This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp

Reviews of Pioneer Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

120 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pioneer Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 120
Duration
Arrival date
Doctors
Sheffield

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2019
"Slightly tired but excellent location close to airport.
Serves function very well" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"This was our fifth stay at the camp. Airport pick up and drop off went well.

Delicious vegetarian option. Hot water available in the evening and morning.

Staff were helpful." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr RVM
Sintra

"Pioneer Camp - the arrival to Zambia"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"After a reasonably long trip (Lisbon - Dubai - Lusaka), a driver from Pioneer Camp was waiting for us and it was nice to have a short drive between the airport and the camp. Staying overnight in the Pioneer Camp proved to be a great decision.

We had a very friendly and warm welcome and after settling in we took a relaxing aperitif while waiting for dinner. The food was excellent.

Next morning, after the breakfast and punctually at the agreed time, the same driver took us back to the airport where we've met a Skytrails representative." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
D & S
NZ

"Convenient finale"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2019
"We stayed a final night at Pioneer before our flight from Lusaka airport. It was convenient and appropriate.

The staff was pleasant, the shower and food were fine, we caught up on wi-fi - all the necessaries in a pleasant low-key environment.

Transport to and from the airport was seamless." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
D & S
NZ

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2019
"We were only there for about 3 hours (~3-6am) between flights, trying to sleep, so nothing relevant to write.

Phegan, who picked us up and dropped us back at the airport, was friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Donaldsons
ADK, NY

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2019
"We stayed at Pioneer only one night after arrival from the States.

It turned out to be a great decision....sort of a transition from home life to the camps in South Luangwa. Accommodations were very nice, camp personal helpful and friendly. There are a fair number of campers, both tent and mobile, which while we didn't expect, were not problematic.

I would recommend Pioneer as a good stopover point." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S.
Haslemere

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Apr 2019
"We spent one night between flights at Pioneer Camp. It served its purpose as a stop over near the airport well.

Major problem, over which they had no control, was that there was a power outage much of the evening which made things much more difficult.

Food was fine but not brilliant and the staff helpful and friendly.

Certainly a better option than a featureless city centre hotel." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr K-Prof V
Michigan

"Great Place to Use Near Lusaka"

1 night Arrived 21 Dec 2018
"Only 30 minutes from the airport, we stayed at Pioneer Camp for a day while awaiting an onward flight connection.

Our experience was excellent - good food, quiet surroundings, attentive staff.

This was a hundred times better than staying in a hotel in the city. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr E.
Zurich

"Arrival in Lusaka"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2018
"Negative:
- very loud music from a neighboring house/village
- very impersonal reception and atmosphere
- reception area was dark and not very welcoming" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr T
Johannesburg

"Overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2018
"On arrival at airport, Pioneer guys were there to meet us, transfer to camp was without incident. Arrival and check in were fine, though one room had twin beds because of a red ant infestation, not the end of the world. Dinner was fine. Rooms were spacious but the bed and pillows were terribly old and uncomfortable. Our transfer back to the airport was a huge issue. The bus was late. We were told we would be leaving at 6am. Most of our party was already waiting at reception at 5:45. By 6:30 our transport wasn't there. There was a story about another couple needing to leave for the airport, so they took the bus, and the driver was on the way back. They then brought another car, which we loaded and piled in. This car had no fuel. Our original bus came tearing back into camp and almost ran over the dog! We unpacked the car with no fuel and packed into the bus. The drive to the airport was hair raising to say the least - it's a wonder we didn't have an accident. We did make it to the airport with minutes to spare before check in closed. The story about the other couple was nonsense, they would not have fit in the vehicle with us anyway. This was a phantom couple. The driver was just late. Late was bad enough, but the lying was unacceptable." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 120
79%
120 reviews of Pioneer Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
32
55
28
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (58 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck looks like any other Zambian house in the road, but inside you'll find it to be an interesting and eclectic little hotel with a real flavour of Zambia.


84% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa