This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

353 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 63 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

22% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Wildebeest

13% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Giraffe

4% success

Meerkat

2% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 353
Duration
Arrival date
Ms R
N. Yorkshire

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2024
"Beautiful place, and lovely to be able to sleep on the roof.

Excellent food and beautiful main lodge. Appreciated the wildlife and plant info boards.

We did the early morning drive in to the dunes/ Dead Vlei, which was amazing - we would happily have gone earlier to take more advantage of arriving before the crowds, as Kulala has its own gate (although they may have found that other guests don't want such an early start?).

Our guide was friendly but not particularly informative, so we decided not to do a guided afternoon activity." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr D
London

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2023
"A very nice lodge in a lovely location." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Tom and Amanda
US

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2023
"We enjoyed our stay here ,clean, great staff, region is very austere, glad we only planned on one night here, guide took us to big daddy dune walk, none of us new what to expect or how long it would be, he let some of our group go without taking water along and I thought it was his responsibility to make sure we were prepared better, but I liked him and was happy with everything else" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Ms W
Manchester

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2023
"Beautiful rooms with the option to sleep out on the roof to star gaze, which we did during our stay.

All the staff were very welcoming and the food was great.

We took part in the trip to the desert in the morning and a more general drive in the afternoon. Both were with the same guide, who was very knowledgable, and same group of other guests which made it feel very sociable.

Would definitely recommend." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Jorge
Oporto

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2023
"Very good facilities and nice employees but the tents for this annual period are to cold." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

The S Family
Plymouth

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2023
"Kulala has an amazing location close to and overlooking the dunes and we had a very good guide in to the park - but I think you would need a full day (two nights) to see both dunes and canyon.

Groups for the cars were well planned - we were with a similar family.

Sleeping on the roof with extra blanket and hot water bottle was a special experience.

Whilst the location and individual staff were good overall the team seemed a “step behind” compared to other lodges we stayed at. Others anticipated the rhythm of the day whilst during our stay this lodge was full and staff seemed to be on the back foot." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

4 sightings

Explorer
Dan Brownlee

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2023
"Wow! Great location vicinity of Sessreim Canyon, Sousouvlei and Deadvlei. The guided trips were a bit pricey, but the lodge easement to the park was a valuable, timesaving perk!

Great food/bev, staff, room!" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

DD & PK
New York

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2023
"We loved Kulala Desert Lodge! The guided trips--including to the dunes and Dead Vlei and the sundowner drive--were fabulous. Our wonderful guide took my husband and me on a moonlight walk down to the riverbed after dinner both nights, which was spectacular, and did some stargazing earlier in the evening with us and our teenagers. The food was delicious, too, and we all (particularly our picky teenagers) appreciated the buffet-style food with many options. I can't rave enough about Kulala! My older daughter also loved the rooftop bed! The only downside was the lack of heat in the chalets during the cold winter nights." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

george
up north

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2023
"lovely location and very welcoming after a long drive. it was the coldest week of the year when we visited and even rained! the beds had hot water bottles in when we returned from dinner. toastie toes!

alfred the guide was very attentive and knowledgeble.

not much wildlife around but a good start to the trip" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mr A.
Fontainebleau

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2023
"Very nice lodge, ideally located in particular for quick and easy access to Sossuvlei
Nice sceenery, but very little game to be seen (End June)" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 353
92%
353 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
237
95
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (202 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (191 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (139 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (105 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (73 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (44 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (20 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (17 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (15 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


98% (10 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


74% (7 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (3 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa