This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Reviews: Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Below are independent comments from 71 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 21-30 of 71
Date
Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert review"

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 18 Sep 2018
Overall
Excellent
Dr D & Prof H
UK

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert review"

Based at Sossusvlei Desert Lodge on 1 Sep 2018
"A fantastic experience, run in the most professional and efficient way.

The pilot (Tracy) and her ground crew were superb and highly skilled; and the champagne breakfast was a real delight. Not having experienced a balloon ride before we found the landing a little bit bumpy but also thrilling and part of the experience.

A fabulous and unique way of viewing the landscape and the scale of the desert." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Ballooning: Highlight of Namib Desert "

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 22 Aug 2018
"Wonderful experience! Stunning views and expert piloting by Denis!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
D & K
Texas

"Balloon Ride was Awesome"

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 18 Aug 2018
"The balloon ride was a highlight of our trip. We had reservations about paying the high price, but it would have been a major mistake to pass up this opportunity.

Weather delayed our scheduled balloon ride twice, but luckily for us we were able to do it on the morning our departure. We experienced an incredible sight as low clouds hung over the desert with dunes and mountains peeking through. The light was incredible and having 2 balloons enabled all kinds of photo opportunities. The pilots and operator raved on and on about this being an incredible flight. I believe them.

You know the flight is really good when the pilots are excited and taking pictures along with the passengers." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"Fantastic balloon trip"

Based at Little Kulala on 28 Jul 2018
"A fabulous experience.

The company was very well organised, the pilot (Jerome) was great and the champagne breakfast afterwards was perfect." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms J
London

"Wonderful Ballooning in the Namib desert"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 7 Jun 2018
"Fantastic - apart from a rather annoying group of photographers who were also part of this and clearly thought they were the only ones that mattered.

As mentioned on previous comments not enough prior information was given on this and given the state of the road and the fact that we had to get there in the dark it would have been good to have been picked up.

The trip itself was great - beautiful sunrise, landscape etc and good breakfast after" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Taunton

"Pilot was entertaining"

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 10 Oct 2017
"Balloon ride lived up to expectations" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Paul & Nicky
Keswick

"Ballooning over the desert"

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 5 Sep 2017
"Denis and his team provided a truly memorable trip. The balloon trip alone would be spectacular enough, but Denis provided a whole extra dimension. His knowledge and love of the area and his families commitment to the entire region is clearly from the heart. He has a genuine warmth and love for the area, it’s people and ballooning that results in this being beyond just a balloon flight. He is also clearly a very highly skilled balloon pilot.

If you are nervous or having second thoughts, then put them aside and have a day to remember for ever.

A thank you also to the ground crew, particularly Sancho, for looking after my wife whilst tracking the balloon." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms W
Gauteng

"balloon flight over Namib"

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 26 Aug 2017
"Everything went according to plan, wonderful experience" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Vivonholiday
UK

"Well worth the money "

Based at Kulala Desert Lodge on 27 Jun 2017
"This is an extremely professional organisation. a highlight of our trip," Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 71
94%
71 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
61
4
3
2
1
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team