This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R & V
ASCOT

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2020
"An excellent camp, though its a long & dusty drive to get there over a corrugated road. We were very well looked after, the staff were all very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The room are nice and more than adequate given the location. The views are outstanding and the relaxing areas very well appointed. The pool area is a nice space and its quite surreal lazing around with the dunes all around you.

The activities were first rate, the 'regulation' climb of dune 45 was fun and gave us great views, coming down the side in giant steps was a great feeling. Markus, our guide was first rate. He also took us for a walk the following morning down the dry river bed and pointed out all sorts of things of interest.

I'd recommend Kuala to anyone, especially as its location puts you close the the park and ahead of the crowd." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Perth

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2020
"The scenery was fabulous.

We appreciated the warm welcome with flannel and drink.

The swimming pool was nice and clean.

The food was of a high standard.

Our guide introduced herself to us on the deck. We had a chat about our excursions, she was friendly and enthusiastic. The tours were excellent. We appreciated the cold water/drinks and food that was provided. She was knowledgeable and happy to stop for us to take photographs/ask questions.

Our guide, Richel, did a fantastic job of changing the flat tyre whilst we enjoyed our sundowner of drinks, with nuts and billtong etcetera. We did feel a little guilty... but still enjoyed our treats.

We loved sleeping under the stars, and hearing/seeing the wildlife." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2019
"Great location!

We decided Pay the extra money to get driven into Sossusvlei after a day of driving the dirt roads from Windhoek the day before. It was worth it! We were the first up Big Daddy dune! If that is important to you, do it. And, we learned a lot about the dunes at the same time. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr K.
Egham

"Good base for a desert adventure"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2019
"Kulala Desert Lodge is in a wonderful location - even getting there is quite an adventure.

The rooms were wonderful and the opportunity for some to sleep out on the roof. The overall service was fine, but a bit sloppy. We were not given fully accurate information on arrival and not fully briefed on possible activities. That said, it was correctly assumed we would visit the dunes in the morning and we thoroughly enjoyed our outing on the fat-tire bikes - not to be missed!

Food was fine, but definitely the poorest of our ten days in Namibia.

This lodge could improve its game I think - it is trying to be high end but falls a bit short." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr LeenP
Lewes

"Great place in largely unspoiled desert"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2019
"Beautiful place in largely pristine desert. Very dry and hot. Small water hole near lodge, few animals. " See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

J&J
Plockton

"Excellent “Back Door” to Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"The kulalas are well designed for the desert environment: the bathroom is a mud-brick building which absorbs the suns heat so well that it is still beautifully warm the following morning. Meanwhile the attached bedroom, in canvas, is light and breezy, which is fine except when there is a sand storm, as we found out on our first evening. This would not have been too bad, except that the beds had been "turned down" during dinner, at the height of the storm, and the window covers left open. The bedding was covered in a thin layer of dust, which we had to shake off and remake the beds; a bit more foresight by management might have avoided this.

The sand storm was still raging the following morning, but this then highlighted the advantage of staying at this lodge. Although we had booked the morning trip to Sossusvlei, we had been expecting that this might be cancelled. However, our guide, Alfred, assured us that it was "good to go". And so it was. Starting early, we made it to Deadvlei, which was quite an eerie experience in the storm. By the time we got back to Sossusvlei, the storm had worsened, and we learnt later that many tours had only got that far before turning back. For us, it was really worth staying at Kulala for its private gate. The only downside of the experience was that the zoom function of one of our compact cameras stopped working, because of sand in the mechanism - photographers beware!

The Sesriem Canyon trip, which we joined in the evening, was not really worth it. Alfred, our guide, was entertaining enough, but if you have your own vehicle, then it is easy to get there and you won't miss much by doing it yourself.

Food at Kulala was OK, but some of the meat courses unimaginative; vegetarian options rather better. The house wine (2 glasses included in D, B&B) was very reasonable.

Checkout was a somewhat chaotic affair, as we had to wait for bar accounts to be sorted; and the promised help with our luggage never materialised. Overall our impression was favourable, but with a few "niggles"." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Castro our Guide was excellent. The Admin staff were very helpful sorting out our Balloon Ride that had not been correctly booked.

The Sossusvlei sand-dunes were amazing.

The only criticism was the unevenness of the paths out to our room. " See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr L
Leicestershire

"Good"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"Good overnight stay with good food though buffet style." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
P & B,
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Lovely place - and such helpful staff. We were suspicious about a slow puncture on our vehicle - they found the cause, changed the wheel, mended the puncture so we had a useable spare, and lent us a phone to contact Bidvest to sort out a new tyre - all part of the service!

We loved the conservation ethos (no single use plastics, conserving water etc).

Dinner on the deck was great, and the singing from the staff added to the atmosphere." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Dr's W
Victoria

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2019
"Accommodation was delightful. Location impressive, although the waterhole was a tad desultory,

We did two tours and the guide was helpful and knowledgeable. Activity pricing seemed higher than anywhere else we stayed. Oryx snoozing in the shade of our room was pretty special. Food was fine.

Roads on the the 2-3 hrs prior to reaching the lodge was a little substandard." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa