This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge

Reviews of Lilayi Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lilayi Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Paula
Atlanta

"Great - once you get there!"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2019
"Really great lodge - however, not for one night unless you want to see the city and life in the capital. The lodge, the food, the setting were great!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Lilayi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"As our previous review" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Good overall"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"Our only comments are that the menu for lunch and dinner was the same and seemed to be the same each day so quite limited and a lighter lunch menu would have been better, also the lodge is a good hours drive from Lusaka airport." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
The B family
Swindon

"Excellent Lodge in Lusaka"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"Lilayi Lodge is an excellent place to start a safari. Being able to walk around the grounds and see wildlife by yourself is an added attraction.

As is the elephant orphanage at the end of the road which the lodge are happy to drive you to.

The lodge is relaxing, quiet and friendly. The chalets are very well appointed.

We would definitely return." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr B
Canada

"Lilayi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2019
"A great place, loved seeing baby eles.

Super room, very good food.

Restaurant gets rather busy at weekends." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss A
Haywards Heath

"Good flight recovery destination"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2019
"Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Had no plans to do any activities. Took great pleasure in the grounds and whatever wildlife happened to be there.

Food - Breakfast adequate. I was happy with fruit, yoghurt etc. so did not try cooked breakfasr. Light lunch and dinner very pleasant especially venison carpaccio. Bar staff very cheerful and waiters always willing if a little haphazard at times.

Housekeeping - above and beyond. I had forgotten to pack a hair item (inconsequential to most but not for me). One of the housekeeping staff said she would go to market at the end of her shift and send it back with the staff bus. It was delivered to my door a couple of hours later. Exemplary.

Room - Overjoyed to see a fan heater. I put it to good use! .Everything provided except a bathrobe which was a slight disappointment. (Provided everywhere else.)

A great stopping -off point in extremely nice surroundings.. Manager very welcoming..." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G
California

"Lilayi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms M
Toronto

"great place to relax after long trip"

2 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2016
"My mum and I both really enjoyed our stay here.

Special highlights include the veranda on our private chalet and the deck off the restaurant area, both of which provided beautiful views of the grounds and animal-watching opportunities. My mum thought the pool was an exceptionally good one, in terms of size, cleanliness, ambiance. The food here was fantastic. Everything we ate was delicious and well presented. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Note - we did not take part in any activities here so can't comment on those." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
NL

"relax in Lilayi Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2016
"relax in Lilayi Lodge [ Ed: see comments below also. ]" See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs M
NL

"relax in Lilayi Lodge"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"Lilayi Lodge was our , so called " home" in between the different bushcamps we visited.

It's a very good place to start and end your trip, especially when you have hours to wait for your flight.

The food is excellent except when there are big parties and the cook is too busy" See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
92%
10 reviews of Lilayi Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp, situated 14 kilometres from Lusaka's international airport is ideal for a night's stopover at the end of your trip.


79% (120 reviews)
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (58 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck looks like any other Zambian house in the road, but inside you'll find it to be an interesting and eclectic little hotel with a real flavour of Zambia.


84% (38 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa