This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Reviews: Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Below are independent comments from 59 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 59
Date
Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert review"

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 9 Dec 2019
"Wow! Need i say more.

But yes, the pilot was fun, funny, and we felt so safe with him.

Do it!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Failure to go ballooning"

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 27 Sep 2019
"On the expected day of our flight the weather lead to cancellation of all flying. We then discovered that we had no booking in any case.Further investigation by Kulala Lodge found that we had been booked for October not September! We were then offered an impractical flight for the day we were due to leave so we were then promised a full refund." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Poor
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert review"

Based at Sossus Dune Lodge on 22 Sep 2019
"This was my fourth flight and one of the most memorable, I will never forget Agita's wide eyes (her first flight) and the amazing landing as we came in over the brachan dunes - stunning just stunning" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ludocie
Sheen

"Worth every penny. "

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 17 May 2019
"We had never done it before and absolutely loved it; as a ride and more particularly as a way of seeing the landscape.

Breathtaking....and the champagne breakfast was rather nice, too!

Expensive but really worth it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr and Mrs A.
Chobham

"Stunning sunrise views of the desert"

Based at Little Kulala on 16 Dec 2018
"Loved the whole experience even though touristy." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Simon&Carmelo
Italy

"Breathtaking Experience"

27 Sep 2018
"We really enjoyed all aspects of this flight over the Namib desert. Dan our pilot was very informative and pointed out wildlife and various aspects of the dunes we could see from the balloon. The landing was perfect and the breakfast couldnt have been nicer. I would definitely recommend this trip a high point of our desert visit." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs E.
Exeter

"A spectacular experience"

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 22 Sep 2018
"We were fortunate in that the balloons didn’t fly the previous day because there was too much wind, but we were extremely lucky and the day was perfect.

We were taken to the balloon site very early, in time for the safety briefing and to watch the balloons being inflated. There were 16 in each basket , and two balloons, so that we each had a view of the other. The pilot Sanchez came from a family of balloonists and was very experienced and great fun.

The flight over the desert was spectacular, and lasted over an hour, with Sanchez looking for a landing site.

He warned us that the balloon might tip over and therefore showed us how to brace ourselves just in case! As it turned out it was a bit bumpy but no problem.

Champagne breakfast in the desert, what service!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Hampshire

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert review"

Based at Sossusvlei Desert Lodge on 13 Sep 2018
"Utterly fantastic!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert review"

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 18 Sep 2018
Overall
Excellent
Dr D & Prof H
UK

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert review"

Based at Sossusvlei Desert Lodge on 1 Sep 2018
"A fantastic experience, run in the most professional and efficient way.

The pilot (Tracy) and her ground crew were superb and highly skilled; and the champagne breakfast was a real delight. Not having experienced a balloon ride before we found the landing a little bit bumpy but also thrilling and part of the experience.

A fabulous and unique way of viewing the landscape and the scale of the desert." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 59
93%
59 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
49
4
3
2
1
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team