This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge

Reviews of Lilayi Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

13 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lilayi Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 13
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs JD
W London

"Lilayi Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2023
"What a great place, and a place that we want to re-visit in September 2025

We got to know Scott, the General Manager and his entire family quite well + a wonderful guy called Billie-Guest Manager or something like that, and again, we are keeping up a lovely e-mail relationship with Billie and his lovely wife

We had many discussions with Scott about the lack of "foreign guests" and he agreed, and said that this is an area that he would like to expand

We said that it was a wonderful experience to go from the remote "bush", into another type of "bush"-tamer, but superb with its 640 hectares of land and 410 animals wandering around everywhere and 300 species of birds -rather than go straight from the remote "bush" onto ghastly International airports, delays and many flights!

So hopefully, he will begin to attract more foreign clients-we really believe that they miss out by not staying here en route to wherever-but then again, I suppose that it's all about peoples' money and time-it all adds up to more days out of the UK / other countries + more costs-and that is just not possible for everybody-but we feel that people would really benefit from staying here for a few days, to wind down and to relax

We highly recommend Lilayi and hope that you continue to offer this lodge for the reasons above, to your clients

One piece of feedback is with regard to the transfer from Lusaka Airport to Lilayi Lodge

We believe that you need to ensure that there is about one and three quarters hours transfer "time-wise" to transfer from the airport to the lodge and vice versa

On the return on a Sunday, leaving the property at 1830, for a flight leaving at 2040, we were told that that leaving at 1830, was sufficient time

Our poor driver, was under huge pressure from us, as the traffic was horrendous, and he had to keep trying to find alternative, less busy routes, to try to avoid the traffic-even on a Sunday evening-and it was a very stressful transfer, as the clock ticked on, as did the traffic

So our suggestion is that this one a three quarter hours transfer time, is noted by you." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A&S
Northampton

"Lilayi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2023
"Perfect for a start to the trip. Lovely staff and very relaxing.

We were treated to a dinner with wine on our stay which was extremely generous of the host.

Would recommend and return." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs M.
Chesterfield

"Lilayi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2022
"The hotel was very flexible and accommodating, the room was very good and the food in the restaurant was very good." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Paula
Atlanta

"Great - once you get there!"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2019
"Really great lodge - however, not for one night unless you want to see the city and life in the capital. The lodge, the food, the setting were great!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Lilayi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"As our previous review" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Good overall"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"Our only comments are that the menu for lunch and dinner was the same and seemed to be the same each day so quite limited and a lighter lunch menu would have been better, also the lodge is a good hours drive from Lusaka airport." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
The B family
Swindon

"Excellent Lodge in Lusaka"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"Lilayi Lodge is an excellent place to start a safari. Being able to walk around the grounds and see wildlife by yourself is an added attraction.

As is the elephant orphanage at the end of the road which the lodge are happy to drive you to.

The lodge is relaxing, quiet and friendly. The chalets are very well appointed.

We would definitely return." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr B
Canada

"Lilayi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2019
"A great place, loved seeing baby eles.

Super room, very good food.

Restaurant gets rather busy at weekends." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss A
Haywards Heath

"Good flight recovery destination"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2019
"Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Had no plans to do any activities. Took great pleasure in the grounds and whatever wildlife happened to be there.

Food - Breakfast adequate. I was happy with fruit, yoghurt etc. so did not try cooked breakfasr. Light lunch and dinner very pleasant especially venison carpaccio. Bar staff very cheerful and waiters always willing if a little haphazard at times.

Housekeeping - above and beyond. I had forgotten to pack a hair item (inconsequential to most but not for me). One of the housekeeping staff said she would go to market at the end of her shift and send it back with the staff bus. It was delivered to my door a couple of hours later. Exemplary.

Room - Overjoyed to see a fan heater. I put it to good use! .Everything provided except a bathrobe which was a slight disappointment. (Provided everywhere else.)

A great stopping -off point in extremely nice surroundings.. Manager very welcoming..." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G
California

"Lilayi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 13
92%
13 reviews of Lilayi Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp, situated 14 kilometres from Lusaka's international airport is ideal for a night's stopover at the end of your trip.


78% (145 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a decidedly eclectic boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style and an excellent restaurant.


93% (115 reviews)
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


84% (41 reviews)
Ciela Resort and Spa

Ciela Resort

Ciela Resort and Spa is a smart, luxurious hotel close to Lusaka’s International Airport, with substantial grounds, a golf course and several dining options.


85% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa