This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden Guesthouse


22°40’52.6"S 14°31’28.5"E

Reviews of Secret Garden

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Secret Garden and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"Secret Garden Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"We enjoyed our time at the Secret Garden Guesthouse. It is very well located in the centre of Swakopmund and we found the owners very helpful and accommodating. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a slightly cheaper option.

Day trip along coast south of Swakopmund.

Great trip - one of our highlights. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Salop

"Vey comfy Band B near the sea and shops"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2011
"Warm welcome and good room opening onto a garden.
Helpful hosts with great breakfast and a good choice in music1
Pizza cafe as part of the premises ,which were very tasy and cooked to order.
Excellent restaurant at the end of the jetty,need to book
Interesting walks ,saw Flamingos.
Security again seemed to be a problem
Would definitely recommend even with the less expensive room." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Worcester

"By the seaside"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2010
"This guesthouse is so conveniently sited that we just left the car in their secure parking for the duration. Nice seaside feel to the place, spacious room and excellent breakfasts. We were out most of the time so didn't see much of the hosts but got some laundry done (80N$ a bag) which was helpful. Central Swakopmund seemed safe in the evenings and we ate out at Erich's and Zur Kupferpfanne, both of which we booked up just an hour or so in advance. On the last night we had a pizza in Secret Garden's own cosy bistro.

We did the full day Sandwich Harbour trip with Turnstone Tours. Excellent day out with guides Andrew and Wayne who went all out to cram as much in as possible. On the other day we did a half day moon landscape/welwitschia excursion which we booked through the very helpful tourist office in Swakopmund." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Family R
Brighton

"Two rooms in the Secret Garden"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2010
"We were met by a very pleasant and helpful young man who showed us around the facilities and to our rooms (there were none of the rules and regulations that I had read about in previous reviews)!

We had a twin room and a double room. The rooms were comfortable and clean, my circular double room was particularly pretty and light with a very comfortable bed.

There was a kettle with tea and coffee bags in the rooms and a fridge by the main kitchen area from which we could take a beer if we noted it in a book. One night we fancied a cup of tea before bed and so I asked for some milk. This seemed to cause no end of confusion and we were eventually provided with sachets of coffee creamer. Perhaps they had not come accross our peculiar English tea-drinking habits before!

There was a nice buffet breakfast provided with the offer of a cooked breakfast as well. On our first morning we were getting up extra early to go kayaking in Walvis bay so we were invited to have breakfast a little earlier than it was usually provided. There was an attractive garden and I spent a happy half-hour one morning sitting outside with a cup of tea watching the birds at the bird table.

I would be happy to recommend the Secret Garden to other travellers." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr P & Mrs E
E Sussex

"Secret Garden Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2008
"We really enjoyed it in Swakopmund.The trip to Sandwich bay was superb, and the guide, Ernst, really informative.
Good local restaurants, and a really interesting musem.
The owner and his wife ran the place with a rod of iron, but believe it or not this, perversely, seemed to add to the enjoyment." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms J
UK

"Secret Garden Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2008
"We arrived a bit early which caused some confusion but our room was soon ready.

We felt we had entered a Tardis machine as from the outside the building looked quite small but inside the garden with the rooms around it was most attractive and our little apartment up stairs was lovely. It was good to have secure parking off the street.

We were happy with the central location which made visiting the various attractions suggested by the landlady, shopping and eating out at night easy. Thanks to Jeanne our kayaking guide for sending on the photos. Great fun playing with the seals don't know who was enjoying it most, seals or paddlers." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms J
Cymau

"Secret Garden Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2008
"This is a modest little B&B tucked into one of the side streets of central Swakopmund. The delightfully quirky owners are extremely helpful, and this forgave the sometimes regimental rules we had to abide by. By the owners admission, the only room left to us was very basic, and after watching the sun-set on our balcony at Sossus Dune Lodge, the barracks like atmosphere of our room was a stark contrast. However, it was clean, comfortable and functional.

The location of the Guesthouse is excellent for getting to restaurants and the town centre. It is literally on your door-step. We spoke to other people who were staying at more luxurious places, but they had a fair trek into town.

In essence, a simple B&B (although we suspect there are better rooms here) in a great location in town. If we ever came back this way, we'd stay here again." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr V
Netherlands

"Secret Garden Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2008
"Very good location, right in the center of Swakopmund. We liked the patiogarden very much.

The breakfastroom, sittingroom and kitchen are nicely decorated. The rooms are good, with coffee and tea-facilities and homemade biscuits as well as a good bathroom.

Breakfast is fine; the lady introduced the guests to each other at the breakfasttable, which was really nice. Good information about the area." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms M & Mr G
Surrey

"Secret Garden Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2008
"The suite was so spacious and very comfortable. We enjoyed there.

The location is in good position so that we can walk around the town within short distance." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mrs P
Glass

"Secret Garden Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2008
"Behind the bland exterior there is as stated a secret courtyard/garden, very attractive .

Despite detached manner the proprietor (Peter) had organised everything efficiently, (booking meals arranging tour).

Welcome novelty of heated bathroom floor as weather cold, well designed room

The Walvis Bay sea trip should not be missed, culminating in champagne and oystrs" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 14
86%
14 reviews of Secret Garden by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
4
10
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa