This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The H family from Sweden

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

26

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful people, exclusive experiences

Zimbabwe between 20 May 2019 and 29 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great trip in Zimbabwe.

Always felt very safe and welcome. Met wonderful people in camps, cities and along the roads.

Felt like we got the privilege of experiencing the wilderness almost completely alone with our hosts. And got interesting openhearted stories about everyday life in the country."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

"Close to Excellent"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2019
"A very beautiful and peaceful guest lodge with nice staff and top service.

The only downside was an interleading door (locked) to our neighbouring room through which we could hear our neighbours clearly. Fortunately our neighbours were very quiet, so it was not a major problem, but it could have been so, and the manager apologized much when we mentioned it in the morning.

But after all we had a very pleasant and relaxing stay at the very comfortable and friendly minded Batonka Guest Lodge."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

"Beautiful and highly professionally"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2019
"Our stay at the Hwange Bush Camp started at the main camp, which is fresh-looking and beautifully located overlooking a wide grass plain; it is very relaxing to sit outside your tent and just enjoy the view. One afternoon we walked across the plain, then through an area with big beautiful rain trees, acacias and a lot of birds. We were there in the end of the green season by choice because we wanted to see lush African landscapes and we really enjoyed it. And we were fully aware that the green season also could mean it could be a challenge sometimes to find the wildlife as it is more spread out then and a bit harder to spot through thick green bush. Therefore we had chosen Zimbabwe, as we had heard they have exceptionally good guides who are skillful in tracking big game and coming close to it by foot.

But how to find these guides? The answer for us was to ask Expert Africa, as several times before. Their recommendation to also go Fly Camping with the team from Hwange Bush Camp turned out to be a brilliant and exciting experience. We have written a separate review about the Fly Camping which was just amazing, especially when we tracked down a pride of lions together with our very professional guides and we came very close without the lions seeing us.

After the Fly Camping we had a last night at the main camp again together with the whole Hwange Bush Camp Team which is very service minded, nice and attentive. And easy going!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Hwange Fly Camp

"We tracked down lions on foot"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2019
"Walking with an elite guide close up to big game is to say the least exciting. We were out two nights - in a remote, rocky and hilly area with beautiful mopane forests and an old dam with hippos and crocs. Together with us were the ZimPro guide Spike Williamson who has encyclopaedic knowledge, the n'debele tracker Felix, who is super skilled, the young assistant guide and rising star Peter (in training to become ZimPro) and last but not least the bush kitchen team who cooked very well!

We had a really good time in the bush. And a lot of fun.

The most exciting moments were an early morning when we tracked lions. First we found some tracks in the sand, then we continued in the direction of a hyenas barking and further ahead in the bush we followed the behavior of some vultures. All these signs led us gradually to a pride of lions, which we could view while we crouched at a height close by. Some female lions were just finishing a feast on a pray behind a bush at a place where the male could not see them. But when he saw some vultures landing and walking towards what was now probably just a carcass, he realized that he had missed something and ran in full speed towards it, but doubtless too late.

We then sneaked away and walked back. And the lions had not seen us come nor go. An hour later we had lunch close to 10-15 elephants, but that is another story from our two days of magnificent fly camping."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2019
"[Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Big Cave Camp

Big Cave Camp

"Warmhearted place offering awesome walks"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2019
"Big Cave Camp is down to earth and very enjoyable we think. Manager Lin Goodwin and her staff are kind and warmhearted.

The rooms are comfortable, simply decorated and with lovely views out to the bush and rocks. Bathrooms are fresh-looking, modern and seems to be newly renovated. The food is good, the wine excellent. We particularly enjoyed sitting around a campfire in a cave-style boma before and after dinner chatting to the staff.

We had a wonderful restful time at Big Cave Camp. One afternoon we just relaxed by the pool and enjoyed the silence.

The most rewarding moments were some amazingly beautiful walks on cliffs and ridges covered with gorgeous green and yellow colours; sometimes we almost felt we were on another planet. And we didn’t meet any other single person. Especially beautiful was the area around the Bambata Cave (with rock paintings as well). Our guide on these walks was Shepherd, a very nice guy together with whom we had great moments."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

My Sep 2015 trip

Namibia between 5 Sep 2015 and 18 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was a top experience. Have travelled in Namibia four times now; the last two trips with Expert Africa. Their knowledge is outstanding. Will for sure go back again."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

"Very good service"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2015
"Clean and friendly. We have stayed here before, and we are very satisfied again.

Service is very good and the staff very helpful."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"Very nice setting. Enjoyed the sundowner walk.

Stayed only for one night. Excellent service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

"Camping in Erongo is marvellous"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"Camping in the Erongo Mountains with a guide who knows where you find bushmans paintings is awesome."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great guides"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"Large scale but very nice bungalows with beautiful views.

Very attentive service at reception, and the guides really made an effort to track both leopards and cheetas. And were successful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Very relaxing"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Quiet and intimate place and very nice to relax in your own armchair or in bed with a waterhole view.

Not much wildlife, but that doesn't matter as Etosha is nearby.

Maybe the bungalows are a bit to close to each other, but if you have quiet neighbors you don't hear them."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Top experience"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"One of the highlights of our trip. Top service. Skilled guides. Plenty of wildlife.

Saw a black rhino at the waterhole 20 m from restaurant, white rhino on bush walking and lions feasting on a giraffe during driving activity.

Nice big tents. Very good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"Have visited this lodge three years before. A favourite. But the dust in September affects the view which is better (and outstanding) earlier in the year (for example june/july).

However, it was very fun to track elephants and we did see a heard with a two week old one, which the mother protected accordingly, so we could not go to close but that felt just alright to leave them in peace."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

"Sasa Safari Camp"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"A perfect cheap, nice stopover wich is very famiiiar."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

"Rivendell Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"Covenient on our way back home. Very good service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

My Jun 2012 trip

Namibia between 20 Jun 2012 and 6 Jul 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excellent trip in an amazing country with very friendly people. Just don't forget to bring properly warm clothes if you travel during winter, as the nights can be very chilly.

We had a really great trip. Many thanks to Angela Griffin at Expert Africa - we had such a good time in Namibia. The high lights were the dunes at Sossusvlei, kayaking with Jeanne among seals at Walvis Bay and - according to our sons - when our host Bruno at Mundulea caught a puff adder (!). In addition we had our most enjoyable and relaxing afternoon in our lives at Grootberg Lodge, really. We would't mind staying there one more night. The rental car - a Nissan X-trail - was very comfortable but the trunk had no space for an extra spare tyre above our four suitcases, but that didn't matter because we had our only flat tyre on B1 (bad luck, probably a big nail on the tar road) just north of Windhoek on our way back home. It was a nightmare to swift tyres when big lorries past us in 100 km/h, but we kept calm. When the car was picked up by Budget we used the form Expert Africa recommends in their brochure, so there will be no problems, either with the flat tyre or anything else about the car. The Budget staff were very professional.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Maybe more information about spare tyres:

- If you go four persons in a Nissan X-trail there is no space for a second spare tyre.

- The spare tyre allows you to drive only at 80 km/h. We were lucky to have just 70 km left to Windhoek. Maybe you could order a fifth tyre instead of a normal spare tyre, so you can proceed at a higher speed?

And more information about warm clothes......."

Image alt

Under own arrangements

"Under own arrangements review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2012
"Garries Restcamp - Nice and clean rooms, very friendly and welcoming hosts.

Spitzkoppe Restcamp - Very basic , our bungalow was double booked despite we had checked twice before we travelled to Namibia. Friendly staff organized a satisfactory solution.

Otjihaenamaparero Guest farm - Nice and clean rooms, very friendly and welcoming hosts.

Aba-Huab Rest Camp - Basic tents with mattresses, blankets, sheets, pillows and pillow cases. Very friendly and professional staff."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Poor
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

"Desert Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2012
"Excellent location. Cold at nights but warm extra blankets available. Wear a warm hat and you sleep well!

Most professional staff. Easy to order excellent food from Sossusvlei Lodge and get it delivered at the tent at 17:30-18:00. The meat was fresh and very tasty, but bring a good knife to cut some of the logs of wood in smaller pieces if you barbecue on your own.

Very good breakfast at Sossusvlei Lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2012
"Very quiet location on a Sunday, which we estimated a lot after a long drive from Sossusvlei.

Lagoon Lodge offered the best (strong) coffee during our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Image alt

Under own arrangements

"Under own arrangements review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2012
"See the first "own arrangement""
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2012
"At Grootberg we had a most enjoyable and relaxing afternoon. Stunning location.

Regret we did't stay there two nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2012
"An excellent bush experience, but if you're looking for easy spotted game this is not the place."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

"Rivendell Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2012
"One of our rooms were spacious and nice, but the other was too small with no wardrobe. Excellent service and very quiet.

Very good restaurant (Fusion) 50 m from the guesthouse with real african food."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good

Un unforgettable trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 5 Jul 2009 and 19 Jul 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We saved money for several years to catch our dream to go to Africa. Then, more than one year in advance we started to plan the trip in detail, together with the most professional staff from Expert Africa.

Of course there was a risk that we created too big expectations. But during the trip and now afterwards when we talk about our adventures, we can easily say that this was above all expectations - the tanzanian people, the wildlife and the excellent food has given us a memory for life."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun (formerly the Holiday Inn) review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2009
"Quiet and excellent breakfast"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"Lake Manze Tented Camp is an excellent camp. The manager and the staff - guides, drivers, waiters as well as the masaai guards - are very friendly and they do their utmost to come up to your expectations.

The wildlife is close to your tent - an amazing experience - and after three days in the bush and on the lake we had seen much, much more animals than we had ever expected (no rhino but giraffes, lions, a leopard, buffalos, elephants, kudus, impalas, hippos, crocodiles, wild dogs, baboons, wildebeests, a hyena, mungos and huge amount of different birds).

An unforgettable safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2009
"The wonderful roof top terrace was our oasis where we had a very good breakfast, then a nice cold beer in the afternoon and at last a pleasant time late in the evening in the cooling breeze."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"Chumbe Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2009
"Very, very friendly staff and the food was just terrific.

We stayed two nights and that was just perfect when it comes to the activities. But It would have been perfect with another extra day to just relax on the quiet and beautiful beach, where you are almost alone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kikadini Villas, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Kikadini Villas review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2009
"Villa Pwami was very nice. It will be even better when the swimming pool is ready (soon). The "butler" Marcus was most professional, skilled and friendly.

The cleaning was the only minus - not when it comes to the result but the cleaners were a bit too careful, so we had to wait for an unnecessary long time before they were ready.

The owners were very helpful, for example we had an unforgettable sailing and snorkling tour to the coral reef on a boat with two young friendly and professional local guys, recommended by the owners."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team