This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge

Reviews of Sossusvlei Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossusvlei Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
Brazil

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2011
"We knew before we booked this lodge that it has that sort of a big hotel feeling. Having said that, everything else was fine.

The Sossusvlei Lodge is a very convenient location for people who want to get early to the park. And it has its charm. The views from the tents are very beautiful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
6
Whangarei

"Great location, interesting rooms"

1 night Arrived 10 Apr 2011
"We were fortunate to be able to stay here following a major mix-up in bookings at Desert Camp where we were booked to stay. At least we arrived early enough in the day and were able to be transferred to this place. We witnessed others turned away from Desert Camp who were not so fortunate.

Amazing rooms combining a tented living area with deck, and a solid bathroom area. Quite unusual 50/50 design, but gives a great atmosphere. Can't help but question the economics of air-con in a tent, but it worked, was quiet, and the beds were very comfortable. Extensive buffet served in an outdoor candlelit dining area. Quite special! Service excellent. Enjoyed sundowners on the verandah off the bar watching some nearby springbok and a yet another great sunset. Good location right next to park entrance." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs E
UK

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2010
"Great position. Food was one of the two best on the trip.

Pity the canvas covers to the windows did not all close therefore the air con had to struggle." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Miss T & Mr B
London

"Hotel style"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2010
"Service here was varialbe as you would expect from a large hotel style operation with large numbers of staff on rotas but on the whole was good.

Morning balloon flight - This was a lovely experience though disappointing in the sense that there was heavy fog so we could not reach the dunes..no one's fault of course, just luck on the day.

However becuase of this we took an early morning cesna flight over the dunes which was fabulous, highly recommneded for future guests." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr G
Toronto

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2010
"lovely rooms, good staff, great guides for activities" See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr C & family
UK

"Sossusvlei Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2010
"Great food with plenty of choice, well-designed large 'tented' rooms reminiscent of sailing ships with solid floors, tea & coffee making facilities and a separate bathroom with shower.

A semi-tame Springbok appeared near to rooms on first night, as well as a jackal who sat yards from the restaurant most evenings! Only negative was what I assume was distant generator noise during the night, and a distinct sewage smell on our second (windy) day." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Berkeley

"A Great Base for Sossusvlei"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"A local mix-up over our booking at Desert Camp resulted in us being quickly and efficiently upgraded to one night at Sossusvlei Lodge and 2 nights at the sumptuous Little Kulala Lodge.

Sossusvlei Lodge is very well appointed with individual rooms overlooking the sand dunes and in some cases (ours included) the waterhole. The food was very good and plentiful with meat and fish grilled to your taste while you waited. There is a climbable tower with superb views over the whole area and as it is only a short distance to the entrance to the Namib- Naukluft Park it is very convenient for an early morning trip to Sossusvlei.

Overall the ambience and service at both lodges made our stay in the Sossusvlei area an unforgettable experience." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs A & family
UK

"Gateway to the Namib dune sea."

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2010
"We loved Sossusvlei lodge. We arrived after a long drive on gravel roads, feeling weary and very dusty. We were greeted with cooled flannels and chilled apple juice to refresh us. We were accompanied to our lovely individual tented cabins with spectacular veiws of the desert and mountains.

We would have enjoyed a refreshing swim in the pool had it not been so bracingly cold...

The staff were all freindly and helpful. The food was delicious and plentiful, the setting glorious-the view of sunset from the observation tower was stunning.

We thoroughly enjoyed our quad biking round the river bed and up into the foothills, but even more stunning was our trip to Dead Vlei, which was awe-inspiring. I have memories and photographs which will keep me smiling for years to come. A very very special place. We were sad to leave." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Very Handy for the Park entrance gates"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2010
"This was the largest Lodge we stayed at. Our Chalet was right out on the end of the Lodge complex near the park fence, so was more secluded than many of the others. So very peaceful with wonderful sunrises and sunsets, and saw many animals from our chalet.

Incredibly convenient to get to the park gates for opening time at 6.30am. The staff also did us a wonderful packed picnic Breakfast (which had just about everything in it) to take in and enjoy whilst in Sossusvlei." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
4 travellers
UK & Zam

"Sossusvlei Lodge - an excellent base"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2010
"A large lodge with many chalets laid out in fairly well spaced rows, but our chaletswere in the front with unimpeded views of, and access to, the desert so it was fantastic. I imagine it would have been less enjoyable to sit on one's verandah and have to look between other peple's chalets at the view. Rooms very comfortable with good size verandah.

The lodge was well run and provided for all our needs (except for a book on Namibian birds) and service was good. Food was pretty good, considering the size of the place, braii always had selection of bush meat, wide choice of salads and sweets.

Very convenient for the dunes and Sossusvlei." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 34
92%
34 reviews of Sossusvlei Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
12
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa