This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs F from Harrow

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

6

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

30

Excursions taken

2

Our 2018 trip to Tanzania

Tanzania between 22 Aug 2018 and 5 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This is the 5th time to Tanzania. Our trip to the Selous gave us our real bush experience (which we love), then a bit of luxury. We appreciate being able to combine both and still be all safari (not being ones for beach stays).

From start to finish our trip went well. There were no problems with any of the organisation and we really appreciate the planning by Expert Africa and have recommended you when talking about trips to Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

So far we have not had any worries or problems so more than happy with your service."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun Dar - arrival night stay"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2018
"A good choice for our 1 night stay before heading off to the bush.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Breakfast had lots of good choice."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"Lake Manze is a true bush experience, which we love and its why we made this return visit. Millie and Sean (Managers) were very friendly and an interesting couple. Really enjoyed their company.

Our guide, Joseph, was one of the best we have had. Very knowledgeable on his birds (our particular interest) and an excellent spotter. He worked well with our driver, Zahora, who was a very caring driver and good spotter as well. They both showed so much interest in the wildlife and really made our stay so enjoyable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"A bit of luxury to enjoy. No restrictions on what we wanted to do, with our own guide throughout and Godfrey was delightful as well as being a very good spotter.

We did driving safaris, drive then bush walk, fished, boat safari and time to chill out in camp ,as well.

Michelle, the Manager, was very friendly and welcoming. She made sure everyone was okay, always on hand to ensure you were happy with everything."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Our 2016 trip to Kigelia and Beho Beho

Tanzania between 28 Aug 2016 and 8 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fabulous holiday. Everything went to plan. All our pick ups and being met at various times went well - no worries about finding anyone.

Camps we chose suited us and we enjoyed both equally for different reasons."

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

"Great bush experience at Kigelia Camp"

4 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2016
"We love real African bush experiences and this camp gave just that. The attention given to us by the camp staff was second to none. The phone contact in each tent worked very well. Any request was immediately taken care of and there was no wait for an escort to dinner.

Bush walks were very professionally carried out, informative and really enjoyable with breakfast at the end. We actually spent quite a while watching an 8 foot python slithering through a bush. None of the guides had actually seen one out on a walk before so this was an experience for them as well. The night drive was also really well run and we had great sightings of genets, bat-eared foxes, lions etc.

We had Ken as our guide most of the time. He was excellent, very knowledgeable, an excellent spotter and easy to get on with.

Accommodation was very comfortable, well serviced, private, with everything you needed. Hot water was provided any time you requested for a wonderful bush shower.

We had great experiences of elephant very near and round our tent, giraffe close by, a dwarf mongoose family coming to drink at our garden basin, a shy bush buck and a herd of elephant digging to drink water in the river bed in front of us. A great stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Return visit to Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2016
"As returning customers we found little has changed at Beho Beho making it still the best we have visited. It is a luxury unpretentious friendly camp. Food is exceptional, guiding is excellent for drives and for walking, accommodation extremely comfortable with everything you need.

You're always asked what you would like to do morning and afternoon. Whatever you decide - bush walking or driving - long or short - they take it on board and nothing is a problem. Phil and Trish welcome everyone with open arms. Trish always welcomes you back from your activity with a smile and a chat to see how things went, what you saw and how you are.

We did have some great walks in the bush. Had close encounters with elephant (lone males as well as herds with youngsters), hippo's, wild dogs. They were exciting, guides were very professional and we felt confident with them.

The guides do their best to ensure you get as much out of the bush as possible whether with general information or spotting the animals and birds.

We can't fault this camp and it suits us to start with a tented bush camp and then end with Beho Beho."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

"Short stay before flight to Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"An impressive hotel to drive up to. Security very tight with gated access. Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Went up to our room with a porter taking the luggage. Room was comfortable and as only had 7 hours there (not overnight) decided to have room service for food. We only had a pizza each but they were promptly delivered on a trolley table at the time they said and were very good pizzas.

When we wanted to check out the porter was immediately up to the room to help and took us to reception. Checking out was painless and the staff friendly and helpful."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

My Sep 2014 trip

Tanzania between 1 Sep 2014 and 11 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Really enjoyed this holiday and it came up to expectations. We are glad we went to Beho Beho last, it was the right way round to do the trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"Overall the camp was run as efficiently as it was last time. The facilities were 1st class and the activities were 1st class as were the guides and their knowledge.

Alans only comment would be - the food was excellent but tended to be too vegetarian orientated and he would have liked a bit more meat!!!!!

After the incident the staff were very efficient and caring and carried on professionally and we were very impressed by their attitudes."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"There is very little to say except - WOW!!!!!!!!

A really wonderful camp. Great experience and just loved it. The management and staff are all superb and maintained a relaxed friendly atmosphere. The food was 1st class and it was by far the best camp we have been to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

"Beho Beho Treehouse review"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"The whole experience was superb and we will not be giving any more details as it may spoil others experience.

It is highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Namibia/Zambia trip 2013

Namibia between 24 Aug 2013 and 12 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Good
"We really enjoyed our holiday and had some great experiences. Driving was a pleasure with empty roads.

Changing money in the banks was not easy and time consuming."

Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2013
"Impressive location, hotel very comfortable and made a good 1st night."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2013
"Great accommodation.

The activities were very interesting. We particularly enjoyed the opportunity to track cheetah and hyena on foot and to get so close to them.

The trip to the Africat centre was a big disappointment as it seems that Africat has closed down."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"Superb accommodation. Peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. The farm trip we chose to do was good for the 1st half - very informative and interesting. Then the 2nd half was basically an extremely bumpy uncomfortable drive back and of no real interest.

We had 2 evening meals, one of which was excellent and the other was one of the worst meals we have ever had!!!!!!."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"This was an unexpected surprise - a lovely place to stay.

The managers were very welcoming and friendly and the lodge was tranquil and peaceful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2013
"Excellent location on the banks of the river. We really enjoyed our stay here although the accommodation was a little more basic.

We were able to drive into Mahango park ourselves and also as an organised activity."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Susuwe Island Lodge

"Susuwe Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"Our collection at the police post was a bit disorganised as we had to wait an hour in the hot sun for another couple as they had been told that collection time was an hour later than ours.

The location and accommodation were superb but the game drives were a bit disappointing. The guide didn't seem to have his heart in it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Shackletons Lodge

"Shackletons Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"The experience of fishing on the Zambezi was second to none. The boats and equipment were 1st class.

This lodge though is geared up for serious fishing with few other activities."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

A full on safari holiday

Tanzania between 23 Aug 2011 and 9 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"The whole trip worked very well. The organisation was superb. We had no worries or hiccups.

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday with abundant game, birds, great fishing and bush walks in the Selous. We were really very pleased with everything.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"First camp of four"

4 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2011
"A great start to our holiday. A good mix of water and land safaris and activities.

Great to be able to plan your own days."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Camp two of four"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2011
"The activities both water and land based were great. Impressed by the standard of service accommodation and food. The guides were excellent and very knowledgable.

The whole camp was run superbly and we would not hesitate to return."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp

"Camp two and a half of four!!!!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2011
"The camp location was superb. The food excellent. Great experiences, even the rain storm when out bush walking (the guide assured us it never rains in August)!!!!!!

Well looked after and glad we had two nights - this is a must - one night would not have been enough!!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Our return to main camp"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2011
"Comments and grading as before [Ed: see below, also by 'Mr. & Mrs. F - Harrow']"
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Camp three of four"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2011
"Superb location and food. However we were let down by the organisation and guiding.

The standard of our guide was poor to say the least and on one drive spent 4 hours talking to the driver and we were doing all our own spotting."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Camp four of four!!!!!!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2011
"What a great place to finish our holiday.

The accommodation was superb, food wonderful, guides exceptional, organisation excellent and the most wonderful evening meals.

Cannot fault any part of our stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Last night!!!!!"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"Average hotel slightly disappointing, too many power cuts, a bit grubby when you looked round. (Bottom sheet was not good - discovered in the morning!!!!!!)."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average

Our Namibia Holiday

Namibia between 25 Aug 2009 and 11 Sep 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was a really great experience and we enjoyed everything we did. A good mix of a holiday. Well planned and it worked well.

All the arrangements worked perfectly some turning out better than expected.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

NO!!!!!!!"

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Great way to start the holiday"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2009
"Staff very friendly and efficient on arrival. Our room was spacious and comfortable with mini bar and tea making facilities. Bathroom spacious with bath and separate shower and plenty of toiletries supplied (even candles for romantic lighting!!!!).
Plunge pool and use of Jacuzzi were added bonuses.
The Wellness Centre and available treatments were a surprise and I had an Indian head massage and a foot massage - well worth it as the therapist was excellent.
Food was good & the breakfasts were excellent.
We enjoyed having 2 nights here before moving on particularly the surprise discovery of hot water bottles in the bed with sheets turned down as well!!!!!."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Sea Kayaking base"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2009
"When we arrived we had been allocated one of the rooms over looking the river and the sea which we hadn't expected - so we were well pleased. The receptionist was very efficient and friendly. She confirmed both of our day trips and booked us the Tug for Sunday evening.

The room was very good with plenty of space, a nice balcony (although it was a bit too cold to really enjoy it!!!!) and the beds had electric blankets!!!!!

The breakfasts were excellent with the hot food being cooked to order.
We did 2 trips while here - one was the Turnstone tour to Sandwich Bay which involved sand dunes, a wonderful lunch on the beach right at the sea line and a walk along the lagoons. The second was Sea Kayaking with Jeanne (a lovely lady who was so interested in all that she did and in what we saw) - this we really did enjoy the whole experience and a must for anyone to do!!!!!.

Day trip to Sandwich Harbour
We were picked up on time and headed off for the dunes. Driving in the dunes was a real experience and a lot of information given to us by the guide.

We stopped for a wonderful lunch right on the beach with the sea lapping at out feet. When we arrived at Sandwich Bay we were very disappointed by the lack of birds. We had read that this was one of the best sites for bird life in Namibia but there were only about 7 species in all. We had a young Jackal follow us on our walk but this was really the only highlight (apart from 1 Damara Tern that we spotted). The guide tended to speak german as the other 4 people were from germany and we felt a little left out at times.
Really glad we did the trip but nothing overly outstanding.

Kayaking to Pelican Point
Excellent excellent excellent - a great experience we wouldn't have missed. Jeanne is very well organised and knowledgeable. On the way to the point, driving through the salt pans she spent time pointing out all the birds. On arrival at pelican point we were quickly kitted out and were told about the workings of the canoe. We went out to sea to find the dolphins and then returned to Jeannes seal colony where we spent the most wonderful hour with the young fur seals which came up to the canoe, played with the paddles and some even let you touch them. The sound and smell was unbelievable!!!!!!

When we landed sandwiches and hot coffee were provided and we drove back via the salt pans and more bird watching.
Jeanne gives everyone a great experience and a very full morning. This trip should not be missed."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Oh what a drive but well worth it!!!!"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2009
"What a surprise!!!!! After being warned that the drive would be dreadful and the worst road in Namibia, we actually found it great and one of the better dirt roads that we experienced. A long long drive but we felt it really was worth it. When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and were informed that we would be the only people staying there that night (apart from some official from Etosha - and we never saw him or his family any way).

The room was dated with 60s furniture but again clean, spacious , with toiletries, towels, fridge & tea making facilities. We had been told the food would be canteen style but the dining room was nice and fresh and people that had stayed there had written comments of their stay on the walls (all excellent and some with little drawings).

The meal was vegetable soup (home made), smoked salmon, 2 hour old Kingclip fish fillet & veg with an apple crumble & custard to die for. The breakfast was excellent and the whole stay was a very good experience. Peace and solitude at this time of year (no fishermen who normally make use of these facilities)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Wonderful wilderness experience"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2009
"We were met by Claire and taken to the camp which was in the finest location overlooking mountains and bush, and full of animals.
The tents were of a high standard and the bush shower, flush toilet and hot and cold running water were above expectations. The 3 evening meals were of high standard considering the location of the camp. Breakfasts were okay but nothing hot and the lunches were good. Drinks of any sort were available whenever you wanted them and all included.

Claire is also a therapist and it is well worth indulging in what she has to offer - I had a reflexology treatment!!!!!

We had 2 morning walks with Dennis who imparted great knowledge on the geology, flora and fauna, plus shared our interest in the bird life. We also had 2 late afternoon game drives which we thoroughly enjoyed even though we failed to find the male lion which we heard evenings and mornings.

Our car was even washed at the location we had left it (this is also included).

Dennis and Claire are a super couple running the camp professionally and with really super staff - a real pleasure."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Waterhole 1- a room with a view!!!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2009
"On arrival at the camp the people on reception were friendly and helpful and we had been allocated WH1 chalet (right at the water hole). The room was superb with the most wonderful bed linen!!!! (Fluffy quilts and pillows). Again we had tea making facilities and a fridge to use.

We had a 6.30pm meal each evening which meant when we returned to the waterhole most people were leaving for a 7.30pm meal so we had no problems getting a bench to sit and watch all the activity.

Both breakfast and evening meals were buffet style and this meant there was ample to eat and choose from but nothing startling.
There is a large swimming pool area but we didn't make use of this whereas some people would really enjoy it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"A bit of luxury"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"We were made very welcome, everything was explained and then we were taken to our chalet. Our room was very spacious with a veranda to sit out on in comfort at the end of the day. Facilities included a mini bar and tea making facilities with little biscuits.

The evening meals were very good and the breakfast was again excellent with good choice. The only problem was that the clocks had gone forward and we didn't realise which meant we were late to dinner and breakfast, but they didn't mind and just laughed it off (lovely natured staff).

There was a wonderful swimming pool (and we did indulge here), nice sun loungers, sun shades and towels provided, wart hogs on the lawn, ground squirrels running around and Kudus roaming around. Super stay."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Dassi delight"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2009
"The camp was in a stunning location with a bit of a climb up to bed (we had the highest tent with the best view!!!!!).
The tent was excellent, and the shower and toilet in a unique setting. When you showered you looked up and the dassis were there looking at you!!!!!

There was a small pool amongst the rocks which was a pleasure to use during the hottest part of the day (siesta time!!!).

We did an early morning walk which turned into a bit of a route march. It would have been better to have had good maps and done it ourselves had we realised. However it gave us a good feel for the area.

The wild life and birds were very good with porcupine in the evening at the small water hole, several endemic birds and baboons roaming the mountain tops morning and night.

A great way to finish our holiday."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"A sandy experience"

29 Sep 2009 • All-day excursion

We were picked up on time and headed off for the dunes. Driving in the dunes was a real experience and a lot of information given to us by the guide.
We stopped for a wonderful lunch right on the beach with the sea lapping at out feet. When we arrived at Sandwich Bay we were very disappointed by the lack of birds. We had read that this was one of the best sites for bird life in Namibia but there were only about 7 species in all. We had a young Jackal follow us on our walk but this was really the only highlight (apart from 1 Damara Tern that we spotted). The guide tended to speak german as the other 4 people were from germany and we felt a little left out at times.
Really glad we did the trip but nothing overly outstanding.
Average
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"What a wonderful morning"

30 Sep 2009 • Morning excursion

Excellent excellent excellent - a great experience we wouldn't have missed. Jeanne is very well organised and knowledgeable. On the way to the point, driving through the salt pans she spent time pointing out all the birds. On arrival at pelican point we were quickly kitted out and were told about the workings of the canoe. We went out to sea to find the dolphins and then returned to Jeannes seal colony where we spent the most wonderful hour with the young fur seals which came up to the canoe, played with the paddles and some even let you touch them. The sound and smell was unbelievable!!!!!!
When we landed sandwiches and hot coffee were provided and we drove back via the salt pans and more bird watching.
Jeanne gives everyone a great experience and a very full morning. This trip should not be missed.
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team