This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp

Reviews of Pioneer Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

144 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pioneer Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 144
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Nov 2022
"We were slightly hesitant about staying at Pioneer Camp because of the recent mixed reviews. However we need not of worried because things had improved. The airport pick up went smoothly.

The new camp staff seemed to work as a team and communication was good. The food was much better than on previous visits.

It remains a good place for a one night stay outside Lusaka. It’s shame that it usually feels eerily empty and this time was no exception." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Pioneer Camp 10 to 11 November 2022"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2022
"A very comfortable, quiet place to spend our last day before travelling back to the UK.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the food was superb.

And due to the lateness of our flight they were kind enough to let us remain in our chalet until the time to leave for the airport, instead of the usual 10 am checkout." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Harvey and Jo
Lewes

"Pioneer Camp - bush camp on the edge of Lusaa"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2022
"A good staging post only 35/40 minutes from the airport - though some of the route is on 15 minutes of really dreadful dirt road, worse than some in Luangwa." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Miss P
London

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2022
"My experience was better than last time as they did at least remember to pick me up from the airport this time, but that's still a pretty low bar.

I had the same room as last time, the hot water is still impossible to use.
A cold shower might be OK in October, but I think this will be my last stay at Pioneer." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs N
Hampshire

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2022
"We had heard poor reports of Pioneer camp from fellow guests at the other camps, however, we were pleasantly surprised by the room (clean, tastefully furnished, shower worked well, comfortable bed).

Service was exceptionally helpful, the staff went out of their way to ensure the City Tour interchange worked well and were very helpful with letting me use their laptop to check in online to our return flight when I failed on my phone. (Something Old Mondoro could not help us with.)

We would recommend Pioneer for an overnight stay to any traveller." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr IB
Northumberland

"Pleasant stopover"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2022
"A one night stopover on our way to South Luangwa.

A pleasant place to spend time, all of the staff were very welcoming. The spacious chalet accommodation was very comfortable, unfortunately it proved impossible to balance the shower output so we ended up having cold showers, not too onerous in the heat.

The food was OK but limited in choice. The birdlife was good so we were able to while away the time before our onward flight sitting on the veranda identifying them." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2022
"This was a perfect place to chill after a long journey from UK and while waiting for the following day’s flight to Mfuwe.

Although on the outskirts of Lusaka, it had the feel of being in the bush and our chalet was much like a typical chalet in a game reserve (though obviously minus the animals).

There would not be much to do for a period longer than a night unless you had your own vehicle.

Very relaxing vibe, friendly staff and great food. A perfect way to start off the trip." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2022
"We would rate the location higher if you are planning to depart from Lusaka airport. However, we were planning to travel to Kafue NP via a road transfer which effectively meant a 5 hour journey rather than 4 hours.

On a positive note the staff were both friendly and very helpful, when our transfer driver failed to arrive at 06:00am for the road transfer. He eventually arrived at 09:30am (car trouble)! The Camp grounds are pleasant and the swimming pool area is good.

In summary, the Camp is rustic and is in need of some refurbishment." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Food:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Average
S & J
Herefordshire

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2022
"Convenient place to stay overnight while waiting for domestic flight the following day.

Pleasant enough.

Don't really remember the meal, hence average rating." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Food:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Showing 1-10 of 144
78%
144 reviews of Pioneer Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
66
34
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a decidedly eclectic boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style and an excellent restaurant.


93% (93 reviews)
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


84% (41 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


91% (11 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa