This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge

Reviews of Lagoon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr O
California

"Lots of flamingoes across from Lagoon Loge"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2014
"The owners and staff were helpful, making dinner reservations for us, speaking with the tour operator to change our pickup time, and giving us an electrical adapter when we asked where we might purchase one.

Their breakfasts were good, and their location along the lagoon was excellent for bird watching and walks along the water.

Whilst in Walvis Bay these travellers took a day trip to Sandwich Harbour. Here's what they said about it:
Sean Braine, our guide, was a wealth of information while being very laid back, providing a relaxing enjoyable day. He spent the time to find different geckos, and bring to our attention many other little creatures, telling us much about the birds and plants we saw. It would have been nice to spend longer than one-hour at the harbour itself, but Sean was concerned about the tides despite other groups still being there (maybe because our vehicle was making a horrible chattering noise?), although we did spend plenty of time in the environment both to-and-from. All-in-all it was a pleasant and informative day, which I would recommend to anyone interested in this unique environment." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C & Mr R
Bristol

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2014
"We had 2 enjoyable nights here. We had a great view over the lagoon from the balcony and saw dolphins from there as soon as we arrived.

We thoroughly enjoyed the kayaking trip with Jeanne (and for me this was probably the highlight of the whole trip). We also had a great time on the catamaran trip the following day and saw seals, dolphins, flamingos, pelicans and a pygmy right whale. The team on the boat were very informative and the 'Namibian coffee', sparkling wine and snacks were an added bonus.

We also went on the Sandwich Harbour trip. We did enjoy this although in retrospect I might not have chosen to do it as we didn't actually get to Sandwich harbour. The driver said that you can only get there at low tide as you have to drive along the beach when the tide is out. So we had a hair-raising trip up and down the dunes instead. It was quite fun but not what I was expecting. Robin enjoyed it more than I did. I think that as the tide tables are published well in advance it shouldn't be advertised as a Sandwich harbour trip when there is no chance of getting there." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2014
"Near-perfect location over-looking the lagoon at Walvis Bay. A little distance from the restaurants of the waterfront, but this wasn't too much of a problem having a hire car. There was also some noise from the road (having been completely removed from traffic for 9 days, this was probably us not being used to it!).

Helene and Wilfried were very welcoming and helpful (booking our table at the restaurant, ensuring our arrangements for our kayaking trip were all made), the breakfasts fantastic. We had dinner at the Lyon des Sables on one evening and, not only was the food excellent, the service and consideration we received was equally as good.

This was one of the few places we visited with wi-if which worked very efficiently.

We organised a trip for these travellers to go kayaking at Pelican Point. They commented:

We cannot thank Jeanne and Bernd enough for our three hour kayaking tour - it was brilliant. We were picked up at Lagoon Lodge, taken out to the point and then provided with layers of clothing, waterproofs, gloves, life jacket etc. We have previously only kayaked once before and the assurance that you do not need any experience really is genuine - the water is quite shallow and generally quite calm so we felt very safe.

The seals were all around and we got really good photos, Jeanne took videos and emailed these to us also. There were plenty of rolls provided for lunch with tea and coffee once we got back to shore before the drive back to Walvis Bay past the many flamingoes and other water birds." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Excellent B&B in a Great Location"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2014
"Walvis Bay is much underrated and the Lagoon Lodge B&B has a fantastic location with a view over the lagoon where flamingos, pelicans and dolphins provide entertainment over the excellent breakfast.

The owners are very pleasant and helpful, and their son owns the outstanding Lyon des Sables restaurant which we highly recommend for dinner." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M & G
UK

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2013
"Everything was perfection. Rooms were spotless and well-appointed with interesting individual decor (we were lucky in being allocated the Bird Room). Secure parking organised by the owner. The French owners spoke perfect English and could not have been more helpful. I will definitely bring my friends here. Walvis Bay has a lot to offer, be sure to stay at least 2 nights. Try the Sable D'Or for your evening meal overlooking the bay (run by the owners' son) or the rather noisy but fun Raft Restaurant at the end of the jetty.

Best breakfast ever...home-made yoghurt was delicious with the fresh fruit, even bacon & eggs for the hungry Brits! Of course the Coffee and croissants were there too.

Mine host will arrange a booking on a 8.30am Boat-trip for you (choose the stable catamarans). We saw Whales, Dolphins, rare sea-birds plus close encounters with the Seals and Pelicans as they jump on board to be fed. The Oysters and Wine were a nice finale too. The cost was about £35 per head, very good value 4 hour trip, cosy blankets & complimentary hot drinks provided on deck, loo and inside bar available!

For bird-watchers, Madame can put you in touch with Karel Naibab who runs 'Bird Paradise' an Oasis reserve in the sand-dunes, open 08.00-16.00hrs, take binoculars if you have them." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Gloucs

"A colourful guesthouse"

3 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2012
"This is a colourful guesthouse - yellow and blue exterior. The French owners are equally colourful but also friendly and helpful. Even our bedroom was colourful - a strong pink. However, the location on the front of the lagoon is good, although we found it very noisy on Monday morning because of the lorry traffic at the busy intersection. We were therefore pleased that our stay was over a weekend but frankly we were surprised to have been booked into this guesthouse in the first place. There were only two restaurants in the vicinity - both a 25/30 minutes walk along the coast which was in some ways good, yet challenging on a dark and windy night." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Room with a great lagoon view"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"Excellent accommodation in a room with a wonderful view over the lagoon and flamingos.

The owners were very welcoming and helpful. Good location with a short drive into the town centre and restaurants.

Whilst staying in Walvis Bay we organised a full day trip to Sandwich Harbour with Turnstone Tours. They commented:

"Excellent.

Ernst made trip very informative & memorable.

This was exactly what we had hoped for - a combination of wildlife and dunes with informative commentary (and tasty lunch) from Ernst of Turnstone Tours. It was a very good day."" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs A & Friends
UK

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2012
"We arrived while Wilfred and Helene were having lunch but they dropped everything to settle us in. We had stayed before.

The rooms are quirky but the whole lodge is full of character with good hosts and good breakfasts. Bit noisy with traffic during the day but we knew that was one of the downsides." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The H family
Sweden

"Lagoon Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2012
"Very quiet location on a Sunday, which we estimated a lot after a long drive from Sossusvlei.

Lagoon Lodge offered the best (strong) coffee during our trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
IOM

"Lagoon Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 May 2012
"Very spacious room with sitting area looking out towards the lagoon.

Very nice owners who helped us repair the locks on our vehicle, book our restaurant for dinner and advise us on local attractions. A lovely b&b.

The murals in the main house and the furnishings throughout the property were very stylish and individual." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 47
90%
47 reviews of Lagoon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
12
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (223 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa