This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

93 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Brown Hyena

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 93
Duration
Arrival date
Mr MA
SE London

"Great location"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2017
"Incredible location and great wildlife viewing everywhere. Badly let down by the state of the room, which would have been magical but almost every zip (forming blinds) was broken which meant that the freezing wind went straight through the tented room all night and there was only one blanket for the two twin beds. Leaking taps etc too. Great design, and spectacular position just needs an overhaul -though obviously can only speak for that room." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Surrey

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"A nice camp, although we did have a mouse issue in the room which munched though one of our bags." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Australia

"Wonderful Camp in the hills."

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2017
"On the far west of Etosha, rooms built in the hills overlooking a huge plain, with good amounts of game to be seen. Well worth a stay here. (There are steep areas but a golf cart is available)" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Fabulous views and great wildlife"

1 night Arrived 5 Apr 2017
"Lovely tented cabins in a stunning location with great views of the plains below and lots of wildlife.

Staff in restaurant pleasant but overstretched. Food very average." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
Huntingdon

"Very disappointing"

1 night Arrived 19 Jan 2017
"This camp is in the most wonderful location but ruined by poor design of the bar and restaurant, bad food and terrible service. The bar and restaurant were in tents with the flaps closed and completely failing to make the most of the spectacular views.

We had to carry our luggage up a steep hill to the room as the luggage van wasn't working, the staff were rude and unhelpful and the food was barely edible.

The room was attractive but in need of maintenance." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Ms Q & Mr B
USA

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2016
"The Dolomite camp in Etosha has a beautiful setting and with the infrastructure it really could be a showplace of the park. unfortunately it is probably the least well run of th camps in the park. the shuttle taking you around the camp or too and form the parking lot is awkward. it is not just a matter of running on Africa time but is treated as an unnecessary detail by the staff yet they demand you rely on it to go anywhere.

The dining room staff also comes off as having no desire to be there and help you, and is in stark contrast to employees at all the other camps in the park. The tent lodging themselves have the potential to be dramatic but there is insufficient ventilation (and no AC). The canvas flaps are designed to open and with the proper adjustments could really make the rooms comfortable, but the key hardware is out of reach and even the zippers at floor level are often broken and unusable. We had broken glass in our main sliding door, and while i understand it is a difficult situation to make those repairs some key duct tape would have at least made this a safer situation.

The most unfortunate thing about the camp is that only two of the tents have views of the waterhole. From the waterhole itself you can see the camp and what looks like a magnificent setting overlooking the water hole. However, the bar/restaurant/pool are on the other side of the hill and views are only available to a small percentage of the guests. It is a long drive out to this side of the park, and i do not think I would encourage people to go there unless they were entering the park from the western edge." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr H
Michigan

"great views and water hole"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bruce
Harrogate

"Wonderful lookout for Etosha first night"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"Amazing setting but what a pity there was really no evidence of anyone in charge. Lodges are strung out across 400 metres of the ridge of one of the few hill ranges in Etosha.

But the lodges really needed a critical eye passed over them. Every window zip was broken in our tent and if the weather had been anything other than queit and hot they would have allowed wind, rain, and dust dust to pour in. Electrical plugs a shambles and probably dangerous. Any of these issues could be easily sorted with a program of regular preventative maintenance.

But what a setting and such nice staff with good food and remarkable views." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Dolomite Camp worst of the bunch!"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2016
"We last stayed here 2 weeks after it opened which was about 5 years ago, such a great camp then we opted to return on this trip. What a big mistake!

Bearing in mind we booked this accommodation a year in advance and specifically requested an eastern facing room. When we checked in we were allocated a western facing room, we questioned this with the person checking us in who immediately blamed a central booking system and started to argue with us about the mistake. Eventually we were given a room on the eastern side, but her whole could not care less attitude put a bad taste in our mouths. I could write a book an our experience here but will keep it brief.

The camp is understaffed and unmotivated. It is quite clear there is lack of management and NWPs need to sit up and take notice.

ROOMS: Tired and need a good deep clean.

Food: Disgusting. Every meal was cold and quite honestly inedible, although for some reason the soup was warm and good. The amount of waste food at each dinner was huge and with starving people in the country unacceptable. Surely with what was being returned to the kitchen, when does the chef realise that there is a problem?

Staff: Understaffed, demotivated , miserable, do not communicate, rude, argumentative and just could not care less.

When we stayed there they were overbooked and one couple had to sleep in the guides room, plus on the same night guests had to take their meals in the bar area as there were no spaces in the dining rooms.

The whole camp is just a chaotic mess!" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Mr & Mrs SG
Cambridge

"Dolomite-great location but poorly managed"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2016
"Dolomite Camp is in an amazing setting with beautiful rooms overlooking the plains. The reception staff were fairly welcoming on our arrival but then we never saw them again! The shop was never open although we were here for 2 nights. There was one lovely member of staff, Fima Simon, who seemed to be the only serving staff apart from the barman who helped out when he could.

Fima was solely responsible for serving and clearing dinner and drinks in the 2 restaurants each with 20 people, plus managing reception when a guest turned up. It was an impossible task and she could be seen running up the steps with a laden tray in semi- darkness trying to serve all the residents. We later heard from the reception staff at another Etosha camp that before our arrival some of the staff had gone on strike and so all of them had been dismissed, including the manager. They were running the camp, which was full, with the very bare minimum of staff.

No hot breakfast was offered on day 1. On our second night it took over an hour to be served our first course and when the main course arrive all the vegetables were cold.

We visited Oliphantsrus water hole during our stay ay Dolomite and thought that the new hide was excellent. A large bull elephant came in at mid-morning to drink and we had great viewings of hundreds of sand grouse coming to drink and collect water for their young in their chest feathers." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 93
86%
93 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
30
8
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (641 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa