This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel

Reviews of Strand Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

56 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Strand Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 56
Duration
Arrival date
Samantha
London

"Did the job"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2018
"Broke the journey down the Skeleton coast. Staff very friendly, rooms clean but felt just like any other corporate style hotel.

We spent one day kayaking with seals and walking around the town (recommend quirky museum) and then got out of there as fast as we could." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Ms G
Merton

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2018
"Lovely hotel with 3 restaurants on site and a gym. Liked our sea view rooms with small balconies." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs T
Reading

"Great seaside location"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2018
"We really enjoyed this as a short break from the camps and great place to catch up with the football !!
Teenage boys enjoyed the beer and burgers.

Breakfast buffet was the best we have EVER had and we are pretty extensively travelled.

Staff in the restaurants were a bit ditzy, not very attentive or switched on!! Only thing which let this place down." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2018
"Great location next to the beach & boardwalk & super short walk from the city center.

Rooms were nice & comfortable & I liked working out in the gym. We ate at two of their restaurants & food was a little better than average.

One minor complaint that is probably specific to our room was that there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom (maybe from the pipes)? We were too lazy to change rooms & we couldn't smell in when we shut the door to the toilet, so wasn't a huge deal to us." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr F
Amsterdam

"Strand Hotel"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2018
"Very well run hotel, highly professional staff. We forgot some things in the safe at checkout and this was handled very well: a phone call within an hour, everything taken care of smoothly.

The breakfast was very good, the room clean and comfortable. After spending a week in the Namib Desert it all felt a bit too smooth, but that is very much to the credit of the hotel." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms C & Mr N
October

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms G & Mr F
London

"Big massive hotel - does what you expect"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"Big hotel on the peninsula. Sea views on three sides (although we were on the 4th).

Three restaurants: we ate in the beer and meat one and had one of the best meals of our trip. Front desk was helpful: helped us book restaurants for next night.

No real complaints, but not particularly homely or exceptionally special.

Felt a bit corporate, which is to be expected really.

While staying at Strand Hotel, these guests took part in a kayaking with seals excursion and this is what they had to say:

This was one of the best things we did on our trip.

Didn't realize how close you get to the seals and how many there would be.

Good guide, good equipment. Highly recommend." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"This is a big modern hotel, which was everything I would expect from such a place." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
J & K
London

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"We stayed 2 nights at the Strand, which is a large hotel overlooking the ocean. It was very nice and we had some good food in one of the restaurants (Brewer and Burtcher, we went back there the following night just for drinks) . We wouldn't have wanted to stay longer, preferring the isolation of the more remote areas and the lodge type accommodations, but you cannot fairly compare a large town hotel with these.

Swakopmund itself was a bit cold, which we had expected, but we fitted in some quad biking, after a bit of confusion at the hotel whereby one of the staff seemed very keen on a particular company and booked us in when we had said we wanted to think about it first and consider other options. It all worked out in the end, though." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Muz
Colchester

"Strand Hotel was a great place and great loca"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"great hotel if you have a room looking out over the sea, the fish restaurant in the same building was outstanding" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 56
90%
56 reviews of Strand Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
19
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


94% (251 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


88% (64 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


87% (60 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (24 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (21 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (17 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


91% (7 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa