This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge

Reviews of Canyon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

60% success

Giraffe

40% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Ms H
Belgium

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss & Mr D
UK

"Great lodge at Fish River"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2015
"Great place to stay, really good location near Fish River.

Really enjoyed the sundowner drink and sunrise walk - guide was really good. Room was comfortable and staff were friendly." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs MS
N London

"Wonderful location, great atmosphere"

3 nights Arrived 4 May 2015
"A wonderful location in the rocks with the desert all round. A great experience to have the hyrax playing within a few meters of our room, and so many birds all around. The swimming pool on the edge of the desert was stunning.

However, the service was not up to the standard one expects from a place of this standard: room not very clean, damp towels not changed, and a dreadfully long wait for lunch - after which the wrong order was delivered." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
C+M
Zürich

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2015
"Nice chalets but few space in the chalet.
Wunderful swimmingpool." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr W & Mrs N
Cumbria

"Scenic setting"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2015
"It had an out of season air - a lot of maintenance work going on, staff were functional.

Rooms small and needed some outside shade in the summer heat. The setting and views were lovely." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms P
Clayton

"Canyon Lodge was a destination in itself."

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2014
"Our family enjoyed staying at Canyon Lodge. We were the only English speaking family, and were impressed as the Manager spoke so many languages fluently. The Manager was extremely attentive and outgoing. She walked us to our car when we left to say goodbye.

Canyon Lodge had very interesting cottages, arranged among very unique rocky hills, with boulder that looked like they would topple on the cottages (but did not). The pool provided a welcome resting area to read and view the desert. The food was served buffet style and was excellent.

Fish River Canyon is very impressive, but we needed to be very careful as there is nothing to prevent one from going over the edge." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"OK but not great"

2 nights Arrived 6 Dec 2014
"This lodge is well placed for visit to the canyon, which is awesome, but there's little else to see or do.

Food average - choice of 2 starters, 2 mains and 1 desert - quantity seems to be more important than quality. Lodge comfortable but little shade on veranda and in fact very little shade available at main building (bar/reception/restaurant) unless you want to sit inside. Swimming pool some 6 minutes walk from our lodge (no. 4) which was also not one of the closest to the bar/restaurant which was surprising considering that on the first night there were only 6 people and 7 on second.

Wi-Fi only available in reception area. It seems most of the lodges, their position/orientation to the sun could have been thought out better, have very small verandas to shield from the sun so there's not much opportunity to sit outside. Horse riding would seem to be no longer available. Anecdotal evidence seems to suggest this was discontinued some time ago following a riding accident involving a small child. The horses are still there but no one suggested riding." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Canyon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"A very good base to explore the canyon and also to relax and enjoy the sunshine and pool.

The service overall was good and the buffet supper offering was adequate." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
R Family
San Diego

"Disappointing"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2014
"We may have gotten their worst room
It was one of the last end...even got lost to find it after dinner
Room was small, heating didn't work ...it was damp and smelly and caused two of us to wake up with runny nose.
We were told there is no other room available.
I had to hang one blanket over the window ...for my son who slept under it...not to get more sick.
Especially at dinner but also at breakfast the team was checking our plates and how much food we took...made it very unpleasant.
The place is run for profit...not enjoyable...and they really don't offer much.

Not recommended...could have been great as the area is beautiful." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
The M & N party
UK

"What a great place!"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2014
"We felt this was a very special place to stay. Fantastic desert views and stunning swimming pool area with views of the desert. Well positioned for driving to view the Canyon and a great place to relax in.

All their tours were fully booked by bus groups, so it is probably worth booking well ahead if there is anything you particularly want to do.

Staff were very helpful in that we had rung to say we were arriving a day late and asked if we could still stay for two days. By the time we arrived they had arranged this for us. They were also helpful in phoning to cancel our booking at Luderitz and making a booking for us at a hotel in Hemeringhausen so that we could catch up on our travel schedule.

Sundowners on the high rocks behind the hotel were fun, but you need good shoes.

The only disappointment was the buffet breakfast and dinner which was a bit dull, however lunch was freshly cooked and excellent.



" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Showing 21-30 of 96
89%
96 reviews of Canyon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
41
4
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (59 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa