This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

60 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dune Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dune Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

100% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Giraffe

14% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 60
Duration
Arrival date
Dr. L & wife
Denmark

"Location more than excellent"

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2022
"We are staying in Wolwedans Dune Camp four nights. As stated in the Wolwedans Dune Camp's description on their homepage: ”Positioned on the edge of a 250-metre high dune, Dune Camp has the most extraordinary views across the Namibrand [Nature] reserve. The main areas are spread out across a series of interlocking decks ensuring that the lounge, dining area and tea room all enjoy views across the endless dune landscape to the mountains beyond."

Dune Camp is part of the exclusive Wolwerdans Collection of Camps. Or as they also write: "Wolwedans is more than a collection of camps. It is a collection of dreams. In this land of blue skies and endless plains you will find beauty to feed your soul, tranquility to clear the mind, and space for your imagination to fly. You may feel completely overwhelmed at first, but then quickly settle into a landscape and immersive experience which is ‘simply out of this world”.

There is some truth in that statement; the location on top of the red dunes with a view of the plain and mountains in the distance is absolutely enchanting. In all directions we see spectacular scenery!

However, it comes at a price (8200 NAD per person per day). E.g. some of the guests choose to arrive by private plane at the local airstrip. Others opt for butler and own staff.

We stay in the "tented room". The generous tented room is built on wooden platforms raised off the ground. It´s comfortable and spacious, with a kingsize bed as well as full indoor and outdoor bathrooms. There is no coffee station, but a thermos is provided every night.

Outside, we have a generous deck which allows for plenty of lounging around, but unfortunately, there is not a lot of privacy. You can easily watch your neighbours - and the other way around (!) Not perfect design and perhaps the most important minus regarding this camp.

On the very positive side, you have a “Wolwedans Chiller”, which is a water-filled silo to cool off during hot summer months. We enjoyed this feature very much.

Also, you have full board and activities included in the rate, e.g.: Morning and evening scenic drives, Wolwedans desert sundowners, "Heart and Home village tour" (visit to the Wolwedans Village), full day scenic safari, bushman walk, and E-biking.

We opt for the visit to the Wolwedans Village, where the owner Stephan explained the whole philosophy behind Wolwedans. Very impressive work and recommended tour. We also did the desert sundowner and a very fast bushman walk. However, most of the time, we just enjoyed the most extraordinary views across the Namibrand Nature reserve, from the main buildings and from our own wooden platform surrounding the tent.

Every night, we had nice (but quality wise not very extraordinary) dinners on the wooden main decks overlooking the desert and starry sky! Also, a overlooking a nearby water whole. Before dinner, always sunset + G&T around the fire together with other guests.

On the full day excursion, we went to the North-eastern corner of the nature reserve with our pleasant and knowledgably guide Jacks. We had a scenic drive over the vast plains to a quiver tree forest at the foot of Mt Nubib Berge, actually this uiver tree forest was much more impressive than the famous one near Keetmanshoop which we visited several years earlier (in 2009).

We had lunch at the most spectacular viewpoint “Vultures View” on a small stony mountain peak. What a perfect full day activity.

The last full day at Wolwedans, I decided to climb Mt. Losberg – but that is another interesting story...

In conclusion, Wolwedans was a pleasant acquaintance, and we would like to come back once more. However, given the high-end price tag, Wolwedans staff need to pay more attention to details; not the number of gadgets or fancy facilities, but e.g., make sure; tents/rooms are in perfect shape every day with clean towels (change dirty on the floor), full refrigerator, and hot warm water every morning (e.g., outside the tent) rather than the lukewarm water from the night before. It is also a annoyance that you are not properly shielded from other guests on the private terrace in front of your tent.

Also, the service was always friendly, but certainly not always of the same high quality (some inexperienced staff).

PRO's
- Fantastic and completely unique location in the desert
- Total relaxation and tranquility
- Focus on employee well-being and training in Wolwedans Village
- Focus on local raw materials and a sustainable strategy

CON's
- Tents not properly shielded from neighbours, who have free access to watch each other on the wooden sundeck
- A little too little attention to detail (read above) - given the high price tag
- Some variations in the quality of service provided by staff - given the high price tag
- But bottom-line, we would love to come back another time!" See all these reviews: 35n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
HM
New Hampshire

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2022
"I think it is impossible for a lodge to have a more spectacular setting. The tents were beyond luxurious, and the staff and guides were awesome. So many memories -- sunrises and sunsets; ebike rides and horseback riding." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms M
Switzerland

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Mar 2022
"a beautifully located, exclusive place, very special atmosphere.

Enjoyed the sense of sustainability. A very impressive farm at the main office.

Very good project." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2022
"Having been in Sossusvlei twice before, we were curious about the adjacent NamibRand Nature Reserve, and we were really taken in by the stunning vistas this area of the world provides.

It’s somehow similar and yet distinct from the Namib-Naukluft National Park. For one thing, there appears to be more wildlife: Besides oryx and springboks, we also saw giraffes, zebras and red hartebeest here. I would like to point out that it was here that we had the very best oryx sightings of the entire trip. And I would almost say that the landscape here is more varied than that of the neighboring National Park.

We would be very happy to return to this camp for another visit." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

9 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr M
coalpit heath,

"Wolwedans dune Camp."

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2019
"We both had a lovely stay at Wolwedans. The setting is gorgeous, food and service top rate. stayed 3 nights we would have happily stayed for longer.

This is not a wall to wall animal setting and we knew that. Go there for the landscape which never ceases to impress." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr K
Channel Islands

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"This is a real favourite and i was so proud to take my partner to such an amazing location.

The quality and service at the Dune Camp has if anything got better over the years. The wildlife opportunities have been reduced by the ravages of the drought but the micro fauna is still as stunning as ever and those landscapes still take your breath away. The staff were wonderful." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Dr N
Edinburgh

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2019
"We slightly preferred the Dunes Camp to the Dunes Lodge (they have a particularly good all woman team), but both are excellent.

The setting is amazing, and the food is excellent (including vegetarian)." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Wonderful Wolwedans Dune Camp"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"Wolwedans Dune Camp is one of the nicest camps we've stayed in Africa.

Great "bush camp" atmosphere, simple but beautiful with excellent views, friendly staff, lovely food and great activities.

Amazing views at sundowner spots." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"A lovely experience and a much needed 'time out' after all our travelling so far. The 'Angels' were wonderful.

Our guide was less so. He wasn't all that keen on the sundowner drive and told us there were no animals to see on the reserve, just scenery. As a guide, he maybe needs to look for another job!

After being on the Tok Tokkie walk, we didn't feel that there was much going re activities" See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"Superb Location - Wolwedans Dune Camp"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2018
"A stunning setting. The staff here were welcoming, friendly and although attentive, did so almost invisibly. There are lots of small lovely touches here. One change in the place seems to be that the dinner menu is now five courses so lots of washing up for the staff!

We enjoyed the shared dining experience.

This place is somewhere you could stay for an extra day (on top of 2) and just drink in the views in the hope that they will stay with you forever. The many many photos we took will just have to do." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 60
98%
60 reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
55
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (81 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (38 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (37 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


100% (3 reviews)
Wolwedans Plains Camp

Wolwedans Plains Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Plains Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa