This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

340 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 50 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

94% success

Zebra

25% success

Wildebeest

14% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Spotted Hyena

8% success

Meerkat

3% success

Giraffe

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 340
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Bromley

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2022
"Great secluded location. Lovely staff ( as were all staff throughout our stay in Namibia)

The private gate to Sossusvlei was a real bonus as we were able to arrive ahead of the crowds. Although we initially intended to drive ourselves, we were glad of the guided trip from the lodge as moving around the park & access to trails is not overly signposted." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
East Lulworth

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2022
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms TC
Florida

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2022
"The first night was very cold, and it was rather uncomfortable for sleeping, we were surprised that there was no heating.

The staff was amazing, the food initially was rather salty but they readjusted the seasoning after we made our request. The guide was excellent, we thoroughly enjoyed our activities with him. I would happily stay at this lodge again if I return.

Hopefully, by then, there will be heating in the rooms." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
PC Green
Schrassig

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2022
"Good all round experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Charlie
London

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2022
"We had a lovely room and excellent service throughout.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating and the lodge was very well situated with lovely food and even some singing and dancing one night which was wonderful.

On our last day, without asking for it, the lodge prepared wonderful picnic boxes for our onward travels at no cost which was very helpful and thoughtful." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Alex
Seattle

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2022
"Good camp, but the location is the key here.

Private entrance to the park will give you more time with the dunes.

Rooms and food are decent, wildlife is a little hit/miss, but that's not the attraction here.

Comment on private guide at Kulala:

Excellent guiding and helped with photographic locations/positions." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Family P
Sheffield

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2022
"A unique experience. One of the top locations in the whole of namibia…But as well as the location the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff was amazing. This is a place not to be missed - we would go there again and again." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Family P
Spain

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"We were very happy to return to a lodge run by Wilderness Safaris after a fabulous stay at Doro Nawas. Kulala is a much larger, busier operation and so wasn't quite as magical or personal an experience, but we still loved it. I think that one of the outstanding differences offered by Wilderness seems to be their staff, who despite working really hard, manage to be so generous of spirit and so welcoming. We were told by several employees that Wilderness is in their opinion the best employer in Namibian tourism, and it shows!

Once again staff here made a huge effort to connect and play with our children. A special mention to the amazing, multi-talented Stephen who seemed never to stop working, yet always had a smile and time for our 8 year old daughter. The Wilderness lodge info supplied in the room mentions a special 'Children's Programme", but when we asked for more info, it seems that consisted merely of staff like Stephen being trained to play with the kids, which he did brilliantly. Perhaps Wilderness could give this a little more thought and add some other activities, as the attention they give to children already differentiates them from everywhere else we stayed, but could be improved upon.

The private entrance onto the main Sossusvlei road is a real bonus, giving a head start into the dunes in the morning. Although pricey, paying for a guide and therefore access was well worth it in our opinion. Less worthwhile in our opinion would be the guided tour to Sesriem Canyon which was easy to visit and explore under our own steam.

Food was outstandingly good at Kulala, especially considering the location, and the main area is really beautiful with a very relaxed, chilled out vibe. Rooms were also comfortable, and despite the cold nights we loved the opportunity to stargaze on the roof, snuggled up together in one giant bed.

Sadly, and ironically given the name, we didn't sleep well at Kulala. The position of our room and the dawn starts for trips to the dunes meant that we were woken very early each day by vehicle noise, and by the sound of the generator starting up. Although the latter is vital to the function of the camp, maybe something could be done to dampen the noise it makes.

Otherwise we loved our stay and are very glad we chose Kulala." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr and Mrs O.
Indiana

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2022
"Kulala Desert Lodge was one of our favorite places to stay in Namibia.

The staff was exceedingly kind and responsive (our kids felt particularly welcomed here). The rooms were comfortable and private. The food was excellent.

We were grateful for staff members who took the time to point out interesting wildlife as we enjoyed the view of the waterhole and sunset.

Our guide for our Big Daddy dune hike was informative and very helpful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

John
Braintree

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2022
"Everything was good.

We particularly appreciated the log fire in the evenings.

Our guide was fantastic." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 340
92%
340 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
227
92
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (184 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (179 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (137 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (103 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (69 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (42 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (12 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (9 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa