This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

Reviews: Kayaking with seals

Below are independent comments from 163 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 163
Date
Mr & Mrs M
London

"Kayaking with seals "

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 22 Aug 2022
"Very easy 45 minute drive to the meeting point at Walvis Bay. Met our Kayak team who very friendly and set off at 8.15am. Lovely scenic drive along the coast (again seeing the flamingo's and birds). Unfortunately my window wouldn't come down so missed a few excellent photo opportunities (tip - before setting off make sure you are seated by a window that works)!

Upon arrival at Pelican Point we were given waterproof clothing (although I still managed to get wet somehow so be prepared). Within a few minutes of launching our kayak into the sea we were surrounded by hundreds of seals all wanting to play with us. We had them jumping up the side of us and jumping on our kayak. When they got used to us they loved to be stroked. We had the most amazing hour and half with them.

Our guide came out in a kayak and during the time took fabulous photos of us (around 70 photos) which are available to download from their website (free of charge) so we have some great memories. We then had coffee and snacks before heading back.

A fabulous trip which we highly recommend." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs A.
Newcastle

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at The Delight on 16 Aug 2022
"An amazing experience loved by kids and parents alike.

Guides were very friendly and helpful, equipment all supplied and playfulness of seal pups exceeded all our expectations." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Charlie
London

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at Swakopmund Guesthouse on 7 Aug 2022
"A fantastic trip and unique experience.

Very well managed and run, really interesting drive, helpful staff and we all really enjoyed this. The seals were literally close enough to touch and play with and the drive involved plenty of flamingo sightings, jackals and past the salt factory which was also very interesting.

Warm tea and sandwiches when we finished." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D.
Cheshire

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 14 Jul 2022
"An excellent excursion. The team is run by 2 brothers who really want you to have a good time, they are chatty and funny and give you lots of information as you drive to the area to go kayaking.

All bases are covered, the kayaking kit is all ready and organised and warm, dry clothes are provided. The brothers come out on the water with you, encouraging you to interact with the seals and showing you how. They also take photos and send them to you later.

We really enjoyed this day despite the average weather with poor visibility.

There are large flamingo colonies which we saw on the way there and back." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J.
Newton Abbot

"Kayaking with seals review"

8 Jul 2022
"Very gentle minimal kayak. Amazing to be so close to seal - to the point of stroking them as they played puppy like.

Knowledgable staff who talked about local area and wildlife/ birdlife on route." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Family P
Spain

"Kayaking with seals: absolutely awesome"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 9 Jul 2022
"We loved the morning we spent with Kevin and his team. Even the drive out to Pelican Point was fabulous, thanks to their passion and knowledge.

The whole excursion was so just well thought out and well executed, with everything we needed provided and the time spent with the seals themselves was fantastic. We had no idea they were such playful and curious creatures, and the whole family loved every minute we spent with them.

Can't recommend highly enough!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr and Mrs O.
Indiana

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 31 May 2022
"We feel like we got 2 excursions in 1!

Our family loved kayaking with the playful seals and watching the whales (the company was well-equipped and everything went very smoothly).

We also really enjoyed learning about the wildlife and local history from Graham as we traveled to and from the kayaking location." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
N Ireland

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at Strand Hotel on 1 May 2022
"The trip was well organised and enjoyable and Kevin was a mine of information. The sea was calm and any nervousness at the prospect of kayaking was soon dispelled.

It was great fun and the seals seemed to enjoy it as well - there were lots of them!

Kevin took photos of us all at sea but disappointingly we never got one of us." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms M
Switzerland

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at The Delight on 5 Apr 2022
"A very nice outing in a group togehter with other couples and families.

Very nice, good guides, well organised. To be recommended." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
A, D, & M
Boston, USA

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 11 Aug 2021
"Absolutely amazing experience!! The seals were adorable, guides very knowledgeable and allowed plenty of time on the water.

Also saw a whale and dolphins.

A must experience when in Swakopmund!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 163
98%
163 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
148
11
4
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team