This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

328 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

26% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 328
Duration
Arrival date
P & B,
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Lovely place - and such helpful staff. We were suspicious about a slow puncture on our vehicle - they found the cause, changed the wheel, mended the puncture so we had a useable spare, and lent us a phone to contact Bidvest to sort out a new tyre - all part of the service!

We loved the conservation ethos (no single use plastics, conserving water etc).

Dinner on the deck was great, and the singing from the staff added to the atmosphere." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Dr's W
Victoria

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2019
"Accommodation was delightful. Location impressive, although the waterhole was a tad desultory,

We did two tours and the guide was helpful and knowledgeable. Activity pricing seemed higher than anywhere else we stayed. Oryx snoozing in the shade of our room was pretty special. Food was fine.

Roads on the the 2-3 hrs prior to reaching the lodge was a little substandard." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mrs C.
Crewkerne

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"Great lodge with delicious food and incredibly lovely staff.
Right on the edge of the National park so access to dunes was shorter - and we did make it to the top of the dune before MOST people - though I think you could self drive from the main gate and get there just as quickly.
The decent from the dunes down into Deadvlei was great fun." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr J
Switzerland

"Great desert vibe"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr J x 4
USA

"Overpriced"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2019
"If you enjoy a sewage smell in your expensive room, then Kulala Desert Lodge is your place.

There is no benefit to staying at KDL as regards to getting into the park early. The dunes were swarming with people who had come from Sesriem by the time we arrived." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Pavel
Eleebana

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2019
"Great location, accommodation, food, service.

The activities (trip to the dunes with Stanley and to Sesriem) were the highlight. Also enjoyed the sleepout on the roof despite the cold.

Great experience overall." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Family K
Florida

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2019
"We also loved Kulala Desert Lodge. We liked the ambiance and the setting was gorgeous. It was nice to be closer to Sousselvlei as well--but meant we did the tour with the Lodge instead of on our own--would have been a real pain to drive back to the entrance. But we liked going with a guide for this as we wanted to information. The one nit I have but it was fine is that we ended up climbing one of the smaller dunes instead of Big Daddy and had we realized we had a choice, we would have climbed Big Daddy--I think it was because our group was not very fit. But we had a lovely time." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ludocie
Sheen

"Jaw droppingly stunning"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2019
"5 star from start to finish.

That's the staff, guides, drives, food, location and accommodation, esp the starlit night on our roof." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dune lover
London

"Kulala Desert Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2019
"We all loved this lodge, there staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

Our guide Rachil (the only female guide at this location) was great fun, full of life and enthusiastic. We also found her informative and keen to show us the local environment. Great location for Sossusvlei. We loved the tented chalets and attention to detail.

We stayed for two nights but could easily have stayed for 3." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Great experience"

2 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2019
"We had a wonderful morning and afternoon drive with a very good guide. He met us again in the evening for a night walk and showed us scorpions! We loved to sleep on the roof-top under the stars. It is a little bit chilly in the night, so take your blankets up to the roof." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 328
92%
328 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
217
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (178 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (157 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (100 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (63 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (3 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa