This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp
Dolomite Camp

Reviews of Dolomite Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

93 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dolomite Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Dolomite Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Brown Hyena

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 93
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"Lovely room with amazing views.

The drive from Okaukuejo unbelievable with plentiful sightings of game, even a rhino walking past the car in the middle of the day.

Meals were only average at best, and staff needed training in customer relations and service." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr R M
Illinois

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"This camp is in a unique setting today visit Western Etosha.

However, the rooms, while having an outstanding view, could be better and the service is not outstanding. To visit the area, however, this camp is an acceptable choice." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr O
N London

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"Wonderful location and great rooms. Best of the NWR lodges. Fantastic opportunity to travel to the west of Etosha with limited waterholes providing some of the best concentration of animals, including Rhino, although we did not see cats in this area. Great pool for cooling off even in the winter months after long drives. Like all NWR lodges food and service is not at a premium but the lodge is still highly recommended, in particular if on the route to/from Damaraland." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"Dolomite is worth visiting for the great game"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2016
"A lovely, comfortable and well equipped room with fabulous views across the plain with evening game moving away from the waterhole. As expected, access to the rooms is a little difficult but generally manageable. The road from Galton Gate was in very poor condition but other roads in this western part of Etosha were ok. It is disappointing that a good waterhole is not visible from the camp at all. We were very disappointed that no game drives were available during our stay - no explanation was given. The staff were generally helpful but management seemed to be absent.

We very much enjoyed this part of Etosha and found large herds of plains game which was not skittish.

On a day's drive around the area we found the Olifantsrus camping site - an excellent picnic stop and busy waterhole - this is just outside the camp and has a very good closed viewing area reached by an elevated walkway from the camp." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Disappointed with Dolomite"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2016
"Dolomite was a disappointment. The camp is in a great location and has potential to be very good. Unfortunately it is not well run. In fact we saw no sign of anyone in charge while we were there.

We had a bad start. It took 1.5 hours to check in and get to our room. When you arrive you unload your luggage in a parking lot at the bottom of a hill and wait for a golf cart to drive you up the hill. We had just missed a golf cart and had to wait over 40 minutes before it returned. The system is to take guests up to reception and wait until they have checked in and then take them to their chalets. The chalets can be a long way from reception so this takes time. Once we got to reception we had to wait to get checked in. Then we had to wait to get driven to the room. It would make more sense if there were two carts: one for the drive from the parking lot up the hill to reception, and another to transport guests from reception to the chalets and to the dining areas.

Walking between the chalets and the dining area is on very uneven paths up and down some steep areas for a long distance. We ended up walking as no cart ever seemed to be around but this would be very difficult for anyone with mobility issues and some older guests were having problems. There is no way to call for a ride so not much choice but to walk.

Rooms are small but quite nice with lovely views but extremely hot as they get the sun all afternoon.

There are two dining rooms. You reserve your time for dinner and you are assigned a table but not told where you are supposed to eat. Whenever we went to a dining room there were no staff there. The waitresses were trying to do a good job but they have to go to separate buildings to get food and beverages so were often away for quite a while. It would be really nice if they had a host in each dining room to greet guests and serve the drinks. The waitresses had too much to do. The first night we were assigned seats at a table beside a large group who were finishing their meal when we arrived. They left and we ate at the end of this large table by ourselves.

Food was adequate. Lunches were good as they were made to order but dinner was poor. Food was over cooked or sometimes vegetables were almost raw.

Service was a mix. Some staff, especially in the dining room, were wonderful and very friendly and helpful. Others just did not seem to want to be there and it showed. This was the only place we stayed on the trip where all the staff did not greet you. The day we left the golf cart driver had to be tracked to the kitchen where he was drinking coffee even though guests were waiting to be driven down to the parking lot. Although we had prepaid for dinner and breakfast the bill included dinner so we had to get that sorted out before we left.

I think with good management this could become an excellent place to stay. The location is great and the far end of Etosha has very few vehicles. Also we had some great viewing at the Jakkalswater water hole. We are glad we stayed here because of the location but compared to all our other accommodation Dolomite was a disappointment." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"On the rocks - literally!"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2016
"Contrary to the title I have used this is an unusual and exciting location on a large rock outcrop in the westernmost part of Etosha Pan National Park.

The rocks under our wooden framed chalet tent were inhabited by cute hyraxes (dassies) who emerge early in the morning to sun themselves. There is a wonderful view from the balcony of the park and one evening we watched a rhino strolling past and saw loads of more common species browsing only a couple of hundred metres away. There is a steep climb from the car park but a small buggy carries baggage (and passengers) up the steep track.

This part of Etosha is surprisingly empty of people - we drove 120km on our first morning around the park and only met two other vehicles but saw very many animals.

The facilities are excellent but we would rate the food as "good" and the waitresses need better training." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 10n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Chiswick

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2015
"A classier camp than Okaukuejo for quality and service, almost achieving privately-owned standards.

Its hill-top location, gives great views over the plains on either sides, but requires dexterous buggy driving to get luggage to the spread-out tents. A slightly bizarre arrangement from a practical point of view, not ideal for anyone whose ability to walk is compromised. To be fair I was only there one night." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Derbyshire

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2015
"One of our favorite places - well worth booking the luxury chalet. The whole place is on a limestone ridge and we had views over the savanna right out to the horizon from our balcony.

The room was large and comfortable with a big patio with sunbeds and a private plunge pool. The camp is unfenced so you are escorted back to the chalet after dinner for safety reasons. Wildlife was all around from dassies on the rocks to lions doing a walk-past below our balcony at dusk. Couldn't have the patio doors open on the second night due to baboon colony camped on the rocks just outside. You could sit on our balcony and watch the comings and goings all day if you wanted.

The facilities are excellent but the staff, though friendly, are overstretched and the organisation could be better. Importantly the place gives access to the waterholes in the West of Etosha which is less frequently visited." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V
UK

"Dolomite"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2015
"No game drives available as car in for service. Wouldn't happen in the private sector.

Lengthy power cuts. Inter-room phones out of order.

Food dire (although 'light lunch' was fine)" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Devon

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"Started badly waited over twenty minutes to be picked up from parking area, even though they had been contacted.

No welcome simply fill in these forms.

Moved our chalet, no consultation, new chalet poor, light cord had broken, toilet door catch did not work, ventilation panels unable to work as zips had stuck.

Reception staff more interested in carrying on their conversation on their mobile phone than dealing with customers.

Shame great location." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Showing 21-30 of 93
86%
93 reviews of Dolomite Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
30
8
5
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (641 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa