This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Leatherhea

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

24

Excursions taken

1

Our trip was eveything we hoped for

Namibia and 1 other country between 30 Jun 2016 and 21 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Tracy helped us put together a wonderful trip which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Her advice was invaluable, particularly for journey lengths and camp/lodge choices. This is the second trip she has arranged for us and was as enjoyable as the first.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We cannot think of anything that could have been done better - all arrangements worked perfectly"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing is a good overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2016
"This is the second time we have used River Crossing for our first night after the flight from UK and it has been good both times - easy to reach, clean and comfortable with good food and service."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite is worth visiting for the great game"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2016
"A lovely, comfortable and well equipped room with fabulous views across the plain with evening game moving away from the waterhole. As expected, access to the rooms is a little difficult but generally manageable. The road from Galton Gate was in very poor condition but other roads in this western part of Etosha were ok. It is disappointing that a good waterhole is not visible from the camp at all. We were very disappointed that no game drives were available during our stay - no explanation was given. The staff were generally helpful but management seemed to be absent.

We very much enjoyed this part of Etosha and found large herds of plains game which was not skittish.

On a day's drive around the area we found the Olifantsrus camping site - an excellent picnic stop and busy waterhole - this is just outside the camp and has a very good closed viewing area reached by an elevated walkway from the camp."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo was as good as ever"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2016
"Our Bush Chalet was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed excellent game viewing at the waterhole, particularly after dark.

We went on two game drives (these are popular and need to be booked as soon as possible), the guide was good for both, giving information and stopping for photographs.

The shop has very limited stock other than plenty of alcohol. The kiosk has a range of snack meals and drinks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"New chalets at Namutoni are excellent"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2016
"The revamp of the camp has delivered good results, our bush chalet was excellent - spacious, clean, comfortable and very well equipped - even including a hair drier, sunken bath and outside shower with plenty of hot water.

The dining and bar area is very attractive and comfortable with friendly, helpful staff (our waitress Heleni was particularly friendly) and the food choice and quality was very good. The reception staff were also very helpful making contact with Bidvest when we had a puncture.

Walkways around the chalet area were well lit although getting broken where cars are driving over them. The fort tower was open and gave good views and sunset but the remainder of the viewing platform remains closed because of its condition.

The water hole is non-existent although with a covered viewing area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Delightful lodge, wonderful staff"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2016
"The drive up from Grootfontein was easy and interesting and our reception very warm. The central decking area gives great views and firepit on the beach provides a popular relaxing area. The restaurant staff, enthusiastically let by Freda the cook served excellent meals with choice and fresh ingredients.

The boat trips guided by Mateus were very enjoyable and informative. The manager and Yvonne in the shop were very helpful and told us about the Living Museum which we enjoyed visiting.

Our room was convenient, clean and comfortable and the tray of hot drinks on our verandah in the morning a nice surprise."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Comfortable lodge with great river views"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2016
"The lodge is in a lovely location with views across the river of elephants and hippo in good numbers. The boat trips guided by Michael were excellent and the convivial conversation at dinner owed much to Klaus' efforts.

Access to the Mahango National Park is very easy with unusual game (including 20 sable antelopes)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Nxamaseri was brilliant"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2016
"Arriving at the beautiful lodge through acres of water lilies to a warm reception from Tiaan and Geraldine set the tone for our stay.

Our room was large and comfortable with netting walls (no hot water tap at the basin but a large pot of hot water delivered on request).

Our guide Fish was exceptional, in tune with his environment and sensitive to our interests. Our boat and mokoro trips were enjoyable and informative. A picnic boat trip to the "Red Cliff" to see the nesting swallows was highlight as was brief period fishing for tiger.

Meals at the single dining table were enjoyable occasions with a good variety of well cooked meals produced by Tiny the cook."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"A wonderful comfortable camp"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2016
"The warm, friendly and helpful staff all made us very welcome at this delightful camp. Hot water bottles in our bed and for the early morning drives was a touch of luxury.

Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable and the general areas gave plenty of different areas to enjoy. We were treated to a very enjoyable quiet dinner in the Enclave on the first evening as we were only three guests and swapped stories with our guide under the full moon afterwards. The second evening was a fun barbeque in the bush to celebrate Botswana President's Day.

Our guide Tony was first class, very knowledgeable about his area and the game and a good tracker - giving us close encounters with a lion and a leopard. Our walking safari with him was another highlight as he shared his wide knowledge and bushcraft.

Minor disappointments were the mokoro outing where our poler did not show the same level of enthusiasm or knowledge. We were a little unsettled by "surprise" changes in arrangements at meal times but the manager Ursula was accepting of our gentle complaint."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A brilliant, trouble free trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 3 Sep 2014 and 7 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"After spending months planning our trip and then refining it with Tracy, it more than lived up to all our expectations. Everywhere over our 3,500 trouble free kms driving ourselves around Namibia and 32 nights of luxury tents and lodges in the most wonderful parts of Namibia and Botswana we were met with warm welcomes, friendly smiles and staff and guides determined that we would enjoy what they had to offer. The arrangements Tracy had made worked smoothly, our flight transfers in Botswana all went to plan.

Everywhere we stayed, we wished we could have stayed longer.

We were particularly impressed by Wilderness Safaris wherever we met them - as agent, lodge operator or transfer operator.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We cannot think of anything that could have been done better!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing was a great place to start"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"The view of grazing oryx from our veranda was stunning and we enjoyed the view of the sunset from the deck before dinner.

The welcome was warm and River Crossing made an ideal and comfortable place to get over the flight from London and prepare for our adventure in Namibia. The food was ok and we enjoyed our short overnight stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo was as spectacular as we had hoped"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2014
"We had a lovely welcome and all the staff and guides were excellent, friendly and helpful. The room was fantastic with a view of the mountains, all the activities and walks were well organised and very interesting.

Highlights were the sun downer walk and the visit to the cave paintings. All the food was of a very high standard and eating dinner out under the stars by the fire pit was memorable.

Overall a wonderful experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"An enjoyable luxury camp"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"Our tent was simple but very comfortable, the central facilities were very attractive and the food was very good - both in the dining area and the boma.

Unfortunately we could not take advantage of the luxury facilities as we left each morning at 6.45am to go to Etosha and only returned after dark."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"The waterhole was one of the trip highlights"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"The recent refurbishment of the camp has delivered very pleasant facilities and our Bush Chalet was comfortable, spacious, clean, air conditioned and well fitted (fridge and kettle provided). The mosquito nets, Doom spray and Peaceful Sleep repellent provided kept us bite free. The food was reasonable with a good selection.

The waterhole was fascinating, we spent many very happy hours, both during the day and the night, watching the interaction of the animals as they came to drink. We would happily stay here again. Being inside the park is a real benefit. Unfortunately the night drive was fully booked when we got around to enquiring but that meant we could spend longer at the waterhole."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"A warm welcome in a spectacular setting"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"The welcome after a long dusty drive was warm and friendly. The room was very well equipped, comfortable and private - the outdoor shower was a delight.

The staff were all happy, friendly and helpful - their singing to us after dinner each evening was great fun. Food was excellent and varied. The drive to the desert elephants was wonderful and the guide helpful and very informative. The stars from the roof were brilliant.

Overall a wonderful experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"A modern, very comfortable room with sea view"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"Watching flamingos fly by while sitting in bed with a cup of tea in the morning was a delight, breakfast in the restaurant was excellent with good choice and view over the sea. The room was very comfortable, and the enormous bathroom with shower and bath helped us relax.

The hotel was a bit difficult to find as the town has expanded faster than the maps can show, made more difficult by the lack of road names in the new built area and our approach from the north.

A closed restaurant and no laundry on Sunday was frustrating. They made up for the restaurant being fully booked when we arrived Saturday mid afternoon by serving a very enjoyable dinner in our room.

Overall a less than perfect choice for a weekend as it is quite far out of town but during the week would be great."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Spectacular scenery and birds"

14 Sep 2014 • All-day excursion

We were very disappointed that our guide, John, was poorly informed about the bird and wildlife and generally not sensitive to our needs. The Landover was very old and with four visitors and a driver made for a very cramped and uncomfortable drive. He was a good driver and careful to check the safety of driving along the beach while the tide was low. The lasagne lunch that had been kept warm all morning was uninspired.

The scenery, birdlife and animals we saw on the way were spectacular and unforgettable. A better guide would have made the trip brilliant.
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Stunning location and excellent guide"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2014
"Luxurious accommodation in a beautiful setting with views of the distant dunes and mountains.

We enjoyed the facilities between a wonderful trip to the dunes and Dead Vlei and a spectacular mountain top sunset and sun downer. The early morning walk was made very special by the sensitive and informative guide. Food was excellent and all the staff were friendly and attentive.

Staying for three nights gave us time to enjoy all the facilities and activities as well as having time to relax."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Rustic luxury in the mountains"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2014
"The real sense of isolation made for a very special experience.

Our first night was windy and cold so we drove to the hotel for a very enjoyable dinner. The second night was good weather so we enjoyed a BBQ - the packs provided were good food but far too much of it. The room was well fitted and comfortable with fridge, cooker and lots of space. We did not need the open fire as the room was warm.

The hotel is still undergoing extension works which did not interfere with our enjoyment of the facilities except that the toilets are the other side of the car park.

The host and staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Fabulouis views from a wonderful lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2014
"The view from our room was so spectacular it took our breath away. The room was quite simple and bare but we did not care! The lodge and facilities were very good and the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The food was good and all the meals were enjoyable.

We enjoyed an easy walk for 2 hours by ourselves along the cliff top through glorious quiver trees, aloes and many birds. We used this stop as a relaxing break so did not try out the more arduous activities. Wonderful clear starry night with no moon - but not cold.

The gravel D463 from the B4 was excellent but the19 km access was rocky and very slow (about 1 hour) and in places hard going in a 2 wheel drive although always passable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"We wish we could have stayed longer"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"We were only staying overnight on the drive from Fish River to Windhoek but were still able to do the game drive in the evening and the Bushman walk in the morning before having a shower and leaving at 11.30am. We so enjoyed the whole experience and the activities we really wish we could have had more time to enjoy the place further.

The food was very good and the staff very helpful and friendly. Our dune chalet was very comfortable with a beautiful view."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"A cool oasis in a noisy town"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"A very friendly welcome and enjoyable dinner in the courtyard from a good menu.

A very pleasant room with big bath and shower, wide range of toiletries and bathrobes. Friendly and helpful staff helped chase up our car collection and transfer to the airport."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

"Real luxury in a magical setting"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"From the moment we were met by our guide in Kasane we were looked after wonderfully - he was available whenever we wanted to go on whatever activity we chose. He was knowledgeable and sensitive to our interests, a good boatman and friendly companion. We saw an amazing variety of birds and animals, including enormous herds of buffalo and elephant.

Meals were very enjoyable taken round a communal table, the food excellent. Our room was very comfortable with the sound of the rapids to lull us to sleep. Our wake up call with a fresh tray of tea was delightful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"A wonderful way to view the Chobe Park"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"We were delighted to find how relaxing it was to cruise gently along the river able to view the game and birds from anything from river level veranda to upper deck level where we could see over the river bank. The staff were friendly helpful and attentive and our guide was available take us on a game boat drive whenever we wanted.

We were lucky to see from our speed boat a pride of 10 lions (including a big black maned male) feeding on a buffalo kill and a leopard wandering the river bank until she was chased away by a big baboon. We also saw the elephants crossing the Chobe River.

Altogether a very enjoyable experience!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
San Camp

San Camp

"A very special place in the desert"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2014
"The atmosphere, accommodation and our treatment more than lived up to our expectations of a very special place. Luxurious tents lit by oil lamps created a wonderful atmosphere; evening drinks around the fire and excellent food completed a wonderful experience.

Our guide was very knowledgeable and sensitive to what we wanted to see and do - seeing the brown hyena and meerkats but also experiencing the vastness of the pan, its unique environment and the wonderful Chapman's Baobab.

All the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and were given a wonderful romantic dinner in our own pavilion."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"The focus on big game delivered cats and more"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2014
"From the time our guide and tracker picked us up from the airstrip and delivered us to our huge, comfortable tent with its delightful outdoor shower, we enjoyed the whole experience.

Although they were focused on finding big cats, and we saw many lions and a leopard, they were also willing to indulge our interest in the birds, smaller game and wider environment. We saw the wild dogs, honey badgers and pelicans roosting in the baobab. If we had any criticism it is that the guide tended to go too close to the animals and did not explain as they were tracking game.

All the staff went out of their way to make us welcome and look after us - we enjoyed their singing and dancing on Independence Day. The food was excellent and early breakfast round the fire was a bonus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

"Fabulous birds, game and lions in the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2014
"To be met by the staff singing to us as we arrived from our long drive and boat trip from the airstrip was delightful. Our large, comfortable tent had lovely soft towels in the big bathroom and a magnificent outdoor shower.

We chose mainly water based activities, both by boat and mokoro, seeing a wide variety of birds and many hippo, but also enjoyed two game drives to see the variety of game and the resident lion pride.

Our guide and all the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive, the food was excellent enjoyed around a large communal table with the other guests and guides."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team