This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

Reviews: Kayaking with seals

Below are independent comments from 154 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 11-20 of 154
Date
Mrs P
London

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 9 Aug 2019
"Lovely people, even lovelier seals!

Well organised, great fun" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Drifting around with seals"

Based at Desert Breeze Lodge on 31 Jul 2019
"On this tour, you are drifting around with seals in a kayak just off the beach.You can stay on low water if you wish. It is very easy and requires no prerequisites unless you are extremely clumsy. One does not sail much, but mainly drift around among the seals near the shore. We could easily bring our own camera, the tourist kayak was very stable. Bring very warm clothing, sun hat and sunscreen. You are pushed dry-shoed out into the water. Exciting drive to the starting point. Especially good if you like animals. The only bad thing was that was were not booked with Jeanne Meintjies, as indicated in our itinerary. When we called her the day before to confirm our trip it took a while to find out, we were booked with another firm "Pelican Point Cayaking"." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr D.
Southampton

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at Namib Guesthouse on 27 May 2019
"Well organised. Plenty of time for the activity." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr J.
Ireland

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 21 Apr 2019
"Lovely experience. Would highly recommend. Great guide." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Kayaking with the seals-don`t miss!"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 8 Apr 2019
"If you have the opportunity to do that activity: It's great!
Never thought, that there are so many seals playing and swimming around us!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
CT USA

"Fabulous and relaxing kayak"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 27 Mar 2019
"Kayaking with the seals was the PERFECT way to start our Namibian vacation. (We started our trip in recovery mode from the Cape Epic bike race in South Africa -- my husband as a racer and me as a volunteer). Jeanne's instructions on how to find her were perfect. (As a side note -- the Dolphin Coffee Shop was adorable and would be a good place to have a pre- or post-kayak meal). The drive out to Pelican Point was interesting in and of itself -- and Jeanne was very accommodating in terms of explaining the wildlife and stopping so I could take photos of the flamingos and pelicans, jackals and more. Kayaking with the seals was magical -- once you got used to the smell! It was a very relaxing exercise -- cruising slowly along with hundreds of seal pups (born in November) yapping and jumping around us, listening to their choruses of squeals and seeing their inquisitive eyes as they bopped up and down. It was just very special! After kayaking, Jeanne set up a table and chairs and pulled out a tub of delicious sandwiches and pastries. It was also handy that she provided all the outerwear needed -- warm jackets, rain pants and booties -- as well as dry bags for our camera. And she was lovely to email us photos and videos that she took which were a great accompaniment to our own." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs A & Mr M
London

"Great excursion!"

Based at Villa Margherita on 9 Nov 2018
"Jeanne could not have been more friendly, informative or helpful.

We loved every moment of this excursion especially as it also included seeing the jackal dens with the jackal pups and all the flamingos and other birds in the lagoon. You don't have to have had any kayaking experience to be able to get among the seals and have a wonderful morning.

Note to Expert Africa, the excursions now start at 08.00 not 08.15" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Kayaking with seals review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 22 Oct 2018
"We all agreed that this was the best thing we did on our holiday and one of the closest experiences we have ever had with wildlife.

It is a unique experience to kayak with hundreds and thousands of seals - some of whom climb onto your kayak. The drive out is beautiful and gives an insight into this unique ecosystem of salt, wading birds (think 80,000 flamingoes and pelicans) and jackals. Jeanne was fantastic, informative and obviously loves her job which she has been doing for decades yet made it feel brand new.

We were lucky enough to have wonderful weather. Book well in advance - summer 19 already mostly booked up with Jeanne's company. Even if you don't kayak (although it is very easy to do) the journey there/back is worth it in itself." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Pat
Robin Hoods Bay

"Kayakingreat fun!g with seals review"

11 Oct 2018
"Very enjoyable, to be highly recommended" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
K+R, J+P
Stirling

"A Unique Experience"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 8 Oct 2018
"Unique and awesome experience. The seals were all around us, nibbling on the paddles and even taking a ride on our kayak!

It was nice to be in a small group for this and Jeanne gave excellent guidance and kept an eye on us all while we looked at seals. We had no / limited kayaking experience but this was not a problem.

One member of our group was not kayaking but was welcomed on the trip to the seal beach. The bird-watching along the way to the kayaking beach was great and Jeanne was very knowledgeable about all the birds.

Jeanne sent us all photos and videos of our trip afterwards which was brilliant." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 154
98%
154 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
139
11
4
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team