This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss M & Mr M from Ireland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

21

Excursions taken

0

Exceeded expectations as ever!!

Namibia and 2 other countries between 11 Sep 2013 and 26 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Africa - what a wonderful place. Expert Africa lived up to their reputation once again. We will definitely be back! Holiday of a lifetime!!!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
Although it may be difficult to advise journey times we do feel that this would be very useful in ensuring people can make the most out of their day. Fo example if there are any major roadworks happening this info would be invaluable. Also if info on times of activites could be given in advance this may prevent guests missing out. Eg we only just made it in time to Africat for first activity."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Nice stay in city"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2013
"Guesthouse was lovely. Great breakfast and helpful staff. Rooms were nice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Got upgraded to Bush Camp!!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"We were upgraded on arrival. Loved bush camp. Rooms were amazing and we had our own family of warthog!! Food was fantastic and all staff were very friendly and willing to help.

Bit dissapointed that we didnt get to 'adopt a spot' and felt surprised that staff werent more willing to assist with us donating to the Foundation."
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole here!"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"Busy but comfortable. Waterhole was amazing at night. Very practical place to stay to see best of Etosha."
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Great rooms"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"Very happy with room - plenty of space and very comfortable. Great game viewing here and waterhole was great!! Food not as good as first camp"
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Very close to etosha"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"Absolutey beautiful setting and lodge. great shower and food was fantastic. Free wifi and good gift shop here. Very close to park"
Excellent
Image alt

Kaisosi River Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Lovely location"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"Nice overlooking the river at angola. Staff were standoffish but ok when approached. Room was big and had balcony although soundproofing between rooms was poor. Breakfast not great but dinner was good."
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Loved it!"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"We were a bit worried on drive there but we neednt have been. what a beautiful place to stay.One of our favourites on this trip. Right beside river with plenty of hippo and crocs. the resident hippo was amazing and we got to see him twice.

Dogs at lodge were adorable and staff were amazing. Johan and Monica were lovely. Nice honesty bar and very relaxed atmosphere among guests and staff. Food was great.

Activities were reasonable and water cruise was great. Not so much to see in Game Reserve on our trip but saw loads of birds."
Excellent
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Staff could have been nicer."

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"One night may have been enough here. Activites were very expensive and dissapointing (we were unlucky with both the drive and cruise but others had better luck). White staff did not acknowledge guests at all. Sat at bar and even took up all seats around the campfire so guests couldnt use it.

A consultant arrived on our last day and greatly improved our experience. He was very friendly and helpful. Short staffed for dinner and resources were low ie no still water no bread etc for day 1. Food was lovely and our Tree House was beautiful. Too expensive expecially after our great experience in Ndhovu."
Excellent
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Lovely place"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"Very close to Chobe, lovely common areas. Dinner was ok but not as nice as most places we stayed. Staf were very nice and helpful. Especially Mosi and our guides. Many thanks to them. Room was small and air con too loud to have on although we would have needed it.

Water cruise was fabulous. SO much wildife to see. Game drive was great too. Very personal service."
Excellent
Image alt

Three Baobabs

"Lucky us!!"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"We were so lucky to get tp stay here due to a mix up with bookings. It is a wonderful place in what feels like the true african wilderness. Rooms are amazing. Phil and Gaby were lovely and so welcoming. Food was great. Had great bush walk but we were unlucky to miss the Suveiti trip which sounded unbelievable.

True relaxation and we would def be back if we could afford it. Would have loved to be there for two nights at least. Many thanks to everyone involved... A real gem!!!!"
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Luxurious"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"Very surprised at how beautiful the lodge was. Felt like a 5 star hotel. Dinner and breakfast were best yet. Expensive but thats Zimbabwe! Very close to Falls. easy walk.

Only one night here and to be honest we were happier to spend time in Botswana as once you have seen the falls and maybe managed to fit in an activity you feel like your time is better spent elsewhere esp if you are looking for wildlife experiences."
Excellent

Expert Africa trip to Namibia/Mozambique

Namibia and 1 other country between 5 May 2009 and 27 May 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and all of the help and assistance that the team provided - especially Gywneth was more than appreciated!!!

Gwyneth was so helpful before and during our trip!!!! Thank you!! We found all of the information/maps/notes etc provided by the team to be invaluable for our trip and Chris's book was brilliant!!

The highlighted map was a must and we would have been lost (quite literally) without it!!!! We will definitely be recommending expert africa to our friends and family!!!!"

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2009
"This was a lovely guesthouse - the decor was fantastic and the attention to detail made it more special. It was a lovely relaxing place to spend a night in Windhoek!

We were not staying very long in the city so we didnt have the opportunity to see if there were many activities to do in Windhoek."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2009
"This was our favourite place in Namibia!!!! We were sad to leave and would have loved to be staying another night.

Our Guide Herman was brilliant - such a gentleman and his love and enthusiasm for the place was contagious!! The food was first class and all of the staff were more than helpful!!

The view from our room was gorgeous and the tented accommodation was very comfortable!! We would go back here in a heartbeat!!!

The 20 km drive to the main camp is quite overwhelming for new arrivals to namibia and although we had discovered this in Chris's book it may be useful to inform travellers of this in the literature provided."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2009
"There was a slight mix up on arrival as our voucher stated that we were staying in the desert lodge however it transpired that we were actually booked into the wilderness camp - thankfully were were able to stay in the desert camp as we would not have appreciated having to drive another 44km after a very long day of driving!!!

The camp was fine - no problems with staff - we found the food to be ok but not up to the standard we had got used to in Wolwedans! The lodge were exceptionally helpful with our car trouble and were more than willing to help with our flat tire with minimum fuss!

We also felt a bit less relaxed here as it was expected for all guests to take part in all activites with litttle flexibility re: times/type of activites. We left from this lodge to fly in a hot air balloon with Namibia balloon safaris and this was an amazing activity!!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2009
"We found this guest house to be 'different'.

We had a perfectly comfortable stay and it was a good base to discover this region. Sam was very hospitable but the same couldnt be said for the female member of staff behind the counter.

Im sure the food was lovely but as we didnt feel like a 5 course meal every night we were forced to go into swap to eat in local restaraunts."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Activities
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2009
"This is a lovely and very unusual lodge - the setting is stunning and very unexpected!

The staff were more than helpful and there was a lot of flexibility in the type and time of activities. The food was nice and we particularly enjoyed 3pm tea and cake!!

The singing and dancing by the staff was wonderful and gave a very authentic african feel to our stay!

The stars here were amazing and the fact that someone is on hand to help with stargazing was great!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2009
"We loved Etosha and our waterhole chalet was more than comfortable.

The number of people is a surprise after the tranquility of the previous lodges and the quality and choice of food obviously suffers because of the crowds that are being catered for!

The flood lit waterhole was fantastic and is a must for evening viewing!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2009
"The chalet we stayed in was very spacious and it was great to have a seperate kitchen/living area.

The flood lit water hole was great and the camp was more peaceful and less crowded that Okaukuejo!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2009
"we were sad we only had one night here as it is in a stunning setting!

the food was lovely and the service excellent!! you really are in the wilderness here and sleep was a bit hard to achieve with the baboons and other animals running about!

having a mini bar was an excellent change from doro nawas and kulala!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

"The Airport Grand review"

1 night Arrived 20 May 2009
"we had a comfortable stay here."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Marlin Lodge, Mozambique (this camp has since closed)

"Marlin Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 21 May 2009
"What can we say about this beautiful place?? We had such a lovely stay - from the minute we arrived at the airport and were taken to the Marlin Lounge we knew we were in for a treat!!

The island is beautiful and the lodge is fantastic - all of the staff were more than helpful and couldnt have been more attentive!!

the activities here are brilliant and the choice we were offered was great!! the food was 5* and the kitchen staff were so flexible!! We couldnt fault this lodge and we had a perfect 5 nights - the only problem was that we had to leave!!!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team