This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp

Reviews of Onguma Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

84 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Bush Camp.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

12% success

Cheetah

19% success

Oryx

79% success

Giraffe

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Elephant

50% success

Eland

44% success

Spotted Hyena

35% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Black Rhino

20% success

Roan antelope

19% success

White Rhino

19% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 84
Duration
Arrival date
John
Western Canada

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2023
"Super camp!

Much more luxurious feeling here with the accommodation, facilities and food, all of which were of the highest standard." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mrs A
London

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2023
"We had a wonderfully relaxing couple of days at Onguma.

We did not partake in any game drives as we wanted a bit of relaxation after a busy few days in Etosha.

The food and service were excellent and the swimming pool was a lovely place to camp out with a book.
The restaurant overlooks a watering hole which made for a lovely dining experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Cambridge

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2023
"We had spent the whole day in Etosha National Park gazing at all the incredible wildlife before we reached Onguma for our two night stay. The location of Onguma is exceptional if you are planning many visits to the Etosha park as it is 2 minutes drive to the entrance gate.

Our cabin was just inside their private reserve behind a slightly foreboding steel gate, the room was spacious and clean and the facilities at Onguma are really well presented with a large watering hole overlooked by seating areas and the restaurant. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, food was really good and even though we ate in the evening with woollen hats and thick blankets on (we were staying during winter) it only added to our sense of being in the wild.

Perhaps the highlight of our stay (aside from the incredible experiences in Etosha where we saw two male Lions by the side of the park road) was the mature Elephant who wandered past us as we were having an evening glass of wine at our table, there was nothing separating her from us. We both got the fear, especially as she flashed her ears and faced us on her return from the resort's watering hole, we were no more than 10 metres away. Its impossible to forget that moment." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Shannon
Northants

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2023
"Our favourite! Instantly felt so comfortable and welcome here.

Fabulous staff, great activities, delicious food, and the most beautiful site.

Elephants coming to the watering hole as we lay by the pool was a highlight" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr A
Mallorca

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2022
"Onguma is a great family lodge and a fantastic base for Etosha park itself.

We visited in rainy season, so were concerned that we would not see much game. We need not have worried, we saw lots of elephants, rhino and lion and were lucky enough to witness a successful cheetah hunt with her cubs.

We also arranged a special bush dinner at onguma, which was a great experience. A private bbq feast dinner set up in the middle of the bush just for us." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Rob and Gin
Australia

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Nov 2022
"Very nice lodge and surrounds." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Colorado

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2022
"This was a return visit to Onguma for us and we have a very pleasant stay. The property is absolutely beautiful, and the rooms and property very clean. My one complaint about the rooms is that the beds are quite hard and uncomfortable. The staff was very kind and it was a nice, easy stay for us with our almost-three-year old.

The food was a bit all over the place–breakfasts were excellent, lunch offerings poor, dinner ranged from a very good night to some adequate meals. They do, however, offer a very pleasant multi-course dinner in the evening overlooking the waterhole, so even though the food was not always the best, the experience is always very pleasant.

The waterhole by the lodge is very nice and we had quite a lot of visitors this time, including elephant, kudu, springbok, impala, jackal, and a nightly eagle owl.

Onguma's photography hide is the absolute star here–we had several nice sessions watching the animals visit from that great, eye-level vantage point. I did learn that they had stopped doing true game drives in the Onguma reserve, and only do quick sun-downer drives, despite having a large reserve with a lot of wildlife. That being said, the great thing about Onguma is the location right next to the Etosha entry gate and all that the park offers. We spent most of our time self-driving from Onguma into the park." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

safari lovers
UK

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2022
"We enjoyed being based at Onguma, just outside Etosha NP. Our rondavel was very comfortable and well equipped.

Minor issue with hot water for the shower which they did try and fix but it remained very sporadic.

Spacious camp with nice variety of seating areas. Pool lovely .

Tasty food. Lovely friendly staff.

We did the evening drive in the reserve which was ok but really not a lot to see." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Montana

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2021
"This was a great lodge to stay in the eastern part of Etosha. And the birding was a wonderful beginning to adding to a lifelist of birds. The night drive was fun although we didn't see a lot of wildlife." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Ms C
Montana

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2021
"Again, we only stayed one night at Onguma, but I'd love to go back there for a longer stay. My room was lovely, the food was delicious, and the setting with a water hole by the dining area was wonderful.

With more time there, I'd have enjoyed the swimming pool.

I'm a birder, delighted that Onguma was a very birdy place. Also enjoyed the evening safari ride." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 84
94%
84 reviews of Onguma Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
18
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (701 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (330 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (261 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (158 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (153 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (96 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (18 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa