This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp

Reviews of Ongava Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

145 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Tented Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

17% success

Cheetah

17% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

96% success

Black Rhino

78% success

Eland

44% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Sable antelope

9% success

Roan antelope

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 145
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Spectacular Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2020
"Main lodge was beautiful. Went in the off season so not many folks visiting. Lovely open dining area, pool and patio overlooking waterhole. Spent an afternoon at the pool watching a non stop parade of wildlife come to drink...kudu, zebra, waterbuck, impala, springbok, baboons, a giraffe and an elephant. Cannot imagine what it must be like in the dry season.

The elephant even came to the pool to get a drink as we stand within 10 feet watching. Magnificent! The tent lodging itself was very comfortable with all the amenities you could want. Camp manager joined us for dinner the last night, a nice evening learning about her story.

Be prepared if you go in the summer there are a lot of moths. They are beautiful but love sugar, so they flock to red wine and drinks with sugar. Some guests found it annoying but it was all part of the experience. The staff do their best to mitigate by having beaded tops to put on glasses and by putting out balsamic vinegar to attract the moths away from the table." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

9 sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms K & Mr J
USA

"Amazing place to stay on Ongava Reserve"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2020
"I can't think of anything about this camp that could possibly be changed! The attention to detail and providing a safe but full-on experience was phenomenal. Our guide Salomon took amazing care of us from start to finish. The camp is beside a man-made water-hole which attracts many animals throughout the day (and apparently also the night!). It would be enough simply to sit in the shade and watch the wildlife come and go.

The rooms are tented but comfortable. There's no air-conditioning but despite it being summer that wasn't really a problem. Laundry service was included which was helpful. The food was wonderful, best of our entire trip, and the service as we were around the camp was flawless. The only thing that didn't quite work was the dinner on our own veranda - since we had to have a guard whenever we were outside after dark it wasn't quite as intimate as might have been planned!

It was rainy season but we had no rain and not even much cloud; however there was standing water to be found, and lush undergrowth, which probably limited some of our animal sightings. Nevertheless we saw plenty of wildlife, including lions, and on two occasions we were able to get out of the truck to track rhino through the bush. We didn't see a leopard but heard that there were tracks around the camp in the morning. We didn't see many small animals as there were too many places to hide. We were told that this was low season due to the heat and lower likelihood of animal sightings, but I would consider this a fair trade-off for the peace and emptiness of the place.

While most of our excursions were on the Ongava property (which is clearly teeming with wildlife), we also did a trip to Entosha National Park. I wouldn't consider this a highlight as there were fewer animals around, but it gave us a great sense of the vastness of the region." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Perth

"Outstanding experience"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2020
"Welcome at gate was friendly, good instructions provided to get to the lodge. We saw a large male elephant along the way - Wow!

Lodge welcome was friendly, a real sense of enthusiasm evident among staff.

Facilities and activities explained clearly. We had an excellent guide - Tuli. We went on 3 game drives with him, he was very knowledgeable. He was able to drive around to provide good camera angles for us.

We appreciated the refreshments after the game drive, and the turn down service before bed time. It was great to have Michael, our rifle guide to escort us to our room.

The staff were friendly and engaged in conversations and discussions with us, not only about safari, but also about being a Namibian, personal lives, and worldly topics. This provided us with insights and enjoyable conversations.

The pool was looking a little green, so that had put us off swimming in it, however, the next day it was being cleaned. We got some cool photos of an elephant drinking from it so no worries!

The deck was a fabulous place to enjoy our refreshments and to view the wildlife.

It was great that there was a library there, we enjoyed browsing through the literature.

All of the food was tasty. In regards to snacks, perhaps there could be portion options - I realize that many Westerners go to Africa and enjoy the experience of a Safari and being waited upon, (and eating) but portions were often too big. One afternoon I just asked for some nuts with a beer and received Biltong, nuts, fruits etc - it was appreciated but . . . I just can't eat that much" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

6 sightings

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr V
Birmingham

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2019
"This was a good experience, with impressive guiding. The private reserve is well managed and has a very good functioning ecosystem. Lion,elephant black and white rhino were encountered along with various antelopes such as hartebeast, kudu, springbok, impala, as well as zebra in the reserve. I also saw a caracal, which was slightly unusual
In Etosha, I was fortunate enough to have a good siting of honey badgers, and the drive also produced other animals.
The location of the camp with its own water hole is great; even saw a black rhino at the water hole as well as elephants.
I would stress that given it is a reserve, guiding has to be inventive, and my guide Sven, certainly was able to do so." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Amazing"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Our favourite place - being greeted by 2 giraffes at the watering hole when checking in was awesome and getting a 4am alarm call from a lion on our last morning is not something we’ll forget, even if we didn’t actually get to see one!

The attention to detail here was second to none & even though we didn’t do as well with the wildlife spotting we thoroughly enjoyed it." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Dr's W
Victoria

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2019
"Good accommodation; much wildlife; very informative and helpful guides.

Food good." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs P
London

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2019
"A really special experience. Highly recommended" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Jane/Chris
crolles

"The most ecologically conscious lodge we saw"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2019
"The drive into the Etosha park from this lodge gave us less than we had expected. The 2 drives into the Ogava wild reserve and the morning walk in the reserve were absolutely great.

Salomom did a great job in tracking the wild animals in the reserve; unfortunately he could not use his tracking skills in the Etosha park, because vehicles cannot leave the roads. Therefore staying in a private reserve was a definite plus." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr B
Canada

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2019
"The lodge was booked for us originally, but with too many steps it would have been impossible for me.

Great company so they organised for us to go to tented camp. Great staff, friendly and helpful.

Good drives, lots to see, good food." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Best camp of the trip"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2019
"We cannot complain about anything. Very friendly staff, they changed and repaired our flat tyre! A guide with knowledge and passion for his job. So we saw nearly every animal which lives in Ethosa." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

8 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 145
93%
145 reviews of Ongava Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
108
27
6
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa