This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp

Reviews of Pioneer Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

124 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pioneer Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 124
Duration
Arrival date
Chris
sint genesius r

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jun 2021
"Nice staff. Great to have been alone as I could get the best room. Which was great.

Camp needs a bit care. Some plastic waste in the camp hidden in the tracks for birding. Fantastic potential though for birds.

Feel sorry for them that they had so little tourists." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs J.
Gulf Shores

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2021
"Drivers from Pioneer Camp were waiting for us at Lusaka Airport. About a 40 minute drive to camp. Our room was basic but we were not lacking for anything. Dinner was homestyle local food and good. Good camp for start of our trip." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms G
Florida

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2020
"Pioneer camp is located on the outskirts of Lusaka. It is about 20-30 minutes from the Airport. At some point, you leave the paved road and enter a remote area. This can be a bit daunting at night. The property is a combination of campsites and one room chalet style cabins. The rooms are somewhat shabby with few amenities.

What the property lacked in "creature comforts" was more than made up for by the kindness and hospitality of the staff. I was concerned that I could not leave the country without a Covid-19 test. Reception called the airline, airport and interceded to assure me that I would be able to board my flights unimpeded. Transfers were on time and efficiently managed." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr J
Coventry

"Good place for one nights stay"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2020
"A perfect place for a one nights stay before or after a flight to or from Livingstone as it is relatively close to the airport." See all these reviews: 20n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Doctors
Sheffield

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2019
"Slightly tired but excellent location close to airport.
Serves function very well" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"This was our fifth stay at the camp. Airport pick up and drop off went well.

Delicious vegetarian option. Hot water available in the evening and morning.

Staff were helpful." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr RVM
Sintra

"Pioneer Camp - the arrival to Zambia"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"After a reasonably long trip (Lisbon - Dubai - Lusaka), a driver from Pioneer Camp was waiting for us and it was nice to have a short drive between the airport and the camp. Staying overnight in the Pioneer Camp proved to be a great decision.

We had a very friendly and warm welcome and after settling in we took a relaxing aperitif while waiting for dinner. The food was excellent.

Next morning, after the breakfast and punctually at the agreed time, the same driver took us back to the airport where we've met a Skytrails representative." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
D & S
NZ

"Convenient finale"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2019
"We stayed a final night at Pioneer before our flight from Lusaka airport. It was convenient and appropriate.

The staff was pleasant, the shower and food were fine, we caught up on wi-fi - all the necessaries in a pleasant low-key environment.

Transport to and from the airport was seamless." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
D & S
NZ

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2019
"We were only there for about 3 hours (~3-6am) between flights, trying to sleep, so nothing relevant to write.

Phegan, who picked us up and dropped us back at the airport, was friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Donaldsons
ADK, NY

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2019
"We stayed at Pioneer only one night after arrival from the States.

It turned out to be a great decision....sort of a transition from home life to the camps in South Luangwa. Accommodations were very nice, camp personal helpful and friendly. There are a fair number of campers, both tent and mobile, which while we didn't expect, were not problematic.

I would recommend Pioneer as a good stopover point." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 124
79%
124 reviews of Pioneer Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
57
28
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (60 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck looks like any other Zambian house in the road, but inside you'll find it to be an interesting and eclectic little hotel with a real flavour of Zambia.


84% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa