This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The Ys from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

A too short visit to an amazing country

Namibia between 7 Feb 2016 and 16 Feb 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excellent trip. We loved Namibia and the people. The scenery is second to none. Of course, a few more days would have been even better, but the amount of driving was easily copable in the time available.
Many thanks to Tracey for supporting an excellent itinerary in a reduced time span at relatively short notice.

We were surprised but pleased to be met at Windhoek Airport by Costa from Wilderness safaris, who helped us through the vehicle pick up process. And the choice of vehicle was excellent (Toyota 4x4)

The marked route map was very valuable and we were also very pleased to have the Bradt Guide.

One small route point - the C12 from Fish River to the Keetmanshoop - Aus Road has now been rerouted to meet the main road 12 km from Seeheim - the old D545 - presumably to accommodate the traffic for the vast agricultural project. So Seeheim is now even more off the map but we had a good lunch stop there (or, rather ,coffee and apple cake!) and were well welcomed.

And a very minor point - most places don't provide hair dryers. It didn't matter to me but might affect others."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Delightful, calm bed and breakfast"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"Very pleasant and comfortable Bed and Breakfast, easily accessible. even able to watch an Arsenal match live when we first arrived!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"OK"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2016
"Description of our room as "luxury" was presumably because there was a jacuzzi in the "suite" (which we didn't use). The hotel is centrally situated in Keetmanshoop, which doesn't have much to recommend it as a town.

There was a bit of a frantic air in the hotel, with presumed members of the management marching up and down through the restaurant area and barking a few instructions to staff. We wished we had eaten more calmly and comfortably in the garden, which is a very pleasant area.

We visited the Quiver Tree Forest on our way to the town - well worth the short diversion."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Lovely oasis in the south"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"Lovely service and beautifully designed lodge with wonderful gardens and very welcome pool with amazing views.

Within easy reach of Fish River Canyon. Buffet dinner with good choice and plentiful. Outdoor dining was lovely.

Individual chalet accommodation with terrace"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Comfortable accommodation in nature reserve"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2016
"After our "wobble" en route about staying in Aus, this proved to be a great place to stay. We were glad we were not at Eagle's Nest because of accessibility. Comfortable accommodation and good food. Service somewhat impersonal.

Good place for walking and seeing the desert horses. Very easy drive on good tarred road into Luderitz, an interesting town but we were glad we were not staying there! The ghost town of Kolmanskop was fascinating - certainly a must visit.

The garage/general store in Aus efficiently dealt with our punctured tyre. We had insufficient cash with us for this, but there is an ATM in the store which dispenses a maximum of $1500. The store supplied all our needs, including loperamide tablets for the diarrhoea after our stay at Desert Horse Inn."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Highlight of our trip - Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2016
"Beautiful situation. A really "well-oiled" establishment with very personal service.

Our guided trip to the dunes with Stephanus was magnificent. He stopped wherever we wanted for photos and took us on a wonderful trek up Big Mama Dune and walking in both Sossusvlei and Dead Vlei. The tour was personalised for the 2 of us and included a stop for refreshments after the main climbing and walking. Steph was well informed and took us also on an evening nature guided tour, with sundowner drinks and snacks.

The staff at Kulala all seem to be happily working as a team and infuse a delightful atmosphere. They put on a 30 minute singing and dancing show at dinner - far removed from usual touristy shows - it seemed to be an expression of THEIR enjoyment.

Steph said that Wilderness Safaris are very good employers and there does seem to be good training and career progression."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Good place to stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2016
"Small room in Central Guest House but use of lounge area. Help from Andrea with restaurant bookings.

Interesting town with a lot of new development. The Kempinski Hotel is now the newly developed Strand Hotel. We ate one night in the restaurant there, the Farmhouse Deli - very attractive and food fine but rather limited menu. Better was the second night at The Tug, with a very big seafood and fish menu.

Our scenic flight, booked with Pleasure Flights (we did the Classic Sossusvlei one, which also encompassed ship wrecks , abandoned diamond mines and seal colonies) was very worthwhile (but of course expensive - $10,660 with one additional person on the flight. I had been called in London to ask if we would agree to another person and to doing the flight in the morning. The cost included pick up and return to Central Guest House and a dvd of the flight)"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team