This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

2

My Sep 2019 trip

Namibia between 24 Sep 2019 and 14 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We really enjoyed this holiday and had may memorable days. Staff at the lodges were all so friendly and helpful. The guides were all very knowledgeable. The self driving although long and dusty always felt safe and easy to navigate.Taking a Cool Bag from home was essential and careful planning of fuel and lunch stops was needed as facilities were few and far between."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Galton House

Galton House

"Good stopover at Galton House"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"Galton House was very helpful at getting us into self-drive mode."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2019
"Castro our Guide was excellent. The Admin staff were very helpful sorting out our Balloon Ride that had not been correctly booked.

The Sossusvlei sand-dunes were amazing.

The only criticism was the unevenness of the paths out to our room."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Failure to go ballooning"

27 Sep 2019 • Morning excursion

On the expected day of our flight the weather lead to cancellation of all flying. We then discovered that we had no booking in any case.Further investigation by Kulala Lodge found that we had been booked for October not September! We were then offered an impractical flight for the day we were due to leave so we were then promised a full refund.
Poor
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"On the sea front"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"A very nice modern hotel."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour drive."

30 Sep 2019 • All-day excursion

Leon our guide was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our day. We saw oryx and springbok on the dunes and flocks of flamingos in the bay.
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"Our first night dinner was spoilt because they decided without consultation that we would be given a "treat" and sat on our own on a windy balcony where the lighting was so poor we could not see our food properly. They tried to do something similar on the second night and we objected. Otherwise we enjoyed our time at Kipwe and thought the rock art was well worth the visit.

We did not go on the drive to find the desert elephants where they also saw giraffe and zebra."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Etosha camp."

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2019
"Being booked into a premier waterhole room was excellent - we had great views of the waterhole and our room was very comfortable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"A breather"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"A great opportunity for a breather on a busy trip. We had a really good guided safari back into Etosha and a relaxing afternoon by the pool."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"A great experience"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"This was totally different but a great experience. The drive to the camp is long and challenging and the camp is more basic. However the opportunities to have completely different experiences made it more than worthwhile. We went out with the owner for an evening drive to check the waterhole and watched the elephants come to drink. The next day we went out on a walking hunt with the San people and then spent time in their village. The second day we went out again with he owner into Khaudum NP to check several water holes in readiness for the annual elephant count."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"This is an excellent camp which is fully integrated with AfriCat Foundation and its work. It was a great place to finish our trip to Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Overall

Zambia between 26 Feb 2018 and 6 Mar 2018

Trip rating: Good
"We very much enjoyed our trip. The contrast with the dry season was memorable."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Latitude 15"

1 night Arrived 26 Feb 2018
"Evening meal was good food but slow to come. A good start to the holiday."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Luangwa River Camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2018
"Great birthday - we saw wild dogs and leopards. Great sun downer surprise."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu"

3 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2018
"The contrast between this wet season and our visit last year in the dry was most noticeably. The walk to see the nesting storks was particularly memorable despite the mud!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2018
"Seeing the river in full flow was most impressive. Unfortunately rain prevented morning game drives but sighting the two leopards on our final drive was a highlight."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Zambia 2017

Zambia between 5 Sep 2017 and 21 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a great holiday and we have so many good memories.

We are contemplating a return after the rains to see South Luangwa when it is green."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp stopover"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2017
"We felt that the bath/shower in our room was very deep and quite difficult to get out of when wet. It needed a grab rail.

Otherwise it was a great choice for a stop over"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Shiwa Ng'andu

Shiwa Ng'andu

"Amazing days at Shiwa Ng'andu"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"It was an experience like nowhere else, Jo and Charlie were great hosts and they have such an interesting Estate.

We were well looked after and felt very welcome and relaxed. We saw at first hand their hard work in their community.

A great start to our Zambian trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Great game drives at Nkwali"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"Our guide, Fred, and our hostess, Shannon, were so helpful and knowledgeable and the staff were great. We had some amazing game drives and took many photos. Watching the Leopard pull its prey along a dry river back to a tree will stay with us for ever. Seeing the way the vultures (50+) climbed over each other at another kill was also pretty amazing.

Hints for visitors -

- Hat and long sleeves need to be at hand for the drive from the airport at midday in an open vehicle. It was very hot.

- The pool edge is very slippery with wet feet.

- Be prepared for the very early starts in the morning"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"More great days at Nsefu"

4 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"Yet more great RPS staff, Pius was an excellent guide and Sebastian led a really good walk. Florence and Ruth looked after us very well.

We had more great game drives, the highlights were the carmine bee eaters on the river bank and seeing so many leopards.

Nsefu's rooms are not as spacious as Nkwali's but they are still very comfortable and well looked after. The views are different as well and not quite as intimate."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

"Our final stop at Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"Stanley runs more as a hotel than the other RPS lodges and does not have such a great location. Nevertheless we were well looked after and our driver Babylone was most helpful. We enjoyed our walks at Vic Falls (Zambia and Zimbabwe sides) and our sun-downer at the Royal Livingstone Hotel.

Unfortunately, due to poor communication about the options for our Zimbabwe excursion and the guide being booked for only 2 hours, we didn't get to have morning coffee at the Victoria Fall Hotel as expected and our visit seemed so hurried for the costs involved in going to Zimbabwe for such a short time.. A contact card with a number for our driver or the lodge would have been useful to resolve this whilst we were in Zimbabwe. We would have been happy to have self-guided if we had been properly briefed.

The open cottage was not like Nsefu or Nkwali and the insects were very active. We were moved at their suggestion to a closed cottage which helped, although the effect of the smoke from the many mosquito coils lit for us at night is still trapped on our non-washable belongings nearly a week later!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team