This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava

Reviews of Little Ongava

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Ongava and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Ongava.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mr N.
London

"Little Ongava"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2019
"Luxury lodging - villa was great - needed a good spring clean though

Etosha involves a lot of uncomfortable driving with not much to see away for the water holes.

The drought has really affected this area - very sad" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

5 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Samantha
London

"Very luxurious and lovely reserve"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2018
"Rooms = WOW! Food also very good and never ending.

Staff absolutely lovely. Having spent a couple of days driving in Etosha already we just stuck to the Ongava reserve for trips out with our guide, which was a great decision.

Plenty to see and some really pretty areas, eg the western grasslands." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Drs F & S
Oregon

"Heaven"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"We were upgraded to this room after the loss of our reservation incident." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Ottawa

"Little Ongava review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"Great location to view wildlife. The fact that we were on a private concession allowed to see the animals without any other vehicle with us. When we went to busy Etosha, our guide was very good at anticipating when the animals would go and move our vehicle for the best viewing.

Sitting on our private deck at night, sipping port and listening to the lions roaring in the valley was the perfect mix of luxury and remoteness." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H
Leyburn

"Little Ongava review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2017
"Fabulous room. Wild life on the reserve is superb and we got up close and personal with white rhinos, but the game viewing can be spoilt by the number of other safari trucks." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms S
BL

"Wonderful stay at Litlle Ongava!"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2017
"Simply unforgettable!

Everything was outstanding - including the rhino tracking experience!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mss
Brussels

"Little Ongava review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2016
"Exclusive 3 villa lodge where we stayed in the second one. We were picked up at the airstrip only 10 minutes away from the lodge. Welcomed by Marco and Tobias, the manager & food and beverage manager. After a welcome drink, Marco presented us the villa. So far so good. I

n the late afternoon, we made a trip through Ongava NP were we saw quiet some animals such as lions, elephants, rhino's and many birds. Next day, a morning safari through Etosha and back for lunch time at 13h.

Foodquality: limited choice and really nothing special. Very basic dishes as also the service from the waitress Grace....she needs to go and follow some course in hospitality (service level in Sossusvlei desert lodge is fron another level). For the price you pay, the service level is just not sufficient for this kind of lodge.
Cleaning: although many visits of housekeeping during daytime to the room: empty glasses aren't removed, garbage bins aren't emptied, even empty toilet rolls were still on bathroom floor upon arrival...again for this price, you would expect another service level.

With only little effort and change, this could become a top experience which wasn' t unfortunately matching totally to our expectations. We experienced the service level of the Sossu Desert Lodge and the Serra Cafema lodge which was a higher level." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mark & Kat
UK

"Little Ongava review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2016
"What a fantastic lodge. The setting, layout, rooms and food at this one were spectacular. And they really went the extra mile for us - private dinner on our terrace being one example. The opportunity to trek rhino on foot was also superb, and we have some amazing experiences out in the bush there.

I have two specific comments on the lodge though: the guides were notably less good than any of the other places we went (including not giving any briefing before we set out on foot into the bush); and whilst the reserve is good for rhino there is much less wildlife there more generally than in the park, so if you don't leave the reserve you are really missing out (and the lodge seems to think you don't need to leave the reserve to see everything, but I think they are wrong on that count)." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R
Rotherhithe

"Outstanding in every respect!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"Two nights here - nowhere near enough. This was the outstanding place that we stayed in Namibia, and with just three (massive) chalets its personal service to the extreme in luxurious surroundings.

Blommie and Tobias made sure we were totally pampered throughout, with lovely lunches and evening meals to the backdrop of a waterhole where we saw Black Rhinos, Lions, Eland, Kudu, Oryx and Black-faced Impalas. Incredible stuff! Plus the evening visits from Porcupines uniquely combine 5* luxury with nature. An outrageously beautiful place.

Our rooms, well, were absolutely outstanding. Superbly finished with an outside small pool and a couple of decks for sun loungers. Immaculate and massive too - plus with plenty of reading material too. Yes of course we visited the surrounding Ongava Game Reserve where we had three separate sightings of Lions, both Black and White Rhinos too along with a whole host of other game and birdlife." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Wish we'd stayed longer!"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2016
"We spent only two nights here, having thought that Etosha would be very busy (which we try to avoid). In fact we wished we had spent another night as Little Ongava was the best accommodation of the trip ... and the best vegetarian food! The chalets are huge and immaculate, also very, very private. Because there are only three chalets, the communal area is quiet with an intimate atmosphere. Louis the manager gets a special mention. The regular guide was on sick leave but Michael was a very good replacement. In the event, we had a half day in Etosha with him (no other guests) and were pleasantly surprised: with the exception of the watering holes it was easy to get away from other vehicles. During two evening drives we walked with white rhino in Ongava's reserve. The chef showed imagination with his veggie options and we had a magnificent packed lunch on the day we departed. The Ongava camps are no longer part of Wilderness Safaris." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 23
97%
23 reviews of Little Ongava by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa