This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mata Mata Rest Camp
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp


25°46’1.4"S 20°0’1.1"E

Reviews of Mata Mata Rest Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

13 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mata Mata Rest Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mata Mata Rest Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 13
Duration
Arrival date
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Very nice room at Mata Mata"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2018
"We especially liked the room we had, with a lovely patio overlooking the waterhole (with cheetah's on the first evening). Travelling with small children it was nice that we could self cater here.

The park was a bit hit and miss. Sometimes we would see nothing at all and then suddenly a leopard or a hunting lion. The fact that there was only one road meant it felt like pure luck when we would encounter something (rather than a result of our spotting skills)." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"A handy, hard-to-get base"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2017
"Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park is amazingly difficult to book. Often it has to be a year in advance. So we are prepared to sacrifice some of the creature comforts in order to be there ....However Mata Mata isn't too bad for a bit of self-catering, as long as you've stocked up at (for example) Marienthal (coming from Namibia). The on-site shop is fairly basic.

There's nothing wrong with the chalet; it's a bit bleak, but it does a job. For drives, there's only one road, the one to Two RIvers. It is slow-going and, with distractions, it could easily take four hours to get to the other end. With open eyes, there's plenty of wild life; not dense (after all its semi-desert), but it is there.

We didn't do any of the organised game drives" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Mr & Mrs VanZylrus
UK

"Mata mata "

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"Again very well appointed chalets by SANParks standards.

Clean and very well equipped and the proximity of the waterhole is probably the best we have ever encountered on our trips." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"New riverside units - a step up from the old"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2017
"Walk around Mata Mata, one of the original camps of the Kgalagadi. Visit the hide and the camp site but beware of twisting an ankle in the ground squirrel burrows.

The new units beside the river are well designed, clean, well equipped, air conditioned and comfortable. The shop is fine but stock is limited and the filling station had fuel when we were there. The guide books recommend a walk to a farm shop just over the frontier in Namibia but I haven't tried that yet.

There always seems to be a good selection of wildlife around Mata Mata and we were not disappointed this time." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Mata Mata Rest Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2015
"Comfortable although not luxurious self catering. Good facilities in accommodation.

Basic facilities in the camp. Good location for game viewing." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Dorset

"Nice camp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2015
"Mata Mata was a nice camp with a well visited waterhole at its edge viewable from within a hide in the camp. Although the camp is at the end of the road and therefore only one route out for game drives there never seemed to be a queue of traffic along the road even at the earlier morning gate opening. The game viewing we found more varied than any where else in the park.

The waterholes along the road were always worth a visit and spending a few minutes to see what was lying around in the shade set back from the water. We found one of the tell tales for lions or other big cats being around was a waterhole with nothing drinking from it. We again booked an evening game drive and were the only two people on the trip. The guide was again very knowledgeable and we were taken off the beaten track where you couldn't go had you been driving yourself.

We were unfortunate in having to change rooms during the two nights we spent here. There was the potential to have no where to shelter in the heat of the day. Fortunately we managed to link with the cleaning ladies and were able to move into the next room as soon as we returned from our morning game drive." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Mata Mata Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"The camp is ok for one night and for us was a stop over on route to Namibia.

The riverside lodges are a better option for anyone choosing to make Mata Mata a base for a few nights." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Try and get a chalet overlooking the river"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2014
"These are the ones most recently constructed. The outlook from their patios takes some beating. As they are relatively new they have all the mod cons they need.

Like the other camps it's recommended to bring your own water and the shop at the camp keeps the essentials. The frozen sosaties from the shop are recommended for your braai. We felt that of the larger camps this the best - but opinions differ." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Purley

"Mata Mata Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"Very helpful and friendly staff. A small shop on site." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Ms J & Ms B
Canada

"Mata Mata Rest Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 May 2014
"After one night in a 2 bedroom chalet we were moved to a more comfortable and spacious river view chalet.

This was excellent except the floors and surfaces could have been cleaner." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 13
83%
13 reviews of Mata Mata Rest Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
4
7
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren

At the southern entrance to Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Twee Rivieren Rest Camp is the park's largest restcamp and also the centre for its administration. The accommodation here is all self-catering, and arranged in almost a little village – with a restaurant, a shop, a fuel station and a swimming pool. It's a park for serious safari aficionados to spent at least four or five nights exploring – with time here at the start and/or end.


82% (30 reviews)
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp, with self-catering accommodation, is an unusual and well positioned base for exploration of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


91% (28 reviews)
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp is located in a remote corner of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, which is wonderful if you like wilderness areas. However, access takes time - so it's not the best base for exploring the park.


89% (13 reviews)
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

One of just three private lodges in the Kgalagadi, Ta Shebube Rooiputs offers a well-appointed base from where you can explore this delightful National Park.


91% (13 reviews)
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

A basic but very well positioned rest camp within the heart of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Simple self-catering accommodation is available as well as camping options


80% (12 reviews)
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

The only private lodge within the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park with full board and activities, !Xaus Lodge is a good base from which to explore the Kalahari.


98% (11 reviews)
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

Although accessed via South Africa, Ta Shebube Polentswa is situated just across the border, in a private concession on the Botswana side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park


94% (10 reviews)
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp, with the self-catering accommodation housed in reed and canvas chalets; it's an unusual but comfortable base from which to explore the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


88% (10 reviews)
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp has quirky sand-bag self-catering accommodation and simple amenities, offering a comfortable place to stay while exploring the north western Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


94% (10 reviews)
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Camp

Urikaruus is one of the most popular wilderness camps in the Kgalagadi National Park with lovely riverside cabins set high up on stilts overlooking the Auob riverbed.


95% (8 reviews)
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Camp

Perched high atop a huge red sand dune, the small Kielie Krankie wilderness camp it is well positioned for accessing both east and west sides of the Kgalagadi National Park.


93% (8 reviews)
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Lodge

Molopo Kalahari Lodge is less than an hours' drive from the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. It is probably the best base for self-driving around the Kgalagadi if the restcamps inside the park are full, or if you're arriving here late in the afternoon.


60% (3 reviews)
The Motse at Tswalu

The Motse at Tswalu

Tswalu Motse is a smart lodge located in the Tswalu Game Reserve, the largest private reserve in South Africa.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa