This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs K from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

2

Trip of a lifetime I'll never forget!

Namibia between 2 Sep 2017 and 16 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was the most exciting, inspiring, rewarding trip of my life. Namibia is vast and spectacular, desolate and beautiful - and the people are warm and friendly. I'd been dreaming of visiting the Namib desert for some years, and the experience was more stimulating than I imagined - it is a captivatingly beautiful, otherworldly place, and my mind keeps wandering back to those huge, fluid honey-coloured sand dunes... The driving was tough at times, but the thrill of adventure and discovery was worth it. Overall, we found the lodges and camps to be very well-organised, with good food and great service.

I'd go back in a heartbeat (as soon as the bank balance allows).

Expert Africa exceeded my expectations of a travel agent - Tracy and Elizabeth helped create a bespoke trip for us that met our wishlist and our budget. Prior to our departure, Josh happily gave time to us, talking through our self-drive route in detail and advising on how to manage the long drives to help us plan and to allay our nerves (we'd never done anything like this before!).

They also went above and beyond to help resolve a last-minute glitch with the car hire company, which truly saved our trip!

Thank you!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The only thing I can think of is clarity about the drivers of cost during the quotation process - I ended up going back and forth a bit early onto understand what was driving costs up - but overall, you guys were consistently professional, helpful and truly expert."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Comfortable guest house with great food "

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2017
"We only stayed one night in the Olive Grove, but it was a comfortable, calm stopover, with great food and warm service - would highly recommend!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders Camp

"Remote luxury!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"Staying at Boulders feels like a visiting another world.

The location is the main attraction: a remote pile of boulders overlooking vast, desolate plains and crumbling old volcanoes and mountains, with Zebras, Ostriches and Oryx wandering by. The accommodation is luxury camping, the food very high quality and the service is warm and attentive. Plus the activities were excellent, especially the sunrise and sundown drives.

Only downside was the noise in the rooms on windy nights - it kept me up the first night, as in my sleepy imagination, it sounded like animals circling the tent!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Brilliant location for Sossuvlei"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2017
"Eco-friendly lodge with nice views and well-located for access to Sossuvlei.

Our guide for the dunes trip was not as enthused as others we met on the trip, but the excursion itself into the dunes was really amazing - a dream come true.

Food was great and when we left one of the staff spotted some trouble with one of our tires, and arranged for us to see the on-site mechanic who diagnosed damage to the tire wall changed the tire for us, which was amazing - he probably saved us a burst tire on the road!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Spacious, good food and helpful service"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"Nice big rooms with en suite bathroom, a TV and a laundry service, which was very welcome after a week on the road. Excellent breakfast and really helpful staff, who kindly arranged breakfast packs on the day we had an early start.

Only suggestion for improvement would be extractor fans in the bathrooms, as we found the room ended up a bit steamy and damp after we used the shower.

Whilst here, these travellers took a Day trip to Sandwich Harbour. They commented:

Brilliant fun in the dunes!
We had so much fun on this trip - driving over the dunes was absolutely brilliant and we could have stayed there for hours!

It was a bucket-list thing for me to go to Sandwich Harbour, to see where the desert meets the sea - and I'll never forget the drive along that precariously narrow stretch of sand between the crashing waves and the huge dunes. My only suggestion for the future would be if they were to advise where you can see the classic viewpoint of the headland curving out into the sea in the distance, ringed by the dunes - possibly the best vantage point of this would be on top of one of the dunes, but we never quite saw it from that angle.

They also enjoyed a scenic flight over the coast, and said of that:

Mind-blowing, once-in-a-litetime trip!
This was far and away the most exhilarating, inspirational and beautiful excursion we've ever taken! It was a big expense, because we were the only two passengers, but it was entirely worth it.

The first leg of the flight, over the Namib desert sand sea, was phenomenally beautiful - I must have taken a thousand pictures! To see the huge, snaking apricot coloured dunes, Sossusvlei and the Tsauchab corridor from the air was mind-blowing - and something I'll treasure for ever. And after that, we still had Fish River Canyon, mountains and Sperrgebeit, the diamond coastand Sandwich Harbour to go! The tour of Kolmanskopp was great: another bucket-destination that we were pleased to experience but we felt we were hurried out of fascinating Kolmanskopp to get to lunch and the Luderitz tour, which was far less interesting to us.

Nevertheless, the day overall was outstanding - one we'll never forget!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Brilliant fun in the dunes!"

8 Sep 2017 • All-day excursion

We had so much fun on this trip - driving over the dunes was absolutely brilliant and we could have stayed there for hours!

It was a bucket-list thing for me to go to Sandwich Harbour, to see where the desert meets the sea - and I'll never forget the drive along that precariously narrow stretch of sand between the crashing waves and the huge dunes. My only suggestion for the future would be if they were to advise where you can see the classic viewpoint of the headland curving out into the sea in the distance, ringed by the dunes - possibly the best vantage point of this would be on top of one of the dunes, but we never quite saw it from that angle.
Excellent
Scenic flights in Namibia

Scenic flights in Namibia

"Mind-blowing, once-in-a-litetime trip!"

9 Sep 2017 • All-day excursion

This was far and away the most exhilarating, inspirational and beautiful excursion we've ever taken! It was a big expense, because we were the only two passengers, but it was entirely worth it.

The first leg of the flight, over the Namib desert sand sea, was phenomenally beautiful - I must have taken a thousand pictures! To see the huge, snaking apricot coloured dunes, Sossusvlei and the Tsauchab corridor from the air was mind-blowing - and something I'll treasure for ever. And after that, we still had Fish River Canyon, mountains and Sperrgebeit, the diamond coastand Sandwich Harbour to go! The tour of Kolmanskopp was great: another bucket-destination that we were pleased to experience but we felt we were hurried out of fascinating Kolmanskopp to get to lunch and the Luderitz tour, which was far less interesting to us.

Nevertheless, the day overall was outstanding - one we'll never forget!
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Amazing views and service"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We chose this lodge for the location and it didn't disappoint - the view over canyon really is special.

We didn't participate in many activities whilst here, because we felt like we needed a chill-out day, so we took advantage of the pool and spa facilities instead (be prepared for a very firm massage therapist).

The co-owned status of this lodge really showed itself with brilliant, warm service - and singing at dinner time to mark our anniversary, which was an overwhelming gesture.

I did have a small problem with the rooms though: because the cleanliness was a bit lacking and there were also really big spiders in the thatched roof, which came out at night!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Municipal camp with brilliant waterhole "

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"The location is amazing in that the waterhole is right next to the camp - every time we went there we saw many and varied animals including elephants, giraffes, zebras and rhinos. However, this is really the only draw for Okaukuejo. Its all a bit basic, with a bureaucratic, municipal atmosphere, where nothing is included and you have to book and/or pay for all 'extras'.

The check in and out process is tiresome - it took a long time, the service was lacking, and there as a problem with the inventory, meaning we had to go back to reception to resolve it.

Also, there was no diesel in the filling station whilst we were there, which was inconvenient."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Poor
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Luxury retreat - with Cheetahs!"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"This was a brilliant end to our trip, and a welcome bit of luxury after the hassle and bother of Okaukuejo.

The plains view room we had was brilliant - huge, luxurious with a great view of the plains and the wandering warthogs and springbok - and the food in the lodge was great quality.

But the draw here is the cats. We were really pleased to get a very up-close view of two cheetahs during our afternoon excursion.

My only regret is that we didn't stay for more nights and weren't able to go on the leopard-tracking drive. Next time!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team