This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

661 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 69 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

73% success

Leopard

4% success

Cheetah

13% success

Giraffe

99% success

Oryx

97% success

Zebra

96% success

Elephant

95% success

Wildebeest

93% success

Black Rhino

89% success

Spotted Hyena

55% success

Eland

39% success

White Rhino

30% success

Brown Hyena

22% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Sable antelope

18% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 661
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs N.
Rickmansworth

"Okaukuejo Camp Post Covid Sept 2022"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2022
"Our expectations of Okaukuejo weren't high, knowing that it was a government owned rest camp. However, the rooms were adequate (if a little noisy), the food was better than expected and the night drive was enjoyable - the highlight being the lions at a watering hole.
The highlights of this stop for us were driving through the park in our own vehicle (we saw lots of wildlife) and the water hole at the camp itself where we were fortunate to see a herd of elephants and later black rhino and giraffe." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

9 sightings

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr G.
Wantage

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2022
"The accommodation was maybe slightly more basic than some of the other places we stayed at, but more akin to what we are used to, so it was fine! The food at the restaurant was rather good. I have scored activities as 'excellent' but these were all self-drive experiences in the national park or watching the waterhole by the camp.

The waterhole by the camp is what makes this place so special, and we had to pull ourselves away from it. Thankfully most of the observers from the camp viewing area were quiet, especially at night, as I had read they could be a bit noisy and detract from the experience, but apart from the odd person who seemed incapable of whispering most people were respectful of the big beasts on the other side of the wall.

One of the black rhino sightings listed below was of no less than 12 animals at the Okaukuejo camp waterhole, starting with six at 8.00pm and then more appearing from the dark - there was much gentle interaction and a little bit of pushing, and several led down for a sleep for 20 minutes.

A herd of 28 elephant visited this waterhole at midday one day, with many young ones amongst them, rolling in the water and generally having a good time, and they were frequent visitors in smaller numbers at other times. We saw four lionesses one night at the Okaukuejo waterhole, one of which chased off a spotted hyena." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Richard & Caroline
GB

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2022
"The camps location and access to the park and ability to sit by a waterhole 24/7 (if you wanted to) is unsurpassed, however as a functional lodge it doesn't match the prime location.

Rooms are good but tired. We had a waterhole side bungalow, spread over 2 stories with a good partial view of the waterhole from the first floor balcony. However, water supply to the first floor shower was none existent, meaning the shower unit was unusable and required use of the downstairs bedroom shower (which if any party apart from a family group was staying there could present difficulties). Numerous lights were also out. Minor points possibly but if the stay was for more than a night could prove irritating.

Other camp facilities were average and check-in laborious and long if there happens to be a queue.

.....but location and wildlife viewing trumps all this and a few inconveniences are, from our perspective, more than offset by watching 4 Black Rhino at the waterhole for a few hours in the middle of the night" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs A.
Newcastle

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2022
"It’s all about the waterhole at this venue and so no matter how you view the service or even the accommodation, the constant flow of animals just in front of you, makes the place magical and a must visit.

We had a waterhole premium lodge (W32) which was actually really nice though with trees directly in front of our balcony we could only see a small part of the waterhole so preferred to take a bench seat.

Service in restaurant is pretty shocking at times and staff quite blunt. Prices are very high for Namibian standards, choices limited (often just 2 and I would hate to be a veggie). Food tasty though when it finally arrives." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Herne Bay

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2022
"Okaukuejo Camp was busy but we chose this camp for the floodlit waterhole and we were not disappointed.

The rooms were very spacious and very clean and the meals we had at the restaurant were excellent.

We went on a night drive which was great seeing black rhino, white rhino, hyenas and lions as well as a variety of other animals and at the camp there were always animals visiting the waterhole including large herds of elephant, zebras and antelope as well as large groups of giraffes, black rhino and jackals." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs K
Southamptn

"Comfortable accommodation, great waterhole."

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2022
"The chalet was very clean but a little outdated. We had issues with lights and bathroom, which were dealt with swiftly.

The waterhole was a short walk away and we were overwhelmed with the gathering of a large herd of 31 elephants silhouetted against the sunset, never to be forgotten.

The restaurant was chaotic having diners all turning up at once, unaware that they should have booked a table for a time slot, which was not explained at check in or in any literature. Service very slow and food cold. There seemed to be no organisation/ person in charge!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs D.
Cheshire

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2022
"Okaukuejo camp is unique in that it is inside the park, so you can do guided night drives from here (which you can't from the private camps outside Etosha).

The waterhole is also a massive plus point - 25 elephants at one time! However, the accommodation and food available are a disappointment - we were aware that that was likely. Namibian Wildlife Resorts could really improve this, which would improve the overall experience, but has a monopoly, I suppose there is no incentive for them to do so.

We stayed 2 nights here which was enough and also stayed outside the park for a few nights which was excellent. Overall, the waterhole and night drive compensated for the less good facilities in this location." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs J.
Newton Abbot

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2022
"Friendly staff. Busy at check in.

Waterhole great for viewing animals including elephant, rhino and giraffe" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Colorado

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2022
"Okaukuejo is a necessary stopping point simply because the waterhole at camp is fantastic. The waterhole was generally very busy with antelope species, giraffe and elephant, and a standout moment when six black rhino visited at night. The outdoor area around the waterhole is a beautiful place to spend time and have a break from all the driving around the park to just appreciate the animals up close.

The lodge itself is something that has to simply be tolerated in order to spend time at their waterhole. The dinner served is barely edible and the dining area very depressing–fluorescent lighting in a dark and dingy dining hall. The rooms are very small to the point of being uncomfortable (our son injured himself on the end table while we stayed there) and the amenities are minimal.

Beware of relying on the gas station at camp for fuel -- they were out of diesel during our stay and we had a bit of a scare that we wouldn't make it." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Terrible
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Family P
Spain

"Okaukuejo Premium Waterside Chalet"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2022
"We arrived at Okaukuejo with low expectations and have to say we were so blown away by just how incredible the location of our chalet was that nothing else mattered very much! We were lucky enough to have had Sabina's help with reserving a premium waterside chalet and to our delight Chalet 34 gave us a perfect view over the waterhole.

We had spent the previous 3 days experiencing Etosha from the car with our kids, and us adults had had to sacrifice our own enjoyment on more than a few occasions when the kids had seen more than enough of a particular waterhole. Okaukuejo gave us the chance to gaze to our heart's content while the kids played, and the first floor balcony felt like the royal box at the theatre, with a seemingly nonstop stellar cast below us. We spent a blissful afternoon with between 50 and 60 elephants bathing and causing a fabulously dusty noisy ruckus, and an evening with so many rhino, elephants and giraffe sharing the stage that even the kids were left speechless.

The camp itself was crowded and in need of repair, with numerous small defects in the chalet which ought to have mattered considering the price we were paying. Food in the strip-lit noisy restaurant was better than we expected, although we were glad to only be there for 2 evening meals, and we were also pleasantly surprised by a couple of lovely staff members we met in the restaurant (especially Ruth...what a star!).

I can well imagine all the reasons people might choose not to stay at Okaukwejo, and from time to time the noise and behaviour of some other guests around the waterhole was difficult to ignore. However for our family at least, the camp gave us a different way to access the joy that is Etosha and we'd go back in a heartbeat." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 661
83%
661 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
243
294
102
20
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (322 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (249 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (148 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (148 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (90 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (89 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (83 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (78 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (56 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (38 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


90% (33 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (33 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (8 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (7 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a convenient and very comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (1 review)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa