This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge

Reviews of Canyon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

60% success

Giraffe

40% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Mr L
Leicestershire

"Good"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2019
"Good but our room was a long way from all amenities which was a bind. Staff were very good and friendly." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Amazing Lodge "

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2018
"We loved this lodge.

We did the short sunset walk on our first evening, where we enjoyed the spectacular scenery, and watched several Oryx in and around the Lodge. This was followed by a delicious meal.

The next morning we did the sunrise walk before breakfast, and then we drove ourselves to the Fish River Canyon.

We came back to the lodge for our afternoon game drive activity and sundowner drinks, before another great dinner. We particularly enjoyed this drive.

Jackson was our guide for all our our activities (just us and Jackson - no other guests), and he was great fun and very knowledgeable.

Just a note on wildlife - we were told that there were no giraffe or black rhino in the area as it was too dry. we also saw a black backed jackal catch a hare on the walk back to our room, which was really cool." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

7 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Canyon Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"Potentially a great site but let down by dinner

The numbers attending meant that food was cold if arriving after a coach load" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"A Hansel and Gretel type setting"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2018
"We enjoyed the location and the way in which the chalets were positioned amongst rocks.

We enjoyed the buffet meals which offered a wide choice of foods which included both vegetables and salads. We also enjoyed the sightseeing trip to Fish River Canyon. Even though we were very excited about seeing our first african animals albeit in the distance, we would have like to have been offered the opportunity to do a walk instead of the sundowner experience which was situated on the site of a disused tank stand. They do have quite a unique spot at the pool which would make a fabulous spot to watch the sun go down,

Even though our welcome was somewhat frosty (perhaps the poor desk person had already been exposed to the very rude tourist we later witnessed berating the desk staff), on the remainder of our visit the staff were warm and friendly.

We were informed about the times for dinner and breakfast but did have to enquire about whether we were able to have lunch which was around the time of our arrival. We were then directed to the dining table." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr G
Alstonville

"Oasis in the dry Fish River Canyon area"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2018
"Interesting and comfortable cabins amongst scenic granite boulders. Good dining. Worthwhile guided trips to canyon and wildlife. Can walk here by yourself." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2018
"Amazing.

Brilliant place to stay. Perfect." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs JW
SW London

"Canyon Lodge could be so much better"

2 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2018
"This was our first stop in a camp in Namibia and so we had nothing to compare it with.

The welcome was OK but there was a lack of information offered to us about activities and even how to get to the Canyon. In fact the Canyon wasn't mentioned when we arrived - odd since we assume that's why most people stay there. We had to ask for directions and even then weren't told about the various lookouts. We only found them because of our guide book. A map or leaflet would have been very helpful.The staff were quite helpful but in a reactive way when they could have been more proactive.

There were other activities available (we only knew this because we happened to see a notice on the reception counter) but they were never mentioned to us.

We found it odd that they didn't offer half board bearing in mind there was nowhere else to eat for miles in the evening . Having said that dinner was reasonably priced, but uninspiring. The second night we had a BBQ which had some strange choices of dish.

The grounds were nice. The swimming pool was fabulously located, with wonderful views across the desert but you don't really go to a camp like this to sit by the pool. Sundowners were offered from the top of some rocks with a lovely view.

This place was OK but not a patch on Kulala or Mowani - for example there were no sofas or comfy seats. Wifi was only available near reception and there were only upright chairs to sit on around a kitchen table." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Cambridge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2017
"Nice lodge - very convenient for Fish River Canyon.

It is a long drive south to get here but well worth it for a peaceful uncrowded visit to this beautiful awe-inspiring canyon." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Hook

"Beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2017
"Location perfect for visiting Fish River Canyon.

Excellent facilities in a beautiful setting. Enjoyed the wildlife roaming free in the grounds.

Food options were good, well presented by friendly staff." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs S
Surrey

"Reasonably close to the Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2017
"The rooms are little chalets spread around the grounds - lots of large boulders make an impressive back-drop. The chalets are quite small - ours was made worse by having 3 beds in it so we couldn't really move (would have complained but we were only here for 2 nights). Being given a map would have been useful as the 'welcome' staff were not very helpful but we eventually found our way round. Quite walk to the pool - but worth it - is in a really nice setting.

We drove ourselves to the Canyon. The only 'trip' they offered was only to 2 viewpoints which we could get easily to on our own with 2WD. We wondered why 4WD trips to viewpoints we couldn't get to were not on offer.
The view of the canyon were sensational & seemed to be different at each viewpoint - we happily spent the whole day there !
However, that is all there is to do - 2 nights quite sufficient.

Gardens at the front of the main building were nice & yielded many birds." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 96
89%
96 reviews of Canyon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
41
4
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (59 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa