This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

93 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Brown Hyena

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 93
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Dec 2019
"We had a great drive in and then out the next morning wrt wildlife. And we choose room 13 at the end of the rooms/cabins. It has a little soaking pool on the deck and an overlook of the pan and small watering hole. A little wildlife wandering in to drink. We spotted 3 male lions under acacia trees in the pan, and clearly the animals knew the sleeping lions were there. Because of this i think the animals at the watering hole were less than if the lions had not been near. We did hear those lions roaring for 4-5 hours not far below our cabin for 4-5 hours in the night! So great to hear them! We had good fortune here.

However, the staff were low energy but took care of our needs, and the food was just ok." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2019
"We found this place a bit sad. An amazing setting and a beautiful lodge that had not been maintained so it looked worn around the edges. The service was ok but not warm or impressive.

I think in times of more rain it would be a stunning place to see the park from but in the drought less so." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dune lover
London

"Dolomite Camp Review"

1 night Arrived 16 May 2019
"This is a state owned camp inside the West Gate to Etosha National Park. Upon arrival the place initially looked good. However, it soon became apparent that it was sadly neglected. Round the pool some decking had rotted and the walkways needed repair.

The views from this location were unparalleled so we were not unhappy that we stayed one night there, however the overriding feeling is that the staff are not motivated and generally could not be bothered. When we were in the restaurant we had to find the staff (as we were going out on a night drive) to serve supper. They were all clustered round the television in the bar area! A great pity that the lodge felt sad and tired as the location was simply stunning.

Not sure we would recommend this Lodge." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

C & D
Woking/Brighton

"Beautifully rugged and wild"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"It's a long way but definitely worth it! Watching the landscape change as you drive west through the park is really interesting, there appears to be less game but they're just hiding better...waterholes were busy when you waited and watched to see what comes out the bush...

The camp is in a great setting, wide open vistas from all angles, brilliant sunset and sunrise! We were treated to a giraffe munching right outside the room when we arrived, and later a herd of elephant too. The beds were incredibly comfy - very nice to relax into after the steep walks around camp!

The night drive was fun and our guide thrilled to find a couple of aardwolf, brown hyena, multiple rhino and a spotted wild cat." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Astonishingly view across Etosha"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2018
"Unusual camp perched on rocky formation with amazing views - 5 rhino visible from our tented cabin amongst a sea of game.

Great infinity pool with view and lovely tented cabins.

Slightly disappointing restaurant with patchy service. Noone seemed to know whether safari drives were available, fortunately we were happy to do our own thing." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr K
Maidstone

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Apr 2018
"Visible from miles away, the views when in the Camp lived up to expectations.

Neither the book, nor our itinerary warned us that driving up is a not really an option, and everyone takes the shuttle. This needs to be pointed out in your itinerary. The chalets and facilities are very good - tented bar and restaurants appropriate - but there is an element of fitness required to get between chalets and these facilities. Paths long and at up to 20% incline in places - of maybe it just felt like it!

No-one asked for a deposit although there was an inventory! Staff extremely welcoming and helpful as we needed to plan for a tyre replacement (previous day's puncture plus, by adhering to 'do not get out of your vehicle', needed to drive on it for a while before able to stop) and assistance given with telephone as no mobile signal available.

Meals excellent and delightfully served, pool not used, but beautifully maintained and welcoming." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs S
France

"Dolomite Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2017
"This was our second visit to Dolomite Camp - the first was five years ago when the camp was newly opened. The camp shows some signs of wear and tear and really is in need of more constant maintenance.

Probably the best location of all the camps in Etosha - fantastic views from the rooms perched high on the hillside. Food in the restaurant was good - service a bit patchy.

Game in this part of Etosha is less prolific than in the eastern part of the park - but it is there if one is patient. Scenically this is a beautiful area." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
BarryT
Knutsford

"A fantastic camp right in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"This camp situated on the Western side of Etosha is first class. It is perched on a hill and you have to walk up a long drive to reception and the chalets are stretched out across the hill. We were in Chalet 14 which was quite a distance to walk but they have a golf buggy to take you there and back especially at night as the camp is not fenced.

It is a truly spectacular location our chalet being one of two that overlooks the waterhole. We saw elephants, giraffe, scores of oryx, zebra and impala and at the various waterholes close by saw lions, kudu, and vultures. The food is good except breakfast which was poor with a lot of things having run out and no one from the staff noticing.The bar was nice although the barman gave the impression he wanted to go to bed somewhat earlier than the guests. Special mention must go to the Manager who was very helpful and told us the best places to watch animals. Etosha is amazing but you cannot leave your vehicle so be prepared to sit in the car and patiently wait. It is well worth it.

Be prepared for fairly long drives between the waterholes and note some are better in the morning than the afternoon. No complaints from us though as we saw everything we wanted to see." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Kilburn

"Dolomite camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2017
"We really enjoyed our stay at Dolomite and next time we'd look to stay here 3 nights (instead of 2) at the end of our Etosha visit. We came here after 6 nights at Okaukuejo and it's fascinating to see a different area of Etosha. There are far fewer vehicles at this end of the park. The wildlife was much more habituated than we had expected (but certainly not as relaxed as in the busier areas of the park). It's worth noting that the alternative route to the Gate has been closed. We had some really good sightings in the Dolomite area though.

The camp itself is gorgeous and completely different from Okaukujo and Halali. We stayed in a Deluxe Chalet and it was beautiful with its own little plunge pool with this incredible view out over the plains and the Dolomite waterhole. We enjoyed the afternoon of our full day in camp in the area off our room just watching the changing view and the animals coming to drink. The room was lovely and atmospheric. Though the pump on the swimming pool is very noisy (we managed to turn it off at night) and the lightning strike pole behind our tent kept "clinking" during the night (something is loose I guess) which was a shame.

We rather liked that it took 10 mins to walk from our room to the mess area but less able-bodied people might struggle (but then there is a golf cart). We had dinner here both nights - both excellent. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection (though whilst service on the first morning was excellent it was non-existent on the second ....). Check-in and check-out was smooth." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs D + kids
Herts

"Spectacular setting"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2017
"This is a NWR-run camp, not a private lodge. If you go expecting the former, you will probably think it is fantastic. If you go expecting the latter, you will probably think it is rather rough around the edges.

The west side of Etosha is well worth a visit and this is the only real way of doing so other than camping or driving through. The setting is absolutely spectacular, perched on an outcrop high above the surrounding plains with views for miles of elephant, eland, zebra, giraffe, hartbeest and springbok.It is worth coming for the location alone.

The camp is unfenced. Parking is at the base of the outcrop. You can walk up to reception in a couple of minutes or a buggy will come and collect you and your luggage. This happened efficiently within 5 minutes.

Reception and communal facilities are all together, with chalets strung out along the top of the outcrop.The path is quite steep, sometimes uneven, and some units are several minutes' walk away. Wooden walkways are not in the greatest condition, with some trip hazards. Metal handrails are not earthed and frequently give a small electric shock - all part of Africa's charm but not to be recommended for small children or those not very mobile.

We had two chalets (one with an extra bed, which was a bit cramped but perfectly ok). Whilst they were next to each other, they were a good 2-3 minutes walk apart. Some adjacent chalets were closer. On booking, we were advised that an adult was required in each, but this was not confirmed at check-in - however, given the location, we split parents.

A fantastic small infinity pool was an unexpected surprise. There was a pleasant bar and seating area adjacent. Dinner was a choice of two meat options. There was no specific provision for children and they did struggle a bit. Breakfast was fairly basic. Service was pretty slow - but appeared to be largely reliant on cooking all meals pretty much simultaneaously. Staff were polite, but not welcoming.

Game drives were available but we self-drove.

Despite any average comments, would go back time and again just for the location." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 93
86%
93 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
30
8
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa