend!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Lee H
Briarcliff, NY

"Close enough to perfect"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2019
"A beautiful setting, marvelous views from the room and from the main building. Also we had hippos on the grounds every night, and an elephant on the last day!

The people were all superb. Friendly, welcoming, very good English, great service. A pleasure just to be around them. Food was excellent, every meal was delicious.

We went out with every guide at least once, and they were all great! Each trip out (8 in 4 days) was a treat!

The park is wonderful. A beautiful natural setting, and we saw lots of animals. We had a bit of a close call on a walking safari when we met a lone male elephant in must. The guides spotted him before he spotted us, we got off the trail and up on a small hill. The elephant gave a couple of quick feints toward us. We were very glad that we had the two guides with us.

The boat trip on the lake was a special treat. So many hippos, and so many birds!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 164
100%
164 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
162
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyerere National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (276 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in Nyerere National Park that offers a great wilderness experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (217 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms and superb service offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (80 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (72 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


98% (33 reviews)
Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in Nyerere National Park, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (31 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


88% (13 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (7 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in Nyerere National Park which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (5 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park


90% (2 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa