This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

60% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

60% success

Eland

50% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Spotted Hyena

25% success

White Rhino

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Boghall birder
Roslin

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2022
"We stayed here at our request and convenience after the drive from Windhoek to Etosha.

It is well located at near the west gate to the park and the rooms and services were good.

It suited our purposes well." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Dolomite Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2022
"The rooms were the best part of this camp but the food was equally as bad as the rest of the government camps." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Terrible
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Mar 2022
"Having stayed here twice before, we were not sure how this camp would have fared given the deterioration between our last two visits. We were extremely pleasantly surprised. Our room (13 - the best in the camp as it has a view in all directions and a plunge pool!) was in good order, the wooden sliding doors replaced with robust metal framed doors and decks well maintained with durable materials.

The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful (far better than on our last visit) and the food was great (two choices for main course at dinner, two choices for desert, better quality than in the other NWR camps we stayed at and at a more reasonable price).

Would certainly come back again in future." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Dec 2019
"We had a great drive in and then out the next morning wrt wildlife. And we choose room 13 at the end of the rooms/cabins. It has a little soaking pool on the deck and an overlook of the pan and small watering hole. A little wildlife wandering in to drink. We spotted 3 male lions under acacia trees in the pan, and clearly the animals knew the sleeping lions were there. Because of this i think the animals at the watering hole were less than if the lions had not been near. We did hear those lions roaring for 4-5 hours not far below our cabin for 4-5 hours in the night! So great to hear them! We had good fortune here.

However, the staff were low energy but took care of our needs, and the food was just ok." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2019
"We found this place a bit sad. An amazing setting and a beautiful lodge that had not been maintained so it looked worn around the edges. The service was ok but not warm or impressive.

I think in times of more rain it would be a stunning place to see the park from but in the drought less so." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dune lover
London

"Dolomite Camp Review"

1 night Arrived 16 May 2019
"This is a state owned camp inside the West Gate to Etosha National Park. Upon arrival the place initially looked good. However, it soon became apparent that it was sadly neglected. Round the pool some decking had rotted and the walkways needed repair.

The views from this location were unparalleled so we were not unhappy that we stayed one night there, however the overriding feeling is that the staff are not motivated and generally could not be bothered. When we were in the restaurant we had to find the staff (as we were going out on a night drive) to serve supper. They were all clustered round the television in the bar area! A great pity that the lodge felt sad and tired as the location was simply stunning.

Not sure we would recommend this Lodge." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

C & D
Woking/Brighton

"Beautifully rugged and wild"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"It's a long way but definitely worth it! Watching the landscape change as you drive west through the park is really interesting, there appears to be less game but they're just hiding better...waterholes were busy when you waited and watched to see what comes out the bush...

The camp is in a great setting, wide open vistas from all angles, brilliant sunset and sunrise! We were treated to a giraffe munching right outside the room when we arrived, and later a herd of elephant too. The beds were incredibly comfy - very nice to relax into after the steep walks around camp!

The night drive was fun and our guide thrilled to find a couple of aardwolf, brown hyena, multiple rhino and a spotted wild cat." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Astonishingly view across Etosha"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2018
"Unusual camp perched on rocky formation with amazing views - 5 rhino visible from our tented cabin amongst a sea of game.

Great infinity pool with view and lovely tented cabins.

Slightly disappointing restaurant with patchy service. Noone seemed to know whether safari drives were available, fortunately we were happy to do our own thing." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr K
Maidstone

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Apr 2018
"Visible from miles away, the views when in the Camp lived up to expectations.

Neither the book, nor our itinerary warned us that driving up is a not really an option, and everyone takes the shuttle. This needs to be pointed out in your itinerary. The chalets and facilities are very good - tented bar and restaurants appropriate - but there is an element of fitness required to get between chalets and these facilities. Paths long and at up to 20% incline in places - of maybe it just felt like it!

No-one asked for a deposit although there was an inventory! Staff extremely welcoming and helpful as we needed to plan for a tyre replacement (previous day's puncture plus, by adhering to 'do not get out of your vehicle', needed to drive on it for a while before able to stop) and assistance given with telephone as no mobile signal available.

Meals excellent and delightfully served, pool not used, but beautifully maintained and welcoming." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs S
France

"Dolomite Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2017
"This was our second visit to Dolomite Camp - the first was five years ago when the camp was newly opened. The camp shows some signs of wear and tear and really is in need of more constant maintenance.

Probably the best location of all the camps in Etosha - fantastic views from the rooms perched high on the hillside. Food in the restaurant was good - service a bit patchy.

Game in this part of Etosha is less prolific than in the eastern part of the park - but it is there if one is patient. Scenically this is a beautiful area." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 96
86%
96 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
32
9
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (669 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (325 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (250 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (153 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (150 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (91 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (85 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (80 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


93% (61 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (39 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (34 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (34 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (25 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


92% (12 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


96% (9 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa