This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp

Reviews of Pioneer Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pioneer Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
S & J
Herefordshire

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2022
"Convenient place to stay overnight while waiting for domestic flight the following day.

Pleasant enough.

Don't really remember the meal, hence average rating." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Food:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Ian
Hightown

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2022
"A pretty average camp and a bit of a disappointment after the excellence of Waterbury, Nkwali, Nsefu and Luangwa River camps.

The food was pretty poor and was pretty deserted.

Glad that we only had one night here." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2022
"Convenient and close to the airport.

Good pick up and delivery back next day but food took far too long, was cold and some options were unavailable.

Staff were friendly but seemed quite inefficient." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mrs L
Netherlands

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2022
"The ownership of the camp has changed a couple of months before my stay. All the staff and the new manager, Levi, are very friendly but somehow this place seems to miss something. Maybe a hostess or host that is around in the main area all the time would bring back a feeling of warmth." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr J
Edinburgh

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2022
"Fairly close to lusaka airport so it was a nice way to ease into the Safari holiday experience after a long journey. The staff were polite and friendly, my cabin was v comfortable, the setting was fun and I enjoyed my stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs L
Netherlands

"Not a very warm welcome"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2022
"Pioneer Camp was supposed to pick me up from the airport. When I arrived at Lusaka’s international airport in the middle of the night there was no car to pick me up. It turned out the telephone numbers of the camp did not work. After calling ExpertAfrica’s New Zealand office Marushka solved the problem and a car came from Lusaka to bring me to Pioneer Camp.
The location of the camp is beautiful, a rural area, nice and most of the time quiet. The cottages are spacious and comfortable, although they felt a bit cold in June. Food was not very good. Apparantly they were hiring a new chef." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Ms AA
NZ

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2022
"A better introduction for me to Zambia than a big hotel. The grounds are lovely and the service very friendly.

The food would probably be considered average and the access to the step in bath in the chalet was, in my opinion, a bit of a hazard for older guests. The step down was deep and there was no handhold to help balance. The lights went out during the night and could not be turned on again. Otherwise the room was spacious and comfortable and clean.

Staff were helpful in acquiring the right adaptor for my power plugs as I had brought the wrong kind (doh)." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
NJK
Manchester

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 May 2022
"A good 'landing' place for an overnight stop near the airport (for an early flight the next morning).

Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious accommodation. Good food." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss P
London

"Pioneer Camp Review"

1 night Arrived 9 Apr 2022
"I've stayed at Pioneer many times over the last 10 years, and found the owners increasingly absent - I now understand the camp has changed hands.

My main issue this time was that they failed to pick me up at the airport. I was left standing outside for about 45 mins while I called Expert Africa. Thankfully Claire picked up, and contacted the camp who sent a driver to pick me up. I tried calling the camp directly on the number provided in my information but that number wasn't working.

They then compounded the mistake in the way they dealt with it, by pretending it hadn't happened - neither the driver nor the lady who checked me in at the camp even acknowledged I'd been left waiting, let alone offered any sort of apology. It was only the next morning at breakfast when the manager came over to ask me how my stay was, that I raised it myself. He initially blamed Expert Africa for not providing my arrival details, which I thought was unlikely but could easily be ascertained when I got back. Later, at lunch he came over and admitted he'd found the email with my arrival details and that it was their fault. I was offered 50% off a future stay and I already have 2 further Zambia trips planned using Pioneer, so I will see if things improve.

There were a few additional minor things - when asking about my departure, one staff member first told me I'd need to pay 100 Kwacha per hour to keep my room after 11am, then also told me a departure time that would have me at the airport 3 hours before the flight (I'd said I was flying to Mfuwe).

The hot water in the chalets has never been amazing, but seems to be worse than ever - you have to wait ages for it to get hot, then it's a feeble trickle that's impossible to adjust between freezing and scalding. Hair dryers in the rooms would be welcome, as it's often not that warm in Lusaka and no one likes to sit around in the cold with wet hair. I'm sure the rooms used to have them but I could be mistaken." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 136
78%
136 reviews of Pioneer Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
62
32
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a decidedly eclectic boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style and an excellent restaurant.


92% (85 reviews)
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (37 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


91% (11 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa