This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp

Reviews of Ongava Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

154 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 31 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Tented Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

19% success

Cheetah

19% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Elephant

97% success

Wildebeest

97% success

Black Rhino

79% success

Eland

40% success

Brown Hyena

19% success

Spotted Hyena

13% success

Sable antelope

7% success

Roan antelope

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 154
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Cambridge

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 May 2024
"Upsides:
Binnius, lovely and very informative guide; proximity of waterhole to camp, we had elephants drinking out of the swimming pool first thing in the morning; beautiful reserve where you can see the animals very close up; beautiful recently refurbished tented chalet, very comfortable bed; visit to research centre at Andersson’s - masses of information, incredible building, lovely shop; brunch at Andersson’s and a tour of their camp (beautifully redesigned main area & bar, wonderful spacious chalets built into the bush with added bonus of A/C- did ask to move there for our 4th night but they were full. Definitely staying there on next trip!)

Downsides:
our tented chalet was very hot in the afternoons (freestanding floor fan only) and there was no escape from the heat. But cooled right down at night so you did actually need the duvet. Orlando, acting manager and overly attentive and effusive (just quite annoying). Trip to Etosha not really needed except to see the pan. There was a long queue at Anderson Gate first thing in the morning, and then lots of vehicles crowded round some of the waterholes. Terrible gravel roads within the park. I enjoyed seeing Okaukeujo 30 years after my last visit, but with such a wonderful reserve at Ongava, a trip to Etosha was a bit unnecessary.

Brunch menu was the same at OTC and Andersson's at Ongava - but was much better presented at Andersson's. Their lodge just felt a bit superior in every way - it could be a Wilderness camp, just a bit more slick and sophisticated than OTC.

Pool was a bit dirty but not surprising if elephants come to drink in it! Not a complaint" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs Paul
Surrey

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2023
"Easily the best location we stayed for wildlife and experience.

They could have made a bit more of the services on offer which were mentioned briefly on entering but no real information as to how this would be arranged, how long it would take etc. as there already seemed to be plenty organised. We asked to go to the info centre which I had read about in the Brent guide but we really had to make it happen by talking with the other guests and negotiating with the guide who seemed quite put out that we were messing with his plans.

The Curios shop was high end and expensive. The staff were really great making all sorts of efforts to remember our names and our preferences ensuring we were well looked after.

Activity at the water hole was impressive with white and black rhino, lions and giraffe frequenting the area at dinner times and plenty water buck springbok and kudu during the day. We were there while they were conducting the reserves annual census which was fascinating. Elephant and rhino approaches were unexpected but rewarding and sensitively done by the guide. Being able to spend time watching a baby elephant was particularly lovely.

The day trip to Etosha was long and very touristy with lots of driving from one spot to another just to take a photo, the guide seemed rather bored at this point and it felt a long day and rather relentless. We then had to drive all the way through Etosha the next day and felt maybe a day to relax in Ongava with a massage, trip to info centre and curios shop with a lunch at another lodge in the reserve might've been better for us in hindsight.

We did choose to stay back from the final sundowner and hang at the pool instead.

The staff put on a lovely private meal on our terrace on the last evening for our honeymoon which was unexpected and perfect" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Tammy H
Redmond

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2023
"Excellent camp. We arrived to waterbuck, black faced impala and giraffe at the waterhole. The rooms are elevated luxury tents with indoor and outdoor showers and a large deck. We were in rooms 3, 4 and 5, which had the best views of the waterhole.

We had lunch, unpacked, and off for the afternoon drive. Not five minutes out of camp we found a pride of lions.

The Ongava waterhole is very active. We had white and black rhinos every night, elephants during the day and at night. One afternoon I was sitting at the pool and several of the herd opted to drink from the pool. Amazing to have them so close.

The first night the lions woke us up roaring at 4:30 am. The at 5:30 am they were running around the camp next to our tents with the guides chasing them away after a young staff person met three large cubs on the path and let out several screams. Exciting from the safety of our tents.

The second day we approached a group of five white rhinos on foot. I was amazed at how close we were able to get. We saw them again in the late afternoon, just before we stopped for our sundowner. The following day we went into Etosha. So many great sightings. A leopardess and cub, watching a pride of lions walking for 20+ minutes across the plains to the waterhole, huge herds of elephants, countless zebra, gemsbok, giraffe, wildebeest. With how dry it is, I was surprised by the abundance of wildlife.

Ongava is a large 34,000 hectare (68,000 acre) private reserve. They pride themselves, and rightly so, on their private rangers protecting the animals from poaching. We stayed three nights, and I wish we had stayed more. The knowledge of our guide Binius, the friendly staff, the amazing food, our every need or request met. I feel bad because I think we drank them out of pinotage.

We were glad we stayed when we did. The camp is going to close in January 2024 and reopen with fewer, more upscale tents. Which also probably means a higher price.

My only suggestion is to change the design of the roofs on the vehicles. My husband and I sat in the back row. The ceiling is very low, so our one friend would have hit his head. There are also canvas doors, which is a nice safety feature, but between the low ceiling and the door, there is a very small space to look out. It was impossible for me to see out the window on the opposite side, where my husband was sitting. And I had to crouch down to look out. The day we went into Etosha, I asked to sit in the front seat, where I had a better view out the front and both sides, but missed the elevated view, especially when we saw two honey badgers running through the grass." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs QS
Wiltshire

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2023
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr D.
East Lulworth

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2022
"Best staff on the trip.

Great game drives" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & P
Lavenham

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2022
"Absolutely lovely - like a first class hotel!

So many animals at the water hole. Plus an elephant ranking from the swimming pool!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Family P
Sheffield

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2022
"Ongava was like being treated as one of the family ( in the best possible way) - within about 10 mins everyone knew our name and nothing was too much trouble. Ongava is a very special place.
Beanius was a great guide helping to find what we wanted to see but also so sensitive and respectful of the impact on the animals." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs V
York

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2022
"The camp is one of several lodges and camps on the large and expansive Ongava Reserve which is adjacent to the southern border of Etosha NP.

The Reserve proved to be an exceptional location for viewing Black and White Rhino, and to our mind provided a more enjoyable and rewarding wildlife experience than Etosha itself ( which was in places rather busy ).

The camp itself was pleasant, unpretentious and with a traditional feel. The highlight is a small swimming pool next to the dining area which provides drinking water for visiting elephants throughout the day, in preference to the muddy waterhole set 50 yards back !" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

White Rhino

8 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

John
Braintree

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2022
"The staff were very friendly and we very much enjoyed the surprise candle lit barbecue dinner under the stars in the bush.

The guide was excellent.

Could have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

White Rhino

7 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Spectacular Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2020
"Main lodge was beautiful. Went in the off season so not many folks visiting. Lovely open dining area, pool and patio overlooking waterhole. Spent an afternoon at the pool watching a non stop parade of wildlife come to drink...kudu, zebra, waterbuck, impala, springbok, baboons, a giraffe and an elephant. Cannot imagine what it must be like in the dry season.

The elephant even came to the pool to get a drink as we stand within 10 feet watching. Magnificent! The tent lodging itself was very comfortable with all the amenities you could want. Camp manager joined us for dinner the last night, a nice evening learning about her story.

Be prepared if you go in the summer there are a lot of moths. They are beautiful but love sugar, so they flock to red wine and drinks with sugar. Some guests found it annoying but it was all part of the experience. The staff do their best to mitigate by having beaded tops to put on glasses and by putting out balsamic vinegar to attract the moths away from the table." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

9 sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 154
93%
154 reviews of Ongava Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
114
30
6
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (703 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (330 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (261 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (158 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (98 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (18 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa