This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge

Reviews of Sossusvlei Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossusvlei Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs O
USA

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2013
"Every aspect of this place is wonderful. My husband and I were totally impressed at the way they handled the wedding. The ceremony and the reception were in two different locations and the only way I can describe the whole thing was that:
"It was a Splendor in the Desert."

The Dune Trip we signed up for was grand. From the magnificent Dunes to the wonderful breakfast our driver/guide prepared for us right by the Big Mama Dune complete with white tablecloth and napkins, the whole atmosphere was divine.

It was surely an unforgettable experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"A wonderful lodge in a great location."

4 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2013
"Everything at the lodge was outstanding. We were there for a wedding and the staff out-did themselves in providing an unforgettable experience.

It was magical!!!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Australia

"Outstanding"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2013
"Layout and staff service excellent. Would highly recommend this Lodge" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2012
"We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day here.The room we had was very spacious and had a lovely outlook across the bush to the distant dunes. It would have been nice had there been a small fridge to keep drinks cool particularly as it is the hottest time of the year.

Meals are served on an open terrace, candle lit in the evening, a huge choice of dishes available on a 'buffet' style arrangement.The only moan was the meats cooked by the chefs was tough as 'old boots' on both evening meals, suggest you ask for meat to be 'well done' to avoid 'endless chewing'.

We did visit the approach to Dead Vlei one afternoon but really no sign of any wildlife on route.

A good place to relax and thats what we did." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr D & Mrs M
UK

"Comfort under canvas at Sossusvlei Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Convenient for the National Park, the room was very comfortable and well appointed with a lovely outside seating area and sunset view. The food was truly excellent, with more choices than we could possibly sample even over three days. Tea and coffee (with cookies) always available free of charge.

The pool provided a view of animals at the waterhole from the comfort of a sun lounger - a perfect way to chill out.

The only negative was a delay in responding to what appeared to be a problem with a leaking gas bottle, but this was rectified at the second request." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
E, S, E & R
UK

"Lovely stay near dunes at Sossusvlei Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"Great location next to the gates of the national park and very well set out. Rooms (tent-style structures) were fine and well spaced out. It didn't feel as though there were 45 rooms at all. The central areas were very well done, including a very good pool, and the views lovely. Meals were all buffet-style, with a good variety of food. Dinner included a barbecue for game and fish, and a stir fry option, with an enormous selection of help-yourself starters and desserts.

We really enjoyed the activities. The activity centre staff are very informative and helpful in choosing what to do.We went on the Sundowner drive round the lodge's estate - seeing a few animals and some rock art, and having a drink on some very picturesque boulders as the sun went down. The next morning we went on the trip to the dunes with a brilliant guide, and got a lot more out of it than if we had gone alone. We ended with a fantastic breakfast near Big Momma dune." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms R
Surrey

"Good base for exploring the vleis"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2012
"The lodge is modern and well equipped. It is conveniently located - near to both the Namib-Naukluft Park main gate and a provisioning shop with petrol station and internet cafe. Our climate-controlled chalet-tent (of part solid, part canvas construction) was quietly located and comfortable. Its porch, with light chairs and table, was pleasantly shaded from the afternoon sun by an acacia tree.

We enjoyed our two buffet-style dinners, eaten under the stars on the lodge's large open-air dining patio. On our second evening, I was tempted by the mussels on offer as a starter, my greed suppressing doubts as to their provenance in this relatively remote area, some 200 miles from the sea. They were delicious, as was the remainder of the meal, but that night I came down with diarrhoea, followed by stomach gripes which lasted some 36 hours.

For our first morning, we had decided to make an early entrance to the Park, in order to avoid dune-climbing in the heat of the day. The lodge – catering as it does essentially for Park visitors– offered a helpfully early and full breakfast. After eating, we joined the queue of vehicles at the Park Gate, awaiting the latter's opening at sunrise (approx 7am while we were there). The entrance system was pleasantly efficient. An attendant came down the line to log details of each vehicle. When the gate opened, all were free to drive in, paying the entrance fee only on return to the Ticket Office (some 100m inside the gate) when exiting the park later in the day. This meant that the entire queue was able to clear the gate and to proceed into the Park within minutes of its opening.

We drove to the end of the tarmac road (some 60 kms), where we transferred from our saloon car to one of the several 4x4 shuttles for the remaining 5 kms of sandy track to Deadvlei and Sossusvlei. The shuttles ply back and forth between car park and the vleis. In theory, having paid the fare, one can jump off and on any shuttle at any of the regular stops. In practice, we found that each driver tended to make arrangements to return at pre-arranged times and if, as seemed common, his initial party continued to re-occupy that shuttle, there was little or no room for “extras”.

We found that the time of one hour suggested by the driver for our walk from the shuttle track to Deadvlei (and back, for pre-arranged pick-up) was shorter than we would have liked for a full experience. Subsequently, at Sossusvlei (where the track gets much closer to the vlei), our driver suggested a 45 minute interval to climb the neighbouring dune and to have a good look around – but we extended this to 75 minutes. As it turned out, the driver's estimate was not unreasonable for a flying visit, but we were happy with our decision. It allowed us to sit on top of the dune for a good 10 minutes, taking in the spectacular scenery then, on descent, to circumnavigate at leisure the pan (with its tantalizing “designer” trails in the sand, animal tracks in the dried mud and flamingo and ducks in the remaining water).

Use of the shuttles may be avoided by choosing to walk, by driving oneself in a 4x4 or by joining a party drive organized from the lodge. However, the walk, on loose, shifting sand, is disproportionately tiring and time-consuming, without (so far as we could tell) any pleasant, offsetting experience. Those who choose instead to rely on their own 4x4 vehicle may not find this decision advantageous. Soon after we had first set off in our shuttle, we came across a stranded 4x4 rental, which needed help from the shuttle operators to regain firmer ground – whereupon its occupants decided to transfer to the shuttle. Our driver said that this was a common occurrence.

We were back at the lodge by around 2pm, where we rested on our porch, checked out the watering hole and took in the views from the top of the lodge's water-tower. Around 4.30pm we returned to the Park (the entrance fee being valid for multiple entries between sunrise and sunset), in order to visit Sesriem Canyon, some 15 minutes drive from the lodge. With the sun low in the sky, but shining along the main direction of the narrow, creviced chasm, there were memorable views from both rim and base." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr J & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2012
"A busy lodge with friendly and helpfull staff. The half tented room was clean and fresh. A wide selection of food available for the evening buffet. Good location to the park gate.

Many activities looked available, but we made a self drive tour. They supplied us with a magnificent wicker breakfast hamper so we could have an independant breakfast in the dunes." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C B & family
UK

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2011
"Good position just outside the park. Lovely tented chalets with great views.Fantastic food, evening buffet with 12 choices of game steaks to bbq. Most of the dinner tables were set outside, it was a gorgeous setting, though absolutely freezing, so need to dress up warmly. Again, very dark so extremely difficult to see your food.

Great drive through into the park, sand dunes wonderful though it was the busiest and most touristy place we went to." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
T Family
Auckland

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2011
"Upon entering the lodge we immediately get a feeling of being in the dessert with all the 'red' decor. We were early so had to wait for our rooms but felt that we were then ignored as we had to go back and check every 30-45 min. Upon our third check we were told it was ready - we felt they could've come to get us considering we were just sitting there. We felt like a number not a guest - there was no real interaction between the reception staff and the guests.

Our room was great - a permanent tent with a fully functional bathroom. Unfortunately , we were there when there was a severe wind so most the day was spent indoors trying to prevent the sand from entering the tent and all our belongings and the night was spent listening to the tent flapping away.

The buffet breakfast and dinner was superb. Where else do you get a chance to sample springbok, wildebeest, impala, oryx etc etc all in one sitting. Having the options of pick your own stir fries and BBQ meat and fish was fantastic.

We chose to leave early because of the weather (even though it was all prepaid) and interestingly - we were not asked as to why we were leaving .. I would have thought it would be a good time to get service feedback !" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 34
92%
34 reviews of Sossusvlei Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
12
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa