This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp


7°39’53.1"S 38°3’53.3"E

Reviews of Lake Manze Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

213 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lake Manze Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lake Manze Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

24% success

Wild dog

45% success

Buffalo

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

95% success

Elephant

95% success

Striped Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 213
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & MrsF
Northampton

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2022
"From the very moment we arrived at the small air strip and were greeted by James Joseph and Kamkumba alis JJ & KK we knew we were in for the holiday of our life times. Both of these young men are a credit to the camp, their freindlyness, knowledge and experience was unexpected but very much appriciated because we had chosen a more rustic approach to the trip but at the same time we wanted a knowledgable experience.

The camp was run by Sean and Millie who personally met us upon our arrival. Again the same genuinely experienced and passionate approach by them both towards the animals the camp and their role as our hosts for the duration of our stay.

The tents were immaculate and comfortable. The food was excellent and underplayed and could be talked up more.

The activities we went on such as breakfast safari were very good and were a surprising addition to our expectations. Eating breakfast on a hill under a tarmerind tree looking out across the savannah was what it was all about for us.

As we involved ourselves in many activities such as walking out to experience tracking and the ability to spot animal prints and their dung, we were then able to use this knowledge with ours guides to spot animals ourselves.
The most exhilirating memories that we will take away from our experience would be when we spotted the animals ourselves. for example on our first morning out on sarfai Trudie and I spyed three lions laying several hundred metres away however went we got in close to them the pride was 14 strong and we were thrilled to spend twenty minutes of our lifes with them going about their normal business. The herd of giraffes crossing the lake at sunset and Elephants coming into camp in the evening either visting your tent or turning up for dinner would be just some of the highlights.

Overall Sean, Millie and their team's friendly approach made us feel part of their family for the few magical days we spent with them." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Ms J.
Petersfield

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2022
"Millie and Sean offer the warmest of welcomes. It was really like being in someone's home - they made me feel so welcome and comfortable. At this camp I enjoyed both land based and boat safari's with fabulous guides. Ali and Chombo were such fun to be with, so incredibly knowledgeable and worked non-stop throughout our safari's to bring me wonderful experiences. At this camp I saw lots of hippo, giraffe, crocs, the inevitable impala, water buck, buffalo, and an amazing sighting of a leopard in a bush - how did those guys find that leopard? I remember the guides and the managers at this camp with huge fondness." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ms C.
Seattle

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2022
"Ok. No hot water which would have been welcome.

Awesome guides and good service. Nice tent." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

pal
Geneve, Switz.

"Unforgettable experience at Lake Manze"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2021
"Immersed in the wilderness

The team of driver and guide was very friendly and professional. They took care of us whether on game drives, boat safaris or waking safaris.

We enjoyed the quietness - the only thing you hear is the wind and the animals

We enjoyed the service - efficient and friendly staff

We enjoyed the remoteness - no reception or wifi, some electricity (just enough to charge the cameras, but no more is needed)

And the animals were there.

We enjoyed traveling there during this “low season” imposed by COVID: Selous il already quite exclusive compared to the Serengeti but there are barely any other cars touring around. More difficile to locate the animals but a real sensation of being alone in the wild. And we could enjoy “private” game drives as so few guests were present.

Note on the food: while it was always good and the dinners under the stars was fantastic, we would have enjoyed a bit more “Swahili” in our plates" See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Utah

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2021
"Lake Manze camp was fabulous.

Very intimate, remote and wild feel about it. We had a Hyaena walk right past our tent on the first night, almost dark, and we were sitting outside on the front patio of our tent at the time. My wife and I just froze and sat very still without making a sound and only watched. He passed our tent using the path no more than 3 meters away from us. I'll never forget it.

The guiding was superb. Thank you to Zach, JJ and Abu. The boat safaris were a lot of fun. Great birding for Kingfishers and Bee Eaters. Excellent sunsets.

The staff were very attentive and made us feel very much at home. The food was fine and there was a lot of it." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

9 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs L.
Stamford Hill

"Great carbon neutral camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2020
"As we were the only 2 guests for the first few nights, we were thoroughly spoilt!

Malcolm was very accommodating and welcoming, but also incredibly knowledgable about all aspects of African life and his passion for carbon neutrality was infectious!" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
M&A
Austria

"A wet but very enjoyable stay at Lake Manze "

4 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2020
"A very nice camp with good food, comfy setup and welcoming hosts who were a constant presence. General game was plentiful, especially Impala, Zebra, Kudu, Wildebeest and delightfully many Giraffe. Surprising lack of Elephants though - just one single young bull (who gave us a good show in the river).Saw a coalition of five lions and a pack of Wild Dogs three times! Also Hyena and two short but exciting leopard sightings. Really loved the boat activities, wonderful photo opportunities for Kingfishers and Bee-eaters espesically.

Our guide was just ok (had far better ones) though a nice enough guy. The driver had impressive skills, got stuck more than once in the black cotton soil. One evening we had torrential rainfall and I was unsure if we'd actually make it back to camp - every little crevice had become a stream, and we had quite a lot of hairy crossings. But Driver Abuu really was champ, and made it.

Tanzania had had unusually much rain, so much of Selous was flooded. Our camp was starting to be more and more in the lake rather than at the lake, so we were transferred to Impala Camp for our last night because they were afraid the water might reach our tent in the middle of the night. The water level was not an issue for us during our stay at Lake Manze, our tent remained a few cm above the water line, only the path started to resemble a creek more and more." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs H
Bristol

"Our Third Stay Here - Excellent"

4 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2019
"This was our third stay at Lake Manze camp so I think that speaks for itself. This time we stayed for 4 nights and were accompanied by some friends.

When we arrived Ali our driver from our previous trips welcomed us at the airstrip and introduced us to Hamedi who would be our guide. On arrival at Lake Manze Camp, Shaun and Milli, the managers welcomed us like old friends.

We had a fantastic 4 days game viewing with Ali and Hamedi. We enjoyed their company and their combination of experience and youthful enthusiasm. They both worked really hard to show us everything including wild dogs and lions. We spent a magical morning with a group of 17 elephants watching them eat, drink, play in the water, roll in the mud and generally just interact. We spent about 2.5 hours with these wonderful creatures, the majority of the time on our own.

We also enjoyed 2 boat trips with our boat guide Ayoub, which I would highly recommend. On the second trip we arranged to do some fishing as well as watching the wildlife which was fun. We caught 4 fish which the chef then cooked for us that evening.

Shaun and Milli are excellent managers and work really hard to make sure everyone has a great time. During our stay the camp was full with a large tour group (which I think is quite unusual). During this time Milli and Shaun made sure that the large group had virtually no impact on our stay and were dealt with separately to the rest of the guests.

As previously, our stay at Lake Manze exceeded our expectations and we look forward to a return visit soon." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

CC.
Porto Alegre

"Lake Manze camp - We don´t reccomend it"

4 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2019
"We haven´t had a good experience at Lake Manze.

Good aspects:
The 2 camp manager (Malcom and after Sean) were very nice to us, the location of the camp is great and we enjoyed the experience to be in a camp with no electricity. The game drive itself (animals, landscape) was nice, the cars that they´ve offered are great.
We reccomend Sealous as a place to visit in Tanzania, for sure.

Bad aspects:
Our guide was terrbile. First of all, we had one guide at the first day and the campus has changed or guide for the second day (it was our first time safari so we didn´t know that normally we should have the same guide every day). Nobody told us that we should expect the same guide from the day 2 (we thought that we would have one guide each day, mainly because of the situation that we will explain on next paragraph)
This change would be a minor problem, if the second guide was a good one.
We felt unsafe all the time with the second guide. To summarize the problem: in our second day of game driving, when we saw for the first time a lion in our entire life, he stopped the car and asked "Malcom has explained how the things work here?". "You asked to see Lion and Elephant, we showed the two animals. If you are happy, you should pay USD15 dollars (or more, you can choose) for me and USD15 for the driver. If you are not happy, you don´t need to pay, but if you are, you need to pay". It was almost an exthorsion (I only realize that once I have arrived to Ikuka and talked to camp manger there).
Just to try to explain how we felt bad, once we come back to the camp I was asking to someone from staff go with me to the tent to take money (I hadn´t any money with me).
We don´t remember the guide name (it was Arns or something like that) and to demonstrate how we were unhappy we haven´t done the last game drive at Lake Manze - we stayed on camp in our last day.
The food at Lake Manze is poor - the menu an lunch in only vegetarian one.
The places that the guide chose for breakfast and lunch (cold rice with pumpkin) on bushes were terrible. For the breakfast it was a 30 metres from the main road.

We would reccomend Selaous as a place to go in contrast to Ruaha, but, unfortunately, we can´t reccomend Lake Manze as a camp. We have talked during the trip and for sure the only reason for that is the guide." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr & Dr S.
Knutsford

"Delightful lakeside safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2019
"Lake Manze Adventure Camp was a brilliant place to stay in the Selous and have an authentic safari experience. The open nature of the camp, with no fences to keep out the wildlife made for amazing up close encounters with wildlife - on several occasions we were woken by the sound of hippos close by our tent and also saw elephant and buffalo from the porch of our tent.

The tented accommodation isn't high-end luxury, but we found them super comfortable with a hard floors, hot running water and mosquito netted doors to keep insects out; the open air shower and bathroom added to the immersive safari experience.

We took advantage of the possibility of going on walking and boat safari as well as the traditional game drives and recommend all of these activities to visitors.

We really enjoyed the great food each evening served in a communal dining area, as it offered an opportunity to talk with fellow holiday makers and share experiences from the days safari." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 213
93%
213 reviews of Lake Manze Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
151
55
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyerere National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (275 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (160 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms and superb service offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (78 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (69 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


98% (33 reviews)
Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in Nyerere National Park, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (31 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


88% (13 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (6 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in Nyerere National Park which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (5 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park


90% (2 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa