This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Wolwedans Boulders Camp
Wolwedans Boulders Camp
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders Camp


25°19’48.9"S 15°58’35.7"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Boulders

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Boulders and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs K
London

"Remote luxury!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"Staying at Boulders feels like a visiting another world.

The location is the main attraction: a remote pile of boulders overlooking vast, desolate plains and crumbling old volcanoes and mountains, with Zebras, Ostriches and Oryx wandering by. The accommodation is luxury camping, the food very high quality and the service is warm and attentive. Plus the activities were excellent, especially the sunrise and sundown drives.

Only downside was the noise in the rooms on windy nights - it kept me up the first night, as in my sleepy imagination, it sounded like animals circling the tent!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Fabulous location and upmarket small camp"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"A fabulous location in the south of the Namib Rand reserve. There were only two couples there when we stayed. The quality of the tented accomodationw as very good and the food excellent.

The staff (particularly the 'manager') were not attentive and didn't seem keen to please or ensure a good experience. We were only there for one night before moving to the Dune Camp. No activities were offered the first evening and they were happy enough for us to go off on our own walk across the plain for sunset, otherwise they were just offering drinks at the back of the camp.

It took some persuasion to get them to agree to do a sunrise drive the following morning and they seemed keen to have us on our way early that morning.

They did arrange a sunrise drive where the scenery was fabulous in the morning light. The two guides who took us were friendly and keen to help though obviously rather junior and simply drove us a few kilometres to a great spot for sunrise and then back.

Overall, could have been a fabulous experience but was let down by the lackadaisical attitude of the guides/manager.

When transferring to the Wolwedeans Dune Camp with your own vehicle you need to drive out to the main road and around up to the main camp which is quite a long journey whilst their own vehicles travel up the valley between camps." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Barcelona

"Wolwedans Boulders Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2016
"An amazing experience. We were lucky to have the hotel practically to ourselves.

The other two guests were a charming couple and we enjoyed our time together." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Outstanding visit at Wolwedans Boulders Camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2015
"We visited when the weather had turned very cold and just before the camp closed for renovation. However you would not have thought so: the staff were exceptionally good in being welcoming, looking after us and making us comfortable. Their cheerful attitude and enthusiasm was very noticeable so well done to "KK", Abraham, Hendrik, Ollie and Franz and owners and management please take note.

The camp is set in simply stunning film set like landscape. The cooking and cuisine are the best we experienced in Namibia-very high quality indeed.

The game/nature drives in this area are a real pleasure in such photogenic surroundings with a different mix of wild life.

Undoubtedly our best experience in Namibia." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
SBD
UK

"Wolwedans Boulders Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2013
"Very good camp in a memorable location. The capm team very friendly and thoughtful.

Camp manager Abraham, our guide Ilias and his fellow guide Alfa are all very professional and great fun." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
AB
Essex

"Wolwedans Boulders Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"Uske was one of our top two guides - he was fabulous. The manager Chester runs a really tight ship and the standards are high. The rooms, bed linen, towels, bath stuff etc were top quality.

The only thing which we thought bizarre was the way Francois the chef was wheeled in to do the menu chat - Chester did it first and it was all straight forward - then Francois came in and did it all again in a very long winded and highly theatrical fashion. Tried too hard!

It was most unfortunate that they hadn't computed my allergies to spices - i couldn't eat the starter and had to wait while they sorted out and cooked me a main course without the seasoning." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Wolwedans Boulders Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2009
"We had the joy of being the only guests on the Camp and this was a fabulous end to our holiday.

Definitely appreciated best at the end of ones stay as a place to relax and enjoy the silence and the landscape.

Perfectly run Camp!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
97%
7 reviews of Wolwedans Boulders by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa