This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Doctors from Sheffield

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2019 trip

Zambia between 14 Nov 2019 and 25 Nov 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very well organised and enjoyable trip.
Game was slightly thin at both Musukese because of rains and Liuwa because lack of rain but every effort was made to find what there was with some great sightings.
It was an adventurous out of the ordinary experience."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2019
"Slightly tired but excellent location close to airport.
Serves function very well"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Musekese Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2019
"If you want Wi-Fi this is not the place for you. Its remote and all the better for it.
Tightly run small set up with excellent guiding.
No frills but extremely functional and comfortable
The rains had started so the game was slightly thin and dispersed but every effort was made to find what was there. Some fantastic sightings including leopard kill.
Not sure I will forget the roar of Tripod the 3 3/4 legged lion outside our tent at night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Liuwa Plains Mobile Safari

Liuwa Plains Mobile Safari

"Liuwa Plains Mobile Safari review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2019
"Incredibly remote even having flown 1 1/2 hours from Musukese. A further 3/12 hour road trip.The suspension on the land-cruiser which took us in and out of the Park might be improved, but the other vehicle (Land Rover) used from the camp was fine.
Logistics of setting up a mobile camp fantastically well organised by Tyrone. His endless enthusiasm was infectious. Well appointed tents in camping site set aside to this safari alone.
The rains had not really come to Liuwa so game was more in the South but great sightings of hyena, lion and cheetah. Took a lot of driving and hard work to find them but superb guiding from Tyrone and Gilbert"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Ruaha and Selous 2018

Tanzania between 12 Jan 2018 and 23 Jan 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very well organised and coordinated trip leading to a marvellous holiday making the most of remote and beautiful game reserves

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep being aware, which I am sure you are!, of the difficult balancing act between remote bush and wish to see animals and comfort.

Different customers will have different requirements, but my personal view is that excessive luxury in this situation is not appropriate, makes me feel uncomfortable and actually detract, not to say making an already expensive trip even more so.

Kwihala got it absolutely right for me."

Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2018
"Fine. Served the function perfectly well of an overnight/day stop on arrival and before departure"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2018
"Fantastic.

The staff worked incredibly well as a team which must reflect good leadership. The camp had just the right balance between comfort and situation appropriateness - ie remote bush location.

The food was excellent, but again appropriate for the location. Bush breakfasts ensured that the morning game drive was not broken up

The game quite thin because of the start of the rainy season but our excellent guide ensured we saw as much as possible and in the end we saw masses."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2018
"Excellent. Our guide, Gerard, was absolutely top notch. Most impressed.

The camp was very good but tending to the slightly fussy and fawning. While the food was excellent, I am not sure how appropriate smoked salmon was in the Tanzanian bush.

When paying a significant amount for such a holiday beer and basic wine should be included.

We were slightly sceptical, but the boat safaris turned out to be really relaxing and enjoyable with masses to see."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team