This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

642 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 51 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

75% success

Leopard

5% success

Cheetah

15% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

96% success

Elephant

96% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

90% success

Black Rhino

89% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

39% success

White Rhino

24% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

16% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 642
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R.
paia

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2021
"Next time I will stay outside of the park . the couch was so stained , I didn't want to sit on it even fully clothed - the shower had mildew embedded in the concrete - the so called lodge was more like a hotel in Disney Land - Water hole was elbow to elbow during the day . Upside - I saw my first wild Rinos , at night - they were very active , splashing around - Three of them put their heads together for some time , and then they decided to walk into the light ,on the near side of the pond , one by one ,like models on a runway !!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Mrs A.
MA, USA

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2021
"Convenient lodge with a floodlit waterhole. The family chalet was big and clean.

Waterhole was a little slow when we stayed there, but few animals did stop by.

Enjoyed our night at the lodge!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

8 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Sable antelope

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms C
Montana

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2021
"We spent two nights at Okaukuejo Camp, and had a wonderful time driving through Etosha and seeing incredible wildlife and birds. Highlights included a mother rhinoceros and a baby at a water hole in the daytime, amazing numbers of many antelope species, elephants, giraffes. I would have liked at least one more night here.

The waterhole at Oaukuejo was the best part of the camp. In the late afternoon, a long line of elephants would appear in the distance, our of the haze, and single file come to the waterhole. I loved watching them first drink, and then get in the water and play. Watching how giraffes drink was fun too.

The waterhole is illuminated, and the highlight of night observations were the rhinos. At one point there were 6 individuals there.

Birding at Etosha is fantastic. Secretary bird was a highlight.

The one downside was the food. There is only one dining room. I played safe with chicken both nights, and it was fine if not up to the standard of Waterberg or Onguma. But one of my companions had lamb, and it was actually very tough inedible mutton. She couldn't even cut it with her knife.

On the other hand, breakfast was quite good, and the meals were inexpensive." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

8 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2021
"The park has definitely been impacted by the pandemic of the past year and a half. Services were somewhat limited, particularly in the general store, shelves were almost bare and in the curio shop. This was not a problem for us but I wondered about those that were camping and might have needed supplies. Overall, the staff was very helpful, making a real effort to make visitors feel welcome.

Of course, the waterhole at the camp was a fabulous focal point. And wildlife viewing throughout the park was plentiful." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
RSA

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2021
"As this is the main camp it's quite spacious and attractively built, with the restaurant, pools and offices close by. The chalets are spacious and shabby, just as in Halali. We enjoyed the space and coffee making option. We also enjoyed the restaurant for coffee, meals while using wifi.

The water hole is right in the camp and very popular.

Meals were again average." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr A & Ms M
USA

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Nov 2020
"Premier waterhole chalet is totally worth the high price. We had low expectations given their reputation but were pleasantly surprised." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Incredible waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2020
"lodge itself would only get 2/5. The rooms were small, however we had a fridge and a kettle, which was handy, and the shower was excellent. However, the air-conditioning didn’t really work and the toilet didn’t flush properly, so we asked to be moved to another room after one night. The second room was better – the air-con worked and the toilet flushed, however in this one the shower flooded the flood whenever it was used.

Dinner on the first night was much better than I expected and the service was quick. However, on the second night it wasn’t as good and much slower. Breakfast was ok (your choice of cooked breakfast).

However, the main reason to come here is the waterhole, which is really pretty amazing, with a steady parade of wildlife. We drove ourselves around during the day. We did have some excellent sightings of lions, leopards, black rhino, spotted hyena and elephants while doing this (as well as a honey badger during the day which was pretty special) and a good variety of herbivores and birds, but we also had some long periods while doing this of seeing very little at all...a lot depends on your luck and your spotting skills.

However, if you aren't confident in your spotting skills you can just stay and watch the wildlife at the waterhole. There are also ground squirrels and banded mongoose in the grounds of the lodge." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

safari lovers
UK

"Return visit after 34 years."

2 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2020
"We booked a premium waterhole chalet for its location - being able to watch the floodlit waterhole during the night from our balcony/bed. It is ideal for this, although in fact it was very quiet both nights. The chalet is a large two story building with one bedroom upstairs looking onto balcony and waterhole. Big ensuite shower and loo. Downstairs is second bedroom with ensuite shower. Staircase is totally open and doesn't have a bannister for the first few steps so is not suitable for young children.

It is worth noting that these chalets are not self catering in anyway . They have a fridge, kettle, couple of wine glasses and coffee cups. No utensils. We had mistakingly thought they were so had brought some provisions. The camp shop was very poorly stocked but this may have been more to do with the effects of the impending Covid restrictions.

You can self cater/ braai at the other accommodation types away from the waterhole.

Camp has three nice pools and large restaurant set around it. Meals are all buffet style with good choice and quality. Our chalet booking included breakfast. Staff on the whole were pleasant and helpful. Although they sell WIFI vouchers it rarely worked." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Dec 2019
"Good location. Good waterhole viewing. Go out at night. Good wildlife nearby with lots or waterholes to visit, animals, birds.

The camp itself is adequate and the rooms conform table." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Okaukuejo Review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2019
"Given the information we had read we found that the room was better than expected. The bush chalet was clean and comfortable with a reasonable sized bedroom. The lounge area was small, but given the fact that you have the waterhole to sit by, then who needs to sit in a lounge!

Check in and out was quick and easy and staff friendly and helpful. We arrived when the power was down, and rather than keep us waiting to pay our park entry fees, they were quick to tell us to continue to our accommodation in Halali and pay our park entry 4 days later when we returned to Okaukuejo.

The restaurant food was better than expected with nice fresh grilled game steaks to order. Little choice of food in the shop, so unless you bring your own food and equipment a braai is not possible even though the room had a braai and good sized picnic table outside. Buffet style was good, as service was a little slow. In respect of this, we did not try paying by card in the restaurant or shop. Majority of staff were helpful and friendly, and those that weren't soon responded if you were friendly towards them!

At the time the wildlife was abundant in this region and also at the waterhole. For example, one night we saw 9 black rhino simultaneously at the Okaukuejo waterhole (logged as one sighting), and at another waterhole close by, 50 ostrich amongst a variety of other wildlife.

We did self-drive, and therefore, did not make use of the activities on offer." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

8 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 642
83%
642 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
238
284
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (321 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (241 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (146 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (81 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (79 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


96% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa