This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr W & Miss P from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

The perils of rain

Namibia between 12 May 2018 and 27 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Initially was a little concerned about lack of wildlife sightings however dunes fantastic and despite the slapshod way okaukuejo camp appeared to be run the waterhole was a revelation. we saw rhino each night, 3 on the first night and 2 the second night plus a male lion then 4 females.

Highlight was the cheetah kill. Etosha fulfilled my expectations and more.

No one could foresee the torrential rain and subsequent flooding which lead us to being advised to travel the longer route to Doro Nawas which made it feel like an unnecessary out of the way stop. Given a good run up the skeleton coast this view would not be as jaded.

All the accommodation was good and the extra night at erongo was well worth it

Would recommend this trip to others"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"The Olive Grove a luxurious start to the trip"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2018
"Staff at the Olive Grove were lovely. The accommodation was excellent and the food was great however it felt a little like a captive audience as the premises is in a quiet residential area.

We did ask for a map of the surrounding area and were provided with one and directions to get to "town". We walked to this area and there were a couple of other restaurants and Joe's Beer Bar but it didn't feel right to aim to eat there and walk the distance back as evening was drawing in.

This said there was a good choice on the menu at the Olive Grove and the food was very tasty"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Friendly family orientated farm stay"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2018
"As a first drive using gravel roads Bullsport was about the right distance to travel from Windhoek.

It was nice to dine with fellow travellers and our hosts in the evening. The was no choice of menu but what was served was substantial so if the salad was no to ones liking there was more soup.
There was an honesty system on the bar which was a nice touch, everyone had a numbered notebook that corresponded to the number of their accommodation which they logged their alcohol consumption in so the bill could be prepared on leaving day.

There were a number of walks/trails accessible from the farm and a file contained copies of the routes and details of how long and strenuous they were, which could be taken out on each walk. Wildlife was not abundant and as it is classed as bushmeat so any wildlife spots were rare and brief.

On returning to the farm we were inevitably greeted by one or more of the four jack russell dogs which made you feel like part of the family. The pool despite being cool was welcome in the heat"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala comfort in a lunar landscape"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2018
"Lovely welcoming staff and nothing seemed too much trouble for them.

Food was good and plentiful. Excellent array of food for breakfast and good choice for evening meals. Tented accommodation was good and each unit sufficient distance apart to provide privacy. The option to sleep on the roof under the stars was interesting.

Took the trip to DeadVlei with Richel and was pleasantly surprised in not having to go back up the lodge's 14 km drive to get to the main road to drive to Seisreim but to take a short cut and arrive in the dunes a third of the way along the drive. Got to take some impressive shots of the sun rising and lighting up the dunes and then options to climb big daddy or just his arm. Despite this appearing busy still managed to get photos with no people in.

Used the pool and did a short walk from the lodge down the dry river bed. We did see a black backed jackal outside the accommodation one morning."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Penthouse on the lagoon"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2018
"Friendly owner/ manager who provided lots of information re restaurants and some trips running at this time of year. Whale watching not available as wrong time of year.

Room we had had been added to the top floor of the building and was very well equipped and fitted out to a very good spec. Large floor to ceiling windows opening onto the lagoon. Lovely breakfast in the shared reception area.

Wandering flamingos and seals visible from the property. Choice of restaurants within walking distance.

The only downside is the 2 days we were there Walvis Bay experienced biblical rain, the first real heavy rain for 7 years which lead to extensive flooding and us being advised not to use certain routes due to this. This is not something anyone can predict"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Too far out given poor weather conditions"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2018
"Unfortunately the two days previously there had been record rainfall on the coast round Walvis bay and we were advised that due to the subsequent flooding not to use the coastal road heading towards the seal colony and up the skeleton coast so we drove as much as we could on tarmac which lead to the drive taking 7 hours with the last hour being on an undulating dust road with large deep puddles on the low parts.

No one could predict this but almost the last straw was the terrible pitted driveway from the road to the camp which was quite badly signposted. I think this jaundiced us about the camp where the staff were lovely and the accommodation was good. Food was good and the pool provided a welcome relief.

We did not partake in any drives the following day as we just couldn't face getting back in a vehicle. Staff had good singing voices and all looked like they enjoyed entertaining us.

We had a walk in the bush from the lodge and saw an ostrich and a snake."
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2018
"Short distance from Doro Nawas so arrived just after midday. Nice travel after a nightmare 7 hour drive previously.

A lot of bureacracy to pay for days in the park and then even more to get the keys to the accommodation. Info taken at the gate and then a ledger to fill in at the camp to pay for access which was til midday on our third day. When i asked if i could pay for longer on the third day as we were leaving from the east gate the lady behind the counter wrote on the pass addding 2 more hours. then a second ledger and a file to fill in for the accommodation.We were given a photocopied map of the site and our accommodation and the restaurant marked on it. No mention of the waterhole.The staff here appeared particularly jaded.

The map also listed game drives that could be undertaken at dawn, afternoon or evening, but when we asked if we could book one we were told there were no drivers and then a big party had booked the following afternoon so there was no opportunity to do a guided drive.

Having said that self drive was great as you could go out at any time between dawn to dusk and the waterhole on site was a magnet for game at all times of day. which is why I would say this camp is a must. Pre dinner and after dinner saw rhino, elephants and lions at the waterhole.

Dinner and breakfast were help yourself buffet style but food was basic and often the trays were empty.

We did have glossy starlings with chicks nesting in our porch roof and we had a visit from a bat that appeared in our room one morning. One pool was drained for repairs during our stay and the other looked like something had died in it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara is a MUST"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2018
"Close to the east gate into Etosha so easy access into the park. Interestingly this gate was much more laid back at booking you in and reception where the park fees were paid was efficient with no ledgers to complete.

Open plan seating and dining areas with local wildlife, bushpig family to mow the lawns, squirrels to clear the restaurant floor. Great tented accommodation spread throughout the grounds providing privacy. Lovely friendly staff. Excellent food. Good pool.

Went on a game drive with another couple and saw a cheetah with 3 cubs and then returned later to watch her make a kill. Wow. Later drove ourselves in the park and on our way out stopped at the dik dik drive waterhole that had 3 elephants in it who were then joined by a further 13 and then 5 more. What an end to the day a 21 elephant salute"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Hidden gem"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2018
"Glad we asked for 2 nights here as one would not be enough

Readily available walks from the camp with a variety of lengths and graded for difficulty. Staff great. Food great.

Our accommodation was furthest away from the restaurant however had an out door bed, shower, dining area, deck chairs and comfier seating plus indoor bed, bathroom and seating. You appreciated the care that had been taken designing the camp when looking down on it from the rocks on the trails.

The rocks round the restaurant housed dassies and one evening we noticed them all looking down the rock face to a massive rock python that was squeezing itself into the rockface searching for food.

Breakfast was shared with rosy cheeked lovebirds. Pool very cold and a little difficult to get into due to the uneven floor"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team