This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp


7°39’53.1"S 38°3’53.3"E

Reviews of Lake Manze Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

217 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lake Manze Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lake Manze Camp.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

25% success

Wild dog

44% success

Buffalo

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

96% success

Elephant

96% success

Striped Hyena

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 217
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2022
"This was our second visit to Lake Manze and we were sorry to miss Shaun and Milli but Malcolm was an excellent host and more than made up for their absence. Manze hasn't changed its ethos of simple tented accommodation with no mains electricity which we enjoy and reminds us of safaris long past. However the tents are very comfortable and well equipped with en suite bathrooms. There are facilities for recharging batteries etc in the central area. Everyone was given their own personal water bottle for drinking and cold water was always available for refills .A great idea to cut down on plastic.

We were met at the airstrip by JJ and driver Kucumba (Ali) who became our guides for the four days.They were very knowledgable, had amazing eyesight and were great fun to be with. We saw a wonderful selection of wildlife and great numbers of water birds due to the low water in the lake. Elephants, hippos, genet.leopard and lion roamed through the camp during our stay which was very exciting but we were glad of the vigilant Masaai guards escorting us around and keeping us safe.

The food was good and evening meals were eaten in the open with everyone sitting together. Our vegetarian daughter did feel that a little more protein should have been included in her meals.

Overall we had an excellent stay at Lake Manze and would recommend it to anyone" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
London

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2022
"Sean and Millie were very welcoming hosts. They prepared a surprise honeymoon dinner for us on our final night, which was a really lovely touch!

We loved the set up and the feeling of being among nature/the animals. Rustic, basic with comforts, which suited us very well.

Food was excellent and well-catered for as vegetarians/pescetarians.

Guide & driver for safari drives- both friendly and knowledgeable. Would have been helpful to know in advance so that we were prepared for tipping both guide & driver." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mrs K & 5
Maryland

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2022
"We enjoyed our time at Lake Manze, with our excellent guide and driver. They went above and beyond trying to fulfill our wish-list of sightings. Watching a leopard stalk three impalas within 5 minutes of camp was so exciting and finding lion cubs well hidden under some bushes was amazing. There were plenty of elephants walking through camp and we loved watching them from our porch. The location on the water was a nice difference from previous camps and we enjoyed the sunset boat safari.

Our tent was comfortable with plenty of room to organize and safely stow items in case of baboon intrusions. (Luckily, we did not have any!) The solar powered fan was much appreciated in the middle of the afternoon and at night.

The main tent was nice for relaxing with drinks before dinner. The charging station is large and able to accommodate everyone's devices. There was a very small "store" with some local crafts for sale as well as toothpaste or other essentials you may have forgotten.

Dinner was served by the water with candles and bonfires. The food was average (lunch was better than dinner), but filling. Milly was very attentive to our son's dietary requests and always made sure to check the menu with him. Dinner as a group was a nice way to end the day sharing the day's experiences with other guests." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs J
Leeds

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2022
"Made to feel very welcome from the moment of pick up from the airstrip. Our safari certainly started almost immediately we were through the gate of the National Park. We were thrilled to see so many animals just on the way to camp.

Warm welcome from the hosts Sean and Milly at the camp and our adventure began. Very comfortable tent accommodation - plenty of room for our belongings and everything was spotless. We loved the lakeside location. There was always something happening and just watching across the lake with the binos from the comfort of the chairs in our tent awning was fab!

Our dedicated guides for the 4 days, Roger and Abu were friendly and so knowledgeable about the terrain and animals, birds and plantlife - every day was just a wonderful experience. Roger and Abu took us close to the animals spotted but in such a way that we were rewarded with the animals always remaining calm and relaxed around us.

Difficult to pick a highlight ... elephants in the camp, a hyena in front of the tent and the Masai gently persuading a huge hippo to move so we could get to bed!

The giraffes walking to a favourite pasture in front of the tents every morning and then coming back in the late afternoon... the sound of hippos snacking around the tent at night and the lovely genet who visited every night whilst we were having dinner ...and who knew bushbaby's could shout so loudly? Spotting wild dogs and watching them wake up from their afternoon nap, greet each other - then trot off presumably to look for dinner.. sleepy lions ...up close to hippo families from our boat trips .. That's just to mention a few..

The food was exceptional and plentiful.

Such a wonderful trip." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & MrsF
Northampton

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2022
"From the very moment we arrived at the small air strip and were greeted by James Joseph and Kamkumba alis JJ & KK we knew we were in for the holiday of our life times. Both of these young men are a credit to the camp, their freindlyness, knowledge and experience was unexpected but very much appriciated because we had chosen a more rustic approach to the trip but at the same time we wanted a knowledgable experience.

The camp was run by Sean and Millie who personally met us upon our arrival. Again the same genuinely experienced and passionate approach by them both towards the animals the camp and their role as our hosts for the duration of our stay.

The tents were immaculate and comfortable. The food was excellent and underplayed and could be talked up more.

The activities we went on such as breakfast safari were very good and were a surprising addition to our expectations. Eating breakfast on a hill under a tarmerind tree looking out across the savannah was what it was all about for us.

As we involved ourselves in many activities such as walking out to experience tracking and the ability to spot animal prints and their dung, we were then able to use this knowledge with ours guides to spot animals ourselves.
The most exhilirating memories that we will take away from our experience would be when we spotted the animals ourselves. for example on our first morning out on sarfai Trudie and I spyed three lions laying several hundred metres away however went we got in close to them the pride was 14 strong and we were thrilled to spend twenty minutes of our lifes with them going about their normal business. The herd of giraffes crossing the lake at sunset and Elephants coming into camp in the evening either visting your tent or turning up for dinner would be just some of the highlights.

Overall Sean, Millie and their team's friendly approach made us feel part of their family for the few magical days we spent with them." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Ms J.
Petersfield

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2022
"Millie and Sean offer the warmest of welcomes. It was really like being in someone's home - they made me feel so welcome and comfortable. At this camp I enjoyed both land based and boat safari's with fabulous guides. Ali and Chombo were such fun to be with, so incredibly knowledgeable and worked non-stop throughout our safari's to bring me wonderful experiences. At this camp I saw lots of hippo, giraffe, crocs, the inevitable impala, water buck, buffalo, and an amazing sighting of a leopard in a bush - how did those guys find that leopard? I remember the guides and the managers at this camp with huge fondness." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ms C.
Seattle

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2022
"Ok. No hot water which would have been welcome.

Awesome guides and good service. Nice tent." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

pal
Geneve, Switz.

"Unforgettable experience at Lake Manze"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2021
"Immersed in the wilderness

The team of driver and guide was very friendly and professional. They took care of us whether on game drives, boat safaris or waking safaris.

We enjoyed the quietness - the only thing you hear is the wind and the animals

We enjoyed the service - efficient and friendly staff

We enjoyed the remoteness - no reception or wifi, some electricity (just enough to charge the cameras, but no more is needed)

And the animals were there.

We enjoyed traveling there during this “low season” imposed by COVID: Selous il already quite exclusive compared to the Serengeti but there are barely any other cars touring around. More difficile to locate the animals but a real sensation of being alone in the wild. And we could enjoy “private” game drives as so few guests were present.

Note on the food: while it was always good and the dinners under the stars was fantastic, we would have enjoyed a bit more “Swahili” in our plates" See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Utah

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2021
"Lake Manze camp was fabulous.

Very intimate, remote and wild feel about it. We had a Hyaena walk right past our tent on the first night, almost dark, and we were sitting outside on the front patio of our tent at the time. My wife and I just froze and sat very still without making a sound and only watched. He passed our tent using the path no more than 3 meters away from us. I'll never forget it.

The guiding was superb. Thank you to Zach, JJ and Abu. The boat safaris were a lot of fun. Great birding for Kingfishers and Bee Eaters. Excellent sunsets.

The staff were very attentive and made us feel very much at home. The food was fine and there was a lot of it." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

9 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs L.
Stamford Hill

"Great carbon neutral camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2020
"As we were the only 2 guests for the first few nights, we were thoroughly spoilt!

Malcolm was very accommodating and welcoming, but also incredibly knowledgable about all aspects of African life and his passion for carbon neutrality was infectious!" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 217
93%
217 reviews of Lake Manze Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
155
55
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyerere National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (277 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms and superb service offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (80 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (73 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


98% (33 reviews)
Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in Nyerere National Park, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (31 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


88% (13 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (7 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in Nyerere National Park which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (5 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park


90% (2 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa