This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms R from Rotherhithe

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

1

Brilliant!

Namibia between 1 Aug 2016 and 15 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Outstanding - memorable, everything organised to the finest detail and that's why we'll happily use you again.

Liz was extremely helpful, and went beyond the call of duty to answer inane questions so that our trip was as enjoyable as it possibly could have been. The car hire was seamless, as were the flights, and every single one of our accommodations was excellent. No surprises at all!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

All was outstanding - thank you Liz and the team for another memorable trip."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Good central Windhoek base"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2016
"This was the first place we stayed in Namibia and it was excellent - everything you need with attentive staff, lovely and spacious rooms, high speed wifi and a choice of breakfasts (the game sausage was particularly memorable). There's also a very small pool area to relax by, although we chose to spend our afternoon in the city centre - only a 15 minute walk away.

The Olive Grove is also close to some decent restaurants too, either a quick drive or taxi away (we were advised not to walk after dark despite the area being really nice and seemingly trouble free)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Good stopover location"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"A great location as a stopover between Windhoek and the coast - one night is probably enough and the horse riding is recommended.

Food is communally served and home style cooking is provided. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and set in a genuinely desert environment with no neighbours for miles around.

We found the owners exceptionally helpful and friendly, and would recommend Bullsport to anyone looking to break up their journey."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Perfect location to explore the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"We stayed at Kulala for a couple of nights, and it was an excellent choice - south of Sesriem and probably the closest camp to the fabled Sossuvlei dunes. As long as you realise this is a massively touristy destination then you'll be fine. Also be aware that big groups (seemingly of Spanish and Italians) do use this lodge so if its remoteness and peace you're looking for, then the latter could be an issue.

That said we had an excellent time - a spacious cabin with the opportunity to sleep under the stars, a great viewing platform over the waterhole with regular Oryx and Springbok plus the food and service - exemplary with the Kudu steak being the highlight!

We did excursions out to the dunes, plus some wildlife drives (where we saw African Wild Cat), a balloon ride and our guide Mathew was great too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Thoroughly recommended!"

5 Aug 2016 • Morning excursion

Hot air ballooning over the red desert is probably one of those everlasting experiences. If you're pondering on whether it is worth the extra money, just do it and get it booked.

We were lucky to be able to go on the day we had scheduled, as sometimes if there is too much or not enough wind the ride will be postponed - so try and give yourselves a couple of days. The champagne breakfast by the dunes following the dune ride itself was a great experience too.
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Tranquil haven in the heart of Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"Had a great time, with a very European feel in the heart of Namibia's coast and dunes!

Sam was a great host, regularly checking up on us as well as introducing us to his (massive) dog Beethoven. This was without doubt one of the best breakfast sets we had in Namibia - particularly the game salami and cheese selection. Staff were attentive and professional, while our room was big and specious. The wifi was a bonus too - something you don't always get in your Namibian accommodation.

Though we only really discovered it on our last morning, Sam's garden is beautiful - sun loungers, a nice pond and a really relaxed feel. Another bonus is they don't cater for groups, something any independent traveller in Namibia will appreciate and understand!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Outstanding hospitality in remoteness"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"This is a camp well away from anywhere! A great base for the nearby art at Twyfelfontain and we did a really enjoyable morning trip to see the Desert Elephants with William, where as a birder, was also pleased to find Damara Red-billed Hornbill, Benguela Long-billed Lark, Ruppell's Parrot and Bare-cheeked Babbler.

Anyway, the accommodation was great with large spacious rooms where the beds being on wheels allow you to move them onto your verandah for a night under the stars - thoroughly recommended! Housekeeping were exemplary with turndown service each evening and immaculate rooms.

Staff here were outstanding, obviously working very hard and making all guests trips nice and special. We had lovely food too - first night being a barbecue in the bush, followed by a nice three course meal in the restaurant the next evening. The whole place is set atop of a hill, overlooking the barren desert landscape.

A special place with attentive staff - no wifi though (not a bad thing to be honest)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

"Outstanding in every respect!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"Two nights here - nowhere near enough. This was the outstanding place that we stayed in Namibia, and with just three (massive) chalets its personal service to the extreme in luxurious surroundings.

Blommie and Tobias made sure we were totally pampered throughout, with lovely lunches and evening meals to the backdrop of a waterhole where we saw Black Rhinos, Lions, Eland, Kudu, Oryx and Black-faced Impalas. Incredible stuff! Plus the evening visits from Porcupines uniquely combine 5* luxury with nature. An outrageously beautiful place.

Our rooms, well, were absolutely outstanding. Superbly finished with an outside small pool and a couple of decks for sun loungers. Immaculate and massive too - plus with plenty of reading material too. Yes of course we visited the surrounding Ongava Game Reserve where we had three separate sightings of Lions, both Black and White Rhinos too along with a whole host of other game and birdlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Brilliant stay"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2016
"Erongo is truly relaxation in the wilderness. It has a really nice feel to it - with independent travellers who can explore the barren landscape and then come back to a luxury tent with great evening food served to your table.

Erongo's staff were superb too - particularly the guide Emmanuel who had a real passion for the local landscape and wildlife, and the safari drive and sundowner in a nearby cave is recommended. Birdlife and mammals were great too - don't miss the early morning feeding at the restaurant of hundreds of Rosy-faced Lovebirds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"Lovely end to our holiday"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2016
"River Crossing is located less than 10 minutes from Windhoek but it felt like another world away from the hustle and bustle. The setting on a hillside overlooking the city is great for relaxing either if you have just arrived, or if you're heading off home (which we were).

There is a nice swimming pool and decking area to relax, and rooms were spacious with everything we needed. Food was excellent too, with great game steak the obvious highlight. Though this isn't centrally located in Windhoek, don't let this put you off - it is such a small distance to travel in for a day/evening trip and this was a lovely place to spend the last night of our holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Memorable and exactly what we wanted

Botswana and 1 other country between 22 May 2015 and 31 May 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank you Expert Africa. Logistically it was perfect with zero hiccups and we realise that there could've been many. You certainly get what you pay for and it was a trip of a lifetime.

The safaris, food, ambience and accommodation - all absolutely spot on and thank you so much for the help in organising everything for us. We will definitely be back in Africa over the next year or so, and when we plan it we'll be in contact. Thank you Chloe for being someone who knew the countries we were visiting inside out - so often you do the research yourself, then speak to someone at a company who then knows less than you do. This certainly wasn't the case here!

We have some fantastic wildlife (especially bird photos) from the holiday (taken with professional Canon lenses) so if you want any for the website/future Bradt travel guides please let us know.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, not at all. However, as Richard is a birdwatcher (and bordering on OCD keen) he did spot a mistake in the Bradt travel guide that you could pass on! The Spoonbill photograph is actually an African Spoonbill (Platalea alba) and not Spoonbill (Platalea leucorodia) as per the book!"

Feedback response

No, not at all. However, as Richard is a birdwatcher (and bordering on OCD keen) he did spot a mistake in the Bradt travel guide that you could pass on! The Spoonbill photograph is actually an African Spoonbill (Platalea alba) and not Spoonbill (Platalea leucorodia) as per the book!


Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

"Fantastic safari at Machaba Camp"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2015
"Fantastic experience, getting the balance between informal and luxury just right. It's luxurious and sustainable at the same time. We had possibly the best stay anywhere here... food was fantastic, although not somewhere you want to go for dieting! Set on the bank of the Kwai river, you're able to eat your food while Elephants stroll past and Hippos grunt at you. Truly memorable.

The safari experience was out of this world. Small groups, excellent guides who get to know what you're after quickly too. So with three nights and 2 Cheetahs, 4 Leopards, 7 Lions plus a pack of Wild Dogs it was truly exceptional. Easily the best safari experience of our trip - we were lucky with the Cheetahs though as some guides who'd been there over two year hadn't seen them before. Fantastic for photography too!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

"Great place for a wet safari"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2015
"Lovely setting, great people and they've obviously got things running fluidly here. From the airstrip pickup and subsequent boat ride to the lodge, to the food and rooms themselves, it all was top quality and went to plan. Our room was wonderful; a treehouse chalet overlooking the lagoon complete with all mod cons as well as nightly turn downs etc. There's a swimming pool too, lovely place with sun loungers overlooking the river.

Food was plentiful, lovely and in a very scenic restaurant overlooking the small channel. Three course evening meals including local specialities such as Kudu as well as brunches and high tea. Boat trips and Makoros are what it's all about - enjoyed the Okavango and its scenery, it's tiny frogs and wonderful birdlife. With guides Des and Keem we were able to find Pel's Fishjng Owl and they both knew the wildlife and the history of the data very well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"Lovely setting on the Zambezi"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2015
"Islands of Siankaba was fantastic. A really great venture (apparently UK owned) that has really helped the local community by employing them as well as paying for some improvements in their infrastructure.

Had a great cycle ride around the nearby village which is were we saw the true Africa. The staff were extremely polite, the food was high quality and the rooms themselves (and we had the honeymoon suite) were lovely - views overlooking the Zambezi (and the sunrise) was something that we won't forget.

Mokoros, sunset cruises and a half day to Victoria Falls - all superb."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team