This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Airport Grand

Reviews of The Airport Grand

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Airport Grand and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Ms A
Australia

"A convenient comfortable stay at Airport Gran"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"Hotel Grand is within a short free shuttle from O.R. Tambo Airport.. Reception was easy but a little slow but that is not unusual in S.A hotels.

The buffet Dinner was really good with a wide range of foods and efficient pleasant staff. Rooms were clean and all that we needed for an O /Night stopover.
IN.B. I f you check in earlier than about 1800 do be aware that planes fly in directly over this hotel but cease then." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Sydney

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"clean, comfortable, very good meal and transport to airport good. would stay again as a transit hotel." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mr D
California

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2010
"The Airport Grand was just fine for what we needed: a safe, affordable and comfortable place near the airport. Their free internet service allowed us to catch up on emails half-way through our entire trip, so I give them high marks for that.

We arranged a private guide/driver to take us from this hotel around Jozi for a half-day cultural tour though the hotel's concierge desk could have also arranged this for us.

Lovely people, bounteous breakfast included in the room rate." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VanZylrus
UK

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"Don't come here for the view!! Reasonably close to the airport (about 15mins away) located in a very industrial part of town, full of DIY, liquor shops and car showrooms.

Nothing wrong with the hotel as a place to sleep. The room was adequate warm and everything worked. Everyone was pleasant and event tried to arrange us a takeaway breakfast at 3am!!! They had organsied our cab to the airport, which was waiting in the foyer at 3 am. The buffet dinner was very good, with plenty of choice. Trying to find where the shuttle bus stopped and picked up people was difficult particularly if you're short of time. The instructions we were given were a bit vague. However, at the moment JNB airport is pulling out all the stops to impress travelers and there were very efficient uniformed- staff around should one need any help. In hindsight we would have just taken a cab." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Bristol

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2009
"This hotel is under the flight path!

The room was hot because we had to keep the window shut for the above reason.

The information about the evening food available was not clear and although we had a satisfactory buffet meal in the restaurant, we would have preferred to sit elsewhere and have the room service menu - which was possible." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Terrible
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
H family
Cheshire

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2009
"A good place to stay overnight in Johannesburg.

Difficult to find shuttle bus to get there.

Great food and facilities" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
riguss
Belgium

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2009
"Despite some relatively good points (breakfast, navette to the airport) the negative sides are numerous and unacceptable for a trip of this standard. The reception was reticent and did not deliver what was kindly asked them to do, the hotel is just under the descending path of the incoming flights of the airport, so forget about sleeping. Rooms very small and poorly decorated.

Our suggestion is: scrup the place from your list" See all these reviews: 8n in Mozambique; 5n in Zambia; 1n in Tanzania; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Terrible
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 20 May 2009
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr A & Dr A
Delamere

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2009
"Good location for an overnight stay and transfers were straight forward" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2008
"Efficient collection and delivery service to and from the airport. The barman at the poolside bar was good enough to give us a well needed drink after he had closed and this was a good example of the service the staff gave us.

Some bedroom furniture was wonky and my son was (I am sure unknowingly) overcharged for a meal. This mars my generally favourable opinion of the hotel." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 10
76%
10 reviews of The Airport Grand by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
2
6
0
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge JNB

About 300m from 'International Arrivals' at Johannesburg's O. R. Tambo International Airport, the City Lodge makes for a very convenient, well priced stopover.


83% (134 reviews)
InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (23 reviews)
The Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


77% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa