This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge

Reviews of Lagoon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-47 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A & Mrs A
UK

"Lagoon Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2008
"Good value, friendly, great breakfast (homemade jams and decent coffee!), convienient for sea kayaking (Jeanne picked us up at the lodge), clean and very helpful.

" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2008
"A surprise package! Not a part of the trip we were particularly looking foward to (town v country) but we had a really enjoyable stay and the children in particular enjoyed access to a TV for the Olympics, a later start, excellent breakfasts, and the shops and restaurants we visited.

The owners were really friendly and helpful and it was also a joy to spend some time with two delightful dogs (sad people that we are we were missing ours).

Curiously we could have spent an extra day very happily as it was one of the few places where we all felt we had left things that we wanted to do undone!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Water dikkops
Calgary

"One of our favorites!"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"The books make Walvis out to be a dump!!! Not so! Sure it isn't Swok but we found it very nice and not so busy. Very good restaurant on the dock!

One of the BEST B+Bs we stayed at. Nice location, nice building/rooms, great food, nice owners... THANKS AGAIN FOR THE RECOMMENDATION TRACEY!!!!

Booked up but all we heard was good about some guy who does the "Small Five" desert tours. Guess it's Very good!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms Rockjumper
UK

"Lagoon Lodge unconditional recommendation!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2008
"Lagoon Lodge is a cheery yellow house on a main road going out of Walvis Bay. The owners are a lively French couple who make the place great fun. They are both artists and the rooms are furnished with some amazing wood and textile pieces created by them.

The accommodation was so comfortable and lovely that we bought our own food and ate dinner on the balcony for both nights of our stay. The breakfasts were the absolute best of the whole trip.
" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2007
"Welcoming owners and staff although contact was minimal.

Lagoon front position would have been more enjoyable without the continual noise of salt lorries passing the
premises all day long.

Incidently the weather was the pits!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Cape turtle doves
UK

"Lagoon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2007
"The drive to Walvis Bay was once again very demanding, especially the passes through the mountains. When driving you could not afford to relax for a single moment. As the car thumped along at 30 kph I keep wishing we had hired a 4 wheel drive car. The Toyota did very well indeed but one felt that there was no 'extra' to pull you through if things went wrong.

The Lagoon Lodge at Walvis Bay was a very welcome respite with a warm welcome and comfortable rooms. My only complaint was I got electrocuted when I accidently touched the unmarked electric fence around the swimming pool!

The highlight of our entire trip was the day we spent with Ernst at Sandwich Harbour. We saw birds, dug for water, opened up 17th century rubbish dumps (middens), tried to rescue seals caught up in fishing line and were given a heart stopping demonstration of what a Land Rover can do in expert hands. Fantastic. Ernst is a real expert on the flora and fauna of the desert dunes and I would recommend him and his company to anyone. A wonderful day.

We also went on a township tour recently set up by a young Namibian Fried Fredericks. (EMail - mmsaf@mweb.com.na
Tel +264 64 205 511) Up to then the only black faces we had seen were serving drinks or driving Land Rovers so it was very interesting to see how black Namibians lived. We visited an AIDS/HIV centre, a vast open air canteen and a shabeen and really enjoyed ourselves." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs S B
UK

"Lovely guest house with friendly hosts"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2007
"The room was really nice, with good buffet breakfasts.

The downside was the road in between the property and the lagoon which was not apparent from the publicity/website. Fortunately it wasn't too busy after dark!!

Seeing the flamingoes on the lagoon was great.

Followed Expert Africa's advice, and would highly recommend "The Raft" to eat at in the evenings.

Did Turnstone Tours' trip to Sandwich Harbour and really enjoyed it despite very limited time at Sandwich due to the turning tide (so trip schedule should have been organised better to allow for this). The guide, Ernst, was excellent - apart from this small niggle - and was a really knowledgeable and caring individual. Eating lasagne and apple crumble for lunch in the dunes was kinda surreal !

However, did hear a very negative report from a couple who did the same trip 2 days later with a new guide (who was being trained up on our trip)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-47 of 47
90%
47 reviews of Lagoon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
12
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa