This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Warwick

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

45

Excursions taken

1

It turned out well in the end.

South Africa between 7 Jun 2017 and 23 Jun 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank goodness and Tracy. She sorted out a problem with our bookings only a couple of weeks before we left for our holiday. It was not exactly as we anticipated but it was great, particularly the inclusion of extended stays at Polentswa and Rooiputs.

The success of a game spotting holiday can be down to luck in seeing the game. In this respect luck was not on our side, particularly, this time but having been on four holidays to Kgalagadi, we know that this is not the be all and end all. The landscapes, birdlife, and small animals are all wondrous. Most of all, however, we are always struck by the interesting people we meet and the stories they tell us - including Mercy, who recalled meeting Chris McIntyre.

Our one criticism is that the revised plan meant a lot more travelling between distant camps and too many changes in accommodation. 10 changes in a 12 days stay is too much especially when there were six hours and more of travelling to be done in a day. But, anyway, we had a holiday!

Kgalagadi is not for the packaged tourist and long may it stay that way despite the gradual increase in accommodation at the camps."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Now under new management"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2017
"We have always used Le Must for a stay-over on our journeys to and from Kgalagadi.

It changed hands recently (I believe in April this year) and the new management is still settling in. The staff are all friendly, willing and enthusiastic but they still need to sharpen up on their attention to detail and anticipate clients needs.

For example, it is irritating to find there is not enough milk and tea bags in the room, or enough of their delicious fruit salad at breakfast to meet the clients' conceivable needs. That's why I cannot give them top marks this time."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"The best base for your trip to the Kalagadi"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2017
"SAN Parks have upped their game at Kgalagadi. From Reception at Twee Rivieren, onward, the visitor experience is a good one. Everything is clean, works and is well maintained in the rest camps. The staff are invariably courteous and friendly.

Twee Rivieren shop is the best in the Park. You can stock up there on essentials for the wilderness camps with those things you've forgotten to get in Upington. The restaurant is unique in the Park and should be experienced. There is also a kiosk for takeaways which seems mostly to be used by staff and building and maintenance workers. It's cheap and can provide the toasted ham, cheese and tomato sandwich of fond memory from visits to other SAN parks.

Before you leave, top up your fuel and inflate/deflate your tyres at the filling station. There, too, service and facilities have improved since our last visit two years ago."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

""Sustainable" luxury in the dunes "

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2017
"The only source of power at Polentswa is solar. It's used for pumping and purifying the water and for lighting and for powering the sockets in the rooms for recharging your phones and camera batteries. At night they light a wood fire out on the dune and there is a gas heater in the dining area for those cold winter nights.

The setting is idyllic and the views are amazing. The tents, and especially the enormous beds, are extremely comfortable and by the time you have finished your dinner, (on winter nights) someone will have put a really hot waterbottle in your bed by the time you've finished eating. Food is excellent. How they get their salads so crisp and fresh is amazing when the nearest supermarket is around 500km distant. In the morning they offer an early morning tea or coffee snack before your early morning game drive and then at around 11 you can have a brunch - an excellent arrangement that sets one up for the day.

We had anticipated the cold when we packed and we needed our down jackets in the evenings and early mornings in the depths of their winter. No signs at all now of the wind damage that led to the temporary closure of the camp a couple of years ago. Thoroughly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp

"Two years later - what a difference?"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2017
"Two years ago Gharagab was tatty. SANParks have been busy in the interim and it shows. No elaborations, just improved maintenance and new equipment making it better all round. It makes such a difference.

However, we weren't very lucky with the wildlife but the visitor book shows we were exceptions. The journey across the dunes from the Nossob river remains challenging - especially leaving the camp - but take your time and enjoy the bush and the small things like the meerkats, bird life and the steenboks.

Eric and Isaak take turns in looking after the camp and both are helpful and informative if you ask them the right questions. You can also help by asking if there is anything they want you to take to Nossob for them - a bag of laundry doesn't take up much space in the boot."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"The animals come pretty close here..."

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2017
"Take your hot water bottle with you if you choose to stay at Kalahari Tented Camp in June. The tent is not insulated against the cold and there is no heating but you can keep warm with your braai fire and a hot water bottle in your bed.

The units each have a separate kitchen unit and a small terrace separating it from the sleeping tent. I always doubt that the wall separating you from the animals will keep them out but so far so good but it is a little disconcerting to find that the jackals can look over it to watch you eating your boerwors. Lions and cheetahs are regular visitors to and through the camp.

A great place to stay within easy reach of the Mata Mata shop and filling station. The resident ranger will keep an eye on you and inform you of any interesting visitors."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Facilities
Good
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

"New riverside units - a step up from the old"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2017
"Walk around Mata Mata, one of the original camps of the Kgalagadi. Visit the hide and the camp site but beware of twisting an ankle in the ground squirrel burrows.

The new units beside the river are well designed, clean, well equipped, air conditioned and comfortable. The shop is fine but stock is limited and the filling station had fuel when we were there. The guide books recommend a walk to a farm shop just over the frontier in Namibia but I haven't tried that yet.

There always seems to be a good selection of wildlife around Mata Mata and we were not disappointed this time."
Good
Location
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2017
"Our second visit to Twee Rivieren on this trip and my comments remain as earlier."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

"A second visit to Polentswa on this trip"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2017
"My earlier comments still apply."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp

"A second visit on this trip - worth it!"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2017
"Our second visit on this trip. We were in unit 1 with 270 deg views.

An African Wildcat visited us during the evening and during the morning a steenbok came to drink from a leaking water pipe - giving us a rare, close sighting.

Get this unit or number 4 if you ever have a choice."
Good
Location
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

"The best wilderness camp in Kgalagadi"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2017
"On arrival the ranger stresses the need to beware of snakes, scorpions and predators and the visitor book confirms the presence of all in the vicinity of this camp.

The units themselves are compact and more substantial than those at Bitterpan and Gharagab. They are well maintained and clean. One has the impression that Franco, the resident ranger, takes a pride in his camp and makes sure all is shipshape. The waterhole at Grootkolk is quite close by and while we were there the other guests were particularly quiet and seemed very knowledgeable about the game and birdlife.

Altogether a good place to visit despite the distances involved."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

"No better place to stay in the Kgalagadi"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2017
"Located just over the border in Botswana and staffed by its citizens, the camp is beautifully located on dunes. From the same group as Polentswa this camp is similar in many ways but the units are more substantial and even more comfortable with unexpectedly luxurious fixtures and fittings for a desert camp. Its location close to the Rooiputs waterhole means it is in one of the areas most prolific with game.

Mercy is a very effective manager of the lodge and she is supported by staff who together form an excellent team. The game drives with Mr T or William are very good value and allow one to spend two or three hours in company with two very nice, conscientious and interesting people. The lodge is especially popular during the summer months and, unusually, because it was the depths of winter, we were fortunate to have the place to ourselves for one of the nights and were treated like royalty.

It is a wonderfully peaceful place where sleep comes easily other than when Mofofu, the lion, who spends the night just outside Mercy's room, decides to roar to attract lionesses to join him."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Keep the door shut to keep out the monkeys"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2017
"I really was looking forward to that nougat I left on the table in our Unit 52 but the monkey got it. the unit was described as a luxury one with a view towards the gorge and the distant mountains. Facilities were perfectly adequate and the beds were comfortable. Monkeys and baboons, though, seem to be regular visitors and they can be a bit of a nuisance.

The gorge and falls are awe inspiring though June is not a time during which the falls are ever in full flow. The restaurant is OK but if you wish to self cater I suggest you get your food before you arrive in the park because the shop is not impressive.

There are some great walks and the short one to Arrow Point brings you to a vertigo inducing point just before two gorges converge. The drives in the park take you to some remarkable viewpoints and on the way you may meet the odd giraffe, eland and numberless dassies."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Our second visit on this trip"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2017
"Nothing to add to previous comments other than to mention that we ate our evening meal at Cafe Zest. Very popular with locals and highly recommended."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Great holiday. We plan to return next year

South Africa between 29 Aug 2014 and 15 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our holiday was in two parts. The Kgalagadi in September will not be to everyone's taste as it is by no means a luxury holiday. It takes good advanced planning to make sure you are properly stocked up with water and other essentials before you set out from Upington. Your diet could be limited to red meat on the braai but don't let this put you off. This is a holiday for those who value the traditional south african safari experience.

From the Kgalagadi we travelled through Namakwaland at wildflower time. So lucky, as there are only a few weeks in the year when the desert blossoms. It is unforgettable.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
I value the fact that you allow me to book my own flights and my car hire."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Le Must River Residence review"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"Having arrived late due to a delay at O Tambo we were welcomed with a delicious hot meal of a boerwors casserole with rice. Saved us searching for a restaurant at a late hour.

Comfortable large first floor room with a spacious bathroom. High ceilings would help keep the room cool in Summer and heating was available and would have been welcome if it had been cooler. Le Must is set in a sun tropical garden offering shade which must surely be needed during the summer. Altogether a delightful spot next to the range River. I'd certainly go again given the opportunity."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Good launch pad for safari in Kgalagadi"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2014
"Our luxury chalet was located at the far end of the accommodation at Twee Rivieren overlooking the campsite. It's fairly new, and so it is well kitted out, comfortable and having all mod cons.

The restaurant was uncrowded and food from the simple menu was generally well cooked and so can be recommended as the best in Kgalagadi (OK, it's the only one.)

Use the shop as well. It has the widest range of stock in the park."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

"Try and get a chalet overlooking the river"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2014
"These are the ones most recently constructed. The outlook from their patios takes some beating. As they are relatively new they have all the mod cons they need.

Like the other camps it's recommended to bring your own water and the shop at the camp keeps the essentials. The frozen sosaties from the shop are recommended for your braai. We felt that of the larger camps this the best - but opinions differ."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp

"Location excellent but maintenance needed"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"A few rand spent on maintenance here would make a difference. Sad really as everything else is great including the attention paid by the resident ranger.

Don't be put off, though, you will have a memorable experience staying here."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

"Just getting there is an achievement"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"The only official way of getting to Bitterpan is from Nossob through a locked gate and then across the dunes on a 4x4 trail. The first two big dunes are the worst to contend with. If you are not confident about your or your vehicle's capabilities, do a deal with the Nossob ranger to let you approach Bitterpan via Morevat.

Once you get there you will have one of the four cabins overlooking the waterhole and will have to use the communal kitchen. Need to take your own water. A real safari experience and the other users will be experienced game or bird spotters and being with them should enrich your experience. There are numerous mice but they can't get into the fridges.

Note - don't expect a five star hotel. Thank goodness, it's better for that."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Facilities
Average
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

"Superb views over the red dunescape"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"After Bitterpan and Gharagab, this is an upmarket wilderness camp.

Well cared for by the ranger and having a stunning outlook. Game was scarce when we were there but we were told a leopard was there a day before. Good facilities, well maintained and a convenient location. Easily accessible.

No air con so it will be hot in summer but the chalets are clean and well planned."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Comfortable well designed units"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2014
"Novel design for the units includes an enclosure for your vehicle. The fact your vehicle will be gated with you means there's no worry about the hazards from the wildlife if you need to get something from it after nightfall.

Rightly popular, comfortable and spacious units. Lovely outlook over the Aoub River valley and there was plenty of game there and interesting nocturnal sounds."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

"Two nights. Two different experiences"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"We had to move from a luxury unit to a single bedroom chalet on our second night. The first was on the hill at the back of the camp and was all one could hope for. The second was one of the older units, perfectly adequate in its way but rather ordinary.

The big plus at Nossob is that you can order freshly baked bread from the shop. Delicious. Recommended. Food "good" though, only because of the bread. Otherwise the usual game reserve fare from the camp shop."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Kalahari Lodge

"Go to experience a bit of local colour"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2014
"Molopo Lodge reminded me of the country hotels I used to visit in South Africa 40 years ago. Many locals in the bar and reps staying overnight.

The windmill festooned with ostrich eggs and porcupine quills in the dining room and the huge rhino sculpture are some of the numerous eccentricities of the place. Rooms adequate and clean. Some of the main courses are reheated frozen so stick to the steaks. Convenient to the Transfrontier park"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Comfortable new lodges at Augrabies"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"A very civilised camp. Coach parties are welcome. The restaurant and shop are excellent and the accommodation comfortable.

Walk to the falls which are floodlit at night along walkways that could be wheelchair friendly at a push. The landscape around the camp has been tamed but get away from here and from the trippers along the dirt road to Moon Rock and beyond is a journey through a moonscape to the gorge of the Orange River for stunning views. That's the best bit."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View Guest House

"Signing makes it easy to find"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"Overlooking Springbok in a lovely spot backing onto a mountainside. Comfortable, spacious rooms and safe parking.

Breakfast was excellent and the evening meal at a local restaurant recommended by management was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

St Du Barrys

"Yes, the parrot really does talk on Skype"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"What a great place to chill out after all the roadworks on the National Road... A lovely spot shaded by a huge fig(?) tree. Rooms individually and tastefully designed. Breakfast beautifully cooked and an outstanding selection to choose from. I felt that nothing could be too much trouble for mine host and hostess. Plenty of advice available on the local area which encourages a longer stay. Oh yes, the parrot... You will find him on the stoep during the day and we are told that he always insists on talking to his favourite (absent) person when she calls up on Skype. Clanwilliam and Du Barry is that sort of place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

La Cabriere

"Quiet, comfortable spot, an easy walk to town"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"New country house hotel near the Huguenot Monument just out of Franschhoek. Lovely views of the mountains from the terrace. Spacious and comfortable rooms with luxury bathrooms.

Excellent service from the delightful staff made our stay memorable. Difficult to fault."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

A wonderful holiday

Namibia between 2 Oct 2009 and 17 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"The animals at Etosha were inevitably he highlight of our trip but this doe not take away anything from the rst of our holiday. We stayed at some exceptional places and had some wonderful experiences. Namibia is a stunning country and we enjoyed every aspect to it.

This is the second time we have used Expert Africa and the Bradt guide and are sure to use them both again. Sabina was always helpful and responded well to all my quirky requests.

Suggestions for improvement:

This not an improvement but is something I would like EXpert to consider taking up.

This is that I think that the quality of the experience offered by NWR at, especially, Etosha is deteriorating. Although the individual staff are generally courteous and helpful I think they need to improve their service as they no longer offer a value for money experience compared with that offered by the lodges with which they are in competition. This is an issue for them but my main concern lies with their management of the Park.

Firstly, I was extrememly concerned by their seeming lack of an effective response to a fire in the Park when I was there at the beginning of October. I first noticed the fire in the morning as a very small column of smoke which by the end of the day had extended on at least a 5km front from the western edge of the park right up to the Pan. I was told this was not the first big fire recently and would like to be assured that the NWR was learning from its recent experiences in this regard.

Secondly, the absence of rangers on patrol within the Park meant that there was little policing going on. It suggested to me that the aminals of secondary importance and this might be symptomatic of a neglect of the environmental conservation aspect of managing the park and that sadly it is increasingly looked upon by government as solely a cash cow."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Terra Africa, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Ideal to start or end a visit to Nam."

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2009
"Easy to find prominent location. Comfortable, clean first floor room with a view. Beautiful gardens and pool. Great birds.

Hospitable and helpful - an ideal place to start and/or finish one's trip to Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Lovely setting - great walks"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"Good location for a first stop after Windhoek.

Fantastic views from comfortable rooms in a spacious rest camp. A curiously old fashioned restaurant serving standard NWR fare.

The high spot is the walks, whether accompanied or not, and the prolific bIrd life and fascinating flora and fauna in an envirnment unusual in Namibia by having plenty of water."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Road closures limit Halali's attractions"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"Minor maintenance issues with aircon and toilet marred the pleasure of using the otherwise comfortable, clean and spacious room.

The restaurant and food from the kiosks was nothing to write home about and was not good value for money. The shop was poorly stocked and the fridges need to be renewed. The staff were friendly and normally helpful.

Road closures "until further notice" restrict access to many nearby waterholes and could disappoint many visitors. We were fortunate in seeing many lion and visits to the Halali waterhole at various times were very productive and made up for the shortcomings of the camp and the perception of poor value for money.

We tourists may be a captive audience but NWR must beware of "killing the goose" by charging too much and neglecting essential maintenance."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

"location, quaity & value = perfect Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2009
"Only two km from the Anderson Gate = excellent location. Aircon in luxury tents in the bush are comfortable and well kitted out. A real feel of Africa from walking in the bush around the "village". Clean swimming poools inviting after a day in Etosha. Well stocked shop - better than Etosha. Friendly, attentive staff. Patrick particularly helpful. Choice and quality of the buffet dinner is outstanding and the 24 hour tea and coffee is welcome.

Value for money is excellent particularly after Etosha. My tip - stay at Taleni instead of in the park.

During our stay there was a bad fire in Etosha which even threatened Taleni. We felt the fire was badly managed by NWR. It should have been dealt with much more quickly without the ensuing loss of habitat and no doubt loss of life among fauna."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"The best yet..."

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2009
"Hidden amongst the rocks of a kopje Camp Kipwe does not intrude in the landscape. It's beautiful.

Waiters bring drinks and snacks to the viewpoint at sundown - one feels very spoilt. Rooms are cool and generous. Open air loos and showers are brilliant - I want one at home.

Excellent food served by attentive staff - this is a brand new lodge which is bound to do well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Missed the elephants by an hour...."

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2009
"Good value and well located between Etosha and Swakopmund. Rooms very simple and the (preferred) detached ones feel very "African" with wood fired hot water and battery electic lights.

The possiblity of bumping into elephants gives an added frisson to the stroll to the main restaurant and the morning delivery of hot water for tea/coffee is welcome and charming touch. Service in the restaurant tends to be slow and the fixed menus are simple but adequate. The bar seems to be a local gathering place and the beer and the pool are cool and good after a long drive to get here.

The springbok has grown up - and is more amorous than last year."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Perfect spot in Swakop"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2009
"Sam's attention to detail and personal service mean this is an hotel where one lacks nothing - except perhaps for a pool - but not necessary in Swakop.

Rooms are very comfortable. Meals are excellent - so sample Sam's five course dinners at least once while you are there. He also keeps a good wine cellar. He is a fund of information about what to do and where to go in Swakopmund which helps make one's visit even more pleasurable.

Ask him to arrange a visit for you to Sandwich Harbour. It has to be a highlight. For those of us used to broadband, his PC is slow, so be patient."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Don't miss out on this visit"

13 Oct 2009 • All-day excursion

Ernest is an extremely knowledgable and experienced guide and the picnic lunch he provided was excellent. I was impressed with his driving of the middle aged Landrover but most of all I was impressed with the outing. From the flaminoges on the Walvis Bay lagoon to the singing dunes. It was an amazing day out which I would recommend to anyone
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Stunning views from our honeymoon suite"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2009
"Putting us in the bridal suite at no extra cost could be an example of Expert Africa clients getting special treatment.

Our room was magnificent. Outstanding views from our private terrace. The igloos are successful in creating cool accommodation in a hot climate.

The only a la carte restaurant in the Namib gives it something different in the way of food and the self guided walks are fun and welcome after a day in the car. We both loved this place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Terra Africa, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Terra Africa review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2009
"comments already given.

[Ed: See the review below that these travellers wrote at the start of their trip. They commented:

"Easy to find prominent location. Comfortable, clean first floor room with a view. Beautiful gardens and pool. Great birds. Hospitable and helpful - an ideal place to start and/or finish one's trip to Namibia.""
Excellent

A wonderful holiday

Namibia and 1 other country between 28 Sep 2008 and 12 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"An unforgettable trip. Everything worked well and repayed careful planning. We did 3000km in two weeks. This was far enough. We know some try and do too much and this must be a mistake as one needs to stop and draw breath and experience the desert.

Maruska was a great help when I was struggling to organise the trip on my own.

I will certainly use Expert Africa again

Suggestions for improvement:

I was very impressed with the guidebiook which became our bible. The only shortcoming was the comment on Swartfontein in the guidebook. The italians left four years ago and the new owners, although perfectly nice, are very much concentrating on hunting and those of a mild disposition may find it uncomfortable if there are hunters amongs their fellow guests.

Thanks Maruska for your care and attention."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2008
"Efficient collection and delivery service to and from the airport. The barman at the poolside bar was good enough to give us a well needed drink after he had closed and this was a good example of the service the staff gave us.

Some bedroom furniture was wonky and my son was (I am sure unknowingly) overcharged for a meal. This mars my generally favourable opinion of the hotel."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Image alt

Bush Pillow Guesthouse

"Economical place to stay in Otjiwarorongo"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2008
"The family suite was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast a little less generous than many. A good cheap and convenient place to stay not too far north of Windhoek for an easy drive."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2008
"Supremely comfortable and stylish tents. The view of the waterhole from the spacious bed is outstanding, especially when the zebra visited and grazed a few metres from our doorway. Outdoor shower is a charming touch.

Service and food were excellent and the whole experience was a benchmark against which the rest of trip would be measured. The iced tea and cooling towels on arrival were a nice touch."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2008
"The first night was spent in Sekelbos - a VIP bungalow at Halali. Very comfortable and well-kitted out. Ask for Sekelbos, it's special.

We spent the remaining two days in what was allegedly standard accommodation. It was excellent. Air conditioned, fresh and clean.

The visitors are generally well behaved, especially at night at the waterhole where one sees plenty of elephants and the odd rhino and leopard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"Etosha Safari Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2008
"The tent was well located on a hillside to catch the breeze and the view. The former was needed as there is no cooling fan in the tent and it must get insufferably hot in there in high summer.

The meals were good as was the service from the friendly local staff.

The lodge is used by safari coach parties.

The swimming pool was cool and most welcome"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Vingerklip Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2008
"Wow! We loved Vingerklip. The views from the bungalows are outstanding. Even though there are coach parties, these are apparently being phased out and the lodge is thriving. One can easily escape the caoch parties as more hardy visitors can climb the staircase to the clifftop for the sunset and the barbecue supper.

A new bungalow has just been opened up at the top of the mountain for those who really want to get away from it all.

The short walk to the Vingerklip is a great introduction to walking in the bush."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2008
"Excellent value for money. You feel really close to nature here. Sometimes a little too close, as the local elephants are prone to dig up the water pipes to the campsite as an easy way to get a drink.

The resident springbok and mongooses (and the staff) provide entertainment. The game drives guarantee sightings of the desert elephants and are good value.

Walks to the White Lady are a must - but not at midday"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"Brigadoon review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2008
"Wonderful views from the spacious and comfortable flat overlooking the beach. A very good breakfast arrived on trays from the main house.

Margaret was an attentive hostess, finding us a table at the Lighthouse when we were unable to get a booking at the Tug.

Swakop is busy aand lots of people eat out so booking ahead is well advised."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Swartfontein Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Swartfontein Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2008
"An extraordinary experience of spending time on a game farm. Many stuffed heads line the walls and the emphasis here is on hunting.

Access is interesting as Spreetshoogte Pass is the most spectacular we encountered in Namibia and the 15km track from the road to the farm is littered with large speed humps. I feel that many vehicles with low ground clearance could be unable to get to the farm because of this.

The rooms are imnmaculate and guests are made very welcome. Drinks around the open fire or looking out onto the waterhole are very atmospheric. Meals with the family - all very memorable."
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Pension Moni

"review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2008
"Reasonably priced and well located pension. Within easy reach of the best spot in town for a drink - the terrace at the Heinitzburg Hotel.

The Pension is perfectly adequate and I would be happy to return there again."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team