This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M & Ms H from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

6

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

60

Excursions taken

2

Namibia 2016

Namibia between 17 Aug 2016 and 8 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our sixth visit to Namibia. The itinerary was a mix of areas that we had not visited since our first trip. Lodges & locations we had not been to before and return visits to old favourites.

As ever with Namibia, there are new experiences, such as seeing the effect of extended drought, Rhino tracking, wild camping in Messum Crater - including experiencing the coastal fog in the dunes. We saw a good range of wildlife, often in stunning surroundings. Also amazing desert plantlife from Lichens to the most impressive Welwitchias in and around the Messum Crater. The camping trip was an excellent contrast to staying at the lodges."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

The Hilton Hotel

"Hilton - Great Hotel for centre of Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2016
"Very convenient for first night, comfortable with excellent food.

Staff very welcoming and very helpful. Even sent a Birthday cake to our room for Mike.

They really could not have been more helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2016
"Nice stone built chalet room, it was comfortable. Good view. Food was good.

Shadow the dog made us very welcome, and Shadows younger playmate the cat made very good entertainment. We stayed two nights and could have stayed for longer!

Stunning scenery and we did a self guided walk, plus an afternoon drive, including the impressive stromatalite fossils, with the lodge's guide 'Jobi' who was very informative and a valuable asset to the Lodge. All the staff were exceptional, including Shadow and the two cats. There is building work going on increasing the number of rooms, as there has recently been a change in ownership. So it would be interesting to see what happens here. Great singing from the staff after dinner.

A very enjoyable stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Little Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2016
"Wonderful place, beautifully designed, rooms very comfortable.

We did try sleeping on the roof one night but it was too cold and windy. There were a lot of strong winds whilst we were there, and several sandstorms including whilst visiting Sossusvlei which was an experience in itself!

The staff very incredibly helpful and kind when one of us fell ill and had to cancel a trip at our next stop after Little Kulala. The staff presented Mike with a large Birthday cake and rousing singing. It really is a wonderful place. The activities with our guide were very good and included the trip into Sossusvlei and a guided walk in the area around the lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel -amazing laundry service!"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2016
"New modern comfortable hotel on the Mole, our room overlooked the sea and one morning we saw a dolphin swim in quite close to shore.

Very comfortable and with exceptionally good housekeeping staff – with the fastest laundry service we have ever come across! We stayed twice - on our second stopover, which was after our camping trip, the exceptional laundry service was a god send!

The food was also very good and all staff were very helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Turnstone Camping trip

"Turnstone camping - Messum Crater"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2016
"This was excellent, as was our guide Wayne. This was one of the highlights of our trip, with aspects that will stay with us always. We cannot thank Wayne enough.

We learnt a lot about the desert and its plants ( including amazing Welwitchias) & wildlife. Stunning scenery and atmosphere in Messum Crater, especially as the sun set and we were alone under the stars. There was a lot of interest there such as archaeological remains, including hut rock circles and rock paintings. Although we didn't get to see any cheetah we did find the remains of two cheetah kills. The second night was camping in the fog and it was fascinating to see its effect on the desert landscape especially the lichens and the small rock pools of condensed water.

We stayed in small bell tents and as it was wild camping the facilities went with the conditions. We loved it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2016
"See previous comments. [Ed: See below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2016
"This was our third stay, and is always one of our highlights.

Our last visit was two years ago and it was interesting to see the changes and developments with the wildlife and how the area was responding to good management. Staying with Bruno on Mundulea is always something we look forward to, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As ever you never know what we will see – such as Bushbabies, a young Giraffe and many trees just coming into leaf & flower.

We always learn something new and very much enjoyed the in-depth discussions around the campfire and over dinner. Excellent visit - always sad to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Memorable stay at Desert Rhino Camp"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2016
"A memorable visit, on arrival at the pickup point we saw eight giraffe by the roadside. The two hour drive to camp was also interesting with a variety of wildlife and interesting plants with stunning scenery.

On arrival we were welcomed with singing from all the staff and a welcome drink. We stayed 3 nights and went Rhino tracking on two mornings finding Rhino on both. It was well worth the early starts, one of which was in fog.

We were impressed with the care taken in minimising the impact on the Rhinos and it was a privilege to observe them in such stunning scenery. This is a lodge with a very special atmosphere and the staff here were exceptional, including the SRT trackers, making us feel very much at home.

A big thank you to Johannes, Elfreida and Ellery."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2016
"We stayed here three nights. A nice place to stay with plenty of wildlife to see both during the day from the lodge and also on the day and night game drives.

The staff here were very welcoming. On one evening the staff presented Mike with a lovely birthday cake and there was lively singing. The only disappointment was that, although they advertise doing trips into Etosha, they were not able to arrange an Etosha trip while we were there. One of the main reasons for staying here was to explore the western end of Etosha and to go on organised game drives to give my husband a break from all the driving. The reason given was because one of the guides was not there on the particular day, but as he was, we were a little confused over the explanation.

The upside was that we did get to see a small pride of four lions on a kill. These are being studied by the Africat foundation. There were also excellent sightings on a night game drive, including an Aardvark."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2016
"This was our second trip here and it was as good as we had remembered it before.

If you like your privacy, do not stay in room number 8 as the bathroom is not that private! However, the tents have been beautifully revamped and are very comfortable with good views from the shaded veranda.

We were only staying one night as it was our last before heading for the airport, so there was no time for activities, but it is a place to stay for longer if you like walking."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Oct 2014 trip

Namibia between 5 Oct 2014 and 24 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"A memorable fifth trip to Namibia and our first fully self driving.

Having travelled all round the country on previous visits, we deliberately confined this trip to the Otavi area & Etosha, so did not have huge distances to cover. Okonjima, Mundulea & Esther Farm were all return visits , eastern Etosha was new to us.

We will not be returning to Okonjima. It was a good stop on our first trip, but we would now prefer to take our chances on seeing truly wild animals, rather than stressed looked radio collared animals. Okonjima has become a large, very commercial operation and has lost its appeal to us.

We had a wonderful time at both Mundulea & Esther Farm - with focus on walking & soaking up all aspects of the ecosystem at both. It was good to spend a few days at Esther Farm as our hosts, Axel & Silkie, were keen to try out having their first purely walking guests. While it is a working farm, they are reducing stocking rates and taking down fences, so there are good numbers of game becoming established on a very varied terrain - including hills & mountains. Axel has a good knowledge of the flora, fauna and geology, so as with Bruno, much time on the walks is spent discussing how they all fit together. Likewise there was much discussion, over excellent meals, about life in modern Namibia.

As ever we had lots of new sightings & experiences from a Leopard Tortoise to hours of torrential rain.

Esther Farm was an easy drive and a good stop between Mundulea and Etosha on the old road to the Namutoni gate.

This was our first visit to Eastern Etosha (we stayed at Okaukuejo on our first trip). We were rewarded with excellent sightings of Rhino, Cheetah, Lions & Elephants as well as many birds & other game in large numbers. The Etosha experience complemented the walking part of the trip.

Special thanks to Bruno, Axel and Silke, and a thank you to Sabina for organising another excellent trip."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

The Hilton Hotel

"Good city centre hotel"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"Nice very centrally located city hotel. Staff all very welcoming and very helpful. Rooms as expected for an international chain, and very comfortable. The sky bar at the top of the hotel was a nice place for a city sundowner. They also provided soya milk as requested. We would stay here again.

We only had one problem here and that was with one of the lifts. Most of the lifts were on the outside of the hotel and had glass walls. The only one wholly within the building structure broke down several floors up, all the lifts have a number to phone on the wall should this happen, unfortunately in this case all the lights went out, so we were stuck in the lift in the pitch black, it was all a little scary. To our huge relief after some little while, the doors opened and we were able to get out.

We did report it but it seemed to be awhile before anything was done, we advised another customer we saw, not to use it but he got in whilst we waited for one of the other lifts. After awhile he came back out and commented that we were correct and that it had been very scary. So we reported it again and it seemed to be okay by the end of the day. But suggest the hotel need to do something about back up lighting in that lift, so no one is left in the dark unable to phone the help number."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"Plains camp -view room
It was a nice, clean and comfortable room with a view across the plain from the big bed, and quite private. We were able to watch many animals just from the room! And it was a good place to relax. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful.

We last stayed at Okonjima four years ago at Bush Camp, which we thoroughly enjoyed and the game drives had been very well orgainsed. However, we felt that Plains camp is quite large and more corporate than our previous experience. Although staff were generally very helpful & knowledgeable, we felt that too much pressure was put on a few animals by tracking radio collared animals on foot. This was however for many people the best opportunity to see endangered species, such as wild dogs and Cheetah, and to get close up to an hyena, but it did feel uncomfortable and animals looked not too happy by being continually disturbed.

Despite Expert Africa putting in the request for soya milk and us having completed a form on arrival at Okonjima, confirming the request for soya milk -n o one we asked knew anything about it, nor were they prepared to go and find out if there was any. After asking the 5th person on our second day did anyone actually try to find out, and eventually the soya milk arrived from Bush camp. After that the soya milk was available, but it had been a struggle to obtain it.

REST
After leaving Plains camp, we called in at REST (Rare & endangered species Trust). We had a fascinating guided tour of the facility and were introduced to owls, eagles, a pangolin and a wild cat kitten, as examples of their work. It was an interesting experience."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Another wonderful experience"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"As ever we had a wonderful few days with Bruno learning more about the whole ecosystem, and the progress of all Bruno's hard work trying to restore the area to what it had once been, before it was a cattle farm. We managed plenty of walking while Bruno taught us much about what we saw along the way. And although, as is the nature of these things, you are not guaranteed to have game sightings, we drew the lucky straw on this occasion and saw plenty. Including an eland calf just a few days old. Whilst we were there on one afternoon and evening we listened to and watched a lightning storm, which brought with it some early rain which was torrential and which lasted several hours.

The food was excellent (Soya Milk was provided) and much time was enjoyed in the evening round the fire & dinner table discussing Bruno's plans for Mundulea and learning more about Namibian life and the country."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Esther Farm

"great hosptality on a working farm"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2014
"This is a working farm, with two rooms for visitors. However, we feel that the standard of accommodation and the food and hospitality was equal to a Guest Farm. We had been before for a part day to visit the cave here and had wanted to come back, we received a very warm welcome and would certainly love to go back again. The food was home cooked farm fare of a very good standard, very nicely presented and plenty of it. And Soya milk was provided for and the owners had gone to some length to get it in for us. Meals were taken in the Farm house verandah with the owner. There was a fridge with cold drinks and you could help yourself and just tick the list as to what you had taken and settle up at the end of the stay, Coffee and hot water was provided for tea on the verandah as well.

There are two twin rooms with their own en-suite bathrooms and all the windows have screens. It was comfortable, roomy and very peaceful. The rooms are sited in the farm house garden looking across too the distant hills. You could sit on your own veranda or in the garden and watch the sheep and lambs and latest calves that had been born.

We spent two glorious days here exploring the farm with the owner, who has greatly reduced cattle numbers and is taking down fences. As a result there is plenty of game on the farm and we had many good sightings. Each day we would go for a walk/hike up into the hills and learn about the farm, the wildlife etc as we went, and discussed whatever we came across. The walking does require stout boots and can be rocky in places so people do need to be reasonably fit. If people like walking and learning about the area this is a good place.

It was a good stopover on our way to Etosha and the road the farm was on, took us all the way to just short of Mushara Lodge, where we were staying next.
The owner will take clients to Etosha and provide airport transfers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Convenient for Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2014
"A warm welcome from staff and a comfortable Meru tent, although as we were in room 1, not terribly private. We had other guests taking short cuts and walking by our porch and tent so privacy was nil on some occasions, which spoilt it. We were also just across from the open air restaurant and pool, so did get some noise from that. So best to avoid room 1.

The Mushara morning game drive into Etosha was well organised and all the guides were in radio contact with each other so were able to keep each other informed where all the good sightings were, the lodge also provided a packed breakfast and coffee.

It was a pleasant place to stay and not far from the Namutoni entrance to Etosha. Staff were all very welcoming and helpful but again like Okonjima, no one seemed to know about the Soya milk or to be bothered about it. After our experience with Okonjima we had got tired of repeatedly asking so had given up on it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2014
"We were in a Bush chalet, which was comfortable and clean, if in bit of a need of some maintenance, we did report the worst items. We found we needed to keep the air conditioning on to keep a reasonable temperature - there was not much shade around the chalets. There were braii facilities and a small kitchen area with sink, fridge and kettle and tea and coffee, but nothing supplied to cook with - just 2 plates and 2 knives, 2 forks, and 2 spoons. We did manage to cook an improvised basic meal. It was a disappointment as part of our request was the ability to do some self catering as we had at Eagles Nest the previous year.

The camp was busy but the staff were helpful, and we saw several Rhinos at the waterhole in the evening.

The main road to Okaukujeo was in good condition, but side roads were full of potholes and were very slow going. However, it was worth venturing off the main road, as we had excellent game sightings at some of the more out of the way waterholes.

We tried to book onto a NWR morning game drive here but it was very disorganised and were told to keep going back to reception through the evening to see if one was running the next morning, so we were unable to get to the waterhole to watch the animals come in at dusk. In the end the reception staff said there would be no morning game drive as they were still unable to contact the guides and had no idea where they were, or what they were doing! The morning after that there was a game drive, however, of all the game drives we have been on over the years, it seemed half hearted and not very well organised and water was not provided for everyone. This was a shame, but we did however enjoy our stay and the breakfast in the restaurant was very good."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2014
"The camp was very busy. Our chalet had a much better layout than at Halali and fine for an overnight stop - it was clean, comfortable and in good order. There was a braii, but again you had to bring all your own utensils. Only tea and coffee making facilities (and a fridge and sink) were provided.

It was worth booking an early dinner to avoid the crowds. We sat outside and watched a beautiful masked weaver bird show off his nest building skills. As ever, there was lots of activity at the waterhole after dinner.

It was worth calling in at the waterhole just near the Anderson gate. We saw a fine Lion and assorted other game before leaving Etosha and heading back towards Windhoek."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Auberge Omulonga, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Auberge Omulonga review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2014
"A very convenient overnight stop on the return journey to the airport. A warm welcome from our hosts and basic but comfortable and shady room. A very pleasant stay.

We visited one of the craft markets nearby which was only a 5 minute walk away, but we were the only visitors there so got somewhat mobbed by the many stallholders, which made it difficult to browse.

A very pleasant dinner sitting outside at the guesthouse and good breakfast. There were no tea & coffee making facilities in the room which would have been a welcome addition. It was an easy drive to the airport in the morning."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Namibia 2013

Namibia and 1 other country between 26 Aug 2013 and 22 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall another wonderful trip back to Namibia. Very well organised by Sabina yet again. Regarding dietary requirements, everywhere ( except for the Nest Hotel in Luderitz) went to great efforts to fulfil our requirements, and where the more remote lodges were unable to do so, they informed us on arrival, again except for the Nest Hotel who were not at all remote. Tok Tokkie and Ultimate Safaris went to a lot of effort on this.

The highlights were; Ultimate safari in The Kalagadi with Polentswa and Rooipots lodges, The Mule Trail Hike, The Sedina boat trip, Sinclair Guest Farm and Tok Tokkie. The outstanding guides were Tarry (Ultimate), Manilow (Mule trail hike) and Domingo (Tok Tokkie) and last but not least, Taso from Sinclair guest Farm a very able guiding dog.

It was good to explore Southern Namibia & a brief excursion to Botswana & South Africa in the transfrontier park - stunning for wildlife.

As ever, Namibia provides huge contrasts & inspiration.

A big thank you to Sabina for sorting out potential problems with Budget car hire & other issues."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"gochegana lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"Very warm welcome and helpful friendly staff. Lovely location on top of a hill with good views over the bush. Rooms nicely done and comfortable with private veranda.
The Spa facilities are very good.

The restaurant is very good and the food was excellent, and the cake in the afternoons was wonderful.
We went on a guided walk which was very informative. Plus, we did our own self guided walk following way markers. We saw some game on all the walks.

It is a great place to unwind and relax either after the flight on arrival, or before flying back home."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Anib lodge"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"The Anib Lodge was a good stopover on our way to the Khalagadi TFP. We went out on a game drive and a sun downer. The guides and staff were very helpful and friendly , and it was a lovely trip out into the red Kalahari to watch the sun go down. We saw quite a bit of game and despite the cold wind, we thoroughly enjoyed our one night with them."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

"Mata mata"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2013
"Mata Mata rest camp we stayed in a chalet overlooking one of the waterholes. The chalets were nicely done and quite comfortable and warm! As the temperature dropped to minus two . The facilities are self catering and our guide cooked us a very good Braai.
We saw plenty of game and Raptors in the park and it was a wonderful five nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

"Polentswa"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"Polentswa Lodge
• Staff all very friendly and helpful and most attentive
• Food was very good
• Rooms completed and finished to a high standard and very comfortable, and glass fronted, so you still keep the grand view even whilst in bed. Plus, at night, lying in bed you get a good view of the stars as well !
• Bathroom - toilet and basin en suite
• Shower ensuite- Outside
• They do game drives, but as we had our own guide we didn't go on any of the lodge ones
We did find the lodge hard to find as we didn't see any sign board for it, so we ended up arriving there as the sun was setting. The track to the lodge is before you get to the waterhole if you are travelling from Nossob, and you go through the park campsite and through the other side onto a track marked, for 4x4 only and no unauthorised entry. The lodge took this on board and were going to look at making a more visible sign, and possibly put in a new track just for the lodge.

On arrival, we had the warmest welcome we have ever had at any lodge over the last four trips. The staff made us feel really special, and made us feel very at home. It turned out that we were the very first paying guests as it was their opening day, plus we were the only guests until the following night, when one other couple joined us.

All the staff were newly trained from a local community, and as we were their very first guests they seemed a little anxious, which I think anyone would feel the same, however that will pass with time as they get more guests, they were however very keen to please and ensure that you had everything you needed, and am sure over time they will be more confident and relaxed in their roles. We very much enjoyed our stay there and the company of all the staff. The manager and guide were both particularly very hospitable, informative, and very helpful. They were both anxious to get our feedback - we apologise for our delay in completing full feedback. We did pass them some feedback on whilst we were with them. Please pass on our best wishes to them and hope that everything is going well for them, and we do hope to see them again one day.

The weather had turned very cold so we were sat at dinner with fleece, hats, and gloves on. Despite that all the meals were very enjoyable.

The lodge was well layed out and finished to a very high quality, and the location is quite stunning. It sits on a dune overlooking a pan with wide views. The tented rooms are sited along the top of the dune as well, looking across the wide views over the pan. All the rooms are connected to the main lodge by a wooden walkway which is lit at night by solar lamps. All the tented rooms also have a shade awning over them to keep the direct sun off.

Because there are Lions in the area, between sunset and sunrise you have to be escorted from your rooms to the lodge. The lions do pass through the lodge and by the rooms, and did so both nights that we were there. Including roaring one night which made it all very evocative. We could sit on our private veranda and watch wildlife passing in the pan below, Oryx, and Ostrich. There were also sunbirds in the tree round our room. It is quite a stunning situation.

The only blip we had was an issue with the outside shower. I had a bad bee sting whilst in the shower , as the bees came swarming into the shower to get a drink, and I hadn't realised one had landed on me until I felt the sting.

We rated this lodge very highly, and is one we would love to go back to. It was near the lodge and the waterhole that we had our best lion sightings.

When we left all the staff came out and sung us good bye - we did feel very sad at leaving"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

"Rooiputs"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2013
"Rooipots Lodge
• Staff all very friendly, helpful and most attentive
• Food was excellent
• Rooms completed and finished to a high standard and very comfortable, and glass fronted, so you still keep the view whilst in bed. Plus at night lying in bed you get a good view of the stars
• Bathroom - toilet and basin on suite
• Shower - Outside but still en-suite
• They can also provide a massage for weary travellers
The lodge was signposted and easy to find .

On arrival, we had another very warm welcome like we had at the sister lodge at Polentswa. The staff made us feel very at home. Rooipots had been open for three months when we visited in August. For the two nights we were again the only guests staying there.


All the staff came from a local community. We very much enjoyed our stay there and the company of all the staff. The manager again was particularly very hospitable, informative, and very helpful. And is a place we would love to go back to.

The lodge is sited on top of a dune with a good view and a small waterhole which has started to bring game in. The views are not as expansive as at Polentswa but still very good.

The manager was explaining that they are still trying to sort out the concession private roads with the park authorities. At the time we visited they still hadn't got the go ahead to put in the roads, which will be used for game drives.


The lodge was well layed out and finished to a very high quality and was in a nice location. The rooms are thatched chalets, and are sited along the top of the dune, all with good views. All the rooms are connected to the main lodge by a wooden walkway which is lit at night by solar lamps.
The rooms all had private verandas. There will also be a small swimming pool, which was there but hadn't been filled.

As there are lions in the area, between sunset and sunrise you have to be escorted from your rooms to the lodge. There are also Hyenas in the vicinity.
There is also a good chance of seeing Cape Fox here.

We rated this lodge very highly, and is one we would love to go back to. The food here was not only excellent but was also very well presented. The food was some of the best we have had. Unfortunately I was not able to enjoy it, all as I went down with Flu, but the lodge was very good and ensured I was well looked after, and gave me oranges when I didn't really feel like eating anything.

When we left all the staff came out and sung us good bye . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Both Polentswa and Rooipots had tried to find Soya milk for me but had been unable to get any. But they did tell us on arrival, thankfully as we did have our own guide with us, he had been able to get some so I was okay. We were grateful to both lodges trying to source the soya milk. Both lodges looked after us extremely well whilst we were with them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central lodge"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"Central Lodge Keetmanshoop
As it says it is central and is a good place for a stop over. Accommodation rather faded, but quite adequate for a short stay. Very convenient for stocking up in the local shops."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canon Roadhouse"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"We had three nights here to explore the Fish River area. It is a quirky place to stay with all the old vehicles inside and outside!

The staff were helpful, most especially Arvid, who helped to try and sort out a problem with our wheel rim, which had been damaged prior to our picking it up. But had been impossible to spot at the time of delivery as it was not visible until the tyre was flat and the wheel taken off!

We enjoyed our stay here and the food was very good. We also did a self guided walk here which was well marked out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Mule Trail

"Mule Trail -amazing adventure"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"An amazing adventure, for which you need to be reasonably fit, and prepared to make do. The mules took a limited amount of our luggage, so we could have a small change of clothes over the four nights. In all we hiked about 42 kilometres over the four days, carrying our own day packs with 2 litres of water in. The accommodation was a variety of tents from the usual bell tents with beds, to a small crawl in tent sleeping on the ground, and a basic cabin on one night.

The bathroom facilities again were basic but with wonderful views! Each morning you make up your own packed Lunch from what has been provided. And at the end of each days walking you can sit and have a sundowner, while a wonderful meal is cooked for you.

You start out at the canyon Mule station after driving 22 kilometres along a sandy track. Not really recommended for use by a sedan type car. You are then taken by vehicle to the first night's camp. From there, in the morning you walk across the plateau before descending into the upper canyon, and follow the Lowen river to its confluence with the Fish River. Then following the Fish ever deeper, until it is time to start back up out of the canyon.

To the last nights camp on the very lip of the canyons walls. The bathroom facilities here were right on the edge, so you needed to be able to cope with a heights! Stunning views! It was an unforgettable experience and am so glad we did it. A big thank you to the Gondwana collection and especially to Manilow our ever cheerful guide for the duration, plus Matthias & Frederick for their wonderful cooking. And lastly but by no means least the mules and horses. This was also a very sad parting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagles Nest - beautiful location"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"These were in a stunning location with wonderful views. The chalet we were in was built around a huge boulder and the wine rack was made from a quiver tree! We were here three nights to recover and sort ourselves out after the mule hike. We opted to take the breakfast and braai packs, that the main lodge provide, if you don't wish to go back to the restaurant to dine.

The packs were very good and we enjoyed doing our own braai while having a sundowner. We tried a couple of the self guided hikes from our chalet, some easier than others, but providing stunning views and the chance to see some of the game in the area. A good location to go out and see the desert horses as well, we spent two hours just watching them and their interactions, it was fascinating.

The chalets are well presented and have everything you need, including a fireplace for those colder evenings. A good place to relax and enjoy the beautiful desert scenery."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"A modern hotel right on the edge of the bay with its own small beach. On the outside edge of town where you have to pass between an old power station having asbestos removed, not very welcoming!

The rooms were nice and comfortable but for some reason after we had settled into our room we were asked to re pack and move to another room, as there was a problem with the one we had been booked into. We were not told what the problem was. We had three nights here so that we could explore Luderitz and the surrounding area. The food at the hotel was excellent and plenty of it as it was a buffet style restaurant and of a very high standard.

The only problem was it was a large hotel, often with several tour coaches staying as well, so at times when they all descended on the restaurant at the same time it did get quite difficult to get to the buffet. The hotel were also not at all helpful with the request that had been made for our dietary requirements. It came across as a very much that they couldn't be bothered attitude, which was very different from everywhere else we had stayed, some of which were very remote and who had gone to great lengths for us. It wasn't until we had finally managed to speak to the boss, that it all started to get sorted, but that was at the end of our stay.

Not a good example of Namibian hospitality - a place we wouldn't be particularly keen to stay in again."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sperrgebiet tour

Sperrgebiet tour

"Pomona & Bogenfels - amazing places"

15 Sep 2013 • All-day excursion

have already supplied our comments to Expert Africa on this. This was a disappointing trip.

Poor
Halifax Island boat trip

Halifax Island boat trip

"Sedina - a fantastic trip"

16 Sep 2013 • Morning excursion

Sedina boat cruise - We had a wonderful trip out to Halifax Island with Renee on the Sedina. We were very lucky and had very good sightings of the Heavy side Dolphins playing alongside the boat on the way out, and on the way back. We also saw the penguins.

It was an exhilarating experience, partly due to the large rollers of the South Atlantic! And was one of our highlights, and we very much enjoyed our trip with Renee. The mug of hot chocolate went down well too.
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sinclair guest farm & Taso - excellent"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"A wonderful spot. We were here only one night but would have loved to have stayed longer.

We took a walk out to the old copper mine ably guided there and back by Taso the sheepdog. Taso was very patient with us and while we dawdled enjoying the view he would wait for us in some convenient shady spot. Taso also showed us how sheepdogs round up animals, however the farms horses didn't understand this principle and just watched Taso to see how he was going to achieve his aim if they weren't going to budge. So it was all a bit of a standoff and Taso gave it up as a bad job. And tried again on our return journey in case the horses had changed their minds and were a bit more willing, they weren't.

The rooms are as you would expect from a guest farm, and were comfortable with a little veranda overlooking the gardens. Very relaxing.

Again we were the only guests staying and we ate our meals with Hannelore who filled us in on her family's history on the farm and the challenges of farming in Namibia. We spent a very enjoyable evening with her. A place we would love to go back to again. It was a very convenient stop-over between Luderitz and Tok Tokkie."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Tok Tokkie - Sun sand & rain!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"The Namib Rand is a beautiful area. The hike was lovely and you spend two nights sleeping out under the stars. During the day you carry your own day pack while your luggage is transported for you to the next nights location. The guide and staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. A special thank you to Dominingo, who guided us on the hike and showed us so many things of interest, including where a golden mole had travelled through the night.

At the end of the days walk to sitting back and enjoying a sundowner and the views across the Namib red dunes was wonderful. The food that was provided was great. And to get to sleep out in the open under the stars and the immense milky way was stunning. Not so great waking on the second morning to rain! However, as it had turned very cold and windy again everyone had gone to bed fully clothed! But it didn't dampen our experience just added to it. Rain in the desert was an experience and for which the animals must have been very pleased as there had been a drought."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Red Dunes Lodge"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"Very well situated, just by the B1 and although we were not able to enjoy much of it as we arrived just as the sun was setting due to having to get a tyre repaired, it was a nice place to stay.

The rooms were very nice, private and comfortable and the staff were all very welcoming and helpful, including Toffee the pet meerkat. The food was very good as well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Namibian Adventure

Namibia between 16 Sep 2012 and 16 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"As a whole despite some issues it was a really fantastic adventure, visiting a completely different area of Namibia. And a special thank you to Sabina for organising it.

However, special thanks also to Bruno Nebe, Axel & Silke Bauer at Aigamas, Vincent and Simson and for everything they did in making it such a great trip. And to Arno and the Bushmen at Nhoma for sharing their knowledge and time with us. It was an unforgettable few weeks."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Vertigo Boutique Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A very modern hotel"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"Room was a little too high tech for our requirements and taste. Although the reason we picked this hotel was for the massage.

The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Outstanding and Inspirational"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"Spent 3 nights here, and could have spent longer.

It was fascinating and learned so much from Bruno about the bio diversity on Mundulea and surrounding area. Bruno is an excellent host and a first class guide. A wonderful insight into Namibia.

Would love to go back and see how Bruno's vision develops."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Nhoma Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Fascinating insight and experience spending time with the bushmen, and should have stayed for longer.

Arno's in depth knowledge of the bushmen was invaluable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Private guided camping

"A fantastic adventure"

6 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"It was an excellent trip with a first rate guide and camp assistant, who both went way beyond what they were required to do. Especially in some quite difficult conditions. There is no way that this trip could have been done as a self drive, due to the remoteness and challenging driving conditions. Which in some parts the tracks had been overgrown by the bush and had huge Aardvark holes undermining them, especially in the Nyae Nyae pan area, you need to be an experienced 4x4 driver in Africa for here .

There was also the added hazard of bush fires. There were some very memorable experiences and would not have missed it for the world. Spectacular views from the top of Kremetartkop, the rocks are very jagged so good boots are required. The cooking was excellent as was everything provided by the guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"First rate lodge, and excellent place to stay.

The river cruise was very good and the guide knowledgeable, a good introduction to Caprivi wildlife. The food and hospitality were first class. A very nice place to stay after 6 nights camping."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

private guided camping

"Fantastic experience"

6 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2012
"Again our guide and camp assistant can't be rated highly enough. The community campsite of Popa falls and most especially Nambwa were excellent. We had 1 night at Popa falls on the banks of the Okavango River by the falls which was really lovely.

Nambwa was 4 nights and the facilities were very good on the banks of the Kwando River. The camp food was excellent and even surpassed some of the lodges. The camping was the highlight of the trip. We were lucky that on arriving at Nambwa it also coincided with hundreds of elephants migrating through, who also paid an overnight visit into camp, which was an interesting experience.

The camp does have a resident troop of vervet monkeys, who given a chance would cause more mischief than the elephants! The boat trip here at sunset was fantastic with some memorable sightings of Elephant, Hippo, and Red Lechwe. We also saw a huge herd of the rarer Sable antelope. This really was a very good base for visiting the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Nunda Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2012
"Another pleasant lodge, with good food and hospitality.

We didn't do any activities supplied by this lodge, as this was just an overnight stopover."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2012
"An individual lodge. Which works with the local community. The food is excellent and plenty of it.

Rooms a little faded, but perfectly fine for an overnight stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Ghaub Guest Farm review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"We didn't stay in the farm but camped on one of the three pitches.

The facilities provided were good with the abultion block for each pitch providing two showers and two flush toilets with electricity. Kitchen facilities with concrete and stone table and a braai area. The table provided can really only be used as a work surface as it is too high to sit at. Each pitch is private with good views.

One of the guides at the farm took us down the cave on the farm which is a two and a half hour adventure going down a hundred meters. There was a lot of scrambling and climbing in muddy conditions so you need to be prepared for that. But it was a great experience. Not for the claustrophobic. An excellent base to explore the Otavi area."
Good
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Activities
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2012
"The rooms were very private and nicely done with fantastic views. Each chalet had a plunge pool which was great, but we had to request that ours was cleaned before it could be used and this was done.

The restaurant area was a little barn like and impersonal for our taste, although with fantastic views and again had a metal roof so proved quite hot. The food was bordering on average/poor and the main course was far too salty. Table service was very poor., e.g. plates and bowls of food were banged down on the table, when told a glass provided for water was chipped, the waiter ignored it and left, we had to go to the bar and get the glass and water replaced.

This lodge is very convenient for getting up to the plateau, but would not recommend more than one night. The Wilderness Lodge would have been a better place to stay for us, although the rooms are a little less private but looked very nice and without the far reaching views. The guided walk was good and again spectacular views, before you go you need to accept as Expert Africa have pointed out the guides are not very knowledgeable about wildlife."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2012
"This was our last night's stay in Namibia and was ideal.

The hospitality was excellent and the staff all very helpful. We didn't take part in any of the activities provided, but we did a couple of self guided walks, one of which had directions provided. Both walks were enjoyable and we saw quite a bit of game. It was a very restful place to stay and finish our trip. For us it was preferable than staying in Windhoek.

The food was excellent and tea and coffee is provided all day in the main reception area. The gardens are very pleasant. With a very large swimming pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Trip of a life time

Namibia between 27 Apr 2011 and 23 May 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"For one person it was the best holiday ever, and the for other person the best few weeks of their life. The scenery as ever was stunningly beautiful. We were privilaged to see Namibia after unusually heavy rainfall and to see it so green with incredibly tall grass. But also to witness the Uniab River in full flood was quite something.

It was good to be with Vincent again and he was a very big part of making the trip such a sucess. We particularly enjoyed the camping, it was wonderful to be out away from everything and enjoy the peace and sounds of the bush. And it was wonderful to explore the more remote and wilder areas of Namibia. We would not have attempted this on our own, we also learnt so much more from Vincent and Simpson.

On the self drive part the distance between Lodges was not far so the driving was not tiring. So we always arrived in time to relax and go on an activity in the afternoon. We did a lot more walking on this trip which was great and it gave us more of an opportunity to talk to the guides and other lodge staff, and learn more about life in Namibia. We were very impressed with the high level of service from everyone, with the exception Of Budget car hire. It was also great to have been out with two of Namibia's top guides Vincent and Bruno.

The trip had been extremely well planned and a lot of effort went into it making it such a wonderful trip. However we discovered that there was no need to stay in Walvis Bay on the last night as Swakopmund is just as easy to get to the airport. We felt it would have been better to have spent the last night at Swakopmund and to have dropped the car off at the Budget Office there, with an airport transfer as we had on arrival.

We look forward to planning our next trip with Sabina's help and we are very grateful for everything she has done so far. Plus Vincent and Simpson should get a nomination for guide and camp assistant of the year.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We have nothing to add as we can not think of any possibe improvements that are within your control. Other than to put pressure on Budget to improve their service."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"relaxing hotel"

4 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2011
"A relaxing and comfortable place to stay to recover from our flight. Very friendly atmosphere. All staff extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for you.

Enjoyed private balcony overlooking garden.

Massage very good and helped recovery from flight.

Although tea/coffee provided on request at any time, it would have been nice to have had those facilities in the room. An excellent place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Private guided safari

"experience of a lifetime"

13 nights Arrived 2 May 2011
"Turnstone Tours - Sandwich Bay -: An excellent and informative day with Bruno, walking over the dunes to Sandwich bay, then back along the base of the dunes, along sand of crushed garnet and paddling in the South Atlantic water. An impressive start to the holiday.

Terrace Bay, comfortable and clean accomodation, staff helpful, food good.

Palmwag lodge, accomodation tired but clean and comfortable, tented room was described as luxury, but didn't quite fit this comment. Food very good and staff very helpful. Lovely view from room. Still a good place to stay. Some nice walks.

Purros Bush Lodge, a community run lodge. Basic facilities (not possible to charge camera batteries etc) but clean and comfortable, rooms ensuite. Stone built chalets with thatched roofs. Self catering only. Outside private area for cooking/Braai and washing. Communal area/bar, but no drinks available. Laundry service available. A pleasant place to stay with potential to offer more facilities.

Opuwo Country Lodge, large, smart hotel with good facilities. Food excellent buffet style. Staff helpful. Rooms good with small veranda. But beds a bit too soft and could hear people in the adjoining rooms.

Campsites, Marble Mine camp, Orupembe, community run. Pleasant site, but with single ablultion block with minimal privacy.

Camp Syncro on banks of Kunene river, despite suffering a fire and recent severe flooding was a pleasant site. Staff had worked hard at clearing up and getting site working again. Therfore limited facilities but clean and tidy.

Wild camping, each site very different but equally special. A most memorable and unforgettable experience. The meals provided were excellent and were better than some lodges. Most impressed with what could be produced from a camp fire.

The quality of this trip was down to our guide Vincent with the help of Simpson the camp assistant. Both of whom worked extremely hard in some very challenging conditions. They both provided expert local knowledge and both were very helpful and good company."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2011
"Tented room very comfortable in a stunning setting. Nice to see a very sustainable approach to tourist accomodation. Excellent food. Saw little of the staff, but those we did see were helpful. Interesting and informative walk and game drive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Enjoyable stay at Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2011
"Another stunning location with very comfortable and large room with a fantastic view and private veranda. Staff extremley helpful and friendly Jason and others were very helpful when we experienced car problems and problems with the car hire firm which they sorted.

Guided walk with Michael was very informative and we had such a good time the walk took longer than was planned.

Despite the car problems it was a very enjoyable stay and although we can't remember all the names of the staff we met, everyone was wonderful and we were quite sad to leave, a place we hope to return to one day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Convenient for visiting Brandberg White Lady"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2011
"Lovely setting near Brandberg Mountain.

Basic ensuite room.

Dining room and bar staff all extremely helpful and friendly. Food was good. and enjoyed an excellent concert from the staff after dinner. Lodge owner helped with some further issues with the car hire."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Stunning setting with great staff"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2011
"Tented room very comfortable with good facilities. Layout of the site was very good with stunning views.

Guided walks very informative, especially Johnny and Koulis. The visit to Paula's cave was stunning and very enjoyable, and the staff that also attended were very good company. Food and dining service was also excellent.

Nice to have emphasis on walking and you can do self guided walks, the one we did we were able to watch a pair of Dik Dik for quite some time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Loge, Walvis Bay"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2011
"pleasant place for final night. Lovely view over lagoon but spoilt by heavy traffic noise from salt lorries and and other traffic. Also intermittent smell from nearby sewage works."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

We want to return to Namibia ASAP!

Namibia between 21 May 2010 and 8 Jun 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was the most wonderful holiday and a magical place. No place else like it on earth. As an Artist it has given me a lot to work from, our itinerary proved to be a good introduction to the various different aspects of Namibia and it's wildlife. Found people very friendly and always helpful, we were very sad to be leaving.

Apart from on arrival and our transfer from the airport to Olive Grove not being available as it had been booked in the wrong month. And the other issues already raised. Everything else went like clockwork and it was an excellent trip.

There is an Issue with the South African Rand which we had not been made aware of. It appears that older $200 Rand notes were no longer acceptable in Namibia after 31st May. However our cash reserve was in rands, there was some confusion over the whole issue. Some places did accept them with no quibble. Our main concern is we weren't made aware of the problem, otherwise we would have relied more on Namibian dollars.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Template letter with final documents needs more fine tuning. Might be helpful to include a checklist of documents needed,to save trawling through lengthy letters.

Otherwise will come back to Expert Africa for future trips and very many thanks to Sabina for all her help and patience, she was brilliant."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"A good relaxing place to start and finish"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2010
"Very warm welcome, extremely helpful staff,

Rooms that open directly onto the dining area are okay but not perfect especially when other guests get quite noisy especially later in the evening. Had one very noisy night there.

Otherwise loved it and on our return journey we were upgraded to an upstairs room, which was wonderful and we were really grateful. And would go back."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Very Handy for the Park entrance gates"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2010
"This was the largest Lodge we stayed at. Our Chalet was right out on the end of the Lodge complex near the park fence, so was more secluded than many of the others. So very peaceful with wonderful sunrises and sunsets, and saw many animals from our chalet.

Incredibly convenient to get to the park gates for opening time at 6.30am. The staff also did us a wonderful packed picnic Breakfast (which had just about everything in it) to take in and enjoy whilst in Sossusvlei."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Comfortable and friendly"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2010
"We had dinner at a local restaurant the Tug which was very good. Unfortunately for Sam's that night there was a power Cut in Swakopmund so Breakfast was a little difficult for him but it was still fine. First time we've had Breakfast by candlelight!

Would have been nice to have had a more central or seafront location.

There was no safe in the room."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Stunning Sea front location"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2010
"Very warm and friendly welcome. Staff all extremely helpful.

View from seafront room was wonderful.

The highlight of the stay was an impromtu staff entertainment when they all came in to the dining area singing traditional songs, it was quite wonderful and an unforgettable experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Comfortable down to earth place"

1 night Arrived 28 May 2010
"We arrived at Terrace Bay after driving through a sandstorm so it was a very welcome sight. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice to stay somewhere less touristy all other guests, were locals visiting for the fishing.

Rooms basic but comfortable, very good shower with plenty of hot water.

Had a good night there. Well worth the drive up the Coast."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Stunning"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2010
"Stunning location, stunning accomadation, especially the bathroom, the sundowners were spectacular, the food was extremely good, and wonderful staff.

We were treated to a surprise candlelit dinner on our own to celebrate our wedding anniversary, it was an enchanting place. Of the staff Andreas was particulary helpful.

Can't wait to return, it really was a special place. Again unforgettable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Good location for exploring Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2010
"Accomadation a little tired and design of room could be improved, otherwise okay. Our room proved to be noisy from traffic noise from carpark, and all the outside path lights shone directly in all the windows. Other Lodges had managed the lighting of paths in a far better way.

Staff all friendly and helpful, especially the restaurant manager."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Stunning views"

1 night Arrived 2 Jun 2010
"Facinating experience to stay at a community run Lodge. Showed a very good practical eco approach to everything including conservation. All very friendly and helpful. Although no hot water in the morning for a shower!!

Fantastic views and didn't get a chance to use the infinty swimming pool. Went on an afternoon Game drive as the walks were cancelled due to Lions being too close. Saw a stunning sunset and a lot of game, however you do need to be prepared as the ride is very bumpy! Ended up with some bruises.

Wished we'd stayed two nights to do more, like Rhino tracking. That night at dinner all the staff came in singing Happy Birthday to me and than sang some traditional songs, we were very touched, they also brought in some bubbly which we shared with all the other guests. Another unforgettable experience. Would go back again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"A good base for Exploring Western Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2010
"The Waterhole Chalet we had, had the best view of the waterhole and saw some stunning sunsets and sunrises and plenty of game, even from our bed!

Lettie in the restaurant was particulary friendly and very helpful.

The staff in the office on arrival were a little officious and it is where we encountered the biggest problem with trying to use the South African Rand and they wouldn't accept any.

Our only puncture of the whole trip was while we were parked at Okaukuejo. It was caused by a sliver of metal, possibly a knife blade. We are a little suspicious about it not being an accident.

We were surprised that there wasn't an ATM at such a large site which is also a main tourist destination point. We discovered this because of the issue s we were having with the Rands.

Our Chalet was wonderful, but again no safe. Overall very good, and had a great time despite the couple of problems."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Upgraded to Bush Camp Chalet"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2010
"On arrival we discovered we had been upgraded to the Bush Camp. Best accomadation of the trip. With lots of attention to detail. Wonderful all round views from our Chalet. Game Drives excellent, saw both Leopard and Cheetah and many other game animals including an Ardvark. Magnificent sundowner spot.

Main Bush Camp complex was exceptionally well laid out and very relaxing. Sydney one of the game guides was very good.

The staff also presented me with a card, photograph, and a huge Birthday cake, which we shared with the other guests and staff as there was so much of it. I was very touched. We would loved to have stayed for longer.

A lovely place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"As before"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2010
"Upgraded room"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team