This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

336 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 47 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

96% success

Zebra

26% success

Wildebeest

15% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Spotted Hyena

9% success

Meerkat

3% success

Giraffe

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 336
Duration
Arrival date
Charlie
London

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2022
"We had a lovely room and excellent service throughout.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating and the lodge was very well situated with lovely food and even some singing and dancing one night which was wonderful.

On our last day, without asking for it, the lodge prepared wonderful picnic boxes for our onward travels at no cost which was very helpful and thoughtful." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Alex
Seattle

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2022
"Good camp, but the location is the key here.

Private entrance to the park will give you more time with the dunes.

Rooms and food are decent, wildlife is a little hit/miss, but that's not the attraction here.

Comment on private guide at Kulala:

Excellent guiding and helped with photographic locations/positions." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Family P
Sheffield

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2022
"A unique experience. One of the top locations in the whole of namibia…But as well as the location the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff was amazing. This is a place not to be missed - we would go there again and again." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Family P
Spain

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"We were very happy to return to a lodge run by Wilderness Safaris after a fabulous stay at Doro Nawas. Kulala is a much larger, busier operation and so wasn't quite as magical or personal an experience, but we still loved it. I think that one of the outstanding differences offered by Wilderness seems to be their staff, who despite working really hard, manage to be so generous of spirit and so welcoming. We were told by several employees that Wilderness is in their opinion the best employer in Namibian tourism, and it shows!

Once again staff here made a huge effort to connect and play with our children. A special mention to the amazing, multi-talented Stephen who seemed never to stop working, yet always had a smile and time for our 8 year old daughter. The Wilderness lodge info supplied in the room mentions a special 'Children's Programme", but when we asked for more info, it seems that consisted merely of staff like Stephen being trained to play with the kids, which he did brilliantly. Perhaps Wilderness could give this a little more thought and add some other activities, as the attention they give to children already differentiates them from everywhere else we stayed, but could be improved upon.

The private entrance onto the main Sossusvlei road is a real bonus, giving a head start into the dunes in the morning. Although pricey, paying for a guide and therefore access was well worth it in our opinion. Less worthwhile in our opinion would be the guided tour to Sesriem Canyon which was easy to visit and explore under our own steam.

Food was outstandingly good at Kulala, especially considering the location, and the main area is really beautiful with a very relaxed, chilled out vibe. Rooms were also comfortable, and despite the cold nights we loved the opportunity to stargaze on the roof, snuggled up together in one giant bed.

Sadly, and ironically given the name, we didn't sleep well at Kulala. The position of our room and the dawn starts for trips to the dunes meant that we were woken very early each day by vehicle noise, and by the sound of the generator starting up. Although the latter is vital to the function of the camp, maybe something could be done to dampen the noise it makes.

Otherwise we loved our stay and are very glad we chose Kulala." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr and Mrs O.
Indiana

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2022
"Kulala Desert Lodge was one of our favorite places to stay in Namibia.

The staff was exceedingly kind and responsive (our kids felt particularly welcomed here). The rooms were comfortable and private. The food was excellent.

We were grateful for staff members who took the time to point out interesting wildlife as we enjoyed the view of the waterhole and sunset.

Our guide for our Big Daddy dune hike was informative and very helpful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

John
Braintree

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2022
"Everything was good.

We particularly appreciated the log fire in the evenings.

Our guide was fantastic." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Ms S.
Missouri

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2022
"Loved the warm, musical welcome at Kulala. The meals and accommodations were great, along with the included touring of the area. I’ll just add that my shower drain in the chalet did not drain well at all, but this was a very minor annoyance.

I would like to say I wish I had been advised to fly from Windhoek to Sossusvlei. I remember being advised specifically that the roads in Namibia were good. This was definitely not the case for our drive. To make matters worse the transport company that Expert Africa contracted to transfer us from Windhoek to Kulala sent us a vehicle with four extremely worn/bald tires, and only one spare. We had a flat tire within a few hours of our 7-hour journey. And then about an hour later incurred TWO more flats. No spares.

Took over 3 1/2 hours to get a helpful response from the transport company. Kept getting told it would be 20-30 minutes, multiple times. Finally reached out to Expert Africa after continuing to get the runaround from transport company management. The response from Expert Africa was not what I really expected, It was lackluster to say the least.

Tracy at the England office answered our call and did not offer much help, saying that she was going off shift shortly and advised us to essentially wait a couple hours if problem not resolved on its own and contact our booking agent in New Zealand when it became working hours in her time zone. Not an acceptable response after being stuck on the side of the road in the middle of Namibia for nearly 3 hours at that point. Very disappointing support experience when trouble arose.

It would also be nice if the transportation company contracted by expert africa would consider supplying at least some bottled water to drink. It’s a simple and inexpensive courtesy that I was shocked was not offered. As stated we were stuck on side of road for a total of nearly 4 hours, and did not have enough water to drink, the store at Solitare was closed by the time we made it to that pit stop area." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
N Ireland

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2022
"The staff members saw us coming and welcomed us by name on arrival. The public areas were spacious and stylish with lovely outdoor seating and a pool.

The meals were our favourite on this trip. There was a choice of main courses and very good house wines were included.

The nature drives and the trip to Sossuvlei were excellent and our ranger Richel was very knowledgeable and looked after us very well. She gave us a guide to the night sky after dinner." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs V.
Leiden

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2021
"Beautiful location. The view from the deck is one of the best we had.

Service is hard to beat, especially with very generous wine top ups at lunch and dinner. The pool proved to be invaluable.

Our guide Boykey knew his business and gave us great tours of the surrounding area, even with complicating strong winds, which probably limited our wildlife viewing.

Nonetheless a fantastic and very relaxing stay." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

chris
France

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2021
"We really enjoyed the stay at Kulala, from the welcome before we had even set foot in the lodge, to the pampering of the children. Indeed the service was as good as we experienced throughout our holiday.

We were priviliged to be alone on Dune 45 and our guide (Mathew) also took us to Deadvlei and Sossusvlei." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 336
92%
336 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
224
91
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (181 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (170 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (137 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (102 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (67 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (42 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (9 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


96% (9 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa