This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge

Reviews of Canyon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

78% success

Zebra

44% success

Giraffe

22% success

Wildebeest

22% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Great place to stay for the Fish River Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2016
"We reached Canyon Lodge having driven up from South Africa, across the Orange River and onto the remotest road I have ever been on - so remote and deserted there are no fences lining the roads and in 100kms we saw one car. We fell back in love with Namibia instantly.

Canyon Lodge is excellent for viewing the Fish River Canyon. We drove ourselves at dawn (which meant we missed breakfast) and then came back to relax by the pool for the afternoon - we were the only people there and couldn't get enough of the view from it, We then went back to the Canyon for sunset - the entry fee is for 24 hours so we didn't have to pay again.

The gate to the Fish River Canyon doesn't open until 7am - but if you ask nicely the security guard will let you through as s long as you promise to pay on exit which meant we were at the viewpoint as the sun came up - not a difficult promise to make. We spent 3-4 hours wandering around the Canyon - we didn't have a 4*4 which meant we didn't try getting to Eagles Rock - we did get to Sulphur Springs and the Hikers viewpoint was great for sunset. When it is really hot in Namibia, you wouldn't want to go for sunset, but April was fine.

Two nights was essential - it meant we could also visit Ai-Ais. And as we left we also stopped off for a coffee in the Canon Roadhouse - another quirky place and well worth the break although it wasn't too far on the way of our drive for the day.

You could take part in activities organised by the lodge, but the reality is, not many do as most guests seem either to be driving themselves or arriving as part of a group who have organised their own activities. If we were staying another night we would have done one of the lodge walks - these are guided only and last around 3-4 hours. We just did the sundowner walk when we arrived, which is 10 minutes to a vantage point to see the sun set, and we were priviliedged to see the moon rise simultaneously" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & R
UK

"Fish River"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2016
"Lovely chalet. Great guided tour of Fish River Canyon.

Delicious food.

Dodgy wifi!

Just one problem was that we booked a sundowner walk and trip to the Canyon with a member of staff and she didn't organise either of these things. it was resolved pretty quickly by another member of staff." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The Ys
London

"Lovely oasis in the south"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"Lovely service and beautifully designed lodge with wonderful gardens and very welcome pool with amazing views.

Within easy reach of Fish River Canyon. Buffet dinner with good choice and plentiful. Outdoor dining was lovely.

Individual chalet accommodation with terrace" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C & Mrs L
UK

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2015
"a very nice Lodge in a beautiful setting with very friendly and helpful staff" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr S & Ms H
Belgium

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss & Mr D
UK

"Great lodge at Fish River"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2015
"Great place to stay, really good location near Fish River.

Really enjoyed the sundowner drink and sunrise walk - guide was really good. Room was comfortable and staff were friendly." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs MS
N London

"Wonderful location, great atmosphere"

3 nights Arrived 4 May 2015
"A wonderful location in the rocks with the desert all round. A great experience to have the hyrax playing within a few meters of our room, and so many birds all around. The swimming pool on the edge of the desert was stunning.

However, the service was not up to the standard one expects from a place of this standard: room not very clean, damp towels not changed, and a dreadfully long wait for lunch - after which the wrong order was delivered." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
C+M
Zürich

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2015
"Nice chalets but few space in the chalet.
Wunderful swimmingpool." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr W & Mrs N
Cumbria

"Scenic setting"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2015
"It had an out of season air - a lot of maintenance work going on, staff were functional.

Rooms small and needed some outside shade in the summer heat. The setting and views were lovely." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms P
Clayton

"Canyon Lodge was a destination in itself."

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2014
"Our family enjoyed staying at Canyon Lodge. We were the only English speaking family, and were impressed as the Manager spoke so many languages fluently. The Manager was extremely attentive and outgoing. She walked us to our car when we left to say goodbye.

Canyon Lodge had very interesting cottages, arranged among very unique rocky hills, with boulder that looked like they would topple on the cottages (but did not). The pool provided a welcome resting area to read and view the desert. The food was served buffet style and was excellent.

Fish River Canyon is very impressive, but we needed to be very careful as there is nothing to prevent one from going over the edge." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 100
89%
100 reviews of Canyon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
54
41
4
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (74 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (14 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


73% (6 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa