This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel

Reviews of Strand Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Strand Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
safari lovers
UK

"Great stay at Strand Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2020
"Excellent two night stay here. We were upgraded to a seaview room on request which we appreciated. Very comfortable, tastefully decorated and nicely equipped.

Spa was an unexpected surprise. Arranged a treatment at short notice, which was of good quality.

Ate at the seafood restaurant both nights and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. Delicious food and very nice welcoming staff.

Nice location, easy to find." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms S.
Surrey

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2019
"Great location. Felt safe walking to and from the hotel at night. Nice hotel, modern and clean (albeit some premature signs of ageing / poor cleaning quality in the bathroom) but felt quite corporate and impersonal.

Check in was quick and efficient and the member of staff was very helpful in advising on things to do during our stay. Breakfast selection was superb, loads of choice but I would have liked to have been able to order off menu. Breakfast drinks service could be improved as was slow and it was necessary to seek the attention of staff.

We were very disappointed with the view from the room. We upgraded to an ocean view room. Whilst we technically did have a view of the ocean, we had to look across the large car park and the glass roof of the restaurant to see it, which generally wasn't a pretty sight and not one I would have upgraded to had I known. Had very good food and service at onsite fish restaurant." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"A really super place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"It was so different to stay in a hotel within a resort town after a week of lodges, but we really welcomed the contrast. The Strand was excellent - great facilities, beautiful room and a huge variety of options for breakfast. The on-site bar with micro brewery was also a big win.

Although it was so much bigger than the other places we stayed and less personal, they still made a huge effort as we were on honeymoon, with rose petals on the bed, a bottle of fizz and strawberries and cream!

We had a great time in Swakopmund and really enjoyed the lower temperatures! We tried lie down sandboarding which was great fun (which we'd organised ourselves with Alter Action, who were very good) and then had a beautiful walk round the lagoon at Walvis Bay and saw lots of flamingos.

It was great to be on a B&B basis in Swakop so that we could venture out to try a couple of different restaurants and have a bit more freedom in what we wanted to eat!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"On the sea front"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"A very nice modern hotel." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2019
"Brownie Points well earned.

After a few days of longish drives, this is a great place to get to, take a massage, eat some great seafood and indulge in some retail therapy, possibly should have stayed longer.

Rooms are excellent, staff were amazing, Spa was great and the restaurants (great breakfast) are very good, but this is not why we are here." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E & family
UK

"Good modern hotel with excellent breakfasts"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2019
"Comfortable spacious modern rooms and a good range of eating establishments attached to the hotel which channels a German vibe; we enjoyed very good seafood at the fish restaurant, tasty schnitzel at the sports bar and the most incredible breakfast buffet I have ever seen in my life in the brasserie. They even had Sachertorte. Bonkers!

Staff were faultless: couldn't do enough to help especially Beverly in the Brasserie who made a special take away packed lunch for my son with a nut allergy." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Edinburgh

"Strand Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 16 May 2019
"Particularly impressed by the genuinely friendly but professional service and by the quality of food in the seafood restaurant.

We stayed 3 nights which on reflection was too long. Swakopmund itself does not quite feel like Africa but we knew that before we went. Recommend the fat bike tour into the desert.

One small point was that my wife didn’t like the wild birds flying around inside the restaurant ....." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dune lover
London

"Strand Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2019
"This hotel was very comfortable and had great laundry facilities.

Our concierge Jeffrey was excellent and went out of his way to arrange a scenic flight to fit in with our schedule. He was exceptionally helpful with giving us information on the locality and made great recommendations.

We would recommend travellers use the opportunity whilst staying here to have the inside of the car cleaned of the dust collected whilst driving on the dirt roads to Swakopmund." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Oxfordshire

"Strand Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 15 Feb 2019
"Only booked as a stopover and chose for it's location but really surprised me that the Strand is so much better than expected.

Great location and views, good bars and excellent breakfast." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Herts

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"The rooms were lovely and the staff very attentive.

Service in the Farmhouse Deli restaurant was haphazard and slow.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 47
90%
47 reviews of Strand Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
18
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa