This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Steve H from Leeds

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

10

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

36

Excursions taken

0

My January 2020 safari

Kenya between 27 Jan 2020 and 18 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was excellent and Expert Africa were, as usual, superb in handling the arrangements for us. We changed our plans a couple of times but nothing is ever too much trouble for the Expert Africa team and everything went according to plan. We all had a wonderful time and a memorable safari. I can't comment on the brochure as I'm always happy to work from the website and make bespoke arrangements with Expert Africa's superb team - helpful, friendly, thorough and knowledgeable.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
I can't imagine how anyone could possibly improve on the fantastic service consistently provided by Expert Africa over many years. I already have next year's plans in mind and I know that Expert Africa will make the arrangements with consummate ease and efficiency!"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko is brilliant"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2020
"Everything about The Emakoko is great. The accommodation, the food, the staff, the location and the guiding. Elizaban is a great guide and excellent company. Once again their "dawa" cocktail proved extremely popular with our group. Nairobi NP is a great place to start a safari and it's just a shame that the "early bird" start from the airport is no longer available but I would have no hesitation in recommending The Emakoko to start a safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Serena Mountain Lodge

"Serena Mountain Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jan 2020
"The Serena Mountain Lodge is an interesting place to stay. It's quite old fashioned and consequently a little basic but the rooms were fine. The whole building sways slightly, being a tall wooden structure. The food was OK and the drinks quite pricey. The location is good, overlooking a waterhole but the weather was unseasonably wet when we stayed and so wildlife sightings were limited - Verreaux Eagle owls visible at night along with genet cat and white tailed mongoose. The ground level hide is very good and we had great sightings of a pair of Cinnamon Chested Bee-eaters bonding and passing insect food at close range. Like everywhere we stayed, the staff were excellent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Superb Kicheche Laikipia"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2020
"Having stayed at the other Kicheche Camps in the Mara Conservancies many times I was looking forward to staying at their fourth camp and it lives up to their very high standards. They took the unseasonably wet weather in their stride and made sure our stay was unforgettable for all the right reasons. Peter was a great driver/guide and we all enjoyed his company. Great wildlife sightings including good birds and great hospitality all round. Excellent food and great location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Lake Naivasha Country Club

"A good stay at Lake Naivasha Country Club"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2020
"Lake Naivasha Country Club is a great place to stay to break a long journey back to Nairobi. The lakeside setting is marvellous and the birdlife around the grounds is wonderful. The staff were very helpful and attentive and the buffet food was good. My room was well appointed and comfortable but one of the rooms occupied by my companions was in need of a facelift. It's nice having waterbuck and vervet monkeys wandering around the lawns and the views across Lake Naivasha are stunning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Terrific Zambia safari

Zambia between 13 Jun 2019 and 27 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"I had an amazing time.

Great wildlife experiences, fantastic camps and nice hotel to finish off the trip. Brilliant guiding and hospitality all round. Fascinating landscapes with the Luangwa River and all the lagoons and oxbow lakes. Wonderful birdlife. Made me want to go back in the rainy season!

Expert Africa arranged everything with impeccable service as always.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Expert Africa always think of everything! Amazing organisation!"

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Wonderful stay at Luangwa River Camp"

5 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2019
"A fantastic camp set on the banks of the Luangwa River in a great wildlife area.

Wonderful service and great ambience in the camp under the management of Daudie ably assisted by camp host Ignacio. Amazing guiding by Daudie too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Classic safari at Nsefu "

4 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2019
"Another brilliant Robin Pope Safari camp in a great location. The historic rondavels are very comfortable whilst preserving the traditional character of the camp. Fantastic hospitality with wonderful cuisine and great guiding.

Wonderful wildlife in pristine environment. The stork colony is amazing - not just for the yellow bill and other storks - it is an environmental hotspot for avian and land based predators with never a dull moment (Martial and other eagles by day and leopards by night).

The salt pan with hot springs is also a fantastic place to visit. Willie is an amiable and expert guide with a fantastic knowledge of the prolific Zambian birdlife. The camp hide is also a great facility."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Great stay at Avani Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2019
"The Avani turned out to be a very comfortable hotel with wildlife in the extensive grounds and amazing access to Victoria Falls.

Great facilities, spacious comfortable room, and good restaurant. Very cheerful and attentive staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Another Great Safari

Kenya between 29 Jan 2019 and 11 Feb 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"The whole trip was fantastic. We worked our way East from Nairobi in a comfortable Southern Cross safari vehicle visiting Nairobi NP, Amboseli NP, Tsavo West and Tsavo East NPs and then the Galana Conservancy before a few days R&R at Watamu on the coast.

Everything went smoothly and the ground arrangements were perfect thanks to Southern Cross and their excellent driver Joshua. They also took care of our transfers between Wilson Airport and JKIA on our last evening.

Expert Africa set up all the arrangements with their usual efficiency and attention to detail and especial thanks to Richard for tying up all the loose ends and making everything work so seamlessly, as always.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

It's difficult to imagine how you could do better"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"Amazing Emakoko"

1 night Arrived 29 Jan 2019
"Ideal first call from JKIA to start off a safari - Nairobi National Park is underrated and getting to Emakoko is just a game drive away.

Emakoko is a wonderful lodge - great cottages in a wonderful setting with abundant birdlife. Fantastic food. Elizaban is a knowledgeable and friendly driver/guide and all the staff are helpful and attentive whilst also managing to be discreet! Antony is a very congenial host and runs a great lodge

A great introduction to a safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kibo Safari Camp

"Great stay at Kibo safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2019
"For a relatively large camp I was pleasantly surprised how good Kibo was. The dining room was busy at 6am for all the early starters but we had our own reserved table and the maître d' and chef were very happy to consult about vegetarian options in addition to the extensive hot buffet. Good food and plenty of variety.

The tents are set in natural grassland but animals are excluded by an electric fence. Birdlife within the camp is abundant and we had good views of a Pearl Spotted Owlet in the trees above the bar/dining area. Comfortable well-appointed tents and excellent service in camp. We had great views of Kilimanjaro every morning but that can't be guaranteed.

Amboseli is easily accessible from Kibo and although it's quite "busy" the elephants in particular were amazing - vast numbers and many large bulls! Birdlife was excellent especially around the plentiful water which featured large numbers of pelicans flamingos ducks and waders"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Ngulia Lodge

"Interesting Ngulia"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2019
"From the brochures Ngulia is unprepossessing to say the least. It's like an old block of flats perched on a hillside and the rooms are in need of updating. Although it is big it wasn't very busy and the staff were great. Food was good without being exceptional.

However its setting in the Ngulia hills is fantastic with a small waterhole in front of the bar dining area visited by all kinds of game including elephants and buffalo. The star attraction (and one of the reasons we stayed there) was the leopard which visits for food put out nightly. For a warm up act we had a shy female leopard that made a brief appearance - clearly not wishing to cross paths with the big male who came soon after. He was relaxed and took time to take most of the meat provided. The shy female later re-appeared briefly to find little food left.

Leopards coming for bait is not strictly an authentic experience but very exciting nevertheless and for those who hadn't seen a leopard before it seemed like our best chance to see one (although we did see another later on our safari with its own recent kill).

The following misty morning was sensational especially as we came across a pack of 16 painted wolves by a waterhole soon after leaving the lodge - harassed by a young elephant which turned up as they were playing and resting in the mist. Magical!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Satao Camp

Satao Camp

"Special Satao"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2019
"Satao is a lovely unfenced camp with spacious well-appointed tents set out facing an amazing waterhole. Elephants of all ages wander in from all directions throughout the day and night to splash drink and socialise, leaving little room for the abundant plains game to get a quick drink. The gathering of solitary old bull elephants and their social behaviour is fascinating.

The tally of recorded visitors to the waterhole daily is amazing. Birdlife in camp is prolific including vivid Vulturine Guinea Fowl, sunbirds, woodpeckers and Grey headed kingfishers along with many other common birds. Impala wander between the tents. Truly never a dull moment and a photographer's paradise!

The staff were brilliant and the food was excellent.

The wildlife in the surrounding areas was also very good. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kulalu Camp

"Authentic safari feel at Kulalu camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2019
"Kulalu is a special place. Just a few comfortable tents above the banks of the mighty Galana River where herds of elephants and buffalo come to drink. Great wildlife viewing from your tent or from the bar /dining area. Wilder than the other places on our itinerary as we expected it would be but just as hospitable. Excellent staff led by Bush and great food from the kitchen. Hot bucket showers provided by Jeff whenever needed. Nothing is too much trouble and the comfort of guests is assured.

Game drives produced some great sightings of birds and mammals but never another vehicle! As it's beside the Galana Conservancy, night drives are possible and you can walk from camp under the expert guidance of Shedrack. Tsavo East is very accessible too but we didn't feel any need to return to the National Park.

Certainly the most remote camp we stayed at but no less comfortable. I look forward to return visits."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

The Charming Lonno Lodge

"Charming Lonno Lodge - a stunning retreat"

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2019
"It's off the beaten track - we had difficulty finding it at first because most locals couldn't help our driver with directions, but when you do get there it's an amazing retreat. Quiet and luxurious, nothing is too much trouble for attentive hosts Silvia and Aldo (who designed and built the place) and their charming team.

The food is sumptuous, especially if you like seafood and Italian cuisine and there's a good wine list. There is a well maintained (saltwater) pool and beautiful gardens with shady lounging areas and swing divans dotted about for relaxing in the warm breeze.

The lodge is built on coral cliffs overlooking the Indian Ocean with its reef and offshore islets and local fishing craft sail past at high tide. At low tide you can walk/wade out to the reef and on from there to visit Watamu town which is very unspoilt with a few cafes and restaurants in amongst ethnic shops and stalls.

Nearby attractions include the Bio-Ken snake farm, The Arabuke Sokoke forest (home to endemic birds such as the Sokoke Scops Owl) and the fascinating Gedi Ruins. All well worth a visit and easily accessible by tuk-tuk or taxi but Lonno will send you out in their smart vehicle at a modest cost.

Altogether a very relaxing end to a brilliant safari - barefoot luxury sums it up!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

February 18 Kicheche safari

Kenya between 14 Feb 2018 and 28 Feb 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Kicheche camps, managers, chefs and guides are fantastic. The whole setup is excellent and I will be back. Outstanding safari experience with wonderful wildlife.

Inevitably you meet other like-minded enthusiasts who are convivial and also enjoy the safari experience.

Expert Africa make the booking process easy and efficient and the arrangements always work seamlessly. I speak to travellers who use other consultants but I always recommend Expert Africa and I would not dream of asking anyone else to arrange my trips.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The information you supply is always accurate and informative. It helps that the EE team visit all the camps they recommend. Everyone at Expert Africa is knowledgeable, informative and friendly. I can't think how you could improve on what you already do."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

"Fantastic Kicheche valley"

3 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2018
"As before hospitality and service at Kicheche valley is excellent but so too is the wildlife. The wildlife in all three conservancies used by Kicheche camps is outstanding and Naboisho is no exception - maybe leopards still slightly more shy but Fig at Bush camp is an exceptionally obliging & confiding cat.

I was privileged to hear two lionesses bring down a zebra 30 yards from my tent at 5 a.m which is pretty special. The ambush started only 15 yards away and the feeding lionesses could be seen by torchlight from my decking.

I had many other exceptional wildlife sightings whilst I was at Valley and Naboisho is undoubtedly as good as the other conservancies.

Bernard is an excellent guide and extremely good company. He has a good understanding of a photographer's perspective. Marietta was in charge in Andy's absence and ran an excellent camp. All the Kicheche staff are brilliant"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Walking Wilderness

"The trek and Fly camp are highly recommended"

1 night Arrived 18 Feb 2018
"This was a repeat experience and I would hope to do it again next time I stay at these Kicheche camps. Walking between the conservancies from Valley Camp to Bush Camp you feel at one with the environment in a way you cannot from a vehicle. Its like being on the inside instead of looking in from the outside.

Peter the armed ranger is good company as is Bernard my guide and Johnson who supervises everything at Fly camp with pride and attention to detail. Fly camp has moved to a slightly different location from last year but it is just as magical.

The level of comfort is inevitably slightly more limited but not the food, A great night out in the truest possible sense!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Great time at Kicheche Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"Kicheche Bush Camp as exciting as ever.

It was good to meet Darren and Emma this year. Very hospitable and well organised. Wildlife brilliant as before and Fig continues to star.

Well done Patrick for spotting an Aardwolf running at speed in the dusk and getting us in position for a couple of good photos.

Good company, good food, good camp - everything perfect."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"Brilliant Kicheche Mara Camp"

6 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2018
"Thanks to everyone for another wonderful stay at Kicheche Mara Camp, including Aki, Andy and Raymond - all very convivial managers. Thank you too, Michael for your thought for the day each evening and your consideration in providing one for me to read in Nairobi on my journey home!

Brilliant food. Amazing location and comfortable tents. Very well looked after throughout.

So many exciting wildlife experiences thanks to the knowledge and skill of Francis. Staying 6 nights again allowed for patience to wait, absorbing the atmosphere and letting situations unfold to generate a deeper understanding of the dynamics of the residents of this amazing corner of Africa.

Every visit seems to get better. I don't think I've ever seen so many lions!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My January 2017 safari experince

Kenya between 26 Jan 2017 and 7 Feb 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"My January 2017 safari experience was the best ever. I wanted to stay at the Mara Kicheche camps because of their great reputation and they lived up to expectations for wildlife and service. All 3 camps were extremely well run and each has its own character so dividing time between them works very well, The walking safari and fly-camp provides an added dimension which I would recommend to anyone with a reasonable level of fitness. It can be hot so you need to carry water. Catering in fly-camp is good. The wildlife at all three camps is amazing, and not just the big cats. Birdlife and small animals abound too. The conservancy model is definitely the way forward and it's a privilege to be in the heart of such a wildlife haven. The level of service and catering is superb."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

"Kicheche Valley review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2017
"Lovely camp, great wildlife, Jamie and Charles are excellent hosts and Bernard is a brilliant guide and great companion. Extremely comfortable camp in beautiful setting. Great walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush camps with fly camp overnight to break the journey"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kicheche fly-camping

"Brilliant Kicheche fly-camping"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2017
"I would recommend the trek and fly-camp transfer between camps unreservedly. Great walk in wildlife environment and good set up at the fly-camp. I hope to repeat the experience. The ratings below take into account the fact that you are staying at a temporary fly-camp in the bush, set up for you on the day. The comfort cannot compete with the other Kicheche camps which are also in good wildlife areas but are established camps with permanent staff and routines. That said, you are amazingly well looked after and camp catering was great. Bernard as proficient on foot as when driving and good company throughout."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Great stay at Kicheche Bush camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2017
"Aki was in charge as relief manager whilst Darron and Emma were in Nairobi. The camp was well run and extremely comfortable. It was busier than the other Kicheche camps I visited but everything was perfect. Patrick was an excellent guide and good companion."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"Exceptional safari at Kicheche Mara"

6 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2017
"Kicheche Mara camp was tremendous. Great wildlife, fantastic setting. Camp managers Andrea and Manuela are wonderful hosts and it felt like being with old friends.Joseph is a brilliant guide who understands the requirements of photographers and has his finger on the pulse of the environment. The cuisine was great and plentiful.
I love the spacious feeling of the camp with tents well-spread along the valley among large shady trees. Wildlife visits all the camps but it is more visible here and very relaxed within the camp.
I would happily return to any of the three Kicheche camps in the Mara conservancies but especially Kicheche Mara.
It is difficult to imagine how a safari could be better."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Mar 2016 trip

Kenya between 8 Mar 2016 and 22 Mar 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"I had a really great time.

The highlight was Laikipia Wilderness Camp which was absolutely amazing but the return trip down the Rift valley was very enjoyable too. As always the arrangements made by Expert Africa were smooth and efficient throughout.

Altogether yet another brilliant safari experience - the best yet!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I just wish I could afford to travel more often!"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

"Fantastic safari with Laikipia WildernessCamp"

7 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2016
"Wonderful camp in vast, remote wildlife area but the most amazing thing is the ethos of the camp which seems to be to provide as much adventure as a guest would like in a safe and convivial environment with great hospitality.

Great food good tents and fantastic guiding - everything is tailored to giving guests a wonderful, personalised and varied experience. Steve and Annabel have a great set-up and are brilliant and attentive hosts with excellent camp staff. Met their friend Albie Venter who is a specialist private safari guide, runs photographic courses and is also very good company. A bunch of great people congregating in a great place.

We had unique experiences with the wild dogs and wonderful photo opportunities but plenty of other wildlife and many good encounters with elephants and other game. Enjoyable wild walks and expeditions. Regular night drives on the way back to camp or bush dinner were amazing.

Altogether a brilliant time and as a regular safari addict I can say this was the best experience I've had. Can't wait to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Lake Bogoria Fly-Camp

"Lake Bogoria Fly-Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Mar 2016
"This was a brilliant extension to my time at Laikipia Wilderness Camp - not surprising as I travelled with Steve Carey and his camp staff and another return guest of LWC and the same ethos applied.

We had a great campfire dinner and slept under the stars. The fact that there were fewer flamingos than at some times did not matter. There were plenty - and the hot springs were impressive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Tumbili Cliff Lodge

Tumbili Cliff Lodge

"Tumbili Cliff Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2016
"This is a great lodge with fantastic birding and should be on any birder's itinerary.

I was the only guest but the hospitality was brilliant and the facilities very comfortable. The accommodation was of a very high standard with well-designed spacious rooms and bathrooms open to the stars. Excellent pool. Tumbili Cliff Lodge deserves more visitors.

I stayed two nights and was very well looked after. The poor surface of the main road and the limited mammal wildlife in a fairly remote location probably deters some tourists but it is well worth a visit for the rich birdlife. Titus Kangor is a very experienced bird guide and good company. The boat trip on the lake gives good access to water birds.

There is an observatory for astronomers which I did not visit but I loved the birdlife around the lodge"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Flamingo Hill Camp

"Flamingo Hill Camp Nakuru NP"

1 night Arrived 19 Mar 2016
"I was very impressed with Flamingo Hill Camp. It was well appointed, with good tents, pool and dining/bar facilities.

After the remoteness of the previous parts of my safari it seemed quite busy. It wasn't really, but Nakuru NP is an obvious stopover en route to or from other parks/reserves. Nakuru has genuine attractions in its own right - black and (more) white rhinos, Rothschild's giraffes, plentiful other photogenic game which is not too shy and very good birdlife - we had good views of a Crowned Eagle in the forest and numerous other raptors. There is a noticeable litter problem which will need to be "photoshopped" but that is probably the price that must be paid for such an accessible NP. A concerted litter-pick and a campaign against discarding litter might be worthwhile.

The only drawback for an otherwise good camp is the noise from Nakuru itself. The camp is inside the park but close to its northern boundary adjacent to the busy town. The music and motorbikes made me aware that it was Saturday night but did not prevent a good night's sleep, - just a reminder that I was getting back into the inhabited world!"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Lake Naivasha Country Club

"Old World Lake Naivasha CC"

1 night Arrived 20 Mar 2016
"Lake Naivasha Country Club retains an old-world charm with spacious gardens and lakeside habitat.

The waterbuck in the gardens are relaxed as is the single wildebeest who evidently considers himself one of them. Plentiful birdlife and entertaining vervet monkeys. Another reminder of approaching civilisation the nearer I got to Nairobi but a very good place to stay on the way back to the airport with excellent service and good rooms"
Excellent

My January 2015 safari

Tanzania between 20 Jan 2015 and 31 Jan 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thoroughly enjoyable and memorable 10 day safari. Everything was great and there was absolutely nothing more I could have wished for.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service

I can't comment on the quotation because I haven't compared with any other. I have always found Expert Africa to be so good at organising my trips that I would not dream of contacting anyone else! I have no doubt that they are good value for such an excellent service and I have recommended them to a number of fellow travellers on safari who seemed less impressed with their agents.

To know that everything will run like clockwork from booking to returning home removes all the hassle from travelling to remote and exciting destinations and leaves us free to enjoy every minute of the experience.

The feedback form seems to cover everything that travellers might wish to raise.

Thanks for the helpful guidance and wonderful service"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Another Great Safari at Lake Manze"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2015
"I just love Lake Manze. The informality in the camp combined with the excellent food and dining under the stars make for a magical experience and everyone is so friendly and helpful.

It was a thoroughly enjoyable safari (as always). The boat trips provide an extra dimension and the birding was very good. Elephant and lion numbers in the area seem to be down but this may just be a seasonal variation.

It was great to see a healthy and active pack of wild dogs again.

I am happy to rate all aspects of my stay at Lake Manze as excellent - within the camp's stated aims (which I approve) to provide a more natural (and correspondingly less luxurious) experience. Rebecca and her team are doing a great job."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"fantastic safari at Kwihala"

6 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2015
"I had heard good reports of Kwihala and my visit exceeded all expectations.

The camp is extremely well run and everything is geared up to the comfort of guests including the superbly appointed tents, amazing catering, attentive friendly staff and fantastic guiding.

Steve is not only a top guide but extremely good company. His knowledge of wildlife and birds is encyclopaedic (even to a lifelong nature fanatic and birdwatcher). Every game drive seemed like a fresh adventure for him too, which makes it all the more enjoyable. Brilliant bush breakfasts and sundowners enhance the ultimate wilderness experience. The night drive takes you into a whole new world in which the same landscape is inhabited by completely new participants.

Dinner with Sandie (manager) Steve and Festo (guides) and other guests was always entertaining. The food was plentiful varied and unbelievably delicious.
The camp is in a great setting and the game plentiful and varied.

The whole experience was unforgettable. Asilia, Sandie, guides and all the camp staff are to be congratulated on doing the safari experience to such an amazingly high standard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2013 trip

Zanzibar between 18 Oct 2013 and 1 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fantastic holiday. The Freeman safari was amazing and provided brilliant photo opportunities. great camp. Pongwe is a great place to relax after a safari with beautiful beach and gardens. Both establishments had friendly and attentive staff who were keen to maximise our enjoyment of the holiday.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Very satisfied as always with the Expert Africa service"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Image alt

Own arrangements in Kenya

"Fantastic safari at Freeman's Camp masai Mara"

6 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2013
"We had a marvellous time with Brian freeman and other guests at his camp in the Masai Mara. fantastic game sightings and great guide/driver gave fantastic photo opportunities.

Freeman's camp is set up for specialist photographic safaris and Brian runs a very good camp"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

7 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2013
"Very relaxing time - excellent friendly and attentive staff and good food. the facilities are excellent and the beach area is idyllic. The gardens too are beautiful with very good birdlife

The food was very good and the only slight criticism was that sometimes there was so much lettuce with the salads that it hid the other ingredients!

The room was spacious and comfortable and the amenities provided are very good. Bathroom basic and brackish water supply for washing and showering would not suit everyone"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Fantastic February safari

Tanzania between 4 Feb 2012 and 17 Feb 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an amazing time - wonderful wildlife, fantastic scenery, superb service, great accommodation and food in camp in the bush and by the beach. The planning and organisation could not have been more thorough and helpful.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The whole holiday was brilliantly put together and we had a fantastic time - but having used Expert Africa before we expected nothing less!"

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Magical return to Manze"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2012
"As before we were looked after very well in the camp and on our jeep and boat safaris and we had a wonderful time.

Amazing wildlife and hospitality.The dining arrangements are extremely sociable and Sara runs the camp very well. Thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable again.

Rashidi's knowledge and boatmanship deserve a special mention as do Emmanuel and Samuel who make a great jeep team"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Green season at Mdonya"

4 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2012
"Like Manze, Mdonya is a very well run camp and we were really well looked after. There was a very real sense that all the staff were interesting and interested - nothing was too much trouble and they really wanted us tio have great stay.

Enoch and Chele were a great team in the jeep. Great breakfasts and lunches in the bush. The only niggle was that on day 2 we did 2 half day game drives and we were afflicted by the tsetse fllies which are far worse in the area surrounding the camp and were not a problem on full day game drives. In camp they weren't a problem and we appreciate that the park authorities are at fault for not keeping the tseste traps properly treated but they are a real nuisance - everyone was totally distracted by them. So we wouldn't recommend half day trips whem the tstetse flies are active.

That said everything else was wonderful and we had some amazing wildlife sightings"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Mchanga Beach Lodge, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Mchanga beach paradise"

6 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2012
"Just wonderful - spectacular setting, secluded, and relaxing. Great acommodation. we were very well looked after by all the staff and management. The service was amazing and so were the smiles. Fantastic location and great cuisine.

It would be difficult to imagine a better way to chill out after a great safari experience. thanks to everyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

fantastic safari

Tanzania and 1 other country between 16 Oct 2010 and 29 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Much more than "very satisfactory". Every aspect of the holiday exceeded our high expectations."

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"time of a lifetime at Lake Manze tented camp"

5 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2010
"Altogether a wonderful experience made even more special by the friendliness and attentiveness of staff and the bespoke approach to activities"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Matemwe Beach Village, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"brilliant relaxation at Matemwe Beach Village"

6 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2010
"it would be difficult to imagine anywhere more relaxing than this"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2010
"Well appointed room with great Zanzibar style - delicious food"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team