This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

56 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dune Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dune Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

100% success

Oryx

83% success

Wildebeest

60% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 56
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M
coalpit heath,

"Wolwedans dune Camp."

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2019
"We both had a lovely stay at Wolwedans. The setting is gorgeous, food and service top rate. stayed 3 nights we would have happily stayed for longer.

This is not a wall to wall animal setting and we knew that. Go there for the landscape which never ceases to impress. " See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr K
Channel Islands

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"This is a real favourite and i was so proud to take my partner to such an amazing location.

The quality and service at the Dune Camp has if anything got better over the years. The wildlife opportunities have been reduced by the ravages of the drought but the micro fauna is still as stunning as ever and those landscapes still take your breath away. The staff were wonderful." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs N
Edinburgh

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2019
"We slightly preferred the Dunes Camp to the Dunes Lodge (they have a particularly good all woman team), but both are excellent.

The setting is amazing, and the food is excellent (including vegetarian)." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Wonderful Wolwedans Dune Camp"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"Wolwedans Dune Camp is one of the nicest camps we've stayed in Africa.

Great "bush camp" atmosphere, simple but beautiful with excellent views, friendly staff, lovely food and great activities.

Amazing views at sundowner spots." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"A lovely experience and a much needed 'time out' after all our travelling so far. The 'Angels' were wonderful.

Our guide was less so. He wasn't all that keen on the sundowner drive and told us there were no animals to see on the reserve, just scenery. As a guide, he maybe needs to look for another job!

After being on the Tok Tokkie walk, we didn't feel that there was much going re activities " See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"Superb Location - Wolwedans Dune Camp"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2018
"A stunning setting. The staff here were welcoming, friendly and although attentive, did so almost invisibly. There are lots of small lovely touches here. One change in the place seems to be that the dinner menu is now five courses so lots of washing up for the staff!

We enjoyed the shared dining experience.

This place is somewhere you could stay for an extra day (on top of 2) and just drink in the views in the hope that they will stay with you forever. The many many photos we took will just have to do. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr G
Alstonville

"Great scenic camp in the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2018
"Very scenic location in the dunes. Small lodge with great "tents" and service. Interesting guided excursions. Walk through sand from rooms to main area not so good, but you can live with it!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Linda & Paul
UK

"A very special place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2018
"Location of the Dune Camp, its accommodation and meals were truly memorable. An expensive place to stay for 3 nights but well worth it!

A special mention needs to be made of Ringo, a trainee, who took such good care of us during all of our meals here. His standard of service and personality added greatly to the enjoyment of our stay.

Additionally, we had a great guide, Jason, who could not do enough for us." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Taunton

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"Wolwedans was excellent, though we found that, as a party of four, we were always given a table inside looking out at the couples sitting on the verandah with the view.

Staff particularly nice." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr A
Glasgow

"wonderful wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"Great camp, fantastic scenery and game drives. Pity no aircon in the rooms and a board walk from the rooms to the main building would have been a big plus.

Otherwise an amazing place. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 56
98%
56 reviews of Wolwedans Dune Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa