This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava
Little Ongava

Reviews of Little Ongava

Wildlife sightings and reviews

25 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Ongava and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Ongava.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

50% success

Eland

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 25
Duration
Arrival date
Ms R
Rotherhithe

"Outstanding in every respect!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"Two nights here - nowhere near enough. This was the outstanding place that we stayed in Namibia, and with just three (massive) chalets its personal service to the extreme in luxurious surroundings.

Blommie and Tobias made sure we were totally pampered throughout, with lovely lunches and evening meals to the backdrop of a waterhole where we saw Black Rhinos, Lions, Eland, Kudu, Oryx and Black-faced Impalas. Incredible stuff! Plus the evening visits from Porcupines uniquely combine 5* luxury with nature. An outrageously beautiful place.

Our rooms, well, were absolutely outstanding. Superbly finished with an outside small pool and a couple of decks for sun loungers. Immaculate and massive too - plus with plenty of reading material too. Yes of course we visited the surrounding Ongava Game Reserve where we had three separate sightings of Lions, both Black and White Rhinos too along with a whole host of other game and birdlife." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Wish we'd stayed longer!"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2016
"We spent only two nights here, having thought that Etosha would be very busy (which we try to avoid). In fact we wished we had spent another night as Little Ongava was the best accommodation of the trip ... and the best vegetarian food! The chalets are huge and immaculate, also very, very private. Because there are only three chalets, the communal area is quiet with an intimate atmosphere. Louis the manager gets a special mention. The regular guide was on sick leave but Michael was a very good replacement. In the event, we had a half day in Etosha with him (no other guests) and were pleasantly surprised: with the exception of the watering holes it was easy to get away from other vehicles. During two evening drives we walked with white rhino in Ongava's reserve. The chef showed imagination with his veggie options and we had a magnificent packed lunch on the day we departed. The Ongava camps are no longer part of Wilderness Safaris." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
PV
Ireland

"Exquisite"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2015
"A heartstopping location over a well visited waterhole" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bath

"Little Ongava review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2014
"Little Ongava is a bit of an enigma. It is promoted as being exclusive and intimate with only three rooms situated at the top of a rocky outcrop. The camp is small, very well appointed and the rooms are best described as suites with a separate lounge, bedroom and bathroom as well as a deck and other viewing areas. Attention to detail is strong, especially the use of high quality, sustainable materials.

So, in isolation, an exceptional camp. But this is the problem, it is not in isolation. The foot of the same rocky outcrop contains a second camp called Ongava Lodge comprising 15 rooms, 30 guests, six vehicles. You can hear and see the this camp particularly at night. It is not overly intrusive but you are very aware of their presence and it cuts across the exclusive nature of Little Ongava.

The territory comprises thick bush so game viewings are not great. Worse the tracks are very dusty and with so many vehicles, at times it was like driving through fog. As well as general game there are predators, elephants and rhino but the density of the bush makes them hard to find and view. Also, the vehicles constantly communicate by radio so anything worth seeing attracts a lot of vehicles at the same sight. This can get out of hand. There is a generally observed protocol on safaris of restricting the number of vehicles to three at any one time to stop the animals becoming stressed. This was not observed and a very rare sighting of a cheetah and three cubs with a kill attracted 8 vehicles. The cats were clearly distressed. We insisted on leaving and as we did, more vehicles were driving to the location. Very bad!

Talking of vehicles, if Little Ongava is fully occupied it means six guests sharing one vehicle. Fine if you get on with your fellow travellers. We ended up hiring a private vehicle.
Etosha National Park is close by. It is too sanitised and commercial for our liking but you will see general game and elephants.

The highlight of the camp for us was its water hole which attracted animals day and night. The camp has a hide close to the hole and we got very close to white and black rhino and it is the first time we had ever seen interaction between the two.

So, a mixed experience. Worth it for the rhino but otherwise does not live up to its proposition." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Ms M
MD

"Little Ongava review"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2014
"High point of the trip. Room are over-the-top fabulous. Animal viewing in Etosha was terrific. Our guide was marvelous." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Perth

"Stunning accommodation"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2014
"The accommodation is superb and it would be a pity not to use and enjoy it. Don't spend all day on a game drive - just spend time relaxing in the privacy and quietness of the lodge (each lodge is about 120m apart).

The rooms are stunning in every respect and it was very nice to have a touch of such luxury during our trip. Now morning we were woken up (in a very pleasant way) by a red billed hornbill bird knocking on the bathroom window! The game drives however were excellent and the guide found us such a lot!

It would have been preferable to have had dinner with all 6 guests together, but maybe not all guests like this." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms T
Ontario

"Little Ongava review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2013
"enjoyed the peaceful luxury. Franco the guide was super." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Munich

"Little Ongava Paradise"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"We did not want to leave! Absolutely fantastic and exceedingly friendly and accommodating staff.

We were originally booked into the Okaukuejo Camp, but due to a local hiccup our reservation was cancelled. Our Expert Africa rep (Gwynneth) managed to negotiate this upgrade for us to this fantastic place - thanks!

Amazing trips with very knowledgeable guides (esp. Franco). If you get the chance go on the White Rhino Tracking Walk.

A 5 star place indeed." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Hereford

"Little Ongava review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"Ongava was very dry and game was hard to come by. That said we saw several lions and had a fantastic hour in the hide by the water hole. We saw 6 Black Rhino including 2 mothers and calves very close by plus 3 lions just outside the hide door!

Etosha is a bit of a culture shock as we shared our game viewing with 2 large buses and some quite noisy self drivers. We only went into Etosha park once which we felt was enough for us.

Little Ongava is amazingly luxurious but rather characterless we felt. Again 2 nights is enough." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
SBD
UK

"Little Ongava review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2013
"Spectacular location on top of the hill. Very good food. The managers Michael and George very friendly and communicative.

Our guide Willem excellent with a great sense of humour. very good game viewing, particularly for rhino and lion" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 25
97%
25 reviews of Little Ongava by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (705 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (331 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (264 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (160 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (154 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


93% (99 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (19 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa