This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J & Ms D from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

30

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2019 trip

Namibia between 17 Sep 2019 and 3 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent overall. Wonderful experiences in a wonderful country.

Tracy is always, polite, friendly and keen to provide the best service and advice to make the trip as successful as possible."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Hotel Zum Kaiser

Hotel Zum Kaiser

"Hotel Zum Kaiser review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"Clean. large room. Friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"Great location for seal colony.

Underated lodge - it had good rooms, very good food and friendly service"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"Fantastic view from rooms.
Excellent staff who took time and great care to ensure our puncture problem was taken care of while we were out for the rhino day.
Very commendable!!!

Excellent lodge, clean and well presented."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Discover Kaokoland Camping Tour - Epupa and Ovahimba Experience

"Discover Kaokoland Camping Tour - Epupa and Ovahimba Experience review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"Brilliant trip. Hanz and Jose worked really hard from 5am until 10pm. Driving, cooking, erecting and taking down the camp + ensuring we saw real local Himba and Herero people in unspoilt villages.

We felt that the people had very few people visit them which made it all the more special. They also dealt sympathetically with them to ensure they felt comfortable with unexpected guests and were happy to engage with us and take photographs with them.

A wonderful, unforgettable experience in the middle of nowhere, camping away from everywhere mainly on sandy riverbeds not far from local homesteads.

The food and wine provided etc were also excellent cooked on an open fire + picnics for lunch. The tents etc were fine ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Palmwag Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"The lodge was fine but the fact that our booking was lost and we were left in the reception area for an hour spoilt the experience there.

The staff were pleasant enough and sympathetic but didn't really seem to know what was going on. They said the mistake came from the take over by the lodge but this was last May
Not sure whether the booking had been reconfirmed before we went but this needs addressing at Palmwag before other guests go there in future.

The room we were given was one of the old ones and not the standard of the new tented rooms we had been booked for, as particularly the bathroom needed a bot of rejuvenation. However, if our Namib Tracks and trails guide and driver hadn't kindly given up one of their rooms we would have had no room at all."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Great location with the waterhole right in front of the lodge. Plenty of sighting including lion hunting and pride at the perimeter fence of the lodge.

Night game drive was excellent with Genet, White faced owl etc + lions at a waterhole"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"Improved considerably since we were last there in 2013 especially the pool and dining area.

Elephant and rhino sitings in the waterhole and nearby in Etosha were the highlight. Might be a good idea to give future clients the choice of where to stay there with the different room types and prices as we were a long way from the waterhole in what could have been a noisy location."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"Beautiful location at a high class lodge.

Did not go on a game drive as only there for one night. Few animals at the waterhole as I suspect most were around the new advertised hide at the fort."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"Incredible vast and beautiful rooms + very friendly and enthusiastic staff.

The highlight was the seeing 3 brown hyenas at the nighthide and leopard in the afternoon"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2019
"Beautiful way to finish our trip.

We would recommend taking dirt track / main road to the airport thus avoiding going through Windhoek. It only took one hour and without any hassle ( dry season).

Very good massage."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Apr 2018 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 24 Apr 2018 and 10 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful, fantastic trip and experience.

Everything was pretty much perfect and went according to the itinerary.

Game viewing ad Kgalagadi was exceptional as was the unexpected green desert due to the late rain. It was really stunning and the location and views form the lodges were great.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Excellent and helpful as always.

Hope to reurn to Namibia with a trip to the Skeleton coat and stay with the Himba people!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 24 Apr 2018
"Brilliant!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2018
"Basic but very good experience. Friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Kalahari Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2018
"Good basic camp, friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

"Ta Shebube Polentswa review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2018
"Friendly helpful staff. Great lodge with fantastic opportunities for game viewing.

Food satisfactory but not great. but very good packed lunch provided."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

"Ta Shebube Rooiputs review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2018
"Great experience with excellent opportunities for game drives.

Beautiful area with unexpected scenery. Worth going to before everyone discovers it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

"Urikaruus Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 May 2018
"Little game present on our visit but loved the experience of being there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 May 2018
"Our room was fine but located next to the kitchen and restaurant was a bit noisy. But fine for one night. Good clean accommodation.

Worth being there for the quiver tree forest."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2018
"Amazing.

Brilliant place to stay. Perfect."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

"Haus Sandrose review"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2018
"Basic B&B but with very nice friendly, host who recommended excellent restaurant and
Well worth going to for the beach nearby and the ghost town."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Activities
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2018
"Superb. Amazing location with views over the desert.

Fantastic rooms not to be missed"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2018
"Much better than anticipated.

No hassle with credit cards as advised in the tour guide.

Friendly staff and great location"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2018
"Perfect place to finish the trip. Couldn't be better"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Jul 2013 trip

Namibia between 18 Jul 2013 and 1 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"After looking forwards to a trip for a trip to Namibia for many years my hopes were high. Both my wife's and my hopes were more than met. We saw everything we hoped to see and had a great adventure., Everything went according to plan a (except the Erongo lodge) with flights, car hire and accommodation all first rate. We really couldn't have wished for more.

Namibia is a fantastic place to go on a do it yourself safari trip as it feels very safe, the roads are quiet and the locals were all very friendly, helpful and knowlegdable. We didn't encounter any negative attitudes or pressure to buy in markets or shops and the Namibians are clearly proud of their country and keen to impress travellers.

We saw a huge amount of animals in Etosha and elsewhere brought back some fantastic photographs and memories. If only we could start it all over again!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just to reinforce the care needed when driving on the gravel roads. We had a bit of a hairy moment and saw one car overturn on the costal road north of Swakopmund."

Feedback response

This traveller's comment on "Erongo lodge" refers to a fire which burnt down part of the high thatched roof in the restaurant at Erongo Wilderness Lodgeon 30th July (2013). This was the day before these travellers were due to arrive.

Subsequently the lodge was closed for three days, and we re-housed travellers who were due to stay here; instead they had an extra night at Okonjima Bush Camp.

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"Clean, comfortable room and friendly staff"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2013
"Beautiful lodge and room. Friendly, helpful staff.

Brilliant tour of dunes and picnic lunch."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2013
"Friendly and helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"Great staff interested in their customers and keen to share their culture with clients with informative insights. Excellent local walk and elephant safari.

Meals a bit school dinnerish but well prepared and were fine. The huge room and views were special"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2013
"More basic accommodation but worth it for the location. All was fine."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2013
"Everything was excellent here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2013
"A taste of paradise. Everyone was enthusiastic about the camp and activities. The upgrade was definitely appreciated.

The bird seed was great for attracting the birds and although a small gesture was appreciated as we saw a huge amount of birds attracted by the food.

The safaris to search for the cats were well run and successful. The porcupine hide was an amazing bonus and a recommended activity"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"Didn't stay here because of the fire. A pity as it did look good."
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team