This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge

Reviews of Lagoon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Dec 2019
"We were given a room with torn privacy curtains on the ground floor and a loose faucet that we had to hold at the base to turn it on and off. We asked the owner the next day for a new room and she obliged happily.

She is a new owner. However, the next day someone else was staying in the room we moved out of. It was not a full house so i question why she is giving that room to others when it was not appropriate to rent out. Food was barely ok.

The birds are so great everywhere i would not stay here just to see the flamingos as it touts in the guidebooks!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr K.
Egham

"Ideal Walvis base"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2019
"Lagoon Lodge is superbly located on the edge of the lagoon, with flamingos virtually in the garden.

Rooms were comfortable and well decorated. Parking was fairly easy although a bit of a vehicle shuffle was required on one of our evenings. Breakfast was decent, if not exciting - service was a bit offhand and we ended up missing out on the hot option on our first morning because we were forgotten about and then ran out of time. The host recommended a restaurant which was shut (odd advice).

We would probably stay there again if we revisit Walvis Bay, but might have a quick look around for other options first." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B - family
UK

"Lagoon Lodge convenient base for kayaking"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2019
"We chose to stay in Walvis Bay rather than Swakopmund because it was more convenient for kayaking with seals which 3 of us had pre-booked - they all thoroughly enjoyed this activity. I chose to stay on dry land and spent the morning exploring Walvis Bay. There was plenty of bird life (and dolpins) to observe by the lagoon. I felt very comfortable walking alone in this town and was not hassled at all (unlike in Swakopmund where we later stopped for lunch).,

The lodge itself was adequate for a one night stay - it was in need of refurbishment with very old fashioned bathrooms Although it is right on the lagoon there is a busy road between the lodge and the lagoon. In the evening we ate at the Raft Restaurant. This is at the end of a jetty on the lagoon, just a 10 to 15 minute walk (or a very short drive) from the lodge. We had an excellent meal there." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Mr M.
Anchorage

"Great location "

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2018
"great location, excellent service and near a birders paradise" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Miss P
UK

"Penthouse on the lagoon"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2018
"Friendly owner/ manager who provided lots of information re restaurants and some trips running at this time of year. Whale watching not available as wrong time of year.

Room we had had been added to the top floor of the building and was very well equipped and fitted out to a very good spec. Large floor to ceiling windows opening onto the lagoon. Lovely breakfast in the shared reception area.

Wandering flamingos and seals visible from the property. Choice of restaurants within walking distance.

The only downside is the 2 days we were there Walvis Bay experienced biblical rain, the first real heavy rain for 7 years which lead to extensive flooding and us being advised not to use certain routes due to this. This is not something anyone can predict" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Bedford

"Ideal bird watching at Lagoon Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2018
"The current owner is retiring and so the lodge will be changing hands. The lodge is opposite the lagoon and it is just a stroll to the waterfront to watch the flamingos and other species of birds visiting the lagoon. The rooms are well equipped and spacious and no WIFI issues. The owner and staff were very welcoming and helpful and any advertised activities in the location can be booked directly through the owner although we opted to do our own sightseeing. Breakfast was excellent with good choice (including delicious pastries) and hot food also available. There is limited choice of restaurants for evening meals in Walvis Bay and not all are open 7 days a week. We did find a couple of restaurants within fairly close walking distance along the waterfront. Nearby Swakopmund is more geared up for tourism and has greater choice of restaurants and accommodation so would be a better option if stopping over to visit the area." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Well located lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2017
"The lodge was ideally located for walks along the lagoon. The owner was very affable and helpful.

Our room was large and colourfully decorated. Breakfasts were very good.

It was great having an enclosed garden at the back of the lodge.

We recommend lunch or dinner at Anchor's - excellent fish." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs G
Northumberland

"Lagoon Lodge three night stay"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2017
"We loved the owner of this bright yellow lodge, he really cares that you have a good time.

The hotel was undergoing some building work and so there were builders, ladders and scaffolding about but a lovely bottle of complimentary champagne was delivered to us while we were resting by the pool so we were happy! The breakfasts were delicious and we got excellent advice about where to eat in the evening. Rooms are great fun and the children had a great big family room to suit three big children.

The standard of cleaning of the rooms was excellent too.

We had no problems connecting with the sand boarding company but you do need to drive to Swakopmund (about 25mins) to meet the bus to the dunes. We were collecting from the hotel for a wet but fun Kayaking trip with Naude from Pelican Point Kayaks." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr MA
SE London

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"Lagoon Lodge very charming in its own way, but a huge culture shock after several days in the desert and at desert lodges -this is no reflection on the lodge but more the unexpected contrast in all ways with what had come before. There was a moment when the water was cut off (again no reflection on lodge itself and the friendly extremely French, welcome)

While at Lagoon Lodge these travellers took part in a Kayaking with seals excursion and this is their feedback:
Really loved the whole experience and ended up with seal pup on the kayak (see instagram hashtag sealonmykayak ! Francois excellent" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs J
Exeter

"Birdwatchers' paradise at Lagoon Loge"

3 nights Arrived 18 May 2017
"Great terrace to watch flamingos pelicans seals dolphins and the sunset. Good place for a run along the front as well.

Unfortunately our guard was down (for a couple of minutes only) because it seemed so safe and our car was broken into. The owners were extremely helpful . It seems likely that we were being watched at checkout time and visitors need to be aware of this." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 47
90%
47 reviews of Lagoon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
12
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa