This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge

Reviews of Sossusvlei Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossusvlei Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D
Farnham

"The perfect place for exploring the area"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2018
"High end lodge with extremely helpful and friendly staff - a holiday highlight!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Kim
Alexandria, VA

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Mar 2016
"Beautiful lodge. Great location right outside the gate of the park.

My only concern is that despite offering the lodges we stayed at with some requests for more kid friendly foods, it was not granted.

For adults, the food was wonderful and very, very good." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Dr S
Italy

"Magnificent"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2015
"Super place, super people (particularly the guides), super service!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr G
Florida

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2014
"This place was very nice - although it was a large lodge, the rooms were private and everyone was quiet and respectful.

It was conveniently close to the entrance to the park. The buffet meals were fantastic - lots of game meat to choose from, lots of nice salads, etc. We were able to dine outdoors when it wasn't too cold, which was lovely." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Ms G
Surrey

"Anonymous lodge - good value for money"

2 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2014
"There are around 40 individual tented lodges, each with a bedroom, bathroom and tiny deck. The views are not great as the lodges are located in rows, but we didn't spend much time in the our room anyway. Food was the best we ate on our trip - plenty of choice in a buffet style dinner and breakfast, with barbecue on demand as well.

The location is what everyone goes for - right outside the gate to the national park. One nice thing is that, unlike other locations, you only have to stop to pay on the way out of the park so you can race the sunrise to a photogenic dune without stopping. You won't necessarily be treated as someone special, but the service is good and the staff are friendly." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr G x 4
Norway

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2013
"We had 2 nights there and it was a wonderful place.

Since it is a lot of tourists visiting and very busy, the atmosphere is not that casual. Apart from that the service and all arrangements are taken well care of and we enjoyed our stay there." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M & family
UK

"Great food"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2013
"Perhaps a little commercial for us ,too busy and touristy although the food was amazing in the restaurant and they had already provided our produce for our BBQ the night before which had been lovely .

However the highlight was the breakfast hamper they provided for us after we had spent 3 hours in the early hours of the morning walking up and down dunes ,was so welcoming and very well prepared ... We still talk about it now .

A big thank you to the head chef at this location , he deserves 5 stars for the food." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr N & Mrs J
Wilts

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Despite first impressions, we found Sossusvlei Lodge to be fairly average in its facilities. The rooms were very dark, with few facilities. However, the proximity to the Park and the tour were good.

We were appalled at the amount of waste of food from the buffet.

Little things need more attention i.e. If you wanted to sit on the patio anytime during the day there were plenty of chairs/tables but no parasols. The only shady areas were at the bar and they were few." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Mrs V
Avon

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2013
"The room was comfortable and spacious but the outside area had very little shade. Again no means of making a drink or storing a cold drink. There was also very few areas to relax in and around the main lodge that were comfortable and shaded. This was especially noticable at lunch time , there was a good selection of food which changed each day but no where to sit outside within the shade. It wouldn't have been to difficult to have put up a few umbrellas during the day time.

The food on the whole was very good, the choice may be considered excessive. Whilst the service was acceptable we didn't think it was as personal as we experienced elsewhere. This is possibly due the large number of guests compared to the other lodges.

All our activities whilst there were enjoyable. However the lack of our own car and our restricted ablity to participate in walking activies which were more than a short stroll meant that perhaps three days was too long." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Family O
USA

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2013
"We stayed in the Desert Camp but took our meals at the Lodge. As part of a wedding group, we enjoyed the extensive buffets in a variety of locations. The lodge does an excellent job of feeding it's guests well in beautiful settings!

Desert camp is about 4k away from the lodge on rough washboard road." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 34
92%
34 reviews of Sossusvlei Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
12
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa