This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp

Reviews of Kwihala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

107 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwihala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwihala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

50% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 107
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J & Mrs C
Streatha

"Kwihala Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"We absolutely loved this camp. We were fortunate to be there when there were very few other guests.

Very good tent, very nice main tented area and very good food. We loved eating out in the evenings surrounded by lights and a lovely fire. We had one of the best guides we have ever had in Charles who was most knowledgeable and a pleasure to spend five days with. We saw a huge amount of game including some wonderful sights of Roan and leopard. The other Charles, the camp manager was always very friendly. All in all it was one of our best stays ever in more than 15 safaris." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr S.
Albuquerque

"Kwihala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"Our guide was very good but was a little too intent on showing us every possible game sighting. I know he was trying to be diligent but this led to too much fast driving over rough roads. We chose this camp because they offered walks and we did go on a walk but we had to be a bit insistent, it seemed that they preferred not to do walks." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Doctors
Sheffield

"Kwihala Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2018
"Fantastic.

The staff worked incredibly well as a team which must reflect good leadership. The camp had just the right balance between comfort and situation appropriateness - ie remote bush location.

The food was excellent, but again appropriate for the location. Bush breakfasts ensured that the morning game drive was not broken up

The game quite thin because of the start of the rainy season but our excellent guide ensured we saw as much as possible and in the end we saw masses." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Quality camp"

5 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2017
"On arrival, we were met at the air strip by Tony who was also our guide for the next 5 days. We took to Tony straight away and certainly liked his style. Just away from the airstrip he stopped the vehicle and chatted to us about what we wanted to get out of our stay in Kwihala Camp and Ruaha NP - nice touch Tony!

Next surprise was arriving in camp.....we were greeted by the Manager Tam and her team with huge smiles waving like mad, nice touch too Tam.

Kwihala Camp in every aspect is 5* all the way. Having already stayed in a Asilia camp before, they have to be some of the best trained friendly staff we have encountered in many years of safari holidays. It is like being welcomed into a family and treated special for your stay.

A special mention here has to go out to Tony, our guide. It was so evident that he was a very knowledgeable and experienced guide. He worked hard to find some good sightings for us and with his knowledge and all our patience one evening we sat watching 3 lionesses on the other side of the river. Tony was sure they were going to cross to our side of the river, which they eventually did, we then followed them for a while, all the time Tony kept saying I think they are going to find their cubs. Two of them then began very quietly calling for their cubs.....we then watched as 4 cubs appeared and began their greetings. What a magic moment and all with just our vehicle watching on." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
MW&JS
UK

"Kwihala sets the bar high"

9 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2017
"I cannot add much in the way of compliments and adulations to all those reviewers, including a very high percentage of returnees and seasoned safari goers (including myself) who have described so effusively and consistently what makes Kwihala so very special. There are all the high quality factors you would reasonably expect from an industry focussed on tourism and hospitality but there is so much more on offer at Kwihala . There should be gradings above 5* to do this camp justice and while I have enjoyed other camps Kwihala leaves them standing.

I will instead take this opportunity to thank all the staff (front of house and behind the scenes) for their welcome ,kind attention, in depth knowledge and sheer sense of fun. Tam is an amazing hostess whose magic wand and problem solving skills are always at the ready to deliver the nigh on impossible . It was great to spend time with three of Kwihala's truly excellent guides (Lorenzo, Saidi and Moinga) together with trainees Charles and Michael.

Thank you Lorenzo for a great full day out to Maji Moto and beyond when we saw 2 male dik dik fighting for all they were worth to Saidi; for his patience with my birding attempts and for that panoramic breakfast spot we christened Milima ya Saidi; to Charles for replacing my footstool and that great night heron spot and to Michael for quietly pointing out birds when other guests were entranced by lions.

But it isn't all about guides ; Robert heads a great team of waiters: it was fun to see Goodluck's pride in the new mobile bar and enjoy his recipes:;I resisted Nico's gentle entreaties to eat more cake ; it was great to see Rajabu just back from leave filling my bucket shower and to Dani for so gently teaching me some Swahili en route to and from my tent in the dark .. Full marks too to chefs for great food and to everyone who we rarely see but who are an essential part of the Kwihala family.

What I miss from reviews is some idea of what to expect at different times of the year. Having said that my 9 nights in early January this year was far from predicable. The green season had barely got underway but it was still fascinating to witness this transition time where the smell of rain was so tantalising, the Mwagusi and Ruaha rivers were still very dry and green season birds were only just arriving. However it meant we could venture further afield and with the dawn of each new African sunrise just bask in what Ruaha had in store for us and wonder at this pristine wilderness which I so precious and life affirming." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs TD
SW London

"Excellent, Excellent, Excellent"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2016
"From the moment we were picked up by our wonderful guide Said we knew we were in excellent hands. Kwihala was, on paper, the least 'luxurious' place we stayed at for our honeymoon, but it was our favourite.

We had an amazing guide, doing everything he could to give us great sightings and with a unbeatable level of knowledge and good humour. Tam and her team made the afternoons enjoyable and dinners were wonderful. Tam is an incredible camp manager, with the most natural and enviable guest handling skills. The staff at the camp seemed to get on very well, organically creating a lovely family feel, and this really made the atmosphere so special. The housekeeping and service here was also exceptional.

We would absolutely stay here again, and recommend it, in a heartbeat." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Wonderful tented camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"Kwihala is a very well-run camp in a great location on the (dry when we we visited) riverbank. Tents are spacious and well appointed. The bucket showers worked perfectly! The site is extensive, so each tent is well separated from others. Tam, the manager, is knowledgeable and experienced, and working with the team of guides and other staff, provides an all-round excellent safari experience. The food was really good, varied and of consistently high standard.

Highpoints - we arrived at the airstrip to be told that there was a pack of wild dogs which we really must see before being taken to the camp. After an exciting drive through the bush, we got there just in time to see them before they moved off from resting round a tree. As we had always wanted to see wild dogs, this close-up experience was perfect. Thanks to Michael and Charles for this amazing experience.

Our guide, Hamza, ably supported by Michael, was excellent and knowledge. He was determined to give us the best viewings possible. The two of them also provided us with the - entertaining, for us - spectacle of them rescuing another safari vehicle (from outside Ruaha) which had become bogged down in a riverbed. Good driving skills!

Ruaha provided excellent sightings of elephants, lions, a variety of antelope and wonderful birdlife." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Sevenoaks

"Kwihala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2016
"We spent four nights at this little gem of a camp, coming from Selous Impala.

Although it sounds like a cliche, perhaps the best way of thinking about Kwihala is that you don't feel like a paying guest but rather a friend who has been invited to a weekend party. I'm sure that this is in no small part down to the skills and personality of the manager (Tam) who has got the fundamentals running so well that the team can relax into their jobs and create an atmosphere which is unstuffy, welcoming and thoroughly relaxed.

Our tent was comfortable and well-equipped; and although we found the design of the 'chest of drawers' slightly frustrating;, this really didn't seem to matter. The tents are well spaced and the only sounds we heard were from visiting jackals, hyena, elephant and monkeys (and the occasional lion grumbling in the distance).

The food was excellent. We had breakfast in camp only once (on our last day) otherwise having a bush breakfast out on an early game drive. Lunch was a really good buffet, and dinner a three or four course affairs. While there is no choice, they are keen and able to accommodate different tastes - when lamb curry was planned, knowing that we don't like spiced food they produced a lamb stew version just for us with no fuss.

Our guide, Hamza, was a star - knowledgeable, passionate about the bush (his excitement when we came across a pack of painted dogs was almost as enjoyable as the dogs), and yet with an easy manner and a sense of fun which made drives enjoyable as well as interesting. It was not unusual to go for several hours without seeing another vehicle, and while the volume of game was perhaps not as great as in the Selous the quality was exceptional - lions, elephants, many leopards, dogs and some splendid and rare birds.

But it is the staff which really make this camp. They are not just charming and helpful, they seem to anticipate what you need and unobtrusively make it happen. If you are looking for five star formality this may not be the camp for you - but as a place which combines professionalism, enthusiasm and a genuine warmth Kwihala would be hard to beat." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Charlotte & Dale
UK

"Heaven .."

4 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2016
"WOW.

Amazing host Tam and her team make you feel like family the minute you arrive. The tented camp is immaculate and located on the river bed. Food amazing, I really don't know how the chef does it with limited facilities. Service fantastic. Game drives and the guides are top class, really go out of their way to give you what you want where possible, so friendly, experienced and informative.

On our last night as we were on honeymoon Tam and her staff surprised us with a meal for two outside our tent on the river bed, very romantic and so so gorgeous how it was set up. Definatley rounded off an amazing stay at Kwihala.

Cannot wait to return one day!

WOW WOW WOW!!!" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Munich

"The real experience at Kwihala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"Kwihala Camp was our first experience of a safari ever and it was absolutely amazing. The camp is very small and intimate, the staff and manager incredibly friendly, welcoming and always willing to share their experience. Our guide Tony was really special - passionate for his job, rather a vocation, extremely knowledgeable, always willing to go the extra mile to show us something very special.

During camp time, we had great conversations with the team, both children and adults. It felt more like a big family and at home, than just visiting. Finally, the owners of the camp are very committed towards making a positive impact on the environment and the people who live in it - a fundamentally important aspect of this kind of tourism in my view. We would always go again and highly recommend Kwihala Camp and their team." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 107
99%
107 reviews of Kwihala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa