This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge

Reviews of Lagoon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Ms T & Mr B
France

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2011
"Very attractive house with a beautiful view. There has obviously been a lot of care taken in the decor - you know you are in Africa! Traffic noise a bit of a problem, also the neighbours' dogs barked ALL night

In Chris' book, he highly recommends the restaurant "Lyon des Sables". We were very disappointed. It was a Saturday night and there were only 8 customers so the atmosphere was a little cold. The waitrons were pleasant enough but not very knowledgeable about the wine or food. In our opinion this was not "high quality and imaginative French cuisine" The chef is trying too hard to be innovative and combining ingredients which were never meant to go together.

Whilst here, we organised a Day trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented:

Excellent!

An excellent 8 hours with Ernest, a man who is passionate about his subject and eager to share it.

" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr K & Ms C
NJ

"Owners are great"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2011
"The owners at the Lagoon Lodge are great and very helpful." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Lagoon Loge, Walvis Bay"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2011
"pleasant place for final night. Lovely view over lagoon but spoilt by heavy traffic noise from salt lorries and and other traffic. Also intermittent smell from nearby sewage works." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs AS
Colorado

"Lagoon Lodge and Walvis Bay area activities"

4 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2010
"Some would try to discourage tourists from staying in Walvis Bay instead of Swakopmund as it is "only an old port town". However, it suited us just fine as did the Lagoon Lodge. The decor in the room we had was outstanding, with a giraffe motif
(which became our favorite animal in Namibia). The owners are quite knowledgeable and gave us some interesting insights about Namibia and Africa. It is across the street from the Lagoon, and flamingos are directly in front of the Lodge.

As a side note, we took a tour with Turnstone Tours to Sandwich Harbor, and this was the best value from both cost and information stand points. Our guide, Wayne, is a wealth of information on Sandwich Harbor and Namibia, and the trip lasted all day.

Back to the Lodge, the accommodations are excellent, and the location is within walking distance to the Raft restaurant and central to our other activities of a boat trip in the harbor and a drive to Kuiseb canyon.
" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Beds

"A hotel with a fantastic view"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2010
"3 nights here was the right amount of time. Both rooms overlooked the lagoon with balconies.

The owners have always made us welcome especially when taking an 11 year old grandson who enjoyed the pool and their dogs.

Revisited The Raft restaurant and was disappointed, nothing like 4 years ago - maybe new owners. Menu quite limited and not much choice of seafood for which they were famous for. Went to Crazy Mama's very enjoyable and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend the French restaurant Lyon des Sables run by the hotel owners son - an absolutely fantastic meal.

We organised a day-trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented:

Very good day trip to Sandwich Bay - enjoyed by all. Excellent lunch and weather was warm almost too hot after our previous trip which I found very cold

Our previous trip had been with Bruno but he's too busy doing other things now, but our guide was excellent and informative and answered all of the 100 questions Ben asked him.
" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Family M
USA

"Lagoon Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
E & D
New Mexico

"Best location in Walvis Bay"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2010
"If you enjoy looking at sunsets over the ocean with flamingos in the foreground, this is the place!

Day trip to dunes and coast (Sandwich Harbour) arranged by Expert Africa:

Worth every minute.

Astonishingly exciting and vivid, but also lovely peaceful moments hiking up the dunes and dabbling our toes in the ocean. Bruno produced a puff adder out of a little clump of bushes and answered our endless questions about the environment/history of the area.We felt lucky to be guided by Bruno, with all his years of experience.

" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss G
Hertfordshire

"Lagoon Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2009
"We were only at Lagoon Lodge for 1 night and it was fine for a stop after our Kayak trip but we would definately not have needed longer in Walvis Bay. The bedroom was very cosy as it was cold but the bathroom looked a bit dated.

We were on the ground floor so did not have a balcony to sit out on so I think the upsatirs rooms with this may have been a bit nicer for somewhere sheltered to sit and read. The lodge itself is bright yellow which I thought could be toned down a little to fit in with the rest of the Bay but this is obviously just external appearance.

We happened to be there on a sunday and there is nothing open, we managed to find one italian restaurant for dinner that evening and that was excellent.

Whist staying here, Expert Africa organised a kayaking trip for these travellers. They commented:

Brilliant.

Not to be missed!! even though we had never kayaked before.



" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Huntingdon

"Lagoon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2009
"Lovely bed and breakfast lodge with views across the lagoon. The omlettes are especially good." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Dr R & Dr M
UK

"Lagoon Lodge - a nice surprise"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2009
"We stayed here because one of us wanted to look at birds in Walvis Bay! This is not a location I would have normally chosen but I enjoyed the stay very much.

Room was nice and separate - own front door on the bay. Run by a French couple - so breakfast was a cut above most other breakfasts! They looked after us extremely well. The first evening we ate at the Raft which is the best known fish restaraunt in Walvis Bay and written up well in all the guidebooks. The guidebooks are wrong, our hosts were right....very mediocre.

Second night we succumbed to advice from our hosts and went to their French friends new restaraunt....supposedly fusion but seemed pretty North African to me. This was the best food I had in Namibia by a million miles. Called Lyon des Salles I think. Sadly my pal had too bad a cold to taste it!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 47
90%
47 reviews of Lagoon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
12
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa