This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp

Reviews of Pioneer Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

127 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pioneer Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 127
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P
London

"Pioneer Camp Review"

1 night Arrived 9 Apr 2022
"I've stayed at Pioneer many times over the last 10 years, and found the owners increasingly absent - I now understand the camp has changed hands.

My main issue this time was that they failed to pick me up at the airport. I was left standing outside for about 45 mins while I called Expert Africa. Thankfully Claire picked up, and contacted the camp who sent a driver to pick me up. I tried calling the camp directly on the number provided in my information but that number wasn't working.

They then compounded the mistake in the way they dealt with it, by pretending it hadn't happened - neither the driver nor the lady who checked me in at the camp even acknowledged I'd been left waiting, let alone offered any sort of apology. It was only the next morning at breakfast when the manager came over to ask me how my stay was, that I raised it myself. He initially blamed Expert Africa for not providing my arrival details, which I thought was unlikely but could easily be ascertained when I got back. Later, at lunch he came over and admitted he'd found the email with my arrival details and that it was their fault. I was offered 50% off a future stay and I already have 2 further Zambia trips planned using Pioneer, so I will see if things improve.

There were a few additional minor things - when asking about my departure, one staff member first told me I'd need to pay 100 Kwacha per hour to keep my room after 11am, then also told me a departure time that would have me at the airport 3 hours before the flight (I'd said I was flying to Mfuwe).

The hot water in the chalets has never been amazing, but seems to be worse than ever - you have to wait ages for it to get hot, then it's a feeble trickle that's impossible to adjust between freezing and scalding. Hair dryers in the rooms would be welcome, as it's often not that warm in Lusaka and no one likes to sit around in the cold with wet hair. I'm sure the rooms used to have them but I could be mistaken." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr B
Singapore

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2021
"Trip to Zambia started with a transit night in Lusaka. Gladly, I decided to stay in the Pioneer Lodge.

After a long flight from Singapore via Johannesburg, I was very happy to be reliably picked up from Lusaka Airport. The drive was nice. Staff at the lodge is very friendly and I could immediately start relaxing, enjoying bar, restaurant and pool area.

Had a great dinner and drinks and could peacefully rest in the room on a comfy bed. Immediately had the African feeling.

Transport early morning at 5am also no issue. Would always come back" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Western
Alberta

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2021
"This is a small, informal, relaxed place to stay in a quiet rural area just outside of the city, and yet still close (30 min drive, the last part along a very bumpy road) to the airport. There are several chalets, as well as space for self-drive campers.

There is a nice main building area with reception, bar, and patio dining. There is wifi in the main building area. I stayed here overnight on my international arrival in country, and then the next day back to the airport and on to Mfuwe and SLNP.

Tip - enroute to Pioneer you pass by the Waterfall Mall, which is handy for currency exchange office, and for SIM card purchase at the MTN shop, if things are closed at the airport, as they were for me during the transition from old terminal to new terminal in fall 2021.

Pickup on arrival was waiting and efficient, as was the return trip to the airport the next day. Staff were friendly and helpful. My stay was Sept 2021 during COVID, and things were pretty quiet. I was the only guest in the chalets, and there was an interesting German couple doing a self-drive in the camp area.

It's a total contrast to popular modern and upscale Latitude 15 Degrees, which is looks to be a great as well, but they are very different place to stay, and also at different price points. My rating factors that in. Latitude 15 is likely better located if you are trying to coordinate PCR testing for departure." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Chris
sint genesius r

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jun 2021
"Nice staff. Great to have been alone as I could get the best room. Which was great.

Camp needs a bit care. Some plastic waste in the camp hidden in the tracks for birding. Fantastic potential though for birds.

Feel sorry for them that they had so little tourists." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs J.
Gulf Shores

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2021
"Drivers from Pioneer Camp were waiting for us at Lusaka Airport. About a 40 minute drive to camp. Our room was basic but we were not lacking for anything. Dinner was homestyle local food and good. Good camp for start of our trip." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms G
Florida

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2020
"Pioneer camp is located on the outskirts of Lusaka. It is about 20-30 minutes from the Airport. At some point, you leave the paved road and enter a remote area. This can be a bit daunting at night. The property is a combination of campsites and one room chalet style cabins. The rooms are somewhat shabby with few amenities.

What the property lacked in "creature comforts" was more than made up for by the kindness and hospitality of the staff. I was concerned that I could not leave the country without a Covid-19 test. Reception called the airline, airport and interceded to assure me that I would be able to board my flights unimpeded. Transfers were on time and efficiently managed." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr J
Coventry

"Good place for one nights stay"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2020
"A perfect place for a one nights stay before or after a flight to or from Livingstone as it is relatively close to the airport." See all these reviews: 20n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Doctors
Sheffield

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2019
"Slightly tired but excellent location close to airport.
Serves function very well" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"This was our fifth stay at the camp. Airport pick up and drop off went well.

Delicious vegetarian option. Hot water available in the evening and morning.

Staff were helpful." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr RVM
Sintra

"Pioneer Camp - the arrival to Zambia"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"After a reasonably long trip (Lisbon - Dubai - Lusaka), a driver from Pioneer Camp was waiting for us and it was nice to have a short drive between the airport and the camp. Staying overnight in the Pioneer Camp proved to be a great decision.

We had a very friendly and warm welcome and after settling in we took a relaxing aperitif while waiting for dinner. The food was excellent.

Next morning, after the breakfast and punctually at the agreed time, the same driver took us back to the airport where we've met a Skytrails representative." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 127
79%
127 reviews of Pioneer Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
58
28
4
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (66 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa