This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

169 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 22 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

91% success

Leopard

29% success

Wild dog

57% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

90% success

Eland

70% success

Striped Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 169
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P & Ms W
Herts

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2023
"An excellent camp with attentive staff.

Food was varied and good. They have a small pool, and a water hole that attracts a lot of nocturnal visitors.

The rooms are spacious and well designed, with open viewing areas in front of the large bed. Each has a plunge pool and small sun deck. They provide a strong torch making it easy to spot nocturnal visitors. These included hippo every night, plus elephant and buffalo. Hyena came every night to the delight of my sons, as well as multiple antelope. We also saw a common genet.

Visiting this area mid October it was vey hot. Wildlife densities were low and the animals relatively skittish. This may reflect the camp location, being far from the river and lakes and wetter Eastern areas, though I'm unclear of the impact of COVID and poaching. The densities of prey animals was low other than impala. No sightings of cats and encounters with giraffe brief. Even when we drove to the lake area the densities remained low. There are large numbers of hippo and crocodiles, so a good 'double act' with our other destination (Ruaha). Hyena sightings were also very good, perhaps reflecting lack of lions. They were seen on multiple occasions in groups up to nine during the daytime. Again this was a nice addition as we hadn't seen them in Ruaha.

We were lucky enough to see wild dog, and even a hunt. Sightings are far less frequent than 10 yrs ago but our experience shows that these elusive predators can be seen in Selous.

The other highlight was the Angolan Colobus - very good viewings right next to the road with 18 or so individuals, many with young. For us the camp was great, and the wildlife added nicely to those we'd seen in Ruaha.

As a single destination I would have been disappointed, though whether this reflects more on the time we visited and distance from the main water is unclear to me." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs L
the UK

"Outstanding experience"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2023
"What a place! We were delighted with our Banda and the privacy and views it provided. The attention to detail in the accommodation was superb. The meals were well thought out and of excellent quality.

Couple this with the lovely and knowledgeable rangers and you have a truly unique and memorable experience. We felt lucky to be there." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Jamie B
Palo Alto

"Beho Beho is a gorgeous camp"

4 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2023
"Beho Beho is a gorgeous camp in one of the nicest areas of Africa I have ever visited. The Selous (Nyerere National Park) is a game reserve unlike any other. It's lakes, rivers, and general fauna provide a beautifully diverse setting for game viewing. And while the game is not as rich as it is in say, the Serengeti, it is still impressive. I was able to see lions, leopards, and tons of elephants and giraffes.

The lodge itself is incredible. For four days and nights I experienced the special way Beho Beho does it's guiding, whether it is a walking, boating, or driving safari, all the guiding was top notch. The food was incredible, and I loved how we dined for dinner in a different part of the lodge every night.

The rooms are gorgeous, and the service is so familial that you feel at home the moment you walk in. I can't imagine there is a better camp in this part of Tanzania.

Shout out to Heribert and the whole crew. You guys were the best!" See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ann
Pontesford

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jan 2023
"From the moment we were picked up from the air strip to, sadly, leaving, we had a great time. All the staff were friendly and helpful .. and so knowledgeable about the wild life. We enjoyed having a different guide each day as each had their own perspective of and interest in the animals and birds we saw. They also ensured we had a different experience each day - a different part of the park, an evening walk or a trip on the lake. The guides were determined to ensure we enjoyed every minute and saw as much as we could. And we did. No day was the same, as you probably would expect!

We did see most of the animals we could see in that area of the national park, sadly, no lions or wild dogs...though the guides were hopeful we might. We had lots of opportunity to stop and watch elephants, giraffes and others, often at close quarters, whilst the guides provided lots of information about them.

We really liked the variation in landscape from the thick bush to wider plain, river valley and lake.

We shared a vehicle with another couple, which was no problem for us, and it was good to meet up in the evening, when everyone ate together, to share experiences.

The accommodation was of a very high standard. Loved waking up to see an elephant or giraffe grazing in front of us. Food was great ( they have some superb chefs) and dining each evening in a different venue gave added pleasure. Loved the final night when the guides joined us for an African themed candle lit supper." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs C
Leyburn

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2022
"Our second trip to Be Ho Be Ho and we hope to be able to return as soon as our commitments permit. The location, accommodation, food, staff and guides are all excellent.

This is from our perspective what a safari is all about, guides who are as enthusiastic as you at finding and seeing animals and birds with a very high level of knowledge so that you are constantly learning. Once back in camp you can unwind and relax and then over lunch and dinner have wide ranging conversations with a lot of laughter and fun.

The waterhole at the lodge had this time round due to the time of year a constant viewing of animals including one day and evening the Be Ho Be Ho lion pride, a memorable experience." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania; 3n in Seychelles; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs C.
Warwickshire

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2022
"All aspects of Beho Beho were fantastic." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Sussex

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2022
"The bandas are exceptional in their design, layout and attention to detail.

The service by all the staff was excellent and friendly.

The four guides were very friendly and knowledgable but as we were the only guests during our stay we did find the hosting a little heavy at times with limited time to spend relaxing in the lounge areas by ourselves. A real bonus is having the airstrip so close.

We liked finding out about the history that the area played in the First World War. Good fun having our meals in different secret places every evening and the food was always excellent. The whole experience was very tailored to our needs. We liked the waterhole by the lounge which meant the animals came to us every day.

Harry the barman was very attentive and the full-size snooker table provided fun each evening!

Surprise lakeside breakfast was a trip highlight. A remote full-English and a loo with a view in the middle of no where!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

ludovicus
Canada

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2022
"Incredible and magnificent camp.

Again way above our expectation for everything.

Bravo" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

6 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Return to Beho Beho"

7 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"Our 4th visit to Beho Beho and taking our two daughters for their first time. After waiting 3 long years for this holiday we worried that it would not reach expectations. However Beho Beho delivers in spades every time. The beautiful lodge fashioned with local materials is high on a ridge overlooking the valley and plains below. The individual bandas are light and airy with antique furnishings, huge comfortable beds and chairs with the addition of a private plunge pool...new since our last visit.

We were greeted with great enthusiasm by all the staff that remembered us and treated like royalty for our whole stay. Mr Charlie Bailey, the owner dropped in for a couple of days. It was good to see him again and listen to his stories!!

Beho Beho runs like a family house party and our daughters soon realised it's magic and why we love being there so much. Heribert, Godlisten, Idrissa and new boy Justin were our hosts and guides for the week and what fun we had with all of them.

We were privileged to follow the Beho Beho pride of lions going about their daily lives chasing giraffe, sleeping, eating wildebeeste and buffalo, more sleeping !! On our last morning the dominant female brought out her three new cubs who she had given birth to in secret a couple of weeks ago. She introduced them to the entire pride on a buffalo kill. Wow !!

We saw lots of wildlife, had bush breakfasts, sundowners, boat trips on Lake Tagala and a visit to the hot springs. The girls did two bush walks which they thoroughly enjoyed however my husband and I are not able to do that anymore so enjoyed a lie in and being spoilt in camp. I must say the kindness and patience of the staff with us oldies was exceptional.

Food, as usual was restaurant standard taken in many different areas of the lodge including a new open air boma. Anyone for a lobster braai by the pool !!

Our daughters have now got the bug and are planning return visits. We hope we to return again one day. We congratulate Heribert, now the manager and head guide on leading such a wonderful team of staff seen and unseen.

Thank you all." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J&B
Wirral

"Wonderful Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2019
"Everything about our stay at Beho Beho was absolutely first class. Beho Beho is a short (40 min) flight from Dar but it feels like a world away. The camp is a 5 minute jeep drive from the Beho Beho International airstrip – with its cute “terminal”.

We stayed for 4 nights in early November – a very good time to visit. The camp was very quiet with only 2 other guests during our stay. Selous was green and beautiful as the short rains had arrived in October. This made for some interesting jeep rides – they really are phenomenal pieces of kit and coped very well – and although water was plentiful for the animals, we were fortunate to see lots of animals and birds. We did have some rain but this tended to be at lunch time or overnight. The Beho Beho policy of rotating the guides works very well, as does the communal dining with guides and guests at different locations throughout the property.

Many thanks to our expert guides Saningo, Mike, Godie and Idrissa – we learnt so much from you. The walking safari and boat safaris are highly recommended. Rooms are fantastic and we had “visits” from Elephant, Hippo and Water Buck. The shower was great and the WIFI worked well. The communal area is very comfortable and we liked the lack of WIFI here, as it meant that everyone spent more time in conversation or enjoying the views. Very few mosquitoes and Tsetse flies. Anyone planning a trip to Selous could not do better that Beho Beho.

It was sad to leave – but nice that Elephant and Wild dogs came to the runway to see us off!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 169
100%
169 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
166
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyerere National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (278 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in Nyerere National Park that offers a great wilderness experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (221 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms and superb service offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (82 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (79 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


98% (33 reviews)
Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in Nyerere National Park, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (31 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


88% (13 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in Nyerere National Park which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (5 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park


90% (2 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa