This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
KaingU Lodge
KaingU Lodge
KaingU Lodge
KaingU Lodge
KaingU Lodge
KaingU Lodge

Reviews of KaingU Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited KaingU Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at KaingU Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
NH
Rickmansworth

"KaingU Lodge - Exceptional Experience"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"KaingU lodge is located on the banks of the Kafue river in the Game Management Area, however, it is a short boat ride to the park and the vehicles. The location on the banks of the river is stunning and it is not to the detriment of the lodge to in the GMA.

My guide, John D, was extraordinary. He has a knowledge that is second to none and appears to have an instinct for finding things. John was able to traverse the park off road moving from one pride of lions to another, finding 12 different lions at 3 different sightings in one morning. An afternoon on the river with John was another great experience where we were able to find and photograph many incredible species including Fin-foot.

Gil was kind enough to take me out at night to help me take photographs of the Milky-way. It was an incredible experience standing on an island in the middle of the Kafue river in the pitch black taking sensational photographs of the stars thanks to Gils's teaching and great company.

I found that the Tsetse flies were keen to bite me at KaingU, however, this was offset by sheer enjoyment of every moment. The lodge was exceptional as was the food and hosting. One incredible dinner was taken in the bush besides the rapids. The rooms have hot water and lighting and charging is available at a central location.

I thoroughly enjoyed KaingU and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone, amazing! Lusaka is also accessible by road." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P.
Chilterns

"KaingU Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Hindhead

"KaingU Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"We loved this lodge. Beautiful location, rooms and central areas.

This is a very well managed camp and everything ran smoothly and we were made to feel valued guests. All staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

The food was excellent and we were treated to a surprise lunch on an island in the river and dinner in the bush on the last night.

John D was an excellent experienced guide supported by trainee guide Daniel. We enjoyed the river trips and guided walk up to the rocky outcrop for sundowners." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs K
UK

"Kaingu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"Luxurious lodge, which very welcoming hosts. Our preference is for the simpler bush camps, but Kaingu works well for those who like a little more comfort. The large tents are spacious and have beautiful views over the river.

The setting of the Lodge on an amazing stretch of river is the highlight of this lodge, and the birdlife during the little boat trips between the park and the lodge was excellent. Made a refreshing change from the hotter, drier South Luangwa Park where we travelled from.

We flew with the Wild Dog Charter plane from Mfuwe to Chunga and then were driven to the Lodge. We were slightly nervous of taking such a small plane but it was a smooth, excellent flight and would be happy to do it again.

Our guide was good, but it takes quite a while to drive to areas with game from the Lodge. Making the most of the birdlife on the river is definitely a highlight.

Breakfast Island was a real surprise and a treat!

It was unfortunate that we both suffered some stomach trouble whilst at Kaingu. It wasn't serious, but lasted some time. We don't know the cause, but this was the only Lodge that wasn't getting water from a borehole, so we wished we had just been drinking bottled water." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr N
Horsmonden

"Kaingu Lodge is a wonderfully relaxing place"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2016
"King Lodge is superbly situated on the Kafue River amongst stunning scenery. It was an extremely relaxing place to stay with plenty to keep those who love Africa interested.

Whilst you won't find the place teeming with big game there is plenty to see, particularly if you are interested in birds. There are also other activities such as kayaking and fishing.

The guides were very good, the food was great and the warm welcome from Gill and Julia, both of whom are great hosts, was appreciated." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr J
Victoria

"Kaingu Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2016
"The location and environment is stunning. The activities were great, especially those on the water.

I would probably advise people not to worry about a game drive and just enjoy the river. The guide JohnD was excellent. If I was advising people and they could afford it i would say only do the road transfer one way.

We were there when it was quite cloudy and the solar hot water was insufficient, they may need some sort of booster." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Kaingu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2015
"The lodge is set in a charming location, overlooking a beautiful river, with comfortable tents.

Lynda, Gil and Julia were extremely helpful and did everything possible to assist when my camera stopped working :-(

Fishing with Major was fun (lots of silver bullets and different types of perch). Our guide "John D." was experienced and knowledgeable, but the game drives unfortunately were very quiet. We were possibly just unlucky during our 2 night stay." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms O
Cumbria

"Kaingu Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2014
"Beautiful accommodation in a lovely setting by the Kafue river.

A big thank you to Rick, Lynda and Isaac our guide." See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
95%
8 reviews of KaingU Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kafue National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

Musekese is a small owner run tented camp, offering great guiding and a high degree of personal service in a stunning wilderness area, with modest game.


96% (28 reviews)
Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp is a small but comfortable tented bushcamp (max 8 guests) which makes a great base for a wildlife safari to the Busanga Plains.


93% (19 reviews)
Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

Shumba is a high-spec camp built on a tree island in the magical Busanga Plains. It opens in May, when the birdlife is particularly amazing; as the dry season progresses, the game can become remarkable.


95% (13 reviews)
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Musekese Mobile Camp is a basic fly-camp on the southern tip of the Busanga Plains. Set date three night trips are run here, using Musekese Tented Camp as a base.


100% (7 reviews)
Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree camp is in the centre of Kafue National Park, and in addition to having a stunning location is well placed to start or end your trip in the park.


No reviews yet
Chisa Busanga Camp

Chisa Busanga

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Chisa Busanga Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp.


No reviews yet
Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp is a rustic, tented property located in the middle of the vast Busanga Plains in Kafue National Park.


No reviews yet
Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge is a solidly built, comfortable property just off the main road from Lusaka, making it one of the most convenient camps in Kafue.


No reviews yet
Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge is a comfortable lodge just outside Kafue National Park, with convenient access from Lusaka.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa